View Full Version : Marsh Delisted!
Jars458
21 Oct 2003, 13:41
If Clarke or Biglands go down then what do we do??
RUCKMAN Ben Marsh was among five players delisted by AFL club the Adelaide Crows today.
Former captain Mark Bickley's delisting was expected after he announced his retirement from AFL football at the end of the last season.
But the decision to let Marsh, 27, go was a surprise.
Also cut were Andrew Crowell, Ben Nelson and Daniel Schell.
The club said it was extremely grateful for the valuable service that each of the players had provided.
"Each player will be missed as all are quality young men with excellent characters," the Crows said.
"We wish them all the best in their futures."
Also today Adelaide upgraded rookie Hayden Skipworth to its primary list.
AAP
Originally posted by Jars458
If Clarke or Biglands go down then what do we do?? For this very reason, I don't like this at all.
Also cut were Andrew Crowell, Ben Nelson and Daniel Schell. That's pleasing.
Also today Adelaide upgraded rookie Hayden Skipworth to its primary list. What about Parker?
If that's the extent of our delistings and promotions, we have four spots available. Presumably three for the national draft and one of the pre-season.
Porthos
21 Oct 2003, 13:48
Well, I guess now every club knows you'll go for a ruckman at #14.
naughty monkey
21 Oct 2003, 13:50
what's the bet we re-draft him?
Silly, silly move imo.
bluecrow
21 Oct 2003, 13:55
Parker not promoted?????
From what I've read on here & seen of Skipworth (never seen Parker play), I would have thought Aidan would go ahead of Skippy...
:confused:
Crowell :(
lozstar
21 Oct 2003, 13:58
WHY didn't they promote Parker?!? :mad: (hmm.. but at least they promoted Skippy)
Poor Crowell being delisted after doing his knee :(:(
Am I seeing things, or is Matty Smith not delisted? :eek: :confused: :D
.... What about the other rookies? Are they going to be kept on the rookie list?
magicman
21 Oct 2003, 13:59
A little suprised about Crowell getting the axe. I think with Marsh getting delisted that pretty much shows what sort of player the club is hoping to pick up in the draft. No real suprise about Schell and Nelson.
Congrats to skippy, hope he has a real good season next year and makes the most of his opportunity.:)
maccas_no1
21 Oct 2003, 14:09
Geez Im surprised we delisted Marsh but obviously pick 14 will be a ruckman of the future;)
Schell totally agree with and also Nelson;)
Crowell Im a little shocked on that one, quite a handy player:confused:
Noticed Carlton delisted Eccles, would we consider him??????
I think other surprising thing is how conservative they've been with these delistings (other than Marsh). It was really only the dead ducks that got the chop and no one else.
Matthew Smith survives despite being on the list three years and never getting close to being selected.
James Gallagher and Michael Doughty survive despite both being full developed midfielders struggling to get games, and both have gone backwards in their development. And another one of their type in Skipworth has been promoted to the main list.
Last year I thought cutting Fitzgerald, Shir and Handby were all surprising. This year there's been none of those.
Perhaps the football department is looking 12 months down the track to the retirements of Smart, Carey and Burns. If they're too ruthless with the list now, it might be in a state of disarray this time next year. Hence we're keeping as much talent as possible.
Originally posted by naughty monkey
what's the bet we re-draft him? Well we only have two decent picks - 14 and 31.
Our third and final mandatory pick is at 61, so it's entirely possible we'll take Marsh then.
I hope so at least.
maccas_no1
21 Oct 2003, 14:39
Totally agree Dave I think it's a big risk not having a backup ruckman.......................Carlton will find that out next year, they are relying on Barnby French:rolleyes: No Mckeranan or Allan:rolleyes:
maccas_no1
21 Oct 2003, 14:41
Thats the whole reason the AFC struggled in 1999, when Rehn and Marsh went down with major knee injuries the whole load was on Pitman and LUCUS HERBERT:rolleyes:
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 14:57
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Noticed Carlton delisted Eccles, would we consider him??????
