View Full Version : Pura Cup: Who is going to break out?
Fall Out Boy
30 Oct 2003, 18:14
From a Victorian perspective, i expect both Jon Moss and Cam White to have great seasons.
Moss has taken a while, but his first class record is now pretty good (36 with the bat, 25 with the ball), and i believe it will only get better.
Is capable of becoming another Ian Harvey, just with more consistency, and less talent.
Cam White is pretty self-explanitory. Supremely talented slow bowler who is improving at a rapid rate. Will play for Australia before the Summer is over.
So, who will break out from your state?
From a South Australian perspective - Paul Rofe, Shaun Tait and Mark Clearly, with the ball...
Mark Cosgrove and Callum Ferguson look ready to convert their dominance in the junior scene onto the senior State arena.
A couple of dark horses, Dan Cullen and Cullen Bailey - and offy and a leggy respectively. They might not play a game this season, but put those names down to memory.
Freo Big Fella
30 Oct 2003, 18:50
WA
----
Michael Clark - Excellent Swing Bowler, Personally I think he'll be pushing an Australia A selection if he can get over this arthritis thats been bothering him lately and keep up his form from last summer. Will open with Callum Thorp or Wates when our bowling lineup is at full strength.
Chris Rogers - Roy's going to cement his spot as our top opener this season. A great strokeplayer and timer of the ball with a great future ahead of him.
Beau Casson - Hogg is probably going to be called up a lot more this season, so this young bloke should get a lot more of an opportunity this season. He's a developing chinaman, and a good lower order batsman. Should start to come into form this season.
Peter Worthington - Damn fine all rounder, as seen my the way he belted round the Redbacks bowlers and knocked over their top order the other day. In for big things this season.
lamby29
30 Oct 2003, 19:15
Cam White and Hussey.
Bomber Spirit
30 Oct 2003, 22:07
Simon Katich is off to a flyer - firstly getting back into the Test team, then his century in Bowral.
Another one I wouldn't be surprised if he broke out this season is another ex-WA boy, Matthew Nicholson. Back home in Sydney, and seems to have settled in well with the Blues.
But there's no real obvious candidates for NSW. Most of our team are either current or former Australian players.
Bombers_Forever
31 Oct 2003, 05:25
Queensland
Mitchell Johnson has already shown in the ING Cup that he is a good bowler- hopefully he can continue it in the Pura Cup and not get injured
Chris Simpson- Haydo has a huge wrap on this kid so it will be good to see him get a run.
Our depth is being tested at the moments, so I expect a player like Carseldine to move up a step. We have some good Pura players when the big guns are playing for Australia but they need to move up a level.
I expect Stuart Law to have a big year.
Jars458
31 Oct 2003, 13:11
Look out for Rofe Tait and Clearly to clean up many batting ordres this year.
Redbacks major flaw is they don't have a quality spinner,
Davison and Higgs will do ok but nothing special.
Originally posted by Jars458
Look out for Rofe Tait and Clearly to clean up many batting ordres this year.
Those three did look the goods in the first game last week.
Michael Clark for WA won't bowl until after Christmas from what I hear and that's a blow for him and us.
I expect Worthington to step up in his place. Good match v SA with 9 wickets and som runs.
Casson has talent as well. Big turner of the ball and very competitive. I hope he gets an extended run in the team this year and does well.
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Cam White is pretty self-explanitory. Supremely talented slow bowler who is improving at a rapid rate. Will play for Australia before the Summer is over. What's the bet he doesn't?
mattyc2422
31 Oct 2003, 13:30
Cam White, especially in his leadership role.
I've heard nothing but good things about Mitchell Johnson.
Hope to see Noffke back in action soon, too.
Thunderstruck
31 Oct 2003, 14:08
For SA
Bowlers:
Rofe - Im expecting him to have another fine year as our main strike bowler. Not the fastest bowler around the high 120's low 130's but is accurate and with his great height (199cm) gets sharp bounce and can trouble batsmen. Would be a good prospect for National selection in coming years.
Tait - Young quick who can bowl mid 140's if he's in the mood, is a little wayward but doesnt lack heart. Can take a bag, he took bag after bag in A grade level in the SA Grade Cricket League bowling for Sturt. Should share the new ball this year but I reckon he will be overtaken by Cleary later on.
Cleary - Another young bowler who was pulled down from Mildura by Jamie Siddons who had big wraps on him. Got off to a skay start even getting belted in grade level but improved out of sight towards the end of the season and was mentioned by Ponting as a possible India Tour replacement for Brett Lee. Id liek to see him share the new ball with Rofe next year, he may well go close to national selection due to his ability to smash quick runs late.
