View Full Version : TV Most repeated movie on telly: the winner is...
bobbity2
14 Nov 2003, 07:27
BIRD ON A WIRE!! Bloody hell, how many times can ch.9 trot this one out? Other nominations for movies that have been on TV way too many times?
Contra Mundum
14 Nov 2003, 08:11
What are you talking about... Happy Gilmore seems to be on three times a week
NICK THE PIE MAN
14 Nov 2003, 08:33
Don't forget Kindergarten Cop.
KiNgCliVe26
14 Nov 2003, 08:44
Star Wars
Mr Eagle
14 Nov 2003, 09:48
Don't forget Parenthood either. No one can compete with Ch Ten for the range of mediocre movies it manages to trot out every quarter without fail.
Scotty's_Girl
14 Nov 2003, 10:02
True Lies, Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore
Pretty Woman is right up there as well
dreampolice
14 Nov 2003, 10:19
WillieWonka!
Contra Mundum
14 Nov 2003, 10:40
What sheets me is that they try to dress it up as follows:
"Up next an Australian TV premier of the touching comedy/drama Parenthood" and you go- hang on I saw that on TV last year mo fo!
Under Seige.
Twice a year, without exception.
Falchoon
14 Nov 2003, 12:58
Originally posted by dreampolice
WillieWonka!
agreed.. and The Sound Of Music.
benny's buddy
14 Nov 2003, 14:14
Any of the Back to the Future series
Docker_Brat
14 Nov 2003, 14:31
<insert lame Jim Carrey movie>
Rusty Brookes
14 Nov 2003, 15:01
Ironically enough, Groundhog Day.
Noddy Holder
14 Nov 2003, 15:06
Twins
Jeffers
14 Nov 2003, 18:24
Originally posted by bobbity2
BIRD ON A WIRE!! Bloody hell, how many times can ch.9 trot this one out? Other nominations for movies that have been on TV way too many times?
AMEN!! So bloody right! This movie get's played on channel 10 at least 2-3 times a year and it ****s me
Mary Poppins is another that gets a good run each year.
The Wedding Singer.
Pretty much anything Adam Sandler does. Apart from the serious role(s).
Destructive
14 Nov 2003, 21:19
Originally posted by benny's buddy
Even though I love those movies, I have to agree.
Destructive
14 Nov 2003, 21:20
Originally posted by DonFan
Twins
Don't forget Junior.
Destructive
14 Nov 2003, 21:22
Any Lethal Weapon movie.
Coll_RP
16 Nov 2003, 13:42
I thinks it called the American President. The one where Michael Dougals is the President and he starts going out with some lady. That is on about 5 times a year
Mr. Blonde
16 Nov 2003, 16:36
Why don't they ever show some classic Aussie movies like:
Mad Max,
The Club or
BMX Bandits
Originally posted by dreampolice
WillieWonka!
bullseye
Esperito
17 Nov 2003, 03:32
Bad Boys
Originally posted by Catman
Mary Poppins is another that gets a good run each year.
That and 'The Sound Of Music' of music always get dragged out during school holidays.
Originally posted by benny's buddy
I think you'll find it's only ever 2 or 3.
I couldn't remember the last time they put the first one on.
Disgustipated
17 Nov 2003, 11:56
Whenever the new series of Big Brother starts Ch 10 always seem to find room for that Jim Carrey flick (cant remember its name, you know the one im thinking of)
Originally posted by Disgustipated
Whenever the new series of Big Brother starts Ch 10 always seem to find room for that Jim Carrey flick (cant remember its name, you know the one im thinking of)
The Truman Show
Disgustipated
17 Nov 2003, 12:37
Thnx again Xman
"The Game" seems to be screening more and more every year.
captain boyd
17 Nov 2003, 20:20
it would have to that movie with
2 cops
1 white-1 black
1 young-1 old
1 stable home life-1 unstable
1 methodical-1 loose cannon
1 folows the book-1 shows no regard for rules
can anyone help me with the name?
Happy Gilmore wins hands down!!!