Slow and couldn't kick... could never understand why he was rated so highly. Knee injuries or not he was never going to make it.
PrideOf
21 Oct 2003, 15:15
So let me get this right ...
We need key defenders, so we upgrade a too-small rover type in preference to a kid who can play full back.
Real, real smart.
And just as a side issue ... what makes us think Ben Marsh will still be available with pick 61?
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 15:30
Originally posted by PrideOf
... what makes us think Ben Marsh will still be available with pick 61?
A 27-year-old hack with a past knee ligament injury who did nothing for six years? I think it's safe to say we'll find him at Centrelink if we need him.
Porthos
21 Oct 2003, 15:41
Originally posted by dyertribe
A 27-year-old hack with a past knee ligament injury who did nothing for six years? I think it's safe to say we'll find him at Centrelink if we need him. Hey, thats our recruiting zone. **** off.
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 15:55
Originally posted by Porthos
Hey, thats our recruiting zone. **** off.
You mustn't have turned up to the recent meeting that saw the boundaries and zones re-drawn.
We now get Centrelink, the RSPCA and the Country Fire Service. The Power now get the Salvation Army, the Animal Welfare League and anything in the immediate vicinity of Pinaroo.
Porthos
21 Oct 2003, 15:58
If we didn't get St. Vinnies, I'll be peeved. I take it we still control Victoria Square though, right?
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 16:04
... I take it we still control Victoria Square though, right?
Not touchin' that one with a 40-foot-pole smeared with liquid viagra...
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:34
Well I am P|SSED OFF with this crap. I got nothing against the delistings but why the hell wasn't Parker promoted to the main list??????
A dud like Matthew Smith can keep his spot after a pathetic excuse of a season and a player of Parker's ability gets the boot. WTF is wrong with AFC??????
I am one angry suporter:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
Jars458
21 Oct 2003, 16:36
Stiffy Stiffy Stiffy. Calm down.
I have it on good authority that there may be some more changes to our list before the end of the week.
Can't say any more than that at this stage.
Cheers:)
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 16:39
I have it on good authority that there may be some more changes to our list before the end of the week.
They're changing the font from Times New Roman to Century Gothic?
Forgive my sarcasm but Skipworth before Parker is plain stupid.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:39
Stiffy Stiffy Stiffy. Calm down.
Can't say any more than that at this stage.
Cheers:) Thank you Jars458
I hope Parker gets promoted because if Smith stays and Parker goes I am going to AFC to stir some trouble.
I have it on good authority that there may be some more changes to our list before the end of the week. So why announce any changes today?
That seems a bit strange.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:40
Skipworth before Parker is plain stupid. I agree. We need talls not another undersized midfielder with question marks on his disposal and decision making under pressure.
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I hope Parker gets promoted because if Smith stays and Parker goes I am going to AFC to stir some trouble. Parker can stay on the list another year, can't he?
Or does he have the option of leaving if he thinks another club will draft him?
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 16:42
I agree. We need talls not another undersized midfielder with question marks on his disposal and decision making under pressure.
Especially when we're delisting the likes of Crowell who probably deserved one more year considering our lack of tall defenders.
Stiffy_18
Originally posted by DaveW
Parker can stay on the list another year, can't he?
Or does he have the option of leaving if he thinks another club will draft him? He can stay on the rookie list for another year I think. He can leave if he thinks another club would draft him and to be honest I don't think there would be that many clubs out there that would pass him up.
Jars458
So why announce any changes today?
That seems a bit strange.
You will just have to trust me.;)
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:43
Especially when we're delisting the likes of Crowell who probably deserved one more year considering our lack of tall defenders. And the thing about Parker is that he can play on talls and smalls. A bit like Hart and Smart.
I really don't understand the reasoning behind all this.:confused:
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:44
You will just have to trust me.;) They couldn't get in contact with Smith because he is on holidays??????
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:45
Considering the title of this thread, Kane will turn it into a sticky:p
Scotty's_Girl
21 Oct 2003, 16:47
It didn't surprise me that Schell, Marsh and Nelson were delisted, but Andrew Crowell?? :( What about Matthew Smith getting delisted? :confused: :rolleyes:
Considering the title of this thread, Kane will turn it into a sticky:p He's on leave, so I run the show now. :p
This thread's up for deletion. :D
evertonfc
21 Oct 2003, 16:49
We'll take Ben Marsh, if he's availiable at Pick #71 :)
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:50
Originally posted by evertonfc
We'll take Ben Marsh, if he's availiable at Pick #71 :) Didn't you already delist Capuano cos he was no good????
Compared to Marsh, Capuano is a star.;)
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:51
He's on leave, so I run the show now. :p
This thread's up for deletion. :D I was wondering why he wasn't around.
Ah well we will just have to start another one when he comes back:p
I am surprised you haven't already locked this thread:p
Especially when we're delisting the likes of Crowell who probably deserved one more year considering our lack of tall defenders. Crowell's a tall defender?? When's the last time he played on a tall forward?
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:53
Crowell's a tall defender?? When's the last time he played on a tall forward? Against Brisbane he has on Bradshaw and then on Brennan;)
You will just have to trust me.;) Are you taking the p*ss or what?
Against Brisbane he has on Bradshaw and then on Brennan;) Maybe I'm splitting hairs, but I wouldn't regard either of those two as KP forwards.
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 16:56
He's on leave...
Did he tell you when it's due?
And Crowell is 189cm... he could play big in theory ;)
Stiffy_18
Maybe I'm splitting hairs, but I wouldn't regard either of those two as KP forwards. Yep, you are splitting hairs:p
GoalsFrom50Out
Also today Adelaide upgraded rookie Hayden Skipworth to its primary list.
Well.
The Eagles are now collectively screwed.
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 16:57
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
Well.
The Eagles are now collectively screwed.
So are the Crows :(
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 16:57
Well.
The Eagles are now collectively screwed. With Cicolella gone I agree but Skippy will play majority of next year with Eagles anyway;)
Well.
The Eagles are now collectively screwed. Just because he's on the list doesn't mean he'll be picked each week.
With Cicolella gone I agree but Skippy will play majority of next year with Eagles anyway;) Off topic... where did Cica go?
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 17:00
Off topic... where did Cica go?
Back in time. Drafted by Fitzroy.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 17:01
Off topic... where did Cica go? He wants to move to Victoria for a year or 2 to try something different in his life.
Jars458
21 Oct 2003, 17:02
Are you taking the p*ss or what?
No.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 17:04
No. Am I on the right track with previous question?
dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 17:06
Don't encourage him Stiffy... he's already got a Sherlock Holmes hat on and is calling his dog "Watson".
GoalsFrom50Out
21 Oct 2003, 17:15
Off topic... where did Cica go?
VFL.
Jars458
21 Oct 2003, 17:30
Am I on the right track with previous question?
I have said all I am going to say. Be patient.:)
Reading between the lines, Parker will be promoted, at least according to what Jars458 knows.
My guess is that they're figuring out who's going to make way for him.
Adios, big Ben.
Let's not get too cut up about him getting cut.
If one of Clarke or Biglands is out injured, the other can up the workrate from 50% of a match to 80%, and we could use a key position player as a mobile pseudo-ruckman in a Goodes-Darcy-esque (obviously not as good) role. Robran played this role well at times in 1999.
If both Clarke or Biglands are out injured, we aren't beating anyone - with Ben Marsh, Lucas Herbert or Tommy Porridge in the centre bounces.
Ben Marsh would therefore have been insurance for what, exactly?
Originally posted by marvin
Ben Marsh would therefore have been insurance for what, exactly? He got 13 hit outs in very limited game time against Peter Everitt in his last match.
Such a shame that he got injured that match.
He's not a world-beater, but the back-up we need.
Reading between the lines, Parker will be promoted, at least according to what Jars458 knows.
My guess is that they're figuring out who's going to make way for him. Come to think of it, we still have to make a decision on the future of Bratton and Porplyzia as well.
I guess it's all personal opinion and favourites but I would not have elevated Skipworth. Will be lucky to get 2 games next year. I would have taken a risk on a draft pick. I'm relatively sure that there will be more happening later in the week and Parker will be elevated and Bratton will remain on the rookie list.
I heard James Fantasia on the radio on the weekend and he seemed pretty confident there was a ruckman both in the draft and possibly as a rookie.
It leaves a bit of a bad taste delisting a player who is recovering from a knee reconstruction-2nd year we've done this-but I like Crowell as he can fill a few positions. However, as he was out of contract, I guess the club did not want to commit to a further 2 years.
Cheer,
a.j.
lozstar
21 Oct 2003, 19:10
I can't see the logic in keeping Smith, clearly Ayres isn't going to give him a chance in AFL (and yeah, fair enough too) If he's costing Parker his spot on the main list, the weird thing is they seem to be best friends.. hmm.
On Channel 10 they just said about the delistings, and they said it's sure not to be the last.
magicman
21 Oct 2003, 19:19
Can we delist Gary Ayres?!:p :D
lozstar
21 Oct 2003, 19:21
Originally posted by magicman
Can we delist Gary Ayres?!:p :D please do :D
Good Luck and all the best to all of the players delisted by the AFC today.
I am glad that AFC made the decision to delist Marsh. His contract was up and neither party were getting the best out of his last contract, so we're not loosing much.
If we can puick up 2 young ruckmen for next year I will be happy. I think it is a risk worth taking.
Skipworth should not have been added to the list. Certainly not ahead of Parker.
I think the addition of Stevens and retaining Smart may have made Parkers chances of starting in Round 1 very slim.
Smith should have also been delisted.
SAbella
21 Oct 2003, 21:01
Originally posted by magicman
Can we delist Gary Ayres?!:p :D
Haha-I wish! :p Lets try... :D
macca23
21 Oct 2003, 21:20
He got 13 hit outs in very limited game time against Peter Everitt in his last match.
Marsh is not much chop, but he was an insurance policy in case Biglands and Clarke got injured.
His delisting was inevitable, but I would have felt a lot more comfortable if there was a replacement already in the squad.
Kane McGoodwin has triumphed at last!! :D
Originally posted by Jerome
Good Luck and all the best to all of the players delisted by the AFC today.
I am glad that AFC made the decision to delist Marsh. His contract was up and neither party were getting the best out of his last contract, so we're not loosing much.
If we can puick up 2 young ruckmen for next year I will be happy. I think it is a risk worth taking.
Skipworth should not have been added to the list. Certainly not ahead of Parker.
I think the addition of Stevens and retaining Smart may have made Parkers chances of starting in Round 1 very slim.
Smith should have also been delisted.
Agree with every point you made Jerome.
Good luck to all those delisted especially Andrew Crowell who before his knee injury could never put together enough good games to keep his spot.
Also to Ben Marsh who promised so much yet delivered so little after his knee injury, the AFC must have someone in mind as a replacement ruckman either that or give Biglands his head & let him play the majority of the game on the ball.
Never been a fan of Skipworth mostly due to his delivery but i will gladly change my view if he can improve on that aspect of his game.
He got 13 hit outs in very limited game time against Peter Everitt in his last match.
13 hitouts - and one disposal.
Capuano got 15 hit outs and had 16 disposals (and kicked a goal) against Porter and Petrie 8 weeks before he was delisted.
Lucas Herbert got 12 hit outs against Salmon the week before he was replaced in the ruck by Trent Ormond-Allen.
Tom Gilligan got 10 hit outs in his 2nd last match.
I still don't buy the argument that we need Marsh as a back-up. With either one of Biglands and Clarke we've still got a good side. With neither, and Marsh, we struggle to make the 8. If they both go down, I'd rather see Lanky Beanpole or whoever this draft target is get a go than watch Marsh give his best.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 21:55
Originally posted by noddy
AFC must have someone in mind as a replacement ruckman Well I watched the sports report on channel 9 and John Reid said that we might be surprised as to who they will select. I am starting to worry. I reckon its one of the SANFL ruckman. As long as its not Scouller I will be happy. With all due respects he is just another Ben Marsh. I think we could go for Linsay from Eagles but I wouldn't mind seeing Dabrowski selected with a late pick. After all we might select Capuano:(
I think now its become pretty clear that we will select a ruckman with our 1st pick.
