View Full Version : Poll Hodge versus Didak

Pages : [1] 2 3

MadMaxx
31 Oct 2003, 12:06
Due to the nature of this thread.. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=91539

Who would you prefer.. Luke Hodge or Allan Didak

Porthos
31 Oct 2003, 12:08
Ah yes, the good old poll. Why provide a basis in reason for an argument when you can make it a popularity contest?

Thrawn
31 Oct 2003, 12:10
Hodge.

Didak is overrated.

There, I said it!

NorthBhoy
31 Oct 2003, 12:14
Hodge.

sabre_ac
31 Oct 2003, 12:16
Hrmm both are a waste of a top 3 pick.
But I think I would take Didak.
Hodge is yet to in a game off his own boot.

Joffaboy
31 Oct 2003, 12:18
Voss over Buckley.

no1bankteller
31 Oct 2003, 12:34
Prefer Judd over both of them combined. :)

ViperV10
31 Oct 2003, 12:43
Hodge every time. Didak may be ok at times, but Hodge can be and will be brilliant.

Zeke
31 Oct 2003, 12:46
Originally posted by Joffaboy
Voss over Buckley.

...and both of them over Hird...

keano
31 Oct 2003, 12:54
Hodge
daylight
daylight
Anthony Rocca's nose
daylight
Didak

dodgey
31 Oct 2003, 13:04
Hodge will give more consistently..

IMO.... Collingwood will live to regret not giving up Didak to get Nick Stevens

MarkT
31 Oct 2003, 13:16
So what has Hodge done again?

Hodgie_15
31 Oct 2003, 13:20
Hodge by a MILE

Ausgard
31 Oct 2003, 13:26
16 People who watch AFL
7 Collingwood Fans

moe sizlak
31 Oct 2003, 13:27
wait 3 years, then w'ell see who's better.

Didak has a much better Kick than Hodge.
Hodge has a much better handball than Didak.

Hodgie_15
31 Oct 2003, 13:32
Originally posted by moe sizlak

You can't be serious, I agree Didak has a pretty handy kick on him, but when it comes to being the best out of the two Hodge would win hands down. Ask any football follower that is not a Collingwood supporter.

moistie
31 Oct 2003, 13:38

Hodge is an accurate kick over 50m+, on either foot. I dont know about Didak, but he'd really have to be something special to have a better kick than Hodge.

Hodgie_15
31 Oct 2003, 13:40
Didak- crumbig forward who rarely ventures outside 50. Drifts in and out of games, doesn't like physical attention. Can duck behind the pack and kick a handy goal. Good kick, clever around goals.

Hodge- Versatile, agressive (can be a -ive eg. free kicks), phisical presence, can take a contested grab, kick from outside 50 and has a laser left foot. Leader on the field.

I know who I'd prefer.

ViperV10
31 Oct 2003, 13:46

Do you watch football with your eyes open? Didak is a good kick...but not in the league of Hodge.

Porthos
31 Oct 2003, 13:54
Originally posted by ViperV10
Do you watch football with your eyes open? Didak is a good kick...but not in the league of Hodge. Considering Hodge's apparently awesome kick, you'd expect a better than 54% accuracy in front of goal. Didak sits on 66% incidentally.

Jars458
31 Oct 2003, 14:04
Originally posted by MarkT
So what has Hodge done again?

That wasn't the question.

But while we are asking...what has Didak done apart from kick a coupleof lucky goals?

Hodge by a country mile.

MarkT
31 Oct 2003, 14:08
Originally posted by Hodgie_15
Didak- crumbig forward who rarely ventures outside 50. Drifts in and out of games, doesn't like physical attention. Can duck behind the pack and kick a handy goal. Good kick, clever around goals.Did you just make that up? Seriously, I don't think you've seen much of Didak. He gets most of his possessions around 50 and beyond. The most dissapointing thing about Didak in 2003 and in Collingwood's forward play in general was the lack of the crumbing and behind the pack goals. Given the competitiveness of Collingwood's tall forwards in the air this is one of my main criticsisms of Daniher. Didak is clever around goals because he kicks set shots very straight from tight angles and kicks 55m left footers from angles by wheeling around into the space created by his quick movement up the ground. He isn't a crumbing forward nearly enough as he should be, he is a leading forward and as such has to compete with Tarrant and Rocca. I wish he would bludge off them a bit more and be more like you say he is.
Hodge- Versatile, agressive (can be a -ive eg. free kicks), phisical presence, can take a contested grab, kick from outside 50 and has a laser left foot. Leader on the field.

I know who I'd prefer. I like the look of Hodge as a player and I'd add him to Collingwood's list any day but he has done little to warrant more than the potential tag. Nor has Didak for that matter.

MarkT
31 Oct 2003, 14:15
Originally posted by Jars458

But while we are asking...what has Didak done apart from kick a coupleof lucky goals?

Hodge by a country mile. Jar's I'm nopt saying Didak has done much either. I've said all year he's been dissapointing. In fact I've had this argument with Collingwood fans on the Collingwood board and other sites before. IMO Didak has great potential but 2004 is delivery time. As for what he has actrually done, icing the game when no one else could againt Brisbane in the semi was handy as a recent example of what his skill set produces. He had a quiet night in a pocket, was played off the bench and then came on and was the difference in a match where goals were gold. He had a few other good games but has not yet killed anyone. MM eased him into footy. There are a few theories that MM held him back because he was too confident in himself. He certainly got very limited game time in his first 2 years. Some Collingwood supporters liken him to Daicos which always makes me scream. Daicos was a 30 possession midfielder or a 6 goal flanker on a good day at his age. Didak is nowhere near that and will never be in Daicos' league but who is? He will be a good footballer. So will Hodge. I reckon Hodge will be more steady and Didak will be more brilliant or more a game breaker.

ViperV10
31 Oct 2003, 14:19
Originally posted by Porthos
Considering Hodge's apparently awesome kick, you'd expect a better than 54% accuracy in front of goal. Didak sits on 66% incidentally.

Yes you would expect it to be better, if Hodge spent the year up forward. When passing to team mates Hodge is lightning..but he didn't kick at goal a lot during the year while playing either midfield or where he played most, down back.

Squeak
31 Oct 2003, 14:19

Hodge by a country mile.

Lucky? They were regulation goals for him.

morgoth
31 Oct 2003, 14:21
Yeah Didak is a crap kick, that is why his kicking style is used by the AIS as an example of the correct way to kick the ball.

Hodge has done absolutely nothing in the AFL , apparently he played a few good ones in the VFL but that is about it. Maybe he will be better but at this stage in terms of actual performance Didak has played finals and helped win them.

Hodge is just another Dermie/Dunstall over-hyped player who has not done a thing, up their with the 'altletic freak who cannot get a kick' Williams.

jacqui9
31 Oct 2003, 14:26
Originally posted by morgoth
Yeah Didak is a crap kick, that is why his kicking style is used by the AIS as an example of the correct way to kick the ball.

Hodge has done absolutely nothing in the AFL , apparently he played a few good ones in the VFL but that is about it. Maybe he will be better but at this stage in terms of actual performance Didak has played finals and helped win them.

Hodge is just another Dermie/Dunstall over-hyped player who has not done a thing, up their with the 'altletic freak who cannot get a kick' Williams.

You sir are an idiot.

MCG-Unit
31 Oct 2003, 14:29
Didak is good, Hodge is better - also maybe more scope for improvement, and more versatile

Would have traded Didak for Stevens in a heartbeat.....

ViperV10
31 Oct 2003, 14:32

Yeah for someone who kicked 1254 goals, Dunstall is really overrated :rolleyes:

MarkT
31 Oct 2003, 14:35
I'm certain he didn't say Dunstall was over rated. he quite correctly said a few Hawks are talked up by Dunstal and Dermie (on MMM in the main). Williams being a weekly event late in the season.

Hogiebbear
31 Oct 2003, 14:37
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Considering Hodge's apparently awesome kick, you'd expect a better than 54% accuracy in front of goal. Didak sits on 66% incidentally.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes you would expect it to be better, if Hodge spent the year up forward. When passing to team mates Hodge is lightning..but he didn't kick at goal a lot during the year while playing either midfield or where he played most, down back.

Viper, isn't goal accuracy worked out based on number of goals from number of shots?

therefore, it doesn't matter who had more shots at goal (unless the no. of shots is really small i.e. less than 10)

bacon buster
31 Oct 2003, 14:47
hodge, by a street.

didak kicked a few arsey goals in the QF, and got a few in garbage time in the GF. hasn't done much else really. nor has hodge, but he hasn't been fit.

hodge is by far the better, and more penetrating field kick, but didak is more accurate around goals at this stage. hodge doesn't always look confortable in front of the big sticks.

Hodgie_15
31 Oct 2003, 14:48

That's just a stupid comment. Goalkicking is a totally different art form. Matthew Lloyd is an excellent shot for goal and would have a better conversion rate than say, Nathan Buckley. But when it comes to general kicks Buckley would beat Lloyd hands down. John Barker is another example, he's a great set shot but in general play he is ordinary. To use that statistic is ridiculous.:mad:

superstar
31 Oct 2003, 14:48
Another one to bookmark for future embarrassment.

Hodge by so far it's not funny. On one hand we have a tough utility, who is a natural leader, and skilled on both sides of the body. He is younger, and yet to play a pre-season.

On the other hand, we have a bloke who has had 3 pre-seasons, soft as ****, one-sided, and one dimensional.

Foolish poll. Hodge by a mile.

Porthos
31 Oct 2003, 14:50
Originally posted by superstar
Another one to bookmark for future embarrassment.

Hodge by so far it's not funny. On one hand we have a tough utility, who is a natural leader, and skilled on both sides of the body. He is younger, and yet to play a pre-season.

On the other hand, we have a bloke who has had 3 pre-seasons, soft as ****, one-sided, and one dimensional.

Foolish poll. Hodge by a mile. Its just as well that you're not a Hawks fan, or it might look like you were biased.

Jars458
31 Oct 2003, 14:59
Originally posted by Squeak
Lucky? They were regulation goals for him.

All Collingwood goals are lucky in my book:D

GOALden Hawk
31 Oct 2003, 15:00
Originally posted by sabre_ac
Hrmm both are a waste of a top 3 pick.
But I think I would take Didak.
Hodge is yet to in a game off his own boot.

Round 16 v Melbourne. Hodge is moved forward in the final quarter, kicks 3 goals, game over.

You call Hodge and Didak a waste of a top 3 pick - Clive Waterhouse anyone?

GOALden Hawk
31 Oct 2003, 15:01
Its just as well that you're not a Hawks fan, or it might look like you were biased.

Who did Didak play for before Collingwood?

bacon buster
31 Oct 2003, 15:02
hehe yeah right. you're going to get an admission from him that clive was a wasted pick ;)

Porthos
31 Oct 2003, 15:07
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Who did Didak play for before Collingwood? When did I inaccurately and vicously rip into Hodge like was seen in the previous post I quoted?

RooDog
31 Oct 2003, 15:21
didak from port magpies(sa)

who cares they are both overrated hacks that go with clive as 3 of the worst ever top 3 picks!!

Squeak
31 Oct 2003, 15:25
Yeah for someone who kicked 1254 goals, Dunstall is really overrated :rolleyes:

In the words of some other goon in this thread, you sir are an idiot.

He wasn't saying Brereton and Dunstall were overrated, he was saying Brereton and Dunstall were the ones who overrated Hodge, and Mark Williams. I know it was a little difficult to comprehend, but keep plugging away, you'll get there eventually.

Sera
31 Oct 2003, 15:30
Originally posted by RooDog
didak from port magpies(sa)

who cares they are both overrated hacks that go with clive as 3 of the worst ever top 3 picks!!

None of those players are even close to being one of the worst top 3 picks of all time.

Didak has been more impressive to this point in time, but its hard to judge Hodge due to injury and the fact that he keeps getting played in the back pocket. Still not convinced on Hodge. He looks like your standard top 10 pick who was taken at #1 for some reason.

MarkT
31 Oct 2003, 15:40
All Collingwood goals are lucky in my book:D Not just the after the siren ones?;)

Joel
31 Oct 2003, 15:41
Originally posted by no1bankteller
Prefer Judd over both of them combined. :)

Joel
31 Oct 2003, 15:43
Come back to me when Hodge has played in a final, and performed. Didak for mine. Kicked 3 goals in the GF, and multiple goals in the other finals. Hodge hasn't done ****.

marcuz
31 Oct 2003, 15:58
Hodge has more ability..whether his body will allow him to use it is another matter.

Didak is taken out of the game too easily..maybe it is time to let the kid have a run on the wing or on-ball

FIGJAM
31 Oct 2003, 16:13
I ain't gay or nuffin', but while Hodgey has a nice clean Gomer Pile hair cut, I prefer Didak's Rat's Tail/Urban-Mullet.

Both have a tidy left foot too...but both of them have to prove they can win it more.

Interesting comparrison, but yeah, Daks wins because of his hair-cut!!

windyhill
31 Oct 2003, 16:57
Hodge.
Easy.

Hodgie_15
31 Oct 2003, 17:02
Originally posted by Joel
Come back to me when Hodge has played in a final, and performed. Didak for mine. Kicked 3 goals in the GF, and multiple goals in the other finals. Hodge hasn't done ****.

You can't judge a player on the fact whether he has played finals footy or not. In the 2 years Hodge has been at hawthorn they haven't played finals. You can't judge him on that. Give him the opportunity (next year) and then we will revisit this. Nathan Buckley 2 years ago hadn't played finals does that make him a worse player???:confused:

morgoth
31 Oct 2003, 17:03
Ummm Viper I apologise for not posting in a language you can follow, let me try again:

Woof Woof, growl, meow, purr, woof, ooooooo, meow, woof.

If I hear that twit Brereton tell us what a freak Williams is and what a good kid Hodge is I will spew. Brereton is a ****ing twit and and repeats himself over and over. Worst special comments in the biz. And as a judge of footballer, he loves Trent Croad, uff said.

Hodge has done noting, Didak has done a bit more. For you viper, woof, meow, purr, grrrrr, woof, woof.

jacqui9
31 Oct 2003, 17:40
Morgoth grow a brain. Jesus, Hodge is a thousand times the player Dykedak will ever be.

Williams, kicks goals at will. Brereton blleds brown and gold.

Hodge is one of hte best kids going around. Haha and too think that Port didnt think Dykedak and a draft pick was a good enough trade for Stevens - who isnt much chop either.

Yabba
31 Oct 2003, 22:20

his goals were in junk time where was he when the game was there to be won? mising like the rest of the side

some one on here said a while ago that the forward pocket types have a really short shelf life unless they are able to start playing on ball at young age. this is why didak doesnt have many years left 5 at most probably, where as ball is a tough nut who can play anywhere and if he can get fit will rip the competition apart. he was chosen over judd and luke ball so that shows the talent he has so with a bit luck he could well be what the hawks need to get firing again

Professional
1 Nov 2003, 01:14
Voss = 3 Premierships.
Hird = 2 Premierships.
Buckley = Footy Show awards.

morgoth
1 Nov 2003, 06:42
Yeah you must be right Jacqui, Hodge is a freak and Williams kicks goals at will, how is the premiership cup going? Runners-up, finalist? Nope, gee they must be SOOOOO good!

Hodgie_15
1 Nov 2003, 07:21
I wouldn't be celebrating second best mate.

Joel
1 Nov 2003, 07:37
Give him the opportunity (next year) and then we will revisit this. Nathan Buckley 2 years ago hadn't played finals does that make him a worse player???:confused:

That's funny. I remember on here two years ago that people were willing to judge a player's ability on whether or not they had performed in finals. The standard remark was; 'he hasn't played in finals, so he hasn't proved anything yet'. The player in that case was Nathan Buckley.

Yet, when the shoe is on the other foot, the people that argued that, that siort of remark was cobblewash, now aren't allowed to use the same argument. Pure hypocrisy.

taff wa
1 Nov 2003, 07:38
Originally posted by Professional
Voss = 3 Premierships.
Hird = 2 Premierships.
Buckley = Footy Show awards.

Yes Buckley has no premiership medals like the others but he has a Brownlow. I suppose that was pre arranged by the footy show as well. If they had they would have let him win by himself not with 2 others.

The Hitman
1 Nov 2003, 08:14
That's funny. I remember on here two years ago that people were willing to judge a player's ability on whether or not they had performed in finals. The standard remark was; 'he hasn't played in finals, so he hasn't proved anything yet'. The player in that case was Nathan Buckley.

Yet, when the shoe is on the other foot, the people that argued that, that siort of remark was cobblewash, now aren't allowed to use the same argument. Pure hypocrisy.

No hypocrisy from me. I still stand by that train of thought.

And in the two player comparison here, Didak has played finals; Hodge hasn't. Does that make Didak the better player? No. Otherwise You could say Aaron Keating was better than Nathan Buckley in '97.

What I can tell you is that Didak wasn't that flash in the finals. Kicked a great goal in the first final, but was lucky. He was un-manned because he came straight off the bench, received a pass, and had no one in cooee of him. Great long shot on his left, but spare me by not saying he had a good finals series.

His goals in the GF came in junk time with the game well and truly lost. Where was he earlier when you guys needed him?

The question is: "Who would you rather on your club list?" If you'd rather Alan Didak - as talented and flashy as he is - I am glad you aren't in control of an AFL club, because you have no eye for talent.

Luke Skywalker anytime. :cool: Us Hawks will be laughing when he is the new Voss.

The Hitman

moe sizlak
1 Nov 2003, 08:58
What I can tell you is that Didak wasn't that flash in the finals

Didak won our first final off of his boot.

moe sizlak
1 Nov 2003, 09:01
Us Hawks will be laughing when he is the new Voss. -some hawks loser

ha ha. Just remember, you are the 'family team'. Nuff said.

p.s. I know of at least one young player at Hawthorn who says its so bad down at Glenferrie that he cant wait to get traded when his contract ends next year. Im not lying either.

Nic
1 Nov 2003, 09:33
Originally posted by jacqui9
Morgoth grow a brain. Jesus, Hodge is a thousand times the player Dykedak will ever be.

Williams, kicks goals at will. Brereton blleds brown and gold.

Hodge is one of hte best kids going around. Haha and too think that Port didnt think Dykedak and a draft pick was a good enough trade for Stevens - who isnt much chop either.

Dykedak? Wow, did it take you a while to think that up?

They both will be terrific players in my opinion, and it's most likely bias that makes me think Didak has more improvement in him.

Given the amount of discussion about the Stevens non-trade, I'd think everyone would have known by now that Didak and first pick was enough for Port - Didak was asked and said he'd rather stay.

dave_27
1 Nov 2003, 10:40
Hodge.

lamby29
1 Nov 2003, 10:42
Is this thread for real?

Hodge by a country mile.

brew
1 Nov 2003, 11:03

got us back in the game against melbourne and port

when did he get beatin in the backline, when he playing on players such as archer and cornes???

didak reminds me aof hudson,,,,,, ********

how many goals did he kick from getting a handball to him when his all by himself in the goal square???

stupid thread

brew
1 Nov 2003, 11:06

p.s. I know of at least one young player at Hawthorn who says its so bad down at Glenferrie that he cant wait to get traded when his contract ends next year. Im not lying either.

ha

fool,,,, have you been to glenferrie???

essnickess
1 Nov 2003, 12:55
so judd, riewoldt, pavlich don't match up to didak either i suppose? judd and pavlich have played ordinarily in finals, while riewoldt can't even get there. they haven't proved themselves?

Grendel
1 Nov 2003, 14:30

moistie
1 Nov 2003, 16:37

Face it, Hodge is the better player. He's harder, a natural onfield leader and highly skilled. Seems the vast majority of people on this site agree with me as well. We're not saying Didak isn't a good player, just he's not as good as Hodge.

As for being the family club, why would we forget it? Its something to be proud of.

As for your hot inside tip, is your name Suzi?

richie_cole#13
1 Nov 2003, 16:58
One question, what has Hodge actually done to show how good he is?
A VFL Grand Final? He has so far been injury prone. He is an excellent left foot kick. He has not proven he can play midfield yet. Don't say he hasn't had a preseason as he missed them because of injury.

Didak = 7 things he has done - 5 goals against hawks last year (2002), 2003 QF kicked two goals from near or on boundary on wrong side for left footer. For people who say Didak has crap skills, he was rated one of the best kicks to come through the AIS.

Banger35
1 Nov 2003, 17:13
Who has done the most so far: Didak.

Who will be the better player IMO: Hodge comfortably.

Who would I prefer in my team: Hodge by the length of.....yeah you get it.

moistie
1 Nov 2003, 17:58
Originally posted by richie_cole#13
One question, what has Hodge actually done to show how good he is?
A VFL Grand Final? He has so far been injury prone. He is an excellent left foot kick. He has not proven he can play midfield yet. Don't say he hasn't had a preseason as he missed them because of injury.

You haven't seen Luke Hodge play much, have you? He has been injury prone, yep, no denying it. He hasn't had a full pre-season, which is a contributing factor to why he hasn't been played in the centre yet. To repeat what I said earlier, to watch him on the ground, he reads the play well, kicks long with either foot, is a good contested grab, plays tall, is hard at the football, good below his knees and was a leader on the park in his second season of senior football. And when North Melbourne decided to rough us up because their coach told them to "hate the opposition" Hodge stood toe to toe with Glenn Archer after he'd been dishing out a bit of treatment (as he does) and had a few words to him about it. That says something to me, and he's only 19.

Didak = 7 things he has done - 5 goals against hawks last year (2002), 2003 QF kicked two goals from near or on boundary on wrong side for left footer. For people who say Didak has crap skills, he was rated one of the best kicks to come through the AIS.

So Didak has kicked 7 goals. Woohoo! Thats his job, he's a forward pocket! Come back to me when he's kicked another 1247 goals and we can talk. Hodge has played on a half back flank, so not surprisingly, he hasn't kicked too many goals. What he has done is show he flat out knows how to play and will be a player for a great number of years to come. And I, and most people who've voted on this poll, believe he will be a better player than Didak.

RogerC
1 Nov 2003, 18:21
It'd probably be just as easy to call the poll "do you barrack for Collingwood or not." It'd bring up a similar result.

On the other hand, I recall a similar poll a couple of years ago comparing Tarrant and Croad. I think Croad won that one pretty comfortably at the time, and there wouldn't be too many takers for Croad right now.

These polls tell us nothing apart from people's biases.

richie_cole#13
2 Nov 2003, 14:36
moistie
hodge hasn't had a pre season because of his injuries.

scott burns didn't have a preseason for ages because of injuries and it has cost him big time. the last two years he has had one nd he has been brilliant.

injuries will cost hodge big time and restrict him becoming as good as he could be. if he wasn't injury prone then i would agree that he has more potential than didak, but thats why he was taken number one in the draft and didak at 3.

Zeke
2 Nov 2003, 14:59
Hodge is currently a better footballer than Didak.

They both have the potential to improve, and only time will tell who finishes up their careers as the better player.

Lockyer24
2 Nov 2003, 17:20
We've clearly gotten more value out of a #3 pick than a #1 pick so far. There is no reason to say Hodge will be better going on what Ive seen. He has the edge in leadership and courage but thats about it. And to say he is a better kick than Didak is laughable.

When Hodge starts drilling goals from the boundary 60 out and actually influencing some games rather than just kicking the odd piercing kick out of defense as a loose man be sure to alert me.

moistie
2 Nov 2003, 18:37
Originally posted by Lockyer24
We've clearly gotten more value out of a #3 pick than a #1 pick so far. There is no reason to say Hodge will be better going on what Ive seen. He has the edge in leadership and courage but thats about it. And to say he is a better kick than Didak is laughable.

When Hodge starts drilling goals from the boundary 60 out and actually influencing some games rather than just kicking the odd piercing kick out of defense as a loose man be sure to alert me.

Wont argue that you've gotten more value in terms of playing time from Didak so far, sure. But, why do you keep referring to goal kicking? Sure, its a string to Didaks bow, but Hodge has played as a backman, so you cannot expect him to be kicking goals consistently. Its been his job so far to stop goals, not kick them. As for kicking one from the boundary from 60 odd out, as far as I know, Hodge really hasn't had the chance, and if he was in that position he would most likely do the team thing and be looking for someone in a better position to score rather than taking a shot himself.

dave_27
2 Nov 2003, 18:40

The fact Collingwood wasted a top 3 pick on a soft goal sneak is laughable.

Hodge_is_God
2 Nov 2003, 18:49

Every one of your comments shows how little you know of Hodge.

You want influence? There are seven games this year off the top of my head that Hodge signficantly influenced in ways Didak couldn't possibly.

Wanna know why? Because Hodge was played at FB, CHB, HBF, FF, FP, and on the wing. Because Hodge was showing grunt and LEADERSHIP, not show ponying around, because Hodge was standing toe to toe with the likes of Glenn Archer whist Didak was leading into the precision kicks of Buckley and Tarrant. Because Hodge has shut down key forwards, destroyed defenders and beaten opponents in the midfield.

Hodge finished top six in our B&F in his FIRST year, despite playing only 15 games, away from his preferred position.

Oh and for the record, season 2003 Brownlow; Hodge 4 votes, (top five for Hawks), Didak 0 votes behind a list of over a dozen players. Career votes, Hodge 5, Didak 0.

Yeah, REALLY rips games apart that Didak...

Get your facts right buddy, Didak is a good player, but not in Hodge's class.

Lockyer24
2 Nov 2003, 19:11
Ive seen Hodge play one great game...

...in the VFL.

Dids is worrying a lot more opposition, in a stronger team, than Hodge.

moe sizlak
2 Nov 2003, 19:27
Dids is worrying a lot more opposition, in a stronger team, than Hodge-lockyer24

Well said.
I dont really care about who is better, i know that is the thread.. but lets face it they're both going to be guns.

What i do care about is ignorant Hawthorn supporters who dismiss Didak as a goal fluke.

lamby29
2 Nov 2003, 19:40
Ive seen Hodge play one great game...

...in the VFL.

He murdered us in Rd 16 this year.

He has had many great games in his career to date - I'm a fan.

Didak was a bit of a waste of a Top 3 pick, but when you consider that Luke Livingston was the pick after him... you can forgive Collingwood.

Nic
2 Nov 2003, 20:07
I don't think any forgiveness will be necessary for Collingwood having drafted Didak by the next year or two.

bucksisbest
2 Nov 2003, 20:09
Didak a waste of a #3 pick?
That really is ignorant , in 2004 I'd like to see him destroying inferior teams(your melbourne'sCarltons etc)and becoming more influential against quality , rather than slip in and out of games.
At 20(another sign of your ignorance) he's ready to take a further step.
Malthouse should give him a hand in this progression by starting him on the ground more often.

superstar
2 Nov 2003, 22:03
Didak is average. Worth a first round pick, but a terrible waste at #3.

stmookeyj
3 Nov 2003, 00:33
Neither to be perfectly honest. One is a dud and the other is a wasted talent.

grinspoon
3 Nov 2003, 01:06
who cares who is the better player, they get assigned to certain tasks, they do them, or they would be back in the vfl. didak isnt a forward pocket player, he should be played in the center and he will be, as will hodge. he has to play down back as your lack of quality, hodge will be a scott burns/ robert harvey type, and i think didak will be an ackermanis type. both are great kicks, but i believe didak is better currently because he is very damaging at the end of the game boping up for hard goals, making space etc. both very smart, both can handpass and take a good mark. to say didak is weak is a joke, try watching and see who is the guy wrestling with the scotts, barry hall etc. but i know hodge is tough aswell, but unless they fight, its all just talk. wait till there both playing in there proper positions before you rate who is better. brownlow votes dont mean **** unless you win them, more so when one finished 2nd the other 9th. lets compare judd with cooney then????? name a player that has played brilliantly every game for there first 3 years? even the Judd has had some very very shocking games. but by saying that, i dont know as much about hodge as didak, but i know enough to tell you that making a poll about guys that are currently playing at opposite sides of the ground is a joke, wait till 2004/05.

MarkT
3 Nov 2003, 07:19
Fraser was a waste of a number 1 pick and Didak was a waste of a number 3 pick, yet both are first 22 players and Collingwood are the second best team in the AFL as measured objectively by 2 years of results. A couple more of these wastes of picks would suit me fine.

goaldrush
3 Nov 2003, 07:36
Luke Hodge is a much better player than what Alan Didak is.

Thunderstruck
3 Nov 2003, 08:45
Didak by a country light year, Hodge is just an average player.

Didak can do the special things.

FIGJAM
3 Nov 2003, 08:45
Originally posted by goaldrush
Luke Hodge is a much better player than what Alan Didak is.
In time, he may be, but as it stands, they are very even and as I stated previously, you have to give the benefit of the doubt to the guy with the coolest hairstyle, and at present, that is Didak!

Hawk_2004
3 Nov 2003, 08:47
Originally posted by Thunderstruck
Didak can do the special things.

Yeah kick late goals in a losing Grand Final team :p

Nandoz
3 Nov 2003, 08:49
Original Question: "Whos better, Hodge or Didak?"

My answer: Hird

Joel
3 Nov 2003, 08:56
Fraser was a waste of a number 1 pick and Didak was a waste of a number 3 pick, yet both are first 22 players and Collingwood are the second best team in the AFL as measured objectively by 2 years of results. A couple more of these wastes of picks would suit me fine.

Spot on, well said.

richie_cole#13
3 Nov 2003, 10:58
Why does every one think hodge is better? You have to be out on the ground to be better and so far Hodge hasn't been. You can say he is a better kick and a tougher player but he hasn't proved himself yet.

Didak has proved how good kick he is, two goals in the QF have already proved that. He plays as (at the moment) the number one forward pocket in the second best team. Hodge plays (when he's not injured) as the third or fourth defender at the ninth or tenth best club. 40 odd goals by a twenty year old is an excellent effort.

tige19
3 Nov 2003, 11:11
Originally posted by RooDog

Shhhh dont have a go at him, he has an excuse........ his from ADELAIDE!!!!

ViperV10
3 Nov 2003, 11:13
I'm certain he didn't say Dunstall was over rated. he quite correctly said a few Hawks are talked up by Dunstal and Dermie (on MMM in the main). Williams being a weekly event late in the season.

Sorry, I mis-interpreted what he was saying.

To the people who have never mis-read something in their life (you know who you are)...get a life.

I actually agree that they over-hype some guys at the club because they are directly involved. Their bias is obvious..particularly how Dermie always went on about Williams, and also Barlow being the best set shot in the team.

I'm sorry I read your post wrong morgoth...but seriously, when it comes to credibility your maturity has really shown out as being your greatest downfall.

morgoth
3 Nov 2003, 11:19
Mein Gott, you must be knew, maturity is not a requirement on this site! If you want good meaningful discussion don't come to big footy. Sure you get the occassional reasonable discussion but it is like finding a diamond in a pile of coal.

Hodge_is_God
3 Nov 2003, 14:26
Why does every one think hodge is better? You have to be out on the ground to be better and so far Hodge hasn't been. You can say he is a better kick and a tougher player but he hasn't proved himself yet.

Hodge's career, two years, 30 games.
Didak's first two years 24 games. Overall Didak 49 games, ave 16.33 a year, Hodge 15 a year.

If Hodge is never on the field then neither is Didak. At least Hodge has been an automatic selection since his debut, Didak was in and out of the side his first two years.

Didak has proved how good kick he is, two goals in the QF have already proved that. He plays as (at the moment) the number one forward pocket in the second best team. Hodge plays (when he's not injured) as the third or fourth defender at the ninth or tenth best club. 40 odd goals by a twenty year old is an excellent effort.

You don't quite get it do you? What is Didak's competition for a place in the FP? One Leon "donuts" Davis. Even then Didak often starts on the bench.

Stop lauding your own player, statistically and logically Hodge is miles in front and the gap will only continue to increase.

moe sizlak
3 Nov 2003, 14:33
This is pretty much a thread for all the Hawks fans that had a terrible year and want to cling on to the only shining light they have.

Hodge is class.
Didak is class.

who friggin cares, there both very different players.