View Full Version : whats the latest on lynch and pike ?

irish
21 Oct 2003, 19:58
any word if we have signed up our stars yet ?
i hope we are making progress ohh and we can add copeland as well !!

irish
23 Oct 2003, 16:05
silence ??? is anyone out there ?????

Lady Lawrence
23 Oct 2003, 17:54
that's cos there is no news yet.

Alastair has been offered a one year contract with the Lions but he is weighing up his options as he also has a couple of media offers to consider.

Pikey has been offered a one year contract as well but is still negotiating terms as he was not happy with the original offer.

Copeland - not heard a thing at this stage.

SpecialBruce
23 Oct 2003, 18:06
It's nearing the end of October and Lynchy hasn't decided. He usually doesn't take this long. Well he's probably decided but hasn't told the club yet. The longer he takes, the more of a chance he'll be in the media next year IMO.

Boxhead85
23 Oct 2003, 18:23
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
It's nearing the end of October and Lynchy hasn't decided. He usually doesn't take this long. Well he's probably decided but hasn't told the club yet. The longer he takes, the more of a chance he'll be in the media next year IMO.

Considering he was previously on a 10 year contract i don't see how you can come to any decisions based on how long he is taking to renew it.

SpecialBruce
23 Oct 2003, 20:42
Originally posted by Boxhead85
Considering he was previously on a 10 year contract i don't see how you can come to any decisions based on how long he is taking to renew it.

I'm talking about retirement. The last 2 years he has thought about retirement and it's never taken him this long to do so.

ZeeTheClown
23 Oct 2003, 20:51
Clubs have to submit their lists to the AFL NEXT Friday (31st October). Thus, it's not surprising that we haven't heard anything about these players.

Perhaps Pike, Copeland and Lynch will be let go. Or maybe the communications manager at the Lions just gone on holidays (where was her brother's wedding??), hence the lack of an announcement?

lionvoss
23 Oct 2003, 22:10
Leppas wedding was in brisvegas..gorgeous wedding btw..saw the pics

Mr Ripper
23 Oct 2003, 22:19
News flash guys Nicki Lepitsch hasn't been the communications manager for almost a year now. Started her own business in player management I believe.

Kimba
24 Oct 2003, 13:54
..same problem. Doesn't she manage Robbie C now?
So if the wedding was local...I can understand Lynchy weighing things up...but can't understand why Copeland isn't secured and announced?

Danni
24 Oct 2003, 14:06
For all we know they all could still be up in the air, or they could be signed sealed and delivered.

Unless the player manager or player makes a media statement, then we won't know about. Club policy is that they will not make comment/send out media releases on player negotiations/contracts etc etc.

And also......didn't Copeland get married as well at the end of the season? He could just be waiting to finalise the details after the wedding/honeymoon.

irish
24 Oct 2003, 20:44
notice on the tiger site they are talking about copeland being a tiger next season . hopefull i reckon

LionHeart20
26 Oct 2003, 09:57
hmmm... they reckon he was going to make his decision sometime lastweek. :confused:

keatings_gal
26 Oct 2003, 14:31
And also......didn't Copeland get married as well at the end of the season? He could just be waiting to finalise the details after the wedding/honeymoon.

it hasnt happened just yet... but he will have to finalise it before the wedding if the list has to be in by 31st october

obviously alot of things on the mind as such a time...

Kimba
26 Oct 2003, 21:15
..the fishing is far better in SE QLD, compared to Port Phillip Bay.....no chance

Kimba
26 Oct 2003, 21:16
"notice on the tiger site they are talking about copeland being a tiger next season"
..the fishing is far better in SE QLD, compared to Port Phillip Bay.....no chance

The invisible mullet
27 Oct 2003, 11:33
Copeland couldn't be that desparate

jmerino
27 Oct 2003, 12:18
It would go without saying that messers Macmahon and Macgurie would be mounting a pretty strong case against the Lions cap extensions IF they chose to get rid of a local country Qlder, who is a good player.I can't believe the club would be so stupid as to delist him. I can't imagine any argument they could come up with to justify it, let alone use the old and tired not enough money line.

SpecialBruce
27 Oct 2003, 16:53
Lynch is playing on.

LionHeart20
27 Oct 2003, 17:15
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Lynch is playing on.
Source?

ZeeTheClown
27 Oct 2003, 17:20
http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=125186

Yep - it's official. Lynch will help the Lions make it 4 in a rown in 2004.

LionHeart20
27 Oct 2003, 17:22
Fantastic stuff! :D.
Thanks for that, ZTC

irish
28 Oct 2003, 20:56
fantastic news !!!! i would have been crushed if the great man had just faded away like that now he can go out in style,ohh that is after 60 or 70 goals and hey just maybe another flag !!