Originally posted by marvin
13 hitouts - and one disposal. If you're going to judge a ruckman by the disposals they get then Matthew Clarke should be on the chopping block too.
We just need Marsh to win the taps - and he can do that - to supply our midfield when Clarke or Biglands, or both :eek:, goes down.
I think now its become pretty clear that we will select a ruckman with our 1st pick. So in a draft that has a strong top 15-20, we're going to waste our only high pick with a gamble?
Not happy.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 22:24
So in a draft that has a strong top 15-20, we're going to waste our only high pick with a gamble?
Not happy. Brent Hall makes the top 20;)
Dude, ANYONE is better than Marsh. I am glad he is GAWN:D
Brent Hall would do a MUCH better job than Marsh;)
I just think we should pick the best available player.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 22:29
I just think we should pick the best available player. I think we will have some heated arguments when it comes to OFFICIAL BigFooty Phantom draft on November 17th. How are we going to come to agreement?????? I have no idea:p:p:p:p:p:p
I think we will have some heated arguments when it comes to OFFICIAL BigFooty Phantom draft on November 17th. How are we going to come to agreement?????? I have no idea:p:p:p:p:p:p Would you take Hall if Watts was available?
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 22:33
Would you take Hall if Watts was available? I would have to see what other ruckman are left in the draft and are they likely to be around come pick 31. I would probably say no, because I might have something up my sleeve with picks 31, 61 and possibly 77;)
Bockchoy67
21 Oct 2003, 22:37
Good luck to the careers of all that were delisted by the Adelaide Crows today. :)
However, I have a few points about this delisting that I would like to make...
- Michael Bratton and Aidan Parker are well above Skippy. Bratton, especially, as he plays a similar role to Skippy, who needs vast improvement.
- Matthew Smith should have definitely been delisted, he's done no good for the AFC and should be delisted instead of Crowell.
- Ben Marsh did well for us but it was the right thing to do. Besides, Ian Perrie is only 4 or 5cm smaller than Clarke, and he's a good jump, so he could easily be backup.
I just hope Parker and Bratton and promoted, especially Bratton.
:(
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 22:42
Originally posted by Bockchoy67
- Michael Bratton and Aidan Parker are well above Skippy. Bratton, especially, as he plays a similar role to Skippy, who needs vast improvement. Rubbish. Parker should have been promoted. Skippy is a much better player than Bratton. You don't promote a player just because he played 2 good games and was reasonable in the rest of them.
Bockchoy67
21 Oct 2003, 22:46
Rubbish. Parker should have been promoted. Skippy is a much better player than Bratton. You don't promote a player just because he played 2 good games and was reasonable in the rest of them.
I agree Stiffy, but I value Parker just as much as Bratton. I only mentioned Bratton especially because he does the role of Skippy's better in my opinion.
Parker is the best young player for our defence and should most definitely be promoted. I just see Bratton as a good player as well.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 22:49
I only mentioned Bratton especially because he does the role of Skippy's better in my opinion. Can you explain why????
Bockchoy67
21 Oct 2003, 22:56
Can you explain why????
From what I've seen of Bratton, he seems to get the ball the harder way, which is the better way. And although Skippy is a ball-magnet, I believe Bratton makes better use of the ball himself.
I'm not underating Skippy, but I think Bratton is the better midfielder. Sure, he needs to put a little weight on, but since he got 15.8 in the beep test (great for midfielders) and is more ferocious at the ball than Skippy, I believe he would suit our midfielding role better.
Plus, Skippy's had his oppirtunities at AFL level several times this year and he didn't really prove himself. Bratton deserves to get these oppirtunities at least.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 23:05
From what I've seen of Bratton, he seems to get the ball the harder way, which is the better way. And although Skippy is a ball-magnet, I believe Bratton makes better use of the ball himself.
