View Full Version : Copeland On The Verge

Pages : [1] 2

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 08:51
Article in todays' AGE re Brisbanes Robert Copeland on the verge of quitting Brisbane and nominating for the preseason draft where the tigers are favoured to pick him up with Melbourne the only obstacle. Can Melbourne afford him if Richmond are offering him $100,000 more than Brisbane?

Greg Miller YOU LEGEND!!!!!!

Adrian1
19 Nov 2003, 08:58
sorry to spoil your thunder but read the Herald Sun.

Dees have stated that they will take him if available without question.

marcuz
19 Nov 2003, 08:58
Greg Miller YOU LEGEND!!!!!!

Yeah he has done a ripper job this past trade period.....

Oops i nearly forgot to add this...:rolleyes:

evo
19 Nov 2003, 09:07
Why do you say that marcuz,not his fault solomon decided to stay at Dons,what else did he stuff up?

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 09:09
Ok so tell me this. Why the hell would melboure pick up someone who is obvioulsy going to be paid a lot of money and on the other hand get rid of a brownlow medalist FOR PRACTICALLY NOTHING??? If I followed Melbourne I wouldnt be too happy about this. On the other hand, not many people follow melbourne anyway so I dont know where the money will come from especially when they have recorded such horrendous losses for the last three years and Diamond Joe may come knocking on the door for his money. He's a bit hard up these days.

Doesn't make sense to me.

My money would be on copeland ending up at tigerland.

blaise
19 Nov 2003, 09:14
talk about changing the facts

they did not say they would take him without question

they said they would lookat it

marcuz
19 Nov 2003, 09:14
Why do you say that marcuz,not his fault solomon decided to stay at Dons,what else did he stuff up?

Didn't you hear comments from a lot of the other clubs. They wouldnt deal with Miller as he upset a lot of them with his attitude. So a lot of possibles deals couldnt be done because they wouldnt deal with him.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 09:16
Originally posted by marcuz
Didn't you hear comments from a lot of the other clubs. They wouldnt deal with Miller as he upset a lot of them with his attitude. So a lot of possibles deals couldnt be done because they wouldnt deal with him.

The only one who got upset was Sheedy, not that Sheedy would ever contemplate taking a quality player from another club now would he?

marcuz
19 Nov 2003, 09:29
The only one who got upset was Sheedy

Not what i read...several clubs including the bulldogs walked out on richmond.

Sheedy would ever contemplate taking a quality player from another club now would he?

When was the last time Sheedy rucruited a quality player from another club?..........Geoff Raines in 85....18 ****en years ago

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 09:37
I'm very excited for the Tigers.
Clearly they are only a defensive midfielder way from premiership contention.

Copeland is worth all this trouble because...
He's only ever got 16 touches in a game?
He's young?
He's one of the Lions Matthew's cracked the ****s with after the GF for being arrogant?
Miller's decided to form a team of young businessmen who play for the right deal, not the jumper?

I'm confused.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 09:40

When was the last time Sheedy rucruited a quality player from another club?..........Geoff Raines in 85....18 ****en years ago

So again, I'm sure sheedy woudn't go after a quality player from another club given the opportunity???? I Nathan Brown wanted to go to the bombers, sheedy would have gone with his morals and told him to stay at the bulldogs.

Adrian1
19 Nov 2003, 09:44
Originally posted by blaise
talk about changing the facts

they did not say they would take him without question

they said they would lookat it

Read the article in the Herald Sun "... Corcoran said they would have no hesitation in xlaiming Copeland....."

Unsure where I have changed the facts or do you only like looking at selective words in an article ??

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 09:45
Originally posted by bluechampion
I'm very excited for the Tigers.
Clearly they are only a defensive midfielder way from premiership contention.

Copeland is worth all this trouble because...
He's only ever got 16 touches in a game?
He's young?
He's one of the Lions Matthew's cracked the ****s with after the GF for being arrogant?
Miller's decided to form a team of young businessmen who play for the right deal, not the jumper?

I'm confused.

Who's talking about premierships you d ickhead??? You just stick with your reject shop mentality and worry about your star studded backline.

AND COPELAND'S ONLY PLAYED IN THE LAST TWO PREMIERSHIPS!!!! I'm sure Mathews would play ordinary players in his team in three successive premieships. Didn't he miss the first one because of injury????

So Akemanis wasn't arrogant after the GF? They can afford to be mate. If my team won 3 in a row they could be as arrogant as they wanted for all I care. I wouldn't care if they didnt win another one in my lifetime. I'd die a happy man!!!

evo
19 Nov 2003, 09:57

Huh?Dunno if you heard Nathan Brown is playing for Richmond next year.:rolleyes:

marcuz
19 Nov 2003, 10:02
Huh?Dunno if you heard Nathan Brown is playing for Richmond next year

They were insulted by the first couple of offers and walked out on the tigers....the fact that richmond came back with a better offer doesnt change the fact that the bulldogs walked out and weren't impressed with miller.

so....:rolleyes: right back at ya

evo
19 Nov 2003, 10:09
Yeah well its called tough negotiating.Seems a positive trait for mine,Tigers have there flaws but in my opinion Miller isnt 1 of them.

Anyway on a more postive note seems we'll get either Copeland or Morrisson from the Lions.:D

blaise
19 Nov 2003, 10:30
the quote is

" We are in discussions with Ron Joseph "

WHat you said was a journo spinning s#$t

Melbourne will get Read and Richmond will get Copeland

I guarantee it

a three year deal worth 250k a year is not of interest to Melbourne. That is also a fact

Cheers

Yze_Magic
19 Nov 2003, 10:36
the quote is

I guarantee it

a three year deal worth 250k a year is not of interest to Melbourne. That is also a fact

Cheers

250 K a year for Copeland?

only the Tigers would do somethig that stupid

jayfox
19 Nov 2003, 11:49
They were insulted by the first couple of offers and walked out on the tigers....the fact that richmond came back with a better offer doesnt change the fact that the bulldogs walked out and weren't impressed with miller.
so.... right back at ya

Yeah Marcuz, you really showed him.........:rolleyes:

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 12:05
Originally posted by itsintheblood
So again, I'm sure sheedy woudn't go after a quality player from another club given the opportunity???? I Nathan Brown wanted to go to the bombers, sheedy would have gone with his morals and told him to stay at the bulldogs.