Batting:
Cosgrove - Built like a tank, very strong opener for Northern Districts, a member of the winning Australia Under 19 team in the world cup. Started off playing aa few one-dayers batting at about 6 but should be given the openers role, the sooner the better. Def our best batting prospect.
Ferguson - Again young and talented not as big as Cosgrove but is a solid number 3 for Prospect at Grade level. Does tend to either get out cheaply of go on and make a bit score, usually a hundred. Can also bowl quite well when needed, but i think he is a year behind Cosgrove.
Trent Kelly is another bowler to look out for, opens at Grade level and has made 2 100's already this season batting at about 8. Worth watching.
ViperV10
31 Oct 2003, 14:20
For Tassie:
Damien Wright - surely it is his year this year. An extremely accurate bowler who puts it in the same spot ball after ball a la Glenn McGrath. Economical and Accurate, not a heavy wicket taker but still bloody good. Is also reasonably good with the bat.
Adam Griffith - had a great year last year. Tall booming pace bowler who is also accurate but more of a wicket taker than Wright. Will hopefully continue to take wickets and get in the minds of selectors.
Xavier Doherty - left arm wrist (?) spin bowler. Doesn't spin the ball much but is capable of taking 3 or more a match (one-dayers). Was consistent performer in the last Under-19 world cup usually bagging 3 or more a game. Can bat a bit, but is still reasonably young so probably wont realistically push for national selection. Could be good at state level this year though.
Batting-wise I don't see a lot for Tassie.
Originally posted by ViperV10
Xavier Doherty - left arm wrist (?) spin bowler.
Finger spinner - Left arm orthodox.
Originally posted by DaveW
What's the bet he doesn't?
I would second that. (Geez must've read over it the first time...)
I would think Cameron White has a fair way to go before international duties beckon. I was surprised that he's been elevated to the captain's position so early when in the past his place in the side hasn't always looked assured. Granted, he doesn't have too many contenders to beat.
Fall Out Boy
31 Oct 2003, 14:54
Originally posted by llosis
I was surprised that he's been elevated to the captain's position so early when in the past his place in the side hasn't always looked assured.
Think what you like about Cam, but at no stage has his place been in doubt.
He was annointed the next great Vic skipper, and the state are wholly committed to playing him through the good and bad times.
I don't understand his knockers. The kid is 20, averages 20 with the bat, and 30 with the ball. What more could a young leggie do?
Leggies don't mature til their mid-20's, yet this kid is already a solid first class cricketer.
Time for people to give him a break.
Fall Out Boy
31 Oct 2003, 14:56
What's the bet he doesn't?
What's the bet he does? :o
Inane, isn't it?
Think what you like about Cam, but at no stage has his place been in doubt.
He was annointed the next great Vic skipper, and the state are wholly committed to playing him through the good and bad times.
I don't understand his knockers. The kid is 20, averages 20 with the bat, and 30 with the ball. What more could a young leggie do?
Leggies don't mature til their mid-20's, yet this kid is already a solid first class cricketer.
Time for people to give him a break.
I tend to think too many people (mainly Vics) talk him up like he's Australias best thing outside of the test team. He has potential, but he's not there yet.
I would agree he is becoming a good first class cricketer and you're right you can't expect too much from a 20. But you're the one who said he'll be in the Australian side by the end of the season. So maybe you should give him a break as well?
red+black
31 Oct 2003, 16:31
not Wade Seccombe. he should be dropped
41.2 Wise to Seccombe, no run, driven on the up and White spills the
easiest chance he has had today
43.2 Wise to Seccombe, no run, driven on the up and Seccombe's charmed
life continues as he is dropped for the third time by White
43.4 Wise to Seccombe, two runs, lofted high down to long on and he gets
dropped for the fourth time, this time by Harwood
and it seems the Bushrangers agree :mad:
What's the bet he does? :o
Inane, isn't it? Inane is suggesting a battler like White will be Australian international material within the next six months.
Fall Out Boy
31 Oct 2003, 17:52
Originally posted by llosis
I tend to think too many people (mainly Vics) talk him up like he's Australias best thing outside of the test team. He has potential, but he's not there yet.
Who has said such? Or is it simply the popular thing to label White overrated?
Fall Out Boy
31 Oct 2003, 17:54
Inane is suggesting a battler like White will be Australian international material within the next six months.
True to form, snide one line comments rather than genuine discussion.
Keep up the good work.