I'm not underating Skippy, but I think Bratton is the better midfielder. Sure, he needs to put a little weight on, but since he got 15.8 in the beep test (great for midfielders) and is more ferocious at the ball than Skippy, I believe he would suit our midfielding role better.
Plus, Skippy's had his oppirtunities at AFL level several times this year and he didn't really prove himself. Bratton deserves to get these oppirtunities at least. Skippy is the in and under type. he gets plenty of hard ball gets. In fact I reckon he would be close 2nd behind Cicollela for the Eagles this year. Yes I agree that Skippy needs to improve his disposal a little bit and use it wisely but he generally does OK.
Getting 15.8 means nothing as far as footy is concerned. It only tells you that Bratton has a very good mix of pace and endurance and has a bit of mental toughness about him. A bloke in my high school basketball team had 15.4 in the beep test but he was sh|t at basketball:p
Skippy was hardly given a chance this year. He got about 10 minutes of football against West Coast and did very well I thought. Got some hard ball and picked 7 good possesions in that game. The following game against Collingwood he got some 5 minutes and didn't do too bad apart from a couple of turn overs but everyone else made them. Even the most experienced heads.
I think Skippy definetly deserved his spot, he has had a terrific year and has definetly improved. Parker deserves it also but the best Bratton deserves is another year on the rookie list IMHO.
You wouldn't happen to be a redlegs supporter??????:p
Bockchoy67
21 Oct 2003, 23:12
I think Skippy definetly deserved his spot, he has had a terrific year and has definetly improved. Parker deserves it also but the best Bratton deserves is another year on the rookie list IMHO.
You wouldn't happen to be a redlegs supporter??????:p
Nah Stiffy, I'm all North. Didn't go too well this year, but with Jars behind us I reckon we're in good stead for 2004.
Anyway, I suppose you're right about Skippy. I have my doubts on him, but he could become a regular if he fixes up his disposals. He's a good player, he just needs to show me more, that he can do well at AFL level.
If Parker gets promoted as well (and hopefully Bratton thisyear or the next) then I believe we're in for a very interesting 2004. :)
Crow-mosone
21 Oct 2003, 23:25
Rubbish. Parker should have been promoted. Skippy is a much better player than Bratton. You don't promote a player just because he played 2 good games and was reasonable in the rest of them.
hmmm... is it?
you promote a player on talent, promise and potential not to mention role. Nothing about this precludes Bratton from being a better prospect than Skipworth.
Not that I have an opinion on that, but 2 games is certainly enough to show future worth to a good judge.
macca23
21 Oct 2003, 23:35
Would you take Hall if Watts was available?
I'll tell you Dave, if that happened I would really vomit.
Watts is that contested marking forward that we have been seeking for the last umpteen years.
If he's not around it has to be Gayfer or Morrison. KPP's who can play forward or back and can mark a footy.
Hall is not a number 15 draft pick.
We must take the best available player at #15 and that won't be Hall.
Stiffy_18
21 Oct 2003, 23:38
Originally posted by macca23
I'll tell you Dave, if that happened I would really vomit.
Watts is that contested marking forward that we have been seeking for the last umpteen years.
If he's not around it has to be Gayfer or Morrison. KPP's who can play forward or back and can mark a footy.
Hall is not a number 15 draft pick.
We must take the best available player at #15 and that won't be Hall. I can almost guarantee you that we WILL pick up a ruckman with pick 14;)
Mark my words. If we don't we might be in a bit of strife with as far as ruckman depth goes:(
macca23
21 Oct 2003, 23:52
I can almost guarantee you that we WILL pick up a ruckman with pick 14;)
Mark my words. If we don't we might be in a bit of strife with as far as ruckman depth goes:(
You're probably right Stiffy, but that doesn't make me any happier. :(
We've been short of a young quality KPP for some years now. We've also carried that dud Marsh for year after year and now that we have the chance to draft a decent KPP for a change we're going to buy a ruckman by taking him many positions earlier than he warrants.
