View Full Version : Chris Johnson in Top 5 at Bris
I think matthews would rank Johno in the top 5 at the club.
Hes their playmaker. Hes more important to them than what Akermanis is.
Hes team role simply irreplaceable in that side.
What do you guys think.
OldLion
21 Oct 2003, 12:34
What can you say about Chris other than a fantastic role model ( look at what Danny Bradshaw has done this year ) for a player to completely turn around their career - with the help of the coaching staff - from in-and-out HFF to play maker and risk taker supremo ( plus he loves to take a speccie ! ). A massive favourite with Melbourne fans - esp. after his 2001 GF - plus he does all the kick ins which is pretty scary at times. Aker did it in 1999 ( and look what happened to his career after that ) and Ash is being groomed for that role but Chris' work in this year's GF ( with TWO shoulder injuries ) was again outstanding.
adey115
21 Oct 2003, 12:36
CJ is a fantastic team oriented player.
The Michael/Leppa/Johnson defence is rock solid. How many times this year did you see Mal or Leppa punch the ball to the ground, and Johnno either take the crumbs or take the first handball and stream out of defence, backing his own skill and judgement. Very important rebound footballer. Those three work fantastically together.
lionvoss
21 Oct 2003, 13:25
No doubt he is in our top 5..love it when he runs up the middle ..amazing to watch
probably a discussion that we lions dont need to have. lets face it if we all came up with lists of our own top 5`s then there would be genuine cases to include 15-20 players. i`d have voss #1 then about a dozen =#2
CarterS
21 Oct 2003, 17:21
Top 5?
I think he's probably the most important player for our style of play along with Lynch, although more important than Lynch (as we have other marking forwards ie Brown/Leppa/Voss).
Without him we genuinly struggle to run out of the backline with any conviction, our form slump in the middle of the year co-inciding with CJ's injury - no co-incidince!
It's come to the point where, despite the fact he is playing in the backline, coaches have been assigning players to tag him! Tagging a defender, figure that one out!
Not only that, he is an old Fitzroy boy so he is surely doing something for the club re Melbourne based supporters.
Whatever he's on he deserves double....damn that salary cap.
DEFINITELY top 5.....its all bout the way he iniates so many important moves foward. He has the fantastic ability to carry the ball, draw players, evade them and deliver.... and often deep into attack.
Originally posted by CarterS
Top 5?
I think he's probably the most important player for our style of play along with Lynch, although more important than Lynch (as we have other marking forwards ie Brown/Leppa/Voss).
Without him we genuinly struggle to run out of the backline with any conviction, our form slump in the middle of the year co-inciding with CJ's injury - no co-incidince!
It's come to the point where, despite the fact he is playing in the backline, coaches have been assigning players to tag him! Tagging a defender, figure that one out!
Not only that, he is an old Fitzroy boy so he is surely doing something for the club re Melbourne based supporters.
Whatever he's on he deserves double....damn that salary cap.
Let's not get carried away with our sentiments. It's all a matter of opinion. CJ has never polled well in the club's B&F. In fact he may only have been in the top ten only once since he has been with the Lions. (??????)
He is an integral member of the team but if you win three straight premierships, every one of those players that has been part of this era, taken in isolation is a very valuable and important part of the wheel that is Brisbane Lions.
We can't get too complacent and rest on our laurels and forever depend on the current playing list. We need to develop adequate replacements for Chris and others over the next phase.
He has unbelievable strength, skills and ability for his size, which can be very intimidating for forwards, against that sort of strength. He is also surprisingly quick, and there are not many better sites that seeing Johnson streaming up the middle of the field. Fantastic ball skills, and along with evasive skills, make him a fantastic footballer. Definately top 5 at Brisbane, and the key to them having success again within the next few years.
Johhno is superb.
Beats me why he doesn't poll better in the club B&F.
What's ironic is that he came to Brisbane reluctantly and (I do believe) wanted out in 1998 or 1999, or both.
Whoever convinced him to stay deserves a medal.
What is so good about his game is that when he takes on an opponent on (or 2,3 or 4) is that there's at least a 95% chance he'll do him (or them) cold.
A few seasons ago, I used to cringe and almost have heart failure when he'd do one of those feign, jink, swerve, sidestep manoevers.
Now it's almost a given that he'll break free and set something
up.
What really breaks me up is when an opponent grabs at him and the opposition supporters chorus "BAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLL", only to be stunned into silence a half a second later when he leaves the opponent sprawling in his wake.
Long live Johnno.!!!