Channel 10 have an obsession with this movie.
Dingster
17 Nov 2003, 22:33
Don't know about now, but it used to be African Queen.
Grendel
18 Nov 2003, 04:54
You are all
WRONG!
The movies that get repeated most are,
Miranda, Vice Versa, Trouble in Store, Hells Drivers, Car of Dreams, Black Narciuss, assorted 'Doctor' movies starring Dirk Bogarde and a myriad of other 30's, 40's and 50's black and white English made films that the ABC runs at LEAST a half dozen times a year each. All on between midnight and 6am for those of you yet to catch up with the *cough* pleasure of them.
Miranda I reckon would probably win it as it gets a run Saturday/Sunday arvo a bit too!
There's a few often repeated movies on next week :
Saturday on nine - The Castle and National Lampoon's Vacation.
Friday week on nine - Tequila Sunrise
Friday week on ten - Stripes [great movie].
magpie_junior9
24 Nov 2003, 21:10
it would have to that movie with
2 cops
1 white-1 black
1 young-1 old
1 stable home life-1 unstable
1 methodical-1 loose cannon
1 folows the book-1 shows no regard for rules
that would be Lethal Weapon..yeah thats on most times
but bird on the wire is the winner, i saw it once..but they show it at least 5 times a year and it is a boring movie..TV1 also has an obsession with Groundhog day and Jaws
SpRiGgZy
26 Nov 2003, 18:40
happy gilmore, true lies and bad boys not that i mind that being played over and over
Milkman
26 Nov 2003, 19:30
Stripes.
Friday or Sat night if it doesn't have Van Damn in it it will have Willis or Schwaznegger.
ALSO WHAT'S WITH the ABC rotating the same old movies late at night over and over again.
mellowyellow
27 Nov 2003, 15:48
Originally posted by Destructive
Any Lethal Weapon movie.
Flogged more times then a dead horse.
Crocodile Dundee1-2
Dave
The Scarecrow
28 Nov 2003, 01:39
Die Hard, Under Siege, The Fugitive, Leathal Weapon. Most of the other movies named haven't appeared that many times on Tasmanian T.V, but these ones have been repeated over and over again way too many times.
Jars458
28 Nov 2003, 07:40
Die Hard
Die Harder
Die Harder still
Porthos
28 Nov 2003, 08:41
The Fifth Element is certainly coming into this category.
There are four Bruce Willis movies on TV this week.
Originally posted by Porthos
The Fifth Element is certainly coming into this category.
I thought channel 10 screened it only like 2 months ago and now they're showing it again.:confused:
Next week a few highly repeated movie's return :
Billy Madison
Dante's Peak
Striking Distance
Funny Farm
What's with all the Bruce Willis movie's being dragged out at the moment ?
i seem to recall a movie called 'a mom for christmas' (yes mom with a O)
i would bet money that its been on every single year for the last 10 years, obviously at xmas time. and yes, it is totally pathetic.
anyone else remember this one?
also die hard, the fifth element, jerry... whats it called.. the tom cruise 'show me the money' one. and yes bird on a wire seems to be on about 10 times a year.
oh yeh and 'the generals daughter' is another one thats on all the time.
Originally posted by evade28
i seem to recall a movie called 'a mom for christmas' (yes mom with a O)
i would bet money that its been on every single year for the last 10 years, obviously at xmas time. and yes, it is totally pathetic.
anyone else remember this one?
Isn't Olivia Newton-John the "mom" in that ?
bacon buster
1 Dec 2003, 13:03
if not, she looks a lot like her. i haven't seen it actually, only the previews (every year) but there's a heap of crap christmas movies that get repeated once a year. national lampoon's christmas vacation isn't one of them though :D (crap that is ;))
Originally posted by bacon buster
if not, she looks a lot like her. i haven't seen it actually, only the previews (every year) but there's a heap of crap christmas movies that get repeated once a year. national lampoon's christmas vacation isn't one of them though :D (crap that is ;))
I love that movie. It is a tradition in my family to get together and watch it each year.
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Striking Distance
What's with all the Bruce Willis movie's being dragged out at the moment ?
Arrrgghhh, just saw ads for this movie on next week - surely has to be close to the winner! Easily three, four times a year!
Black JuJu
5 Dec 2003, 20:59
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Isn't Olivia Newton-John the "mom" in that ?
I think it might be Shelley Long of Cheers fame - and yes, I feel dirty just knowing that.
Is that the one where she's a store mannequin ...
has anyone seen Stripes before? ffs.
rubberman
5 Dec 2003, 22:59
Trading Places
Police Academy
Originally posted by Nic
There are four Bruce Willis movies on TV this week.
i dont know whats happened this week, theres only one on this week. of course i may have overlooked other ones.
ch10 are dragging out the Sly Stallone movie Daylight next tuesday.
After seeing that movie years ago,I decided I'd never travel in the Burnley tunnel. :eek:
Mobbenfuhrer
10 Dec 2003, 14:20
A Mom For Christmas IS Olivia Newton-John. And yes, it gets a lot of runs.
RoosLuver
12 Dec 2003, 15:42
The Castle
lenny&carl
14 Dec 2003, 00:45
There's your old channel 7 friday night classics, which have been on heavy rotation over the years...
Willy wonka
Sound of Music
My Fair lady
The Bridge Over River Kwai
The Great Escape
The Wizard of Oz
The Time Machine (love them morlocks)
To Sir with Love
Guns of Navarrone
Midway
Tora Tora Tora
Dr. Fricken Doolittle
The Battle of Britain (love them Messershmits)
The Blue Max
Miracle on 34th Street must've been on over 20 times, and The Party has been on a lot of times, but still not enough times.
Swans Upstart
14 Dec 2003, 21:48
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Don't forget Parenthood either. No one can compete with Ch Ten for the range of mediocre movies it manages to trot out every quarter without fail. Those who missed it 3 months ago will be pleased to know that Ch 10 will have its quarter-yearly showing of Parenthood this Friday.
Saturday Afternoon I watched "Carefree" for the fifth time this year on ABC.
Ch10 are showing Beethoven 2 on saturday night.This movie,along with the original,are on high rotation on Foxtel's Disney Channel.
OMG,ch9 have dragged out Hard To Kill with the worlds worst actor - Steven Seagal.
They drag that out every summer,along with a few other Seagal stinkers.
tashibatts
24 Dec 2003, 21:33
Santa Clause
(The one with Tim Allen in.. and that kid called Charlie) It has been on Optus about 15 times in the past week:mad:
If it wasn't so boring, I probably could have memorised the script by now.
Go Roos
90% of the movies listed here are ones that are on ch.10. Time they bought a new Adam Sandler movie. As much as i love Happy Gilmore and Billy Maddison, enough is enough.
JocksWaHey420
25 Dec 2003, 00:56
A Mom for Christmas with olivia newton john,
what a pile of crap.
who invented 'santa claus', a german guy working for walt disney? coca-cola, MTV?
PLUS:
happy gilmore
billy madison
any rubbish adam sandler crap (except for Punch Drunk Love, top fillum)
erotic ghost story
the weatherwoman
project A
jingle all the way
ben hur
the ten commandments
Jeffers
26 Dec 2003, 16:58
Another Movie they seem to drag out alot on ch. 7 especially at Midday is "My Father, the Hero"
It stars that French actor Gerard Deper.....
And a younger (But really really hot) Katherine Heigl
It was just on today and i could've sworn it was shown another time this year
i can't believe only one person has mentioned true lies... that movie is on soooooo much it's not funny... that would have to be the most repeated besides the adam sandler movies, but you could watch those over and over again...
jacqui9
28 Dec 2003, 12:21
Originally posted by w00dy
i can't believe only one person has mentioned true lies... that movie is on soooooo much it's not funny... that would have to be the most repeated besides the adam sandler movies, but you could watch those over and over again...
Adam Sandler is the most unfunny human being on the face of the earth.
Ch10 are dragging out Ghostbusters next saturday night.I'll guess Ghostbusters 2 will be on on the following saturday.
mellowyellow
28 Dec 2003, 13:23
SBS seem to drag out Dinner For One every single nye.
Originally posted by Scotty's_Girl
True Lies
It's on AGAIN on Friday night on ch10. :o
Disgustipated
27 Jan 2004, 13:19
The Golden Child is on again this weekend
Jeffers
27 Jan 2004, 20:32
And Last Action Hero on last weekend
thommo16
28 Jan 2004, 17:47
It has got to be Back to the Future, any one of them.
And I know these aren't movies, but who is the guy/girl who chooses what Simpsons episode to show, because I swear I watch one and then the next week see it again
The Castle
Ch9 are dragging it out again next friday.
This movie is less than 10 years old but it seems as though it's been on about 15 times.Still a great movie.
roostersgal4eva
21 Nov 2006, 14:34
Cool Runnings - always on some stage at chirstmas
I only checked this page, but I'm guessing someone's mentioned that classic channel 9 ad line...
"yes they deserve to die and I hope they burn in hell!"
Billy Madison/Happy Gilmore on 10
Or the Men In Black films
Billy Madison/Happy Gilmore on 10
Or the Men In Black films
That would have to be our winner right there!
Also National Lampoons Christmas Vacation is on every year without fail. (Not that i'm complaining.. one of my fav movies, which gets funnier everytime you watch it :D )
viccles
21 Nov 2006, 17:27
Sound of Music and the castle
Warwick
21 Nov 2006, 17:58
Men In Black, True Lies, and Billy Maddison are all definately up there, but Happy Gilmore surely wins hands down. Channel 10 are a disgrace.
To Kill a Mockingbird is on at least 5 times a year on Briz31 up here. Not sure whether you guys get to see it as many times on your community station.
Crosby87
21 Nov 2006, 18:32
Happy Gilmore and True Lies. Easily.
No contest.
Then you get movies on at 12:30 or whatever that you haven't seen on TV in like 7 years, when these are on every six months.
American Pie
Guess what ch10 are showing when ch9 are showing The Castle.
Go on ...guess
;)
What are you talking about... Happy Gilmore seems to be on three times a week
Might as well throw Billy Madison in there as well.
The_Eagles
21 Nov 2006, 20:50
Bird on a wire is the first that sprang to my mind too.
GoSydneySwans
21 Nov 2006, 21:59
Can't remember a Christmas gone by without Miracle on 64th (?) Street and The Santa Clause being shown.
spell_check
21 Nov 2006, 22:06
Not the most, but Funnyfarm gets shown a lot - not a bad thing, mind you.
Guess what ch10 are showing when ch9 are showing The Castle.
Go on ...guess
;)
Groan. :(
legitimatic
22 Nov 2006, 01:28
Don't you like The Castle mantis?
Btw True Lies is on a ridiculous amount of the time, i remember last year twice in a month, it's as if the people on Channel 10 suffer short term memory loss!!!
Don't you like The Castle mantis?
Btw True Lies is on a ridiculous amount of the time, i remember last year twice in a month, it's as if the people on Channel 10 suffer short term memory loss!!!
No I don't, more safe comedy, because the australian public aren't sophisticated enough, to handle more challenging movies. The film industry in this country is stuffed, until they stop making these movies & treating the aussie public as mindless morons.
Kingpin
22 Nov 2006, 01:45
Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory :thumbsd:
It was alright when you first saw it as a kid, but I figure it's been screened here every year for the last 25 years - enough!
Kingpin
22 Nov 2006, 01:47
The film industry in this country is stuffed, until they stop making these movies & treating the aussie public as mindless morons.
Most of them are morons, that's the trouble. They don't want to have to think.
If they started making more challenging movies, then it might change, it is ridiculous that all the talented people in the film industry, have to move overseas to be appreciated.
Lucky Star
22 Nov 2006, 05:48
The Karate Kid has traditionally got a good run.
That's become a movie that gets a run on a saturday or sunday afternoon when the footy isn't on.