Not the stuff that Einstein's are made of young Stiffmeister!!
I would have rather carried the dud for another year and dedicated the rookie draft and next year's main draft to the ruckman.
Stiffy_18
22 Oct 2003, 00:21
Originally posted by macca23
You're probably right Stiffy, but that doesn't make me any happier. :(
We've been short of a young quality KPP for some years now. We've also carried that dud Marsh for year after year and now that we have the chance to draft a decent KPP for a change we're going to buy a ruckman by taking him many positions earlier than he warrants.
Not the stuff that Einstein's are made of young Stiffmeister!!
I would have rather carried the dud for another year and dedicated the rookie draft and next year's main draft to the ruckman. I think the reason those KPP would go top 15 is not so much because of their quality, its more to do with the fact that this year's draft is thin on talls. I honestly think thet there is top 10 and then you can throw the blanket over the next 10-15. So really any one of those 10-15 can go at pick 11 say. Clubs usually pick to their needs and this year will not be any different.
When you think of it really, either Sydney or Collingwood take Hall with picks 16 or 17 respectively or we take him at 14. 2-3 places make no real difference. Hall is what we are in desperate need of. We have KPP who we can develop. They won't be world beaters but they will be good players. On the other hand we have no ruckman.
I think we can still pick up a reasonable KPP with pick 31 and there is always next year;)
Nige_Bix
22 Oct 2003, 00:25
He wants to move to Victoria for a year or 2 to try something different in his life.
I have it on good authority - not from club - but a relative - that he is "following his heart" - rekindling with a former flame! - lives in Victoria now - possibly in Geelong - plus maybe not enough recognition [including $$ ]from the Eagles.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
22 Oct 2003, 08:58
Goodbye Ben Marsh
Goodbye Dan Schell
Goodbye Ben Nelson
A very sad Goodbye to Andrew Crowell (the only one I am upset about)
Thankfully Dogga survived.........but I heard on channel 10 news that there might be more delistings at the end of the week. Maybe the pain isn't over yet!
Goodluck to Hayden Skipworth - to earn his way back onto the full time list is a credit to him and I am very pleased.
k
xx
If you're going to judge a ruckman by the disposals they get then Matthew Clarke should be on the chopping block too.
We just need Marsh to win the taps - and he can do that - to supply our midfield when Clarke or Biglands, or both :eek:, goes down.
I'll admit I didn't see Marsh's last AFL game, because I was in hospital.
However, I saw enough of his previous career to know his tap-work shouldn't even be mentioned in the same breath as Biglands, let alone Clarke.
As I've maintained before, if one ruckman goes down we need anyone to perform spot duty for 5-10 minutes here and there - like Lewis Roberts-Thompson did for the Swannies against us - to relieve the surviving big man. If they both go down, it's tanking time.
maccas_no1
22 Oct 2003, 14:33
Dont be surprised if WSt Kilda pick up Marsh, Grant Thomas isnt very clever:rolleyes:
Stiffy_18
22 Oct 2003, 14:39
Dont be surprised if WSt Kilda pick up Marsh, Grant Thomas isnt very clever:rolleyes: I think there will be a number of clubs that could pick him up with St. Kilda and Collingwood most likely. Richmond wouldn't be far off IMHO.
maccas_no1
22 Oct 2003, 14:50
Is there any chance Adam Cooney will be available when our pick 14 comes up?????
Is there any chance Adam Cooney will be available when our pick 14 comes up????? Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
maccas_no1
22 Oct 2003, 14:52
I gather that is a no Dave??????
I gather that is a no Dave?????? He won't be available when Carlton's pick 2 comes around!
Porthos
22 Oct 2003, 14:59
Maybe he should issue a press release stating his preferred club for the 2005 season.
Stiffy_18
22 Oct 2003, 15:00
Maybe he should issue a press release stating his preferred club for the 2005 season. Tampering with draft:p
Stiffy_18
22 Oct 2003, 15:01
Is there any chance Adam Cooney will be available when our pick 14 comes up????? No chance in hell.
We will pick up a ruckman with pick 14