So what has White done, other than be appointed captain of a rabble, to deserve international consideration?
For a leg-spinner, he doesn't really do a lot with the ball. His batting, which was his strong point at under-19 level, has been atrocious at state level. And by the sound of things, his fielding aint much chop either.
And I would put money on him playing international cricket in the near future. ;)
Originally posted by Jars458
Redbacks major flaw is they don't have a quality spinner,
Wait until Dan Cullen and/or Cullen Bailey hit the scene. All class.
Daniel Cullen is currently a fixture in the South Australian 2nd XI, with moderate success.
Left arm finger spinner Mohammad Shiek, a former Kenyan international, also played in the recent 2nd XI game.
Whats happened to Andrew Crook? It's been 5 years since he played his one and only first-class match against England as an 18 year old. I always though he'd pop up again, somewhere down the track...
Daniel Cullen is currently a fixture in the South Australian 2nd XI, with moderate success.
I believe he's played three games, and barely got a bowl in the last. He owned the Grade competition next year, and as you say he's had moderate success in the twos, thus far. However, he's a fast learner... went from not being in the 2001 State U17 Championship side, and then missing out on the 19s (I think), to dominating the 19s last season and gaining Australian selection.
Once he adjusts to Second XI, he won't be there for too long.
So what has White done, other than be appointed captain of a rabble, to deserve international consideration?
For a leg-spinner, he doesn't really do a lot with the ball. His batting, which was his strong point at under-19 level, has been atrocious at state level. And by the sound of things, his fielding aint much chop either.
And I would put money on him playing international cricket in the near future. ;)
The so called rabble are on track to pick up a bonus point in Brissie tonight and are giving QLD on hell of a flogging. Great to see Hodge continue his form and Matty Elliott is on fire. (both a fair chance of registering a ton in this game)
White has a pile of improvement to go but it cannot be disputed that he far more advanced and better performed than Warne at the same age. Remember when Warnie started - that fat prick with the mullet and not even a five wicket haul to his name in the Shield comp.
Not saying White will emulate Warne's record - but I have no doubt he's the next big thing. I reckon by time the season is over, you might change your opinion.
Wouldn't be surprised to see him play Australia A or at least PM's XI this year.
My 2 cents worth!
Fall Out Boy
31 Oct 2003, 21:36
And by the sound of things, his fielding aint much chop either.
And with one sentence, your credibility disappears.
To criticise his fielding shows that you have absolutely no knowledge of the kid.
Brilliant hands and an excellent fieldsman.
If you're going to comment on the kid, perhaps you should actually watch him play, rather than simply jumping on the now fashionable bandwagon of Cameron White naysayers.
The bonus point was saved thanks to Hodge's dismissal.
Victoria were lucky that their only two decent batsmen stuck around to score centuries. I can't see that happening all summer.
And with one sentence, your credibility disappears.
To criticise his fielding shows that you have absolutely no knowledge of the kid.
Brilliant hands and an excellent fieldsman.
If you're going to comment on the kid, perhaps you should actually watch him play, rather than simply jumping on the now fashionable bandwagon of Cameron White naysayers. Err, those brilliant hands put down three catches today. That's what I was referring too.
And I have seen "the kid" play. And frankly I think he's got a long way to go if he's too live up to the high expectations that many have of him.
The bonus point was saved thanks to Hodge's dismissal.
Victoria were lucky that their only two decent batsmen stuck around to score centuries. I can't see that happening all summer.
Batting left handed too, going for a late cut. He pulled off the same party trick the previous ball for 4 runs - but brought himself undone going for a repeat performance the next ball.
Originally posted by Lidge
Batting left handed too, going for a late cut. He pulled off the same party trick the previous ball for 4 runs - but brought himself undone going for a repeat performance the next ball.
what??? a reverse late cut?? never seen that shot before...
and just on cameron white, i think alot of people here are under rating him and over rating him... he's a solid performer for his age, a natural leader and well on to his way to play for australia... but he still has a bit of work to do yet... the fact that he plays for victoria will make it even harder...
Inane is suggesting a battler like White will be Australian international material within the next six months.
Progess score from the Pura Cup match at the Gabba Day 1). QLD 9/212. C White...13 overs with the figures of 4/16 and likely to be a five for in his next over).
Outstanding figures for a wrist spinner on a 1st day Gabba track.