We've never actively pursued high profile players from other clubs with the promise of big bucks. If a high profile player wanted to leave their club, of their own accord, then we'd probably try to work a deal out.

tiger of old
19 Nov 2003, 12:09

so....:rolleyes: right back at ya its called testing the waters.

tiger of old
19 Nov 2003, 12:10
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
250 K a year for Copeland?

only the Tigers would do somethig that stupid i agree nearly as stupid as the dees giving joe the flick

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 12:12
Originally posted by tiger of old
its called testing the waters.

From the offer that Miller apparently made, I wouldn't call it testing the waters as much as urinating in them. ;)

tiger of old
19 Nov 2003, 12:14
The only one who got upset was Sheedy, not that Sheedy would ever contemplate taking a quality player from another club now would he? sheedy,s comment about lookout ottens while maybe in jest however his stance of not trading with richmond at all will comeback and bite him one day along with naming hall as the trade bait used.

tiger of old
19 Nov 2003, 12:15
Originally posted by Stevo
From the offer that Miller apparently made, I wouldn't call it testing the waters as much as urinating in them. ;) so true:D

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 12:18
sheedy,s comment about lookout ottens while maybe in jest however his stance of not trading with richmond at all will comeback and bite him one day along with naming hall as the trade bait used.

Why do you think it will backfire on Sheeds? And how?

tiger of old
19 Nov 2003, 12:24
Why do you think it will backfire on Sheeds? And how? well for one its a fact ottens comes out of contract next year and its a fair bet he will be chased by everyone if he dosent resign with us.now taking the worst case senrio and otto decides to move on sheedy,s comment and stance will well and truely comeback to haunt him as the bombers would dearly love to get their hands on otto.

cheers!

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 12:29
well for one its a fact ottens comes out of contract next year and its a fair bet he will be chased by everyone if he dosent resign with us.now taking the worst case senrio and otto decides to move on sheedy,s comment and stance will well and truely comeback to haunt him as the bombers would dearly love to get their hands on otto.

cheers!

I don't see how that would constitute a 'backfiring' (at least, not in the way I think of something that backfires). Firstly, as you pointed out, Sheedy's comment was tongue in cheek. Surely those who try to construct some sort of link between those comments and Ottens not re-signing with Richmond are clutching at straws. Secondly, if Ottens decides to leave we'd be mad not to have a look, as would the other 14 clubs. There doesn't seem to be anything untoward there, and certainly nothing there that has negative consequences for Essendon. Or perhaps you are implying that due to Sheedy's comments Richmond will not entertain a deal with Essendon?

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 12:31
Who's talking about premierships you d ickhead??? You just stick with your reject shop mentality and worry about your star studded backline.

AND COPELAND'S ONLY PLAYED IN THE LAST TWO PREMIERSHIPS!!!! I'm sure Mathews would play ordinary players in his team in three successive premieships. Didn't he miss the first one because of injury????

So Akemanis wasn't arrogant after the GF? They can afford to be mate. If my team won 3 in a row they could be as arrogant as they wanted for all I care. I wouldn't care if they didnt win another one in my lifetime. I'd die a happy man!!!

Just suggesting that maybe throwing wads of cash at a young footballer who's yet to achieve much on the field is possibly not the way that Mr. Miller is going to turn around your clubs fortunes.

Certainly he has two premiership medallions (2001 & 2003 - he missed the middle one i believe). In one of those games he played quite well. But he's hardly a recruiting coup, now is he?

So, despite all his noise, Miller has swapped all your high draft picks and Ben Holland for Nathan Brown and Robert Copeland. A solid effort, but not as spectacular as Mr. Miller promised, or that some of you Tiger-supporting bretheran believe it to be.

And on other matters, yes Aker was a tad arrogant. I neither suggested that he wasn't, or that Matthews was only referring to Copeland. Some of his post-GF comments were a tad ungracious when you consider his limited on-field achievements (aside from the lucky two flags). This attitude should fit in well with Nathan Brown, who also thinks he's really rather good.

Finally, it betrays the acceptance of mediocrity at Punt Road by suggesting that you'd die happy if Richmond won three flags in a row and no more in your lifetime. What if you lived another 60 years?

Perhaps that is a pledge made in the 60s by a rabid Tiger. "If only we could be reasonably successful in the next 15-20 years we could never win a flag again after 1980 and I'd be happy!"

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 12:32

so....:rolleyes: right back at ya

Hmmmm... I thought this was called negotiation? So we port impresses with Neil Balme? Were the hawks impressed with Tim Harrington?? What the f*(K difference does it make you zombie??? Who out of all these clubs got their man???? Umm let's see, would it be richmond????

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 12:38
i agree nearly as stupid as the dees giving joe the flick

and a champion brownlow medallist to collingwood for next to NOTHING!!!! Now that was the deal of the century. Collingwood are still laughing their heads of on this one.

SurreyBlue
19 Nov 2003, 12:43
Sheedy is just having his usually sooky sooky la la. He gets very upset if he doesn't get what he wants, and please don't try and tell me he didn't chase Stevens and Brown.:D

Crumden
19 Nov 2003, 12:48
So, despite all his noise, Miller has swapped all your high draft picks and Ben Holland for Nathan Brown and Robert Copeland. A solid effort, but not as spectacular as Mr. Miller promised, or that some of you Tiger-supporting bretheran believe it to be.

By "all your high draft picks" you mean our first round draft pick. We still have all our draft picks from round 2 on.

We've never actively pursued high profile players from other clubs with the promise of big bucks.

Hird and Lloyd would never agree to a pay cut to allow you to do it! Hirdy cries all the way to the bank every time another one of his premiership team-mates gets cut for salary cap reasons.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 12:50
Just suggesting that maybe throwing wads of cash at a young footballer who's yet to achieve much on the field is possibly not the way that Mr. Miller is going to turn around your clubs fortunes.

Certainly he has two premiership medallions (2001 & 2003 - he missed the middle one i believe). In one of those games he played quite well. But he's hardly a recruiting coup, now is he?

And on other matters, yes Aker was a tad arrogant. I neither suggested that he wasn't, or that Matthews was only referring to Copeland. Some of his post-GF comments were a tad ungracious when you consider his limited on-field achievements (aside from the lucky two flags). This attitude should fit in well with Nathan Brown, who also thinks he's really rather good.

Finally, it betrays the acceptance of mediocrity at Punt Road by suggesting that you'd die happy if Richmond won three flags in a row and no more in your lifetime. What if you lived another 60 years?

Perhaps that is a pledge made in the 60s by a rabid Tiger. "If only we could be reasonably successful in the next 15-20 years we could never win a flag again after 1980 and I'd be happy!"

You are unbelievable. The guy has played in 2 premierships sides for f$%#s sake. The lions have an abundance of quality players so do you think he'd be in the side if he was average? Being so young and with so much experience at the top end, I'm sure any club would welcome him in. What would you classify as a spectacular effort? Landing Andrew Mcleod or Micheal Voss?

Landing Nathan Brown and Robert Copeland would make all Tiger supporters look forward to next year in earnest. Let's not forget copeland is only 22 and has played in 2 flags, ditto Kane Johnson who is only 24 and has done the same. Johnson finished 2nd in our B&F it's been a win for the club. On the other hand, I don't understand how landing Daniel Harford, Digby Morrell and David Teague would excite carlton supporters. They have all lanqguised in the reserves for the last 2 or 3 years!!! And looking at Ratten who "retired to play cricket with his son (yeah right)", beaumont who says he was glad to leave carlton, and McKernan who has now deserted Pagan twice, I wouldn't say all was rosy coaching-wise at the blues.

Just do me a favour, worry about your own backyard before you throw stones in your neighbours'.

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 12:51
Originally posted by Crumden
Hird and Lloyd would never agree to a pay cut to allow you to do it! Hirdy cries all the way to the bank every time another one of his premiership team-mates gets cut for salary cap reasons.

Translated: We have enough stars and don't need any more. Thanks! :D

But in any case I think asking your players to take a pay cut so that you can poach a high profile player is very bad form.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 12:52
Originally posted by Crumden
By "all your high draft picks" you mean our first round draft pick. We still have all our draft picks from round 2 on.

No, you've got me there. You traded Holland for pick 20, which, along with pick 6 you traded for Brown. It wasn't really yours, in a sense. I retract.

However, I'll be very interested to see who goes at picks 6 and 20.

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 13:00
No, you've got me there. You traded Holland for pick 20, which, along with pick 6 you traded for Brown. It wasn't really yours, in a sense. I retract.

However, I'll be very interested to see who goes at picks 6 and 20.

Ironic that pick #6 ended up at Essendon. I bet Sheedy had a quiet chuckle over that.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 13:00
Originally posted by SurreyBlue
Sheedy is just having his usually sooky sooky la la. He gets very upset if he doesn't get what he wants, and please don't try and tell me he didn't chase Stevens and Brown.:D

Sheedy and bomber supporters need to worry about how they're going to get dean rioli off the turtle meat cause looking at him recently, he looks like he's been in pasture!!!!! Makes the goodyear blimp look like a party balloon!!!!

anonymous Joe
19 Nov 2003, 13:09

Bull**** u don't know what they're on nor do I But they aren't money crazed ****s like nathan Brown.

Sheedy and bomber supporters need to worry about how they're going to get dean rioli off the turtle meat cause looking at him recently, he looks like he's been in pasture!!!!! Makes the goodyear blimp look like a party balloon!!!!

Rioli has 4 months of pre season to do he'll always be big but its his fitness that matters And Nithmond fans should be more worried. You think Nathan Brown will be your savior please we'll get better value from pick 6 than you will from Brown (in the long term). And you Will not make the eight next year and we (essendon) most likely will. Enjoy your September Holiday once again.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 13:14
Originally posted by anonymous Joe
Bull**** u don't know what they're on nor do I But they aren't money crazed ****s like nathan Brown.

Rioli has 4 months of pre season to do he'll always be big but its his fitness that matters And Nithmond fans should be more worried. You think Nathan Brown will be your savior please we'll get better value from pick 6 than you will from Brown (in the long term). And you Will not make the eight next year and we (essendon) most likely will. Enjoy your September Holiday once again.

Good to see you dont rate brown very highly. And I bet you'd be the same supporter who'd be hailing sheedy as brilliant if brown landed at essenDONG!!!! I never said Nathan Brown is our saviour. He is a great player who kicked 56 goals 51 behinds in a team which only won 3 games. Oh hang on a second... I almost forgot.... The bombers pulled of some rippas at trade week didn't they??? Justin Murphy and Mathew Allan.. HAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAAAA what a Joke!!!!

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 13:23
You are unbelievable. The guy has played in 2 premierships sides for f$%#s sake. The lions have an abundance of quality players so do you think he'd be in the side if he was average? Being so young and with so much experience at the top end, I'm sure any club would welcome him in. What would you classify as a spectacular effort? Landing Andrew Mcleod or Micheal Voss?

Landing Nathan Brown and Robert Copeland would make all Tiger supporters look forward to next year in earnest. Let's not forget copeland is only 22 and has played in 2 flags, ditto Kane Johnson who is only 24 and has done the same. Johnson finished 2nd in our B&F it's been a win for the club. On the other hand, I don't understand how landing Daniel Harford, Digby Morrell and David Teague would excite carlton supporters. They have all lanqguised in the reserves for the last 2 or 3 years!!! And looking at Ratten who "retired to play cricket with his son (yeah right)", beaumont who says he was glad to leave carlton, and McKernan who has now deserted Pagan twice, I wouldn't say all was rosy coaching-wise at the blues.

Just do me a favour, worry about your own backyard before you throw stones in your neighbours'.

You're so very defensive. It's wonderful. Regardless of what I say you jump up like a dog who's got a bee sting to the balls and defend your club by abusing everyone else.

You may note I never brought up Carlton. Although, in response, I am excited by Morrell, Harford etc. They are, after all, an improvement (which speaks to the state of our list). And, in their defence, they have not languished in the reserves for years. Harford is a former All-Australian. Morrell was overtaken by Petrie in 2003, but had an excellent 2002. Teague starred at VFL level, but wasn't in the coaches plans, after being the bravest young AFL defender in 2002.
And you mention Ratten. Ratten didn't leave in the best circumstances, it seems. But, with age and injuries also a factor he did choose his moment to leave, and good luck to him. He was a champion of the game. McKernan doesn't like Pagan. there's no mystery there. Beaumont is lazy and, when required to do the hard yards, complained. That's why he's at Hawthorn.
But to weave this into a suggestion that Carlton faces a coaching 'problem' is a tad fanciful. Pagan now has a squad of player who are the ones he wants. They're the ones he requires to execute his game plan, and improve the Blues on-field fortunes.

But, getting back to your comments, you confuse me, itsintheblood. in an earlier post you castigate me for mentioning premierships. If that is not the aim of your 'spectacular' recruiting, what is?
Please, enlighten me.

(oh, and what would I think is spectacular recruiting? Oh, let's say... getting Nick Stevens? ;))

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 13:23
The bombers pulled of some rippas at trade week didn't they??? Justin Murphy and Mathew Allan.. HAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAAAA what a Joke!!!!

How about Jacobs for pick #6 and Alvey? Miller could give gobbies to the other clubs and still not get a deal as good as that. ;)

NorthBhoy
19 Nov 2003, 13:33
Morrell was overtaken by Petrie in 2003, but had an excellent 2002.

Define excellent.

Originally posted by bluechampion Teague starred at VFL level

He was ok in patches, crap in others.

Originally posted by bluechampion but wasn't in the coaches plans, after being the bravest young AFL defender in 2002.

Yep, he is one gutsy MF.

FWIW, Teague will give Carlton better service than Digby IMO.

anonymous Joe
19 Nov 2003, 13:36
Good to see you dont rate brown very highly. And I bet you'd be the same supporter who'd be hailing sheedy as brilliant if brown landed at essenDONG!!!! I never said Nathan Brown is our saviour. He is a great player who kicked 56 goals 51 behinds in a team which only won 3 games. Oh hang on a second... I almost forgot.... The bombers pulled of some rippas at trade week didn't they??? Justin Murphy and Mathew Allan.. HAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAAAA what a Joke!!!!

No Essendon could never have afforded Brown and besides he overated and money Hungry I never wanted him I wanted a top 10 pick and we got Pick 6 and Alvey for Jacobs that is a ripa trade. As for Murphy and Allan we gave up **** all so if we get **** all NO LOSS. And we kept Solomon.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 13:37
Northbhoy. I have a very liberal definition of excellent :D

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 13:41
You're so very defensive. It's wonderful. Regardless of what I say you jump up like a dog who's got a bee sting to the balls and defend your club by abusing everyone else.

You may note I never brought up Carlton. Although, in response, I am excited by Morrell, Harford etc. They are, after all, an improvement (which speaks to the state of our list). And, in their defence, they have not languished in the reserves for years. Harford is a former All-Australian. Morrell was overtaken by Petrie in 2003, but had an excellent 2002. Teague starred at VFL level, but wasn't in the coaches plans, after being the bravest young AFL defender in 2002.
And you mention Ratten. Ratten didn't leave in the best circumstances, it seems. But, with age and injuries also a factor he did choose his moment to leave, and good luck to him. He was a champion of the game. McKernan doesn't like Pagan. there's no mystery there. Beaumont is lazy and, when required to do the hard yards, complained. That's why he's at Hawthorn.
But to weave this into a suggestion that Carlton faces a coaching 'problem' is a tad fanciful. Pagan now has a squad of player who are the ones he wants. They're the ones he requires to execute his game plan, and improve the Blues on-field fortunes.

But, getting back to your comments, you confuse me, itsintheblood. in an earlier post you castigate me for mentioning premierships. If that is not the aim of your 'spectacular' recruiting, what is?
Please, enlighten me.

(oh, and what would I think is spectacular recruiting? Oh, let's say... getting Nick Stevens? ;))

You're the one who rates copeland an average player and yet you're a big rap for the likes of Morrell, teague, and Harford???
Truely unbelievable. Pagan would be happy with the list he has and that's because THATS ALL HE COULD GET BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS TO PLAY FOR YOUR RABBLE OF A CHEATING CLUB. Stevens only went there because he has no damn choice. And you rate stevens a better player than copeland? Same age but copeland has two medallions to speak of. Stevens wouldn't happen to be one of those port chokers we speak of wouldnt he???? Were has he been in the finals when it really counted????? Don't get me wrong, he's a good player and I'd love him at richmond but for you to question other players you DONT have who are of similar quality is hypocritical.

The aim of recruiting quality players like brown and copeland is to improve our list with the hope that in the near future we could in fact make it to the top four (fairly, without salarycap rort of the carlton scale). I've never said we'd win a premiership but they'll help add a lot of skill and goal kicking power to our side.

If you're excited by morrell and harford, may god help you.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 13:44
Northbhoy. I have a very liberal definition of excellent :D

Peter Costello? Is that really you? You're truely a blues fan? And you had us fooled all these years

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 13:47
No Essendon could never have afforded Brown and besides he overated and money Hungry I never wanted him I wanted a top 10 pick and we got Pick 6 and Alvey for Jacobs that is a ripa trade. As for Murphy and Allan we gave up **** all so if we get **** all NO LOSS. And we kept Solomon.

You're kidding right? No loss??? Don't you think those two spots could be filled by a couple of young kids with potential rather than a couple "passed use by date" ex carlton hacks???

You truely have no idea.

Demonheart
19 Nov 2003, 14:05
and a champion brownlow medallist to collingwood for next to NOTHING!!!! Now that was the deal of the century. Collingwood are still laughing their heads of on this one.

I know alot of pies supporters that weren't calling him a champion on GF day, soft and trade bait where two comments he heard alot. What you have is a very good but ageing half back flanker, but in two years time we will find out just what you gave up.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 14:10
Peter Costello? Is that really you? You're truely a blues fan? And you had us fooled all these years

Liberal: Tending to give freely; generous:

(from http://www.yourdictionary.com/ahd/l/l0148700.html)

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 14:10
Originally posted by Demonheart
I know alot of pies supporters that weren't calling him a champion on GF day, soft and trade bait where two comments he heard alot. What you have is a very good but ageing half back flanker, but in two years time we will find out just what you gave up.

This type of talk makes me ill. The guy is a ball magnet with quality skills and can kick goals and has won a friggen brownlow. He had a lot of mates on GF day and i do recall he played in a melbourne team that got walloped in the GF in 2000??????
I didnt hear wowoedin mentioned once in trade week. Did anyone else? Seems you're just another bleeding melbourne supporter who weeps everytime you think of this trade.

Never mind. You should have mergerd with Hawthorn when you had the chance.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 14:12
Liberal: Tending to give freely; generous:

(from http://www.yourdictionary.com/ahd/l/l0148700.html)

Well i made a big mistake then. You're Jeff Kennett right??

Thank you for the english lesson. I'll look up the dictionary for moron and i'll find a carlton supporter like you.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 14:18
You're the one who rates copeland an average player and yet you're a big rap for the likes of Morrell, teague, and Harford???
Truely unbelievable. Pagan would be happy with the list he has and that's because THATS ALL HE COULD GET BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS TO PLAY FOR YOUR RABBLE OF A CHEATING CLUB. Stevens only went there because he has no damn choice. And you rate stevens a better player than copeland? Same age but copeland has two medallions to speak of. Stevens wouldn't happen to be one of those port chokers we speak of wouldnt he???? Were has he been in the finals when it really counted????? Don't get me wrong, he's a good player and I'd love him at richmond but for you to question other players you DONT have who are of similar quality is hypocritical.

The aim of recruiting quality players like brown and copeland is to improve our list with the hope that in the near future we could in fact make it to the top four (fairly, without salarycap rort of the carlton scale). I've never said we'd win a premiership but they'll help add a lot of skill and goal kicking power to our side.

If you're excited by morrell and harford, may god help you.

I said that Copeland is nothing to get excited about. That, despite Mr. Miller painting himself as the messiah, he has achieved a couple of things, but at a cost.
Contextually I'm a wrap for Harford and Morrell. In the context of our list and situation they aren't terrible pick-ups. If Copeland was to come to the Blues that would be fine, but I wouldn't go around starting threads about it as if it were that big an achievement.

Stevens is a better player, and you're entering dangerous territory to suggest otherwise. What Copeland has is two medallions as testament to being in the right place at the right time. Stevens didn't play great in the elimination final, but he kicked a couple of goals and had a dip.

I wish you luck in 'improving'. But I suggest that in the context of improving, Carlton has you covered.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 14:21
Well i made a big mistake then. You're Jeff Kennett right??

Thank you for the english lesson. I'll look up the dictionary for moron and i'll find a carlton supporter like you.

mo·ron __ (_P_)__Pronunciation Key__(môrn, mr-)
n.

1. A stupid person; a dolt.
2. Psychology. A person of mild mental retardation having a mental age of from 7 to 12 years and generally having communication and social skills enabling some degree of academic or vocational education. The term belongs to a classification system no longer in use and is now considered offensive.
3. One who can only argue his point using insults.

Arma
19 Nov 2003, 14:24
This type of talk makes me ill. The guy is a ball magnet with quality skills and can kick goals and has won a friggen brownlow. He had a lot of mates on GF day and i do recall he played in a melbourne team that got walloped in the GF in 2000??????
I didnt hear wowoedin mentioned once in trade week. Did anyone else? Seems you're just another bleeding melbourne supporter who weeps everytime you think of this trade.

Yeah, a real champion. Why then, did we get rid of him?

Maybe because he is soft, overrated and old!

BTW, since when has pick 14 been nothing?

Good luck to the Toygs though :rolleyes: . Thanks for Benny Holland.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 14:26
I said that Copeland is nothing to get excited about. That, despite Mr. Miller painting himself as the messiah, he has achieved a couple of things, but at a cost.
Contextually I'm a wrap for Harford and Morrell. In the context of our list and situation they aren't terrible pick-ups. If Copeland was to come to the Blues that would be fine, but I wouldn't go around starting threads about it as if it were that big an achievement.

Stevens is a better player, and you're entering dangerous territory to suggest otherwise. What Copeland has is two medallions as testament to being in the right place at the right time. Stevens didn't play great in the elimination final, but he kicked a couple of goals and had a dip.

I wish you luck in 'improving'. But I suggest that in the context of improving, Carlton has you covered.

Everything comes at a cost mate. You don't get quality for nothing. You pay peanuts, you get monkey's in return just like carlton.

Carlton has me covered??? Hardly. With a backline like yours, we could be seeing a few record scores kicked next year against the mighty blues. If you honestly believe your list is better than richmonds' you are indeed smoking something. Your CHF is overweight and overrated, YOU HAVE NO RUCKMAN, you have no backmen, and your midfield is semi decent with stevens on the list. He needs help but with camporeale ageing and being as soft as he is, you indeed have no reason to feel confident. Same old same old. Bottom line is, the AFL gave you your just deserts and probably should have smacked you a bit harder for your crimes.
Good to see you're wrapped in Harford and Morrell. No one else would be.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 14:27
mo·ron __ (_P_)__Pronunciation Key__(môrn, mr-)
n.

1. A stupid person; a dolt.
2. Psychology. A person of mild mental retardation having a mental age of from 7 to 12 years and generally having communication and social skills enabling some degree of academic or vocational education. The term belongs to a classification system no longer in use and is now considered offensive.
3. One who can only argue his point using insults.

hehehehe... very amusing. A road scholar for a carlton supporter. Must be a first. You should be bottled and kept for research.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 14:29
Everything comes at a cost mate. You don't get quality for nothing. You pay peanuts, you get monkey's in return just like carlton.

Carlton has me covered??? Hardly. With a backline like yours, we could be seeing a few record scores kicked next year against the mighty blues. If you honestly believe your list is better than richmonds' you are indeed smoking something. Your CHF is overweight and overrated, YOU HAVE NO RUCKMAN, you have no backmen, and your midfield is semi decent with stevens on the list. He needs help but with camporeale ageing and being as soft as he is, you indeed have no reason to feel confident. Same old same old. Bottom line is, the AFL gave you your just deserts and probably should have smacked you a bit harder for your crimes.
Good to see you're wrapped in Harford and Morrell. No one else would be.

You're so quick to jump on the front-foot, you don't even notice that play has broken for tea...

In the area of improvement, we have you covered. Please read carefully in future.

Besides, even if we lose more often than not next year we're still assured of a victory in round 13.

CJH
19 Nov 2003, 14:29

In exactly the same way that Stephen Bradbury is a spectacular ice-skater!

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 14:32
You're so quick to jump on the front-foot, you don't even notice that play has broken for tea...

In the area of improvement, we have you covered. Please read carefully in future.

Besides, even if we lose more often than not next year we're still assured of a victory in round 13.

Ok so you're looking forward to your first and possibly only win in round thirteen??? Well your recruiting has been magical then hey???

You have us covered with morrell, teague and harford?? You have to be kidding mate. Get off the drugs.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 14:42
hehehehe... very amusing. A road scholar for a carlton supporter. Must be a first. You should be bottled and kept for research.

Rhodes Scholar.

bluechampion
19 Nov 2003, 14:48
Ok so you're looking forward to your first and possibly only win in round thirteen??? Well your recruiting has been magical then hey???

You have us covered with morrell, teague and harford?? You have to be kidding mate. Get off the drugs.

I'm saying that even if we don't win any more games we will still beat you.
As this thread continues, and you continue to respond, it becomes a more enticing prospect.

Now. I'll explain using as best as I can.

I believe that in 2004 Carlton will improve more than Richmond.
We have you covered as far as improvement is concerned.

This is what I have meant this whole time.
Now, either you didn't understand, or you chose not to respond directly to this, which, by implication, suggests that you agree.

Finally, we did recruit other footballers, you know. But, you remain strangely silent on this. Why?

anonymous Joe
19 Nov 2003, 14:49
You're kidding right? No loss??? Don't you think those two spots could be filled by a couple of young kids with potential rather than a couple "passed use by date" ex carlton hacks???

You truely have no idea.

WE needed an Expierenced Ruckman WE got Allan for a pick we wouldn't have used anyway. Murphy is a gamble if he returns to his best from he will be good ,SHeddy thought it was worth the risk. Not like MGrath was gona be a star anyway.

And I have no idea your ****ing Rabble club has no idea. Don't worry I'm sure one player will lift your pathetic club into the eight.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 15:00
As this thread continues, and you continue to respond, it becomes a more enticing prospect.

Now, either you didn't understand, or you chose not to respond directly to this, which, by implication, suggests that you agree.

Finally, we did recruit other footballers, you know. But, you remain strangely silent on this. Why?

You'd like me to agree to your belief that your recruiting has been better than ours and that you've actaully improved your list? Well I don't. You've delisted a heap of duds and recruited some to replace them. Goes along with your history too.... Mick McGuane, Barry Mitchell...

Yes and for someone who really has absolutely jack schiezen to do with this thread, you continue to stick your bick blue nose in. That's fine. All and sundry are welcome. Even ignoramus carlton supporters who have high hopes.

And who would your other footballers be? Enlighten us. Cory McGrath? Another Digby Morrell. And no doubt you'd rate him higher than copeland too going by your totally ignorant and misinformed interpretation of the current state of play.

Now please, draw me up a carlton best line up and compare it to a richmond best line up and be honest about who you believe is the better side. But then again, your total bias makes this impossible.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 15:02
WE needed an Expierenced Ruckman WE got Allan for a pick we wouldn't have used anyway. Murphy is a gamble if he returns to his best from he will be good ,SHeddy thought it was worth the risk. Not like MGrath was gona be a star anyway.

And I have no idea your ****ing Rabble club has no idea. Don't worry I'm sure one player will lift your pathetic club into the eight.

learn how to spell sheedy i diot. Don't insult one of the greatest richmond players of all time.

Gee, McGrath was a star accoring to essendon supporters last year, now he's a dud because he's gone. Fickle p ricks.

Stevo
19 Nov 2003, 15:05
learn how to spell sheedy i diot.

Oh the irony.

anonymous Joe
19 Nov 2003, 15:06
learn how to spell sheedy i diot. Don't insult one of the greatest richmond players of all time.

Gee, McGrath was a star accoring to essendon supporters last year, now he's a dud because he's gone. Fickle p ricks.

Lol Corey McGrath was a star amongst SOME essendon supporters others could care less Murphy is twice the footballer than C McGrath (when he wants to be that is). Besides McGrath isn't liked by Sheeds and Wasn't given a fair go. if Murphy plays 2 games of AFL and the rest VFL he'd of done what McGrath would have @ Essendon. No Loss woth a punt.

and big **** I made a typo.

rednugget
19 Nov 2003, 15:07

Who the hell said McGrath was a star?????? he only played 9 senior games this year.

itsintheblood
19 Nov 2003, 15:32

Some interesting reading for you here bluechamp.

Hall remains a Tiger
11:14:19 AM Wed 19 November, 2003
Paul Gough
afl.com.au
Richmond has managed to convince Ray Hall to stay at Punt Road with the big ruckman agreeing on Wednesday to a new contract to remain a Tiger.

Hall has been at loggerheads with the Tigers since he was used as “trade bait” during the October trading period.

The 23-year-old wanted to return to his native New South Wales to play with the Sydney Swans but almost ended up at Geelong during the trading period.

And after Hall refused to join in any of Richmond’s pre-season training sessions to date, there was speculation he would nominate for the December 16 pre-season draft.

However there was little chance of Hall getting to the Swans in that draft as up to 13 clubs will have a selection on December 16 before Sydney, including Geelong – which was disappointed in not securing Hall during the trading period.

But Hall will now be definitely staying at Richmond after the club announced he would resume training on Wednesday after agreeing to a new contract.

Richmond's Director of Football Greg Miller said the club was delighted Hall had decided to remain a Tiger.

"It's certainly been a difficult time for Ray,” Miller conceded.

“The club put his name up for exchange during the trade week and we understand he subsequently received more lucrative offers from other clubs to leave us.”

"Ray, however, thoroughly examined the Richmond Football Club and he believes this is where he has the best chance of enhancing his league football career.”

“He feels the club is on the right track and he wants to be part of a successful Richmond side."

Whilst the Tigers did not reveal the length of Hall’s new contract, the club had previously only offered him a one year deal.

Hall, who is originally from Woy Woy on the New South Wales’ central coast, has played 47 games for the Tigers since debuting in 1999.

Capable of playing either in attack or defence or as a back-up ruckman, Hall endured an injury-marred 2003 season playing just nine games.

cjwalkley
19 Nov 2003, 15:44
I have a sneaky suspicion that Robert Copeland may well be another Barry Young.

Solid contributor at a good club, determined and hard at it, but lacking a little skill.

Moves to a weaker club, and shows that he was carried to an extent by his more skilled team mates.

Not sure if the money that Richmond are throwing at him is wise, but only time will tell.

CJH
19 Nov 2003, 15:53
Ironic that pick #6 ended up at Essendon. I bet Sheedy had a quiet chuckle over that.

How about Jacobs for pick #6 and Alvey? Miller could give gobbies to the other clubs and still not get a deal as good as that. ;)

While we are all being so clever at spotting irony...

How can Robert Shaw keep a straight face making these comments below considering the Jacobs trade they just made. Talk about stitching someone up!

Fair player trade needs unbiased panel: Shaw
By Emma Quayle
November 18, 2003

Essendon assistant coach Robert Shaw believes an independent panel should determine player worth during trade week to ensure potential deals were not scuttled by the "petulant behaviour" of club officials.

Shaw labelled the recent trade period embarrassing and in need of an overhaul. He said club coaches and match committees were too intent on bragging about the clubs they had "stitched up" to be able to decide what was a fair trade.

Port Adelaide onballer Nick Stevens and Hawthorn defender Jade Rawlings were unable to reach their desired new homes during the week-long trade period when Port Adelaide refused to deal with Collingwood and Hawthorn failed to agree with the Kangaroos.

"Too many people live in the dim, dark ages of trading when the aim of recruiting staff is to brag about clubs they stitched up," Shaw wrote in his column on essendonfc.com.au. "The days of 'winning' in these deals are over.

"It is just embarrassing to look back on the antics of some people and some clubs and it further strengthens the argument that the AFL should appoint a football ombudsman."

He said Essendon coach Kevin Sheedy and recruiting manager Adrian Dodoro had long believed the final decisions on trade deals needed to be taken out of club hands.

Shaw said the independent panel could comprise an AFL representative, such as national talent manager Kevin Sheehan, a representative from the AFL Players Association, a legal representative and a chairman with AFL experience - David Parkin.

The committee would be called in to determine a fair deal once a player had nominated a club of his choice and his contract terms and the two clubs had negotiated, but failed to settle on a swap. The panel would decide and clubs would have two days to appeal against it before it was finally settled.

"This is a professional business and people's livelihoods are at stake. This ludicrous week of trading threatens that standing," Shaw said. "Let's put these stalemates in the hands of people who can act independently and fairly because the club personnel with their obvious bias are incapable of acting responsibly.

"If these people were capable of making a good honest assessment and as such trade appropriately, Jade Rawlings would be playing for the Kangaroos and Nick Stevens for Collingwood.

"The problem being that nobody conceded ground as they should have if they were acting reasonably - the result means everyone loses."

The Shev
19 Nov 2003, 16:01
[QUOTE]Originally posted by itsintheblood
A champion?

Please. He is a one year wonder. Had some decent years from 1997-1999, had a terrific one in 2000 where he won the Brownlow Medal and has had some average/decent years from 2001-2003. Not what I call a champion.

We didn't give him up for practically nothing. We got Pick 14, which is Daniel Bell and boy, does he had a promising future. We won't be able to tell who was the true winner of this deal for a couple of years, but I am confident that this young kid will give us more value than what Woewodin would from 2003 onwards.

Woewodin is 27 years old and is definately past his best. In 2003, he had a decent/good year. Of course, he showed his true colours in the Grand Final when he shat his dacks and played like a dog. At Melbourne, he failed to make the Top 10 B&F in 2001 and 2002. Couldn't live up to the hype of being Brownlow Medalist, or perhaps he was never really good enough to play like that consistantly. Is that what you call a champion? Is this something to blow your load over? Of course, if Bell turns out to be a fizz then congratulations on a good deal, but he looks like he will be a gem.

Trade of the century?

Not even close.

dees 4 life
19 Nov 2003, 16:17
the quote is

I guarantee it

Cheers

Melbourne are a chance to get both copeland and read.

They could get Read with pick 52 and Copeland in the pre-season. Then leave the mighty tigers with nothing.

scooter600x
19 Nov 2003, 16:24
And you rate stevens a better player than copeland?
I think we all do

CJH
19 Nov 2003, 16:30
Originally posted by dees 4 life
Melbourne are a chance to get both copeland and read.

They could get Read with pick 52 and Copeland in the pre-season. Then leave the mighty tigers with nothing.

I'm sure I just read somewhere that Philip Read hasn't nominated for the ND... just the PSD

One-eyed Tiger
19 Nov 2003, 18:20
Originally posted by CJH
I'm sure I just read somewhere that Philip Read hasn't nominated for the ND... just the PSD

Yep, Dees won't get both!

Demonheart
19 Nov 2003, 20:08

Yes, you are so right, I weep every time I see Daniel Bell train, and will weep more tears of joy watching his career progress and develop long after Woey retires. (By the way, Woey was my favorite player at Melbourne but I always understood his limitations and knew Scot West was very unlucky).

I'll concede defeat on this if you can name 2 finals that Woey dominated, because if he is as good as everyone says he is that is where he should play his best football.

tiger of old
20 Nov 2003, 07:23
Or perhaps you are implying that due to Sheedy's comments Richmond will not entertain a deal with Essendon? yeah thats what i was getting to.i was in a bit of a rush yesterday had to go to work lol.

bluechampion
20 Nov 2003, 09:30
You'd like me to agree to your belief that your recruiting has been better than ours and that you've actaully improved your list? Well I don't. You've delisted a heap of duds and recruited some to replace them. Goes along with your history too.... Mick McGuane, Barry Mitchell...

Yes and for someone who really has absolutely jack schiezen to do with this thread, you continue to stick your bick blue nose in. That's fine. All and sundry are welcome. Even ignoramus carlton supporters who have high hopes.

And who would your other footballers be? Enlighten us. Cory McGrath? Another Digby Morrell. And no doubt you'd rate him higher than copeland too going by your totally ignorant and misinformed interpretation of the current state of play.

Now please, draw me up a carlton best line up and compare it to a richmond best line up and be honest about who you believe is the better side. But then again, your total bias makes this impossible.

Now, now... this is a public forum and I can comment on what I like, even if it does make you life a little difficult. No need to get defensive.

I simply remain firm in my belief that the Carlton list in 2004 has been improved on more than the Richmond list of 2004. This is, largely, due to the fact that the Carlton list has far more room for improvement in 2004 (because, frankly, we we ****).

I'm willing to bet you that Carlton moves further up the ladder than Richmond in 2004. I believe, with the additions to the list, that we can improve up to 5 spots. I do not believe that simply adding Nathan Brown or the vastly overrated Robert Copeland will help you improve as much as you hope.

And as to the other addtions to the list? Well, aside form Harford, Morrell, McGrath, Teague and Nick Stevens, we also secured Brett Johnson, David Clarke and Heath Scotland.

No massive names there, I admit (except for Stevens). However, you have assiduously avoided mentioning Scotland. He's not bad. Played in the last two Grand Finals. Bit like Copeland, actually, only he didn't happen to get the medallions at the end of the day. But I'm not trumpeting him as a recruiting coup, just a good addition to the list...

And, congrats on Ray Hall. It's not everyday you break a young footballers spirit by shopping him around and still convince him to stay. Bravo.

itsintheblood
20 Nov 2003, 10:08
Now, now... this is a public forum and I can comment on what I like, even if it does make you life a little difficult. No need to get defensive.

I simply remain firm in my belief that the Carlton list in 2004 has been improved on more than the Richmond list of 2004. This is, largely, due to the fact that the Carlton list has far more room for improvement in 2004 (because, frankly, we we ****).

I'm willing to bet you that Carlton moves further up the ladder than Richmond in 2004. I believe, with the additions to the list, that we can improve up to 5 spots. I do not believe that simply adding Nathan Brown or the vastly overrated Robert Copeland will help you improve as much as you hope.

And as to the other addtions to the list? Well, aside form Harford, Morrell, McGrath, Teague and Nick Stevens, we also secured Brett Johnson, David Clarke and Heath Scotland.

No massive names there, I admit (except for Stevens). However, you have assiduously avoided mentioning Scotland. He's not bad. Played in the last two Grand Finals. Bit like Copeland, actually, only he didn't happen to get the medallions at the end of the day. But I'm not trumpeting him as a recruiting coup, just a good addition to the list...