Is there a more "arrogant" player in the league? (and I mean it in the nicest possible way! :D )
He simply takes on anyone and everyone at will - and more often than not succeeds. Aka did a lot of "evading" in 1999, but Johnno has taken it to a new level.
Great to watch!
I loved this quote from Garry Lyon re the International Rules series in the Herald Sun this morning.
"And it never ceases to amaze me how quality blokes mesh together. They play against these blokes, they admire them, they respect them, they probably hate them sometimes, but to suddenly have them on your team is bloody magnificent.
"How many blokes have been on the end of a Chrissy Johnson spray in the past two years and who now run out alongside him in an Australian jumper?"
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,7631694%255E20322,00.html
Maverick
22 Oct 2003, 20:59
Top 5:
1. M Voss
2. M Michael
3. C Johnson
4. S Black
5. J Brown
Apologies Lappin, Power, Aka & Lynch.
Leppa needs a boot up the arse..he should be there, but his mentally he has gone walkabout.
rchowell
23 Oct 2003, 21:26
Originally posted by adey115
CJ is a fantastic team oriented player.
The Michael/Leppa/Johnson defence is rock solid. How many times this year did you see Mal or Leppa punch the ball to the ground, and Johnno either take the crumbs or take the first handball and stream out of defence, backing his own skill and judgement. Very important rebound footballer. Those three work fantastically together.It's funny that a player like him should be thought of as team oriented, but in his case it's true, like all of the Lions. What sells him the most to me though is the fact that he desperately wanted to leave Brisbane to start with, but now I don't think he could imagine life anywhere else and as we all know publicly volunteered (on numerous occasions) to take pay cuts or freezes to HELP HIS TEAM MATES STAY AT THE CLUB. Now that is a sure sign of commitment in my book.
rchowell
24 Oct 2003, 16:59
!!!ALL HAIL THE AUSTRALIAN VICE CAPTAIN!!!
Originally posted by rchowell
Err....how about we dont. :cool:
Originally posted by Maverick
Top 5:
Leppa needs a boot up the arse..he should be there, but his mentally he has gone walkabout.
Hey Mav, it's a bit off the topic, but I'm scratching me head trying to figure out why you have developed this pathological phobia about Leppa.
He's played with a crook shoulder for almost half a season and considering how bad that incident looked when he originally did the shoulder, it's remarkable that he layed at all thereafter.
Can't see what your on about with this "mental" attitude thing.:confused:
Maverick
29 Oct 2003, 19:06
I am a wrap for Leppa...and in 2001 I rated him as our most valuable player.
But over the past 2 years he has struggled....not just since his shoulder injury. His efforts in a number of contests have been below par over the past 24 months.....and this is what disappoints me most. He is not having a red hot go in all contests....he is having a dip 70% of the time....and the other 30% he is playing like a girl.
When Leppa is having a dip 95% of the time he is in our best two or three...and he did not do that this year.
BrisGirl
30 Oct 2003, 13:24
The Committee for the Australian team love Chris so much they made him the Vice Caption, with reason, but did not pick him in the All Australian Team.
Go figure:confused:
rchowell
30 Oct 2003, 23:29
Originally posted by BrisGirl
The Committee for the Australian team love Chris so much they made him the Vice Caption, with reason, but did not pick him in the All Australian Team.
Go figure:confused:Correct me if I'm wrong but as far as I know Garry Lyon selected Chris Johnson as vice captain, the same Garry Lyon who was not on the All Australian selection committee. :o
BrisGirl
31 Oct 2003, 12:04
Correct me if I'm wrong but as far as I know Garry Lyon selected Chris Johnson as vice captain, the same Garry Lyon who was not on the All Australian selection committee. :o
You may well be right, but my point being is that Chris wasn't officially picked in the All Australian Team (and he should have) but Gary Lyon sees what the All Australian selection committe didn't, a classy all rounder with passion and good enough to be made Vice Captain.
Damn straight
MSB ROYS
31 Oct 2003, 15:06
Johnno is my #1 player at the lions!
Easily is our top 5...
rchowell
31 Oct 2003, 16:55
Originally posted by BrisGirl
You may well be right, but my point being is that Chris wasn't officially picked in the All Australian Team (and he should have) but Gary Lyon sees what the All Australian selection committe didn't, a classy all rounder with passion and good enough to be made Vice Captain.Point taken. His mid season hammy might have cost him a spot in the All Australian team. Strangely enough it didn't hurt Leppitsch's chances though :rolleyes: