View Full Version : Munro not good enough to be on our list

materamagic
13 Nov 2003, 19:44
my opinion is he ain't good enough and should of been delisted. What do you think?

Black Thunder
13 Nov 2003, 20:43
I agree with keeping him for another year.

There is quite a bit of talent in the guy and I'm a fan of his, but if he still hasn't put his hand up next year, than it could be curtains for him.

I think Phil Read was delisted for salary cap purposes - in fact I can almost garunatee that.

Sera
13 Nov 2003, 21:18
Originally posted by Black Thunder
I think Phil Read was delisted for salary cap purposes - in fact I can almost garunatee that.

Word on the street is that he got into some kind of off-field trouble. Certainly wasn't treated too well when he was sacked. He said he wasn't even allowed to clean out his locker!

Mead
13 Nov 2003, 21:21
My opinion is it is utterly pointless to delist Munro.

He's young, shows promise has a future ahead of him, why on earth we'd delist him? Its not like having him on the list hurts us, as if his crapness is going to somehow infect other players on the list?!

I'm yet to hear any valid criticism of Munro's ability or attitude- he's a very very good set shot kick, a pretty smart footballer and has strong hands. When given a game, he generally does a few good things.
His obvious weakness is his lack of physical size and strength, but being skinny is different to being crap, and much easier to fix.
He deserves another year's grace, but he's one of several who need to break into the team this year to save their place in teh side.

Streaker
13 Nov 2003, 21:31
Munro has heaps of talent, just doesn't have the body to enable him to play AFL yet.
Peter Matera was 183 cm and weighed 89kgs whereas Munro is 182cm and weighs 76kg.

He only weighs 76kg which in this day and age is pretty light. Michael Prior was the same height (182cm) but weighed 3kg more. His career was cut short due to injuries which could be attributed to his lack of weight.

Mark Merenda was 5kg heavier.
Chambers and Banfield 11kg heavier.
Humm who is 2cm shorter is 4kg heavier
Kerr who is 5cm shorter is the same weight.

Basicly he has to gain some weight and around 10kgs should be about right to get his height to weight ratio up to the standard required to play AFL.

A dose of Uncle Johns special elixer and 3 months of weights should see him add a bit. ;)

Dogwatcher
13 Nov 2003, 22:56
whoops - i thought this was an old thread about Mike Munroe. Sorry. back to sleep for me.

no1bankteller
14 Nov 2003, 07:37
Originally posted by West Coast Stre

He only weighs 76kg which in this day and age is pretty light. Michael Prior was the same height (182cm) but weighed 3kg more. His career was cut short due to injuries which could be attributed to his lack of weight.

That and the fact that he could not make a decision to save himself.

YAKUZA
14 Nov 2003, 08:40
Originally posted by no1bankteller
That and the fact that he could not make a decision to save himself.

I reckon that might be closer to the mark than the weight/height factor but in fairness to him I don't believe he has had a lot of opportunities either.
There are plenty of successful players running around in the AFL with similar physical proportions to Munro.

Frodo
14 Nov 2003, 10:49
He stands a good cghance of developing into a half decent player.

I can't say that about Trent Carroll

Streaker
14 Nov 2003, 11:02
Originally posted by YAKUZA
There are plenty of successful players running around in the AFL with similar physical proportions to Munro.

Name 3 successful players currently running around the AFL who are 182cms and 76kgs or similar.

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 11:08
I was at Colonial for the final against Essendon and Kane "The Money Man" Munro was simply brilliant. He kicked 3 goals that were awesome.

He needs to bulk up a bit but hey when Dean Kemp first started he was a total rake and he went on to be a Norm Smith medallist and an Eagles and AFL champ.

no1bankteller
14 Nov 2003, 11:40
Originally posted by Hit And Rum

He needs to bulk up a bit but hey when Dean Kemp first started he was a total rake and he went on to be a Norm Smith medallist and an Eagles and AFL champ.

Please do not compare the two..

Dean is a club legend and has worked extreamly hard on his body, Munro has one or two good performance in three seasons and did 2/5 SFA on his body. Apart from having similier body shapes early in their career they have very little else in common.

Note by his third season, or thereabouts, in AFL Kemp was a two time premiership player and a Norm Smith... What has Munro done?

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 11:50

Steady on pal. I think anyone who knows anything about footbal knows Kempys record so no need to put that on display: he is a legend.

I didn't compare Dean Kemp the club legend at his prime. If you read what I wrote I compared Dean Kemp's frame when he first started with Munners frame in his now formative years.

Give Munners a fair run let im bulk up if he doesn't make he grade so be it. If he does fantastic.

carneagles
14 Nov 2003, 11:54
when Dean Kemp first started he was a total rake That's odd, he always looked like a sensible clean-living lad to me.

Munro's okay, he's just got to bulk up. Eat pies. Lose some hair. As for the amount of time he's had to spark, three years isn't that long. Ask Doogs. Or Embley. Or Wirra.

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 12:00
I agree give them some time. That is the biggest flaw in the AFL system at the moment. They don't give players time to develop. They just expect ready mad players but lets be honest in how many people in how many sports/professions are going to be absolute champions immediately. Not many.

Team make up will always have a handful of those amazing players and some that take longer to develop in their careers.

"The Money Man" has showed promise so lets let him develop.

Voice of Reason
14 Nov 2003, 12:20
I think Munro's not a bad player. Hasn't been able to break into the Top 22 much and is now in the last year of his contract I understand.

He's not at all bad for a squad player. The whole nature of AFL football (one game a week) and salary cap is that you can't accumulate (Chelski-style) two teams of star players, all of whom are good enough to play in the first team.

So I disagree with the poster who believes that he's not good enough to be on the list, although I agree he wouldn't be in my top 22 if everyone were fit.

Exeter
14 Nov 2003, 13:18

Dean is a club legend and has worked extreamly hard on his body, Munro has one or two good performance in three seasons and did 2/5 SFA on his body. Apart from having similier body shapes early in their career they have very little else in common.

Note by his third season, or thereabouts, in AFL Kemp was a two time premiership player and a Norm Smith... What has Munro done?

The first 2 or 3 games I saw Munro play he showed some excellent evasion skills and seemed to make some great decisions and disposals under intense pressure in the foward line. I remember thinking at the time that it was positively Kemp-like.

Sadly, he's never progressed since then.

Oh for another Dean Kemp.

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 13:30
To the tune of Robbie Willams "Better Man":

Send someone to win a flag
West coast needs to brag
We won a couple though
It was a few years ago

Then along came silky Kane
Maybe moulded in kempys vein?
Will he win the game?
No one knows

As Munners scores goals, tackles and evades
He is sending Coast fans to the Grand final Parade
Lord Kane is doing all he can...
To be "The Money Man"

:D :D :D

Streaker
14 Nov 2003, 13:34
Been drinking again?:rolleyes:

materamagic
14 Nov 2003, 13:36
he may show glimpses but in this ruthless business, glimpses are not enough and I am tipping that he unfortunately may not realise his potential at this club.

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 13:37
At work and thought that it needed to be done.

Did just have great steak and kidney pie from bakery on Hay street so maybe the offal has affected my medula oblongata!

carneagles
14 Nov 2003, 13:37
133 days ...

no1bankteller
14 Nov 2003, 13:40
Steady on pal.

Please read my post again..as I point out that by the time Kemp has been with the WCE for 3 years he had already won at least two premierships and been a Norm Smith...

Munro is no longer a new player, this is his fourth year on our list and he has not performed to date. He is not worthy IMO to be compared to Kemp. Infact he is not even worthy to wash his jock strap as far as I am concerned.

no1bankteller
14 Nov 2003, 13:41
Been drinking again?:rolleyes:

PMP

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 13:50
Please read my post again..as I point out that by the time Kemp has been with the WCE for 3 years he had already won at least two premierships and been a Norm Smith...

Are you gonna compare apples with apples or apples with oranges?
Look at the team that Kemp played in when he won the medals: Far superior with far bigger enforcers to help the little guys out - Woosha, Wilson etc.
Look at the size of players back then, 10 years ago now. Players could be smaller and definitely less muscly/toned and still be effective were as now it is nigh on impossible.
Finally I have already agreed with you Kempy is a legend but Kemp has finished his career Munro has barely started. Lets compare them at the end of their careers. I doubt Munro will be anywhere near as good but maybe he will surprise?

Give Munners a chance to grow and bulk up. If he does he could be outstanding if he does not trade him or delisting. I am sure Worsfold and Munro both have had a little chat saying that this is a crunch year.

Streaker
14 Nov 2003, 13:56

If all players had to live up to that standard then we wouldn't have a team. How many of the current crop of players has played in two premierships and won a norm smith medal?

Munro is no longer a new player, this is his fourth year on our list and he has not performed to date.

He was comparing his physical attributes not his playing record. There are quite a few players who have been on our list for a while that have not performed, does that mean they should get the chop. Bye Lynch, Gaspar, Hansen, Morrison, ....

He is not worthy IMO to be compared to Kemp. Infact he is not even worthy to wash his jock strap as far as I am concerned.

He was comparing his physical attributes not his playing record. Munro's ability isn't in question as far as I am concerned, but he needs to bulk up to make an impression.

Exeter
14 Nov 2003, 13:57

Give Munners a chance to grow and bulk up. If he does he could be outstanding if he does not trade him or delisting. I am sure Worsfold and Munro both have had a little chat saying that this is a crunch year.

How long do you want to give him?

Unless he does an "Embley" in 2004, which I doubt, I'd say his AFL career is in jeopardy.

he'll be 22 by the start of the 2004 season and time is running out.

IMO he's been overtaken by other younger and better players.

YAKUZA
14 Nov 2003, 14:27
Name 3 successful players currently running around the AFL who are 182cms and 76kgs or similar.

Matthew Lappin 181/76

Brady Rawlings 181/76

Mark McVeigh 182/79

Nick Fosdike 189/78

Aaron Fiora 186/77

Daniel Wells 180/72

no1bankteller
14 Nov 2003, 14:34
If all players had to live up to that standard then we wouldn't have a team. How many of the current crop of players has played in two premierships and won a norm smith medal?

Agreed! Having said that having Munro compared to Kemp is almost sacreligious as he has done nothing to warrant this comparison. I can understand sombody comparing Judd to Matera for instance even though Judd's acheivemtns are less then Matera's. Judd has shown to be worthy of this.

He was comparing his physical attributes not his playing record. There are quite a few players who have been on our list for a while that have not performed, does that mean they should get the chop. Bye Lynch, Gaspar, Hansen, Morrison, ....

No because there are valid reasons why those players have not performed to expectations, ie injury and youth. In Lynch's case I cannot work out what happend. In case of Lynch, Gapser and Hansen at least these guys continue to work on their careerer and keep on improving year on year, even if it is in the WAFL.

Munro has had four years and is still as skinny as he was when he joined WCE. He has done 2/5 FA in the gym that in my mind is inexcusable.

I have absolutly no problem in giving players time to develop, this is why I do not criticise Green, Glass and Humm, if they work hard on improving their game. With the case of Munro it is blatantly obvious that he has done little or no work to overcome his shortcomings and as such should not be compared to a club legend that was one of the best performers off and on the track.

He was comparing his physical attributes not his playing record. Munro's ability isn't in question as far as I am concerned, but he needs to bulk up to make an impression.

My point was that physically Munro is nothing like Kemp was three/four years into his career. Whilst Kemp was not big he still had developed his body to a point where it was no longer a liability.

The frustrating thing is that Munro has skills, however his his lack of work effort off the track reminds me more of Antonowicz then Kemp.

Are you gonna compare apples with apples or apples with oranges?
Look at the team that Kemp played in when he won the medals: Far superior with far bigger enforcers to help the little guys out - Woosha, Wilson etc.
Look at the size of players back then, 10 years ago now. Players could be smaller and definitely less muscly/toned and still be effective were as now it is nigh on impossible.
Finally I have already agreed with you Kempy is a legend but Kemp has finished his career Munro has barely started. Lets compare them at the end of their careers. I doubt Munro will be anywhere near as good but maybe he will surprise?

I am happy to compare what ever fruit you would like...

However you chose the comparison of Kemp and Munro and if ever there is a apple and oranges comparison that is it. Therfore I had no choice at the comparisono you mention.

As far as the argument about players back then being less muscle toned, I dispute that. Infact anyone you speak with will tell you that the game is quicker and more suitable to atheletes and whilst players have grown in height I dare say the weight of them has reduced. Hence this should advantage Munro even more.

In addition to this back then players were far more undisciplined and harder at the body then they are now, the advent of trial by video have seen to that. Some names to rememver include players like Ironmonger, Zennotti, Dunstall, Abblett, Lockett, Breraton, Van Der Har.

Lastly to answer your question about giving him some time as you are sure that Munro and Worsfold have had a little chat. Well I do hope this is the case. However lets not forget that he has already had three, in his fourth year now, seasons on our list and has hardly put on any weight. The worrying factor is that last year I am sure that Worsfold would have said the very same things that Munro needs to do as this year, ie put on weight, and he really listend to him then...

no1bankteller
14 Nov 2003, 14:34
Originally posted by Exeter

Unless he does an "Embley" in 2004, which I doubt, I'd say his AFL career is in jeopardy.

he'll be 22 by the start of the 2004 season and time is running out.

IMO he's been overtaken by other younger and better players.

Agreed....

Hit And Rum
14 Nov 2003, 14:35

As I said previously I think the Coasters should give him at least one more year. As I stated earlier he and Worsfold would have both talked about the fact that this crunch time. If he cant do it now he may very well be in trouble.

I think he can rise to the occasion and you do not. Lets see what hapens!

Exeter
14 Nov 2003, 16:15
For the sake of the team (and his own career), I hope you're right H&R

cartman
14 Nov 2003, 20:16
i think because of his build he has needed more time to develop but this would be his last chance i think , i like the guy only hope he can come good or its over

noogie_da_sheep
14 Nov 2003, 22:35
i say delist him!!!

USAEagle
15 Nov 2003, 00:48
The fact is, nobody on here, with maybe the exception of MDB, knows WHAT Whoosha has said to Munro. Nobody on here knows WHAT work he has done in the weight room. Nobody knows if he has even been told to bulk up. Every player has a different program. Look at Wirrpunda. He doesn't run much in training. He cycles and swims for Aerobic capacity. Gaspar is on a "cotton wool regime" for the pre season. I heard Phil Read the other day say that at the Eagles they never ran more than 800 metres at a stretch. The coaches know what they are doing and if they think that Kane Munro will be an asset to our team, then he will. Remember how ****ed some of us were when they cut Scotty Cummings. Did we miss him? No. Trust the coasches to do the right thing by the team, and leave it at that.

Frodo
15 Nov 2003, 11:11
And this time last year the majority here wanted Embley delisted!!!!

Sera
15 Nov 2003, 12:09
Originally posted by Frodo

Yeah but Embley usually played one blinder per year before doing nothing for the rest of it. Munro hasn't played one good game at AFL level in his entire career. I would doubt he has got over 15 possessions in any single game.

Mead
15 Nov 2003, 13:35
Originally posted by Sera
Yeah but Embley usually played one blinder per year before doing nothing for the rest of it. Munro hasn't played one good game at AFL level in his entire career. I would doubt he has got over 15 possessions in any single game.

Well he has, actually, in round 22 2000, he got 16.

However, his best game in his career was a pretty impressive 13 disposal, 3 goal outing from a forward pocket in our finals match against Essendon last year, which saw him as our leading goal kicker. This might sound be clutching at straws a bit, but one of the things that does make me think Munro is worth persevering with is that he played his best ever footy to date in a final. Not much to go on, but finals performers are pretty rare commodity in football, and on that basis alone he's probably worhh doing a bit more with.

I'm not sold on him by any means, and it is possibile he'll remain a waif incapable of handling the physical nature of AFL footy, but he's worth another season.
There are some minor, promising signs. He takes a very good mark, and is perfect from a set shot. Those two factors alone are enough to build an AFL career if he works hard. Best case scenario, we'd have a carbon copy of Brett Heady on our hands.

One common feature about Worsfold's selection decisions, is he always gives players last chances. Richard Taylor was selected in Rd 22 last year and given a chance to convince the club and himself that it was worth continuing with. Embley was given a last chance this season, and he took it magnificently. Sierakowski started to get games at the end of this year, ditto Wilson, Haynes was given several games this year as the number one forward option, so he could try and convince the club he was worth keeping, ditto Read.

Probably, with new draftees coming through, and people like Nicoski and Beeck strongarming their way onto the senior list, 2004 is last chance saloon for people like Munro. No doubt Worsfold will have made that very clear to him, and if he's serious about playing on, I'm guessing he's going to be one of the people busting their gut over the pre-season.

no1bankteller
15 Nov 2003, 18:36
Originally posted by Frodo

They still do ;-)

daddy_4_eyes
15 Nov 2003, 21:22
Originally posted by Mead
Well he has, actually, in round 22 2000, he got 16.

However, his best game in his career was a pretty impressive 13 disposal, 3 goal outing from a forward pocket in our finals match against Essendon last year, which saw him as our leading goal kicker. This might sound be clutching at straws a bit, but one of the things that does make me think Munro is worth persevering with is that he played his best ever footy to date in a final. Not much to go on, but finals performers are pretty rare commodity in football, and on that basis alone he's probably worhh doing a bit more with.

Definately clutching. One good game (and it wasn't a class performance, merely a good one) does not make an AFL player. I'm sure he has the talent and ability, but if he doesn't show it on a regular basis he is useless to the team.

Of the games I've seen live, he seems good enough to make it, just seems to struggle with the physical part of the game. I'm not talking about his body size, I'm talking about his ability to handle a bump, or stay on his feet in a tackle for that 0.5 of a sec that allows him to dispose of the footy. Basically, he's only an asset if he can get an uncontested possession. Unfortunately, at AFL level, uncontested means having 5 metres on your opponent.

Dunno if y'all know what I'm getting at :confused:

Exeter
18 Nov 2003, 11:48
Originally posted by Mead

Best case scenario, we'd have a carbon copy of Brett Heady on our hands.

High praise indeed Mead.

Although IMO he'd have to improve several orders of magnitude to reach those heights

Hit And Rum
18 Nov 2003, 11:55

WHAT THE F$$$!

Obviously you didnt watch the elimination final vs the Bombers! I was there and he was great. Three goals was pretty handy return from a pretty much unknown player!

A ridiculous comment if I have ever heard one.

Hit And Rum
18 Nov 2003, 12:11
To the tune of "Mucho Man" by the Village People (I know, I know!):

Here comes Kane Munro he is The Money Man
He plays footy for the Coasters, his skills always in demand
Kicking goals for the Eagles, go Munners go
Doding and weaving opponents, at Subiaco
You can best believe that, he's The Money Man
Ready to win the footy, any way he can

Hey! Hey! Hey, hey, hey!
Money, Money, Money Man
Kane Munro is The Money Man
Money, Money, Money Man
We've gotta keep, The Money Man

no1bankteller
18 Nov 2003, 12:16
WHAT THE F$$$!

Obviously you didnt watch the elimination final vs the Bombers! I was there and he was great. Three goals was pretty handy return from a pretty much unknown player!

A ridiculous comment if I have ever heard one.

One game does in three seasons does not make a blinder every season...and I think that Sera was understating the amount of good games that Embley did have over time...by no means do I think Sera's comments were ridiculous...

Hit And Rum
18 Nov 2003, 12:25
Munro hasn't played one good game at AFL level in his entire career.

Read the quote.

I pointed out that he has.

The only argument any one could make in defence of this comment, which I was ridiculing, is that 3 goals in a final is not a good game.

I think 3 goals in a final would easily meet anyone standards of "good" so therefore the comment is ridiculous or simply ignorant of this performance.

llosis
18 Nov 2003, 12:25
I think someone's got an unhealthy infatuation going on around here. All these songs, H&R, and anyone would think you were auditioning for a job on breakfast radio.

Obviously the 2002 Elim final has made a lasting impression upon you. Let me tell you about a game where Munners left a lasting impression upon me, round 19 2003 vs Adelaide.

Munners comes in for the dropped Sampi to play the dangerous forward pocket role for the reconfigured Eag's. Playing the forward pocket, one does not need too many kicks to be dangerous. Our faithful Fido has made a tidy career for himself by averaging about one shot on goal for every 2 of his 5 or 6 kicks a game. But on this particular day Munners got exactly 0 (ie ZERO) kicks. Do you know how many goals it is possible to kick with ZERO kicks? Zero. That's right, if Munners maximised the potential in every kick he had that day, sending each one of his kicks thru the big sticks, he would kicked Zero goals.

He did on this August afternoon however take a mark and give off two handballs. But one of these was when he ill advisedly played on only to pressured from behind. Ineffective. the other handball must have been in the warm-ups as I can't really recall it.

That is my lasting impression on Kane "killer" Munro. Let's hope he kills 'em in 2004.

Hit And Rum
18 Nov 2003, 12:50
What? This isnt a breakfast radio audition site!!! You have ruined my dreams!:D

Thats a great stat zero from zero and I was at that game as well. He didnt play well at all so I reckon from one game we should clearly drop him.

Phil Matera got no goals in the final against Adelaide a few weeks later lets drop him too.

That isnt a fair example as he has played a lot more games then Munro so lets think of someone else.

I know what about Jobe Watson he had a bad game for the Bombers at the end of this season. Clearly he will be useless lets drop him.

Hang on thats not fair either has Munro has played more seasons then that.

What about Gary Ablett he played 2 seasons (Munro just finished his third not far off) with the Hawks and had a few bad games according to them so they dropped him. Won best and fairest in his first year with the Cats and then kicked 1000+ goals for his career.

Now no one, not even me, would think the Money Man or Killer, which is an awesome nickname by the way, could do this or even come close but come on lets give the young bloke a chance.

He has showed some glimpses and he has had some very poor games but lots of players do in there first 50. Give him one more year and if he doesnt perform then fair enough. It is not like he is 30 years old and has no future.

materamagic
18 Nov 2003, 14:03
there are many 30 yearolds who have brighter futures that skinny munners, (pathetically lame nickname for the schnapp)

Sera
18 Nov 2003, 14:38
Read the quote.

I pointed out that he has.

Sorry, I gotta disagree. Our midfield was on top most of that day and his opponent, Rioli from memory, gave him an absolute bath in the first half. You have to consider what a player's opponent does when considering his net worth. I can only imagine that the mother of all tongue lashings by woosha at half time got him to fire up in the 2nd half of an elimination final. 3 goals was handy but it was hardly match winning stuff when his opponent probably set up a few goals himself. It was servicable.

In saying that, I think he has skill but he needs to dramatically lift his intensity.

Hit And Rum
18 Nov 2003, 15:01
Harsh on the young man. 3 goals in a losing final were the team only kicked 11 goals and he was top goal scorer for the Eagles and equal top scorer for the game and that was a "servicable" game.

The age named him as third best for the Eagles.

Akll these point to a "good" game for men not just servicable.

Rioli may have had a better game but doesnt mean "The Money Man", that is the nickname, couldnt have a good one.

So the point stands he has had one good game.

Sera
18 Nov 2003, 15:20
Harsh on the young man. 3 goals in a losing final were the team only kicked 11 goals and he was top goal scorer for the Eagles and equal top scorer for the game and that was a "servicable" game.

The age named him as third best for the Eagles.

Akll these point to a "good" game for men not just servicable.

Rioli may have had a better game but doesnt mean "The Money Man", that is the nickname, couldnt have a good one.

So the point stands he has had one good game.

No harsher than judging other players. There is a difference between kicking goals when the game is on and kicking them when the sting has gone out of it. David Haynes [drafted in the same year and has actually done something at AFL level] was a specialist at kicking goals late in the game. He is now at Geelong. In any event, Munro hasn't done anything yet. Whether he has had 1 good game or 0 good games is splitting hairs. Michael O'brien was axed after one good game and 2 years. It's a cut-throat industry, players go in with their eyes wide open. He was drafted in 1999, next year will be 2004. I hope for his sake that he starts producing because his stay of execution is nearly up.

no1bankteller
18 Nov 2003, 15:53
No harsher than judging other players. I hope for his sake that he starts producing because his stay of execution is nearly up.

Hear hear...

By the way Hit and Rum is you name Kane Munro by some chance?

Just curious as you seem to be extra vigorous in defending the young man, to a point that I am startign to question your relationship to him. :confused:

Hit And Rum
18 Nov 2003, 16:30
Yes I am secretly Kane Munro ;)

I just think that people need to give the guy a go. He is young and he has potential. I agree that he is currently avoiding removal of the list by a narrow margin but he can come back.

I agree the system is cut throat. But I believe it is one of the biggest problems with the AFL system at the moment. Young guys are nto getting the time develop.

Kane is young, 21, and has showed promise. Give him this year. If he doesnt prove himself then get rid of him. I don't have a problem with that.

I agree the David Haynes to Geelong move was a step backwards. I think Haynesy is a good player but at the end of the day you and I don't make the decisions.

By the way I was not splitting hairs. You asked has if he had a good game. It was a big call set to revoke a reaction and it did. Myself, The Age and a lot of people thought he did.

Come on "Money Man". Do all Eagles proud!

Chris_Judd
19 Nov 2003, 00:52
Lots of know it alls in here.... alot of the same people abusing Munro were abusing Embley as well earlier this year...

Now.... Munro has talent... he can play... I have seen him play... he may not have shown it yet at AFL level but he hasnt had the opportunities some players get. If he didn't have any talent do you think he would still be on the Eagles list? Do you think Worsfold and Co would keep him on.... lets face it... he has been there 3 years.... he is not a key member of the team.... we could easily have deslited him and not affected out side.... but the fact is he does have talent and ability and the Eagles know this.

It's a pity supporters just sit in the stands cheering and abusing certain players.... and don't know the real inside workings of the club and its players.

Mead
19 Nov 2003, 01:40
Originally posted by Chris_Judd
It's a pity supporters just sit in the stands cheering and abusing certain players.... and don't know the real inside workings of the club and its players.

As opposed to those who just sit in their loungeroom on game day, flicking channels?

no1bankteller
19 Nov 2003, 07:43
Lots of know it alls in here....

Are you including yourself in this statement?

If he didn't have any talent do you think he would still be on the Eagles list?

Antonowicz lasted three years and he had sweet FA talent.

iceman
19 Nov 2003, 10:31
Antonowicz lasted three years and he had sweet FA talent.

Oh No, dont remind me!!

Im still hurt that he wore the #4 jumper

llosis
19 Nov 2003, 10:44
It's a pity supporters just sit in the stands cheering and abusing certain players....

I think there is a difference between offering an opinion on a particular players merit (rating him or not) and abusing a player.

There's nothing personal that I can see being posted about Kane Munro, I'm sure we'd all love to have a yarn and beer with him. That's not the issue. I'm sure as well that when he runs out with the rest of the team on game day in the Eagles' jumper we're all behind him and the team 100%. That's not the issue either.

It's after the game, whether we've won or lost, where we as supporters get to vent our opinions on how said players perform. And that is what you have in this thread. No-one is abusing Kane Munro personally, just passing judgement on his merits as an AFL footballer which we can do without being a better footballer than him or knowing him personally.

Hit And Rum
19 Nov 2003, 11:55
I think it is great!!!

Keep the banter up. I think we all do it coz we just want what is best for the side.

Some of us say Kane in some say Kane go. We have all put forward sensible and cogent points (excluding my songs!;) ) and it has been great.

I guess we will find out soon who was right.

As you know I am backing the Money Man!!