Dave - I don't think it will be long until you see the light;)
His four wickets are a debut batsman, a wicket-keeper and two tail-enders... I think you might be getting desperate. :)
dees 4 life
2 Nov 2003, 19:10
His four wickets are a debut batsman, a wicket-keeper and two tail-enders... I think you might be getting desperate. :)
4 wickets is 4 wickets mate. It doesnt go down in the book how good the batsmen where. By the way i play grade cricket with Cam and his fielding is exelent. I cant see hime playing for australia this year but in 2-3 years time i think he will be there. Cam has achived more than most crickets and he is only 20. Its a fair record for a young bloke. I wonder how many players have captained their state at the age of 20?
for the redbacks, i think blewett and davison will be a very good opening pair..hopefully higgs can improve as a batter as well..
manou is very solid, and flower will take time to adjust, but im expecting solid scores from him...
rofe, tait and cleary will be good with ball, but i agree that a top-class spinner is needed..have a few to many part timers.other than that, a solid line up
Would love to see Cam White play for Aust A, prob wont happen till next season though.
Still wondering how Hogg gets a game or is that just me?
The Spornstar
3 Nov 2003, 15:50
I get the feeling that you'll get immense satisfaction if Cam White doesn't make it as an international cricketer.
Originally posted by The Spornstar
I get the feeling that you'll get immense satisfaction if Cam White doesn't make it as an international cricketer. Only for the fact that it would mean there would still be better bowlers around than him.
Fall Out Boy
3 Nov 2003, 16:07
Originally posted by The Spornstar
I get the feeling that you'll get immense satisfaction if Cam White doesn't make it as an international cricketer.
Yep, i get a similar feeling.
I also get the feeling that if White played for any other state, DaveW wouldn't be so quick to criticise him.
The Spornstar
3 Nov 2003, 16:10
Only for the fact that it would mean there would still be better bowlers around than him.
Nah I think you just don't want any Victorians in the team.
The Spornstar
3 Nov 2003, 16:33
Originally posted by dees 4 life
4 wickets is 4 wickets mate.
Not if a Victorian's bowling it's not. 4 wickets actually equates to 2 wickets if you are from south of the Murray. Conversely 4 wickets are worth 8 wickets if you are from North of the Murray. It's a very fair system;)
And now White's making runs ( I suppose they were all arsey french cuts and edges thru slips against part time bowlers with an old pill, on a flat lifeless deck after every front line bowler broke down with injuries before he made his way to the crease to bat!) :D
Just can't satisfy some people.
Hopefully he goes on to post a big score and follow up with a five for in the second innings. But then again - you'll probably have some smart arsed reply knocking the kid's efforts.
I've said previously that White is more of an all-rounder than a genuine spin bowling talent.
And if you're coming back with "I told you so"s when he's on 25 not out... then I that only confirms what I said a few posts back.
Oh and yes, the runs were only made against tired bowlers worn down by the top-order batsmen and a long day in the field. ;)
well cam white has done it again... someone told him how to bowl hand grenades by the looks of things... he has 2-7 off 4 overs, with queensland in a spot of trouble @ 4- 150 odd...
he just gets better and better, he's got 6 wickets for the match now...
Originally posted by w00dy
well cam white has done it again... someone told him how to bowl hand grenades by the looks of things... he has 2-7 off 4 overs, with queensland in a spot of trouble @ 4- 150 odd...
he just gets better and better, he's got 6 wickets for the match now...
But he only got 1 of the openers out and the other one was a lowly number 5. Plus his other 2 overs were wasteful and wicketless!:rolleyes:
Fall Out Boy
4 Mar 2004, 09:08
So what has White done, other than be appointed captain of a rabble
Having a look back through this thread looking to see how my predictions went, and came across these specials and had to bring this baby back up.
Fair rabble eh Dave.
BTW How did your predictions go boys? I went for White and Moss. White has come on really well, at least his batting has. Moss has been solid, not in Hussey's class though.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Mar 2004, 11:19
Having a look back through this thread looking to see how my predictions went, and came across these specials and had to bring this baby back up.
Fair rabble eh Dave.
BTW How did your predictions go boys? I went for White and Moss. White has come on really well, at least his batting has. Moss has been solid, not in Hussey's class though.
Funniest prediction though is about White making the Australian team within the year. :p
Fall Out Boy
4 Mar 2004, 12:40
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Funniest prediction though is about White making the Australian team within the year. :p
White made the Australian A team, one step below my prediction.
On the other hand, Dave said the Vics were a rabble, the same Vics that have had the most dominant season in recent memory.
I think i come out in front.
On the other hand, Dave said the Vics were a rabble, the same Vics that have had the most dominant season in recent memory.
Shhhhhh Phat. Wait until the Vics win the final before you go bandying around that 'dominant' word :D