View Full Version : M1 protest
play on
11 Apr 2001, 16:29
What are you going to do on Tuesday May the first? Are you going to join in the protests and blockade the stock exchange and other sites in Melbourne, do you support this action or do you think that the people involved should get a job? As far as I know, the M1 people are the same people who were involved in the S11 protests in Melbourne last year.
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Apr 2001, 17:52
Err ... no ... I won't be there ...
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Asgardian
11 Apr 2001, 21:29
How much do these useless no-hopers charge for "rent-a-crowd"?
------------------
Chris
(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)
collingwood_joffa
11 Apr 2001, 23:27
I WILL BE THERE WHO WANTS TO MEET UNDER THE CLOCKS AT FLINDERS ST STATION,LET ME KNOW OK
------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
'YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE'http://www.mp3.com/joffa
Bloodstained Angel
12 Apr 2001, 04:25
Raise the Red Flag
What a suprise,Joffa will be there :rolleyes:
You'll blend into the crowd well Joffa.Most of the protesters would have mullets and look like bogans.
------------------
"FIGHTING WITH ALL OUR MIGHT"
Joffa
I will be in that, I haven't been to a good may day demo in years. We can discuss details at the cricketers before the Anzac day game.
Cheers
------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI
collingwood_joffa
12 Apr 2001, 11:14
No worries hun and im looking forward to it.
------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
Well here we are. Just hours away from the start of the M1 protest. Hopefully, we won't have the same scenes that we saw at S11 with the police and the protesters. I can't see it being like that this time because the protesters are not trying to stop buissness leaders from around the world from getting into the casino. And it is likely that people that work in Collins st will stay at home anyway. So the police may not even try to move the protesters from the Stock exchange. People should avoid the city if they are driving because it is most likely that roads will be closed.
Malcom Stuart, the person who reports things from England on 3AW says that the Brittish police have been given permission to fire rubber bullets into the crowd for the Brittish protest. Lets hope that this never happens in Australia.
-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------
Sitting Bull
1 May 2001, 18:37
Originally posted by play on:
Malcom Stuart, the person who reports things from England on 3AW says that the Brittish police have been given permission to fire rubber bullets into the crowd for the Brittish protest. Lets hope that this never happens in Australia.
Bullocks! After the shit the cops took from these scum I'm suprised that they aren't using them. After walking through south bank after that s11 fracar, I was disgusted to see everything and anything spray painted. It took about a whole week for the council to clean up, for 1 week the city was an absolute shithole and mess was everywhere throught the city. So I wish the cops and security around all buildings in the CBD the best tommorrow.
They should use real ones. http://cwm.ragesofsanity.com/otn/mfinger/thefinger_red.gif
Sitting Bull
1 May 2001, 19:03
Originally posted by Darky:
They should use real ones. http://cwm.ragesofsanity.com/otn/mfinger/thefinger_red.gif
To true Darky!
M1 That is a road is it not. Only joking. Get a life you whinging bastards and go to the footy.
Go The Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC.
[This message has been edited by DOC (edited 01 May 2001).]
Well here we are. Just hours away from the start of the M1 protest. Hopefully, we won't have the same scenes that we saw at S11 with the police and the protesters. I can't see it being like that this time because the protesters are not trying to stop buissness leaders from around the world from getting into the casino. And it is likely that people that work in Collins st will stay at home anyway. So the police may not even try to move the protesters from the Stock exchange. People should avoid the city if they are driving because it is most likely that roads will be closed.
read up a bit on the Star Hotel in Newcastle
ptw
Eagle_Fan
1 May 2001, 21:07
Originally posted by Darky:
I thought they did in Victoria? ;)
collingwood_joffa
2 May 2001, 00:44
Well people i dont give a rats arse wot you say cause im leavin for the protest right now
why....
I care about our putrid enviroment
I care about the worlds forrest being demolished.
I care about people in third world countries living in poverty.Whilst the western world squanders millions on crap.
If that is my crime well thucken shoot me now you pack of selfish self centred bastards.
------------------
A quote from an M1 spokesman "We're not sorry about the inconvenience we are causing big business. The whole idea of the protest is to shut down corporate Melbourne. The protest is not aimed at the average worker."
Who do these clowns think work for 'corporate Melbourne'? The only people who will suffer out of this will be the average workers who miss a day's pay.
Bloodstained Angel
2 May 2001, 04:34
The angry mob of ferals that stormed the Bastille on July 14, 1789 were also called 'troublemakers' and 'rent a crowd' and 'bludgers' as well.
Funny that. - today we call them revolutionaries
cheers
Neil Mitchell interviewd a person painting M1 on the front of MC Donalds in Collins st and he says this is ok because MC Donalds can afford to clean it up.
-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------
TigerTank
2 May 2001, 05:10
The protesters should be run out of town with their tails between their legs. Expose them for dangerous fanatics that they are!
They are worthless scum. They have never nor will ever contribute anything to anyone. They create nothing - they only belittle and destroy.
They are liars and hypocrites - they oppose the selling of public transport to private operators, and yet I saw at least two who were too mean to pay $2.60 to buy a train ticket. A miserable $2.60!!! ($1.30 concession)
They bemoan elitism yet how many went to expensive private schools? How many are having university holidays while being subsidised by taxpaying WORKERS?
They whine about welfare, but many refuse to take paying work and pay taxes, to contribute to more welfare. Hypocrites!
They are parasites who bite the hands that feed them. BHP pays more tax, that eventually is used on hospitals and schools, than all the protesters put together.
They are arrogant. They assume that their beliefs are so much more important than those of people who just want to do their jobs and live their lives - so important that they think it is fine to disrupt others lives. They are draconian and hate democracy.
They are manipulators of history of the worst order. They lie about the atrocities committed by Socialist leaders like Iosef Stalin and Pol Pot - in that sense they are no better (and probably worse) than Nazi apologists.
They are vandals. They claim to represent the environment, but many of those I saw this morning were burning materials, smoking, and littering. Memo to protesters: Littering damages the environment!
They rant about 'rights', yet believe that people don't have a right to work in some industries if they choose not to belong to a political organisation that some morally and ethically oppose (a union). That is extortion! The mafia would be proud!!
In short, they are evil - even if they don't know it themselves.
------------------
TT - The obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter
Sitting Bull
2 May 2001, 05:20
Originally posted by TigerTank:
They are worthless scum. They have never nor will ever contribute anything to anyone. They create nothing - they only belittle and destroy.
They are liars and hypocrites - they oppose the selling of public transport to private operators, and yet I saw at least two who were too mean to pay $2.60 to buy a train ticket. A miserable $2.60!!! ($1.30 concession)
They bemoan elitism yet how many went to expensive private schools? How many are having university holidays while being subsidised by taxpaying WORKERS?
They whine about welfare, but many refuse to take paying work and pay taxes, to contribute to more welfare. Hypocrites!
They are parasites who bite the hands that feed them. BHP pays more tax, that eventually is used on hospitals and schools, than all the protesters put together.
They are arrogant. They assume that their beliefs are so much more important than those of people who just want to do their jobs and live their lives - so important that they think it is fine to disrupt others lives. They are draconian and hate democracy.
They are manipulators of history of the worst order. They lie about the atrocities committed by Socialist leaders like Iosef Stalin and Pol Pot - in that sense they are no better (and probably worse) than Nazi apologists.
They are vandals. They claim to represent the environment, but many of those I saw this morning were burning materials, smoking, and littering. Memo to protesters: Littering damages the environment!
They also have not contributed 1 CENT to the $20 million worth of damage / losses over the last protest.
It was reported that the first scuffle had started. It was not much and lasted only about 20 seconds, but it is a sign that things could turn ugly. I hope not. I think it was at the Stock Exchange.
-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------
What would rent-a-crowd say if stockbrokers of Victoria united, and marched with accountants, economists, lawyers and entrepreneurs, and marched to the steps of Centrelink offices around Melbourne.
"But.. but.. but.. that means all these people can't go in and collect their money"
Much the same as the people who have worked hard to get where they are, and have the right to go about their jobs at the casino, stock exchange and wherever else.
Or do principles only exist where they suit you?
daddy_4_eyes
2 May 2001, 06:38
I was in the city today getting my braces taken off when the protesters started. The whole lot of them are Dole bludging hippies.
People swore at them, gave them the finger, someone even through a glass bottle at them(cops just started laughing).
But i must say that they are winning. The Nike factory outlet put barriers up, some McDonalds stores were closed, and they disrupted traffic.
But i hate the lot of them :( All are a bunch of hypocrites.
------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"
mud n blood
2 May 2001, 06:53
Round the f*ck-knuckles up and gas 'em ....
I hope they get "physical" and the coppers shoot a few (they won't up here in Qld, but the Vic cops might!). A few less ********s in this world will go a long way.
What's next weeks protest about?
I'm sure it will be some mindless idea that will give these people 2 seconds on the news.
Shutting down the stockmarket hey? That's really clever :rolleyes: The Aussie economy already has problems ********s.
Which protest is this? I haven't heard about anyother protest. The last I heard the next one will be in a few months. How badly will this affect normal people going about their normal buissness?
-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------
Sitting Bull
2 May 2001, 07:52
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes:
I was in the city today getting my braces taken off when the protesters started. The whole lot of them are Dole bludging hippies.
People swore at them, gave them the finger, someone even through a glass bottle at them(cops just started laughing).
But i must say that they are winning. The Nike factory outlet put barriers up, some McDonalds stores were closed, and they disrupted traffic.
But i hate the lot of them :( All are a bunch of hypocrites.
My uni is next to the nike shop, the did nothing this year, just wrote shit on the ground with chalk, usual stuff like Capitalist Pis, Nazi Slogans and the usual swastika's are a must at any protest.
As usual the Union members were there most appeared to be tradesman just talking to each other whilst one bitch was screaming over the pa in front of the intersection of the Bourke St Mall and Swanston St. She sounded like a feral pig being sleaughted I could not decipher one word she spoke. One old drunk guy was walking around just laughing and pointing at her and screaming jibberish.
They have moved along now leaving used baners and shit strewn over the road. Who knows how far the bludgers can be bothered to walk next to though. But my guess is the rest of them are heading to the stock exchange.
It is unbelievable. On October 3-5 Melbourne will hold some Buisness forum. Around 600 buisness and goverment leaders including 15 heads of goverment are expected to attend. Won't that be fun. The protesters will be out in force because the leaders will be talking about global buisness trade and other issues.
-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------
Originally posted by collingwood_joffa:
Well people i dont give a rats arse wot you say cause im leavin for the protest right now
why....
I care about our putrid enviroment
I care about the worlds forrest being demolished.
I care about people in third world countries living in poverty.Whilst the western world squanders millions on crap.
If that is my crime well thucken shoot me now you pack of selfish self centred bastards.
JOFFA
Maybe you should check who the Collingwood Sponsors are to see if they are some are the corporate giants your protesting against.
Then you could protest out the front of Vic Park.
------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"
I'll bet some of this 'Rent-a-crowd' are regulars at a McDonalds Restaurant and they probably wear Nike shoes or clothes.
We know they wouldn't have stocks because they would more likely spend their money on Grog & Drugs. :rolleyes:
------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"
We had a debate about this in Business Management (year 12) today and here is some things we came up with:
FOR:
*Provides Jobs - Worldwide (millions)
*Reduces prices (at least in theory)
*Increases competition
*Gives the consumer choice
*Provides Investment in Australia
*Infrastructure - Provides local people with jobs building the infrastructure for these companies.
ANTI:
* Potential for exploitation of third world companies
* Profits returned to overseas "parent" company
* The companies are foreign owned
* Ownership of own resources - for example if Shell had taken over Woodside then Shell would own the leases on the resources which were formerly Australian owned!!
There ya go!
We had a debate about this in Business Management (year 12) today and here is some things we came up with:
FOR:
*Provides Jobs - Worldwide (millions)
*Reduces prices (at least in theory)
*Increases competition
*Gives the consumer choice
*Provides Investment in Australia
*Infrastructure - Provides local people with jobs building the infrastructure for these companies.
ANTI:
* Potential for exploitation of third world companies
* Profits returned to overseas "parent" company
* The companies are foreign owned
* Ownership of own resources - for example if Shell had taken over Woodside then Shell would own the leases on the resources which were formerly Australian owned!!
There ya go!
Joffa
Thats the absolutely first time I have heard ANY M1 or S11 supporter actually be able to string together a few words to explain what they are about and it actually made sense. Well done.
Now, if you really beleive those things then tell me,
What sort of car do you drive?
What brand of shoes do you wear?
Who ultimately pays your wage?
Who made the computer you are using right now?
What about the windows program you are using?
Who ultimately owns the brewery where you get your favourite beer?
If you really beleive we will be better off without these multinationalists then please explain to me where I will work when they are gone.
Please explain how our economy will survive when they are gone.
Please explain to my children why they will have no career when they leave school.
Please explain to my children why all these empty buildings have been deserted in the middle of our cities.
I could go on.
I do not beleive these global companies are the saviours of the Earth, but they are here and they will not go away. If you look say 50 years into the future, and the ideals of the M1 protesters are achieved, what will our life be like? I need to know this answer.
I do not support globalisation but I do not see a maintainable alternative. I am yet to hear one realistic theory from an M1 or S11 supporter as to an alternative society.
Please give me one!!!!
Same Old's
2 May 2001, 14:27
Originally posted by mud n blood:
Are you serious? Settle down.
Originally posted by mud n blood:
I hope they get "physical" and the coppers shoot a few (they won't up here in Qld, but the Vic cops might!). A few less ********s in this world will go a long way.
Well Said M n B.
What is the point of starting a business?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
To make money?
These companies that you are trying to shut down all started with a few businessmen who had an idea on how to make money. Then when they become sucessful, then all of a sudden, what they have done is a crime and must be shut down?
[This message has been edited by joshhem (edited 01 May 2001).]
Top post Joshem!!
How much you are paid is generally relative to cost of living so please don't use that as an arguement!
Same Old's
2 May 2001, 15:24
Originally posted by joshhem:
What is the point of starting a business?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
To make money?
These companies that you are trying to shut down all started with a few businessmen who had an idea on how to make money. Then when they become sucessful, then all of a sudden, what they have done is a crime and must be shut down?
[This message has been edited by joshhem (edited 01 May 2001).]
Who said anything about shutting down businesses?
Originally posted by servo:
What sort of car do you drive?
What brand of shoes do you wear?
Who ultimately pays your wage?
Who made the computer you are using right now?
What about the windows program you are using?
Who ultimately owns the brewery where you get your favourite beer?
SERVO
You forgot one question for an M1 goon.
Which Centrelink office do they attend ? :D
------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"
yes what a load of rubbish !
if each of those hoons simply donated their time to a charity or something for a day they would achieve so much.
Instead they cause a whole heap of hassles to a whole heap of people.
I wonder if they sit back afterwards, light up another bong, and count how many people actually quit their job at the stock exchange as a result of their protest ? What did they actually achieve ? What was their message ? If you were the premier and woke up this morning and decided that you were going to act on what the protestors wanted....what would you actually do ? Shut down all the McDonald's stores (and raise youth unemployment by 20% ?) ban Nike ? (and give Adidas a free leg up ?) what do they actually want.
I seems like a whole lot of people with nothing to do ho decided to go and be like mummy and daddy in the 1960's and protest about something.....fashionable ("I haven't been to a good protest in ages")
ptw
Originally posted by Same Old's:
Who said anything about shutting down businesses?
The M1 signs (that are everywhere) say that the perpose of the protest was to shut down corporate business
Same Old's
7 May 2001, 16:57
I think they meant they wanted to shut down businesses for May 1st. Seems like it didn't work though.
fairdinkum
2 Mar 2011, 15:22
Can you believe it has already been a decade since Joffa and Mantis caught up for some beer before taking part in disruptive protests?
:spade:
Forthwrite
2 Mar 2011, 15:51
Very solid bump.
Good to see JubJub is still an angry old man 10 years later, too!
Asgardian
2 Mar 2011, 17:06
How much do these useless no-hopers charge for "rent-a-crowd"?
Stand by that
Good to see JubJub is still an angry old man 10 years later, too!
He's a legend.
Pick the oldies still with Bigfooty