And, congrats on Ray Hall. It's not everyday you break a young footballers spirit by shopping him around and still convince him to stay. Bravo.

Assiduously??? Dear oh dear.

I didn't mention scotland, clarke or johnson for a simple reason. They're not worth mentioning. Just additional rejects. Scotland is not up to it and clarke, like morrell and teague just weren't good enough to get a game at their old clubs. But you know, you're like any other typical supporter who'll defend their club under all circumstances and that fine because we all do it. But at the end of the day, you're the same supporters who thought carlton would improve this year and look what happened. Really, I agree that carlton had to make drastic changes to their list and they have but to believe that the players you have picked up will help you improve 5 places on the ladder is fantasy land stuff.

And to compare Scotland to Copeland really is outrageous. If you'd care to read the afl site and newspapers you may come to realise that Brisbane are desparately trying to convince him to stay as mathews considers him to be a vital part of their team, as opposed to Scotland being shipped off without a whimper.

And to call me defensive is also outrageous because I'm simply trying to point out to you that on paper alone, the blues simply do not match up anywhere near the tigers so I feel you're the one being defensive here mate. If our key players all play the whole season, and I'm talking richo, ottens, stafford, gaspar, campbell, A kellaway, tivendale, johnson, brown, coghlan, bowden, chaffey, we could be right up into the top four as we were after round 8 this year before injuries simply cut too deep.

You may be lucky and jump up a place or two at the expense of melbourne and geelong but that's about it and the only thing causing this will be Melbournes' self destruction and geelongs' inexperience.

No go away and create a carlton thread and bang heads with your fellow supporters.

itsintheblood
20 Nov 2003, 10:09
Originally posted by Demonheart
Yes, you are so right, I weep every time I see Daniel Bell train, and will weep more tears of joy watching his career progress and develop long after Woey retires. (By the way, Woey was my favorite player at Melbourne but I always understood his limitations and knew Scot West was very unlucky).

I'll concede defeat on this if you can name 2 finals that Woey dominated, because if he is as good as everyone says he is that is where he should play his best football.

Who the hell is Daniel Bell???????????

Tigerbob
20 Nov 2003, 12:05
Daniel Bell will be a gun....

Melbourne will be the ones laughing out of this trade deal Woewodin for Daniel Bell. He is a future captain of the Demons.

Scotland, Morrell, Teague, Johnson are all average players who will help the blues, but dont expect miracles, Stevens is a top shelf footballer too and with Pagan the Blues will improve, just not as much as some Carlton fans think - which they have the right too - We all do it (overrate our team).

There is still the draft to come and then the pre season draft so a lot of water still to go under the bridge yet.

bluechampion
20 Nov 2003, 12:53
Assiduously??? Dear oh dear.

I didn't mention scotland, clarke or johnson for a simple reason. They're not worth mentioning. Just additional rejects. Scotland is not up to it and clarke, like morrell and teague just weren't good enough to get a game at their old clubs. But you know, you're like any other typical supporter who'll defend their club under all circumstances and that fine because we all do it. But at the end of the day, you're the same supporters who thought carlton would improve this year and look what happened. Really, I agree that carlton had to make drastic changes to their list and they have but to believe that the players you have picked up will help you improve 5 places on the ladder is fantasy land stuff.

And to compare Scotland to Copeland really is outrageous. If you'd care to read the afl site and newspapers you may come to realise that Brisbane are desparately trying to convince him to stay as mathews considers him to be a vital part of their team, as opposed to Scotland being shipped off without a whimper.

And to call me defensive is also outrageous because I'm simply trying to point out to you that on paper alone, the blues simply do not match up anywhere near the tigers so I feel you're the one being defensive here mate. If our key players all play the whole season, and I'm talking richo, ottens, stafford, gaspar, campbell, A kellaway, tivendale, johnson, brown, coghlan, bowden, chaffey, we could be right up into the top four as we were after round 8 this year before injuries simply cut too deep.

You may be lucky and jump up a place or two at the expense of melbourne and geelong but that's about it and the only thing causing this will be Melbournes' self destruction and geelongs' inexperience.

No go away and create a carlton thread and bang heads with your fellow supporters.

But I have this thread to entertain me...

I simply meant that you were defensive in regrds to my posting in your topic. And the above bears me out.

Also, ask Collingwood supporters what they think of Scotland and you may find my comment is not as outrageous as you make out.

And finally... why are you scared of the word assiduously?

itsintheblood
20 Nov 2003, 14:18
But I have this thread to entertain me...

I simply meant that you were defensive in regrds to my posting in your topic. And the above bears me out.

Also, ask Collingwood supporters what they think of Scotland and you may find my comment is not as outrageous as you make out.

And finally... why are you scared of the word assiduously?

Enlighten me blueboy. What do they think of scotland?? From what I've heard they dont rate him very highly. In order to give him to the vastly improving blues in exchange for pick 35 speaks volumes doesnt it? Pick 35 for a highly rated player??? Really now, please don't insult our intelligence. You're obviously very happy so just amuse yourself for the time being. And you know, betheras may be picked up by richmond as he's training there and I rate him on par with scotland. I'll be honest in saying I dont think he's a good player and wouldn't change the world if he ended up at punt rd but you've got too much manure in your head in rating scotland so highly.

And I'm not defensive about you posting in this topic at all. If there's one thing I love it's listening to excited carlton supporters following the trade period.

itsintheblood
20 Nov 2003, 14:22
Originally posted by Tigerbob
Daniel Bell will be a gun....

Melbourne will be the ones laughing out of this trade deal Woewodin for Daniel Bell. He is a future captain of the Demons.

Scotland, Morrell, Teague, Johnson are all average players who will help the blues, but dont expect miracles, Stevens is a top shelf footballer too and with Pagan the Blues will improve, just not as much as some Carlton fans think - which they have the right too - We all do it (overrate our team).

There is still the draft to come and then the pre season draft so a lot of water still to go under the bridge yet.

Wouldn't take much to become captain at melbourne. After Neitz there's not much left. They got rid of their good players; wowoeding, rigoni, leoncelli, farmer.....

lamby29
20 Nov 2003, 14:24
Wouldn't take much to become captain at melbourne. After Neitz there's not much left. They got rid of their good players; wowoeding, rigoni, leoncelli, farmer.....
Oh right. :rolleyes:

Get a clue ********.

The Shev
20 Nov 2003, 15:13
Yeah that Guy Rigoni is long gone.

Stevo
20 Nov 2003, 15:20
If our key players all play the whole season, and I'm talking richo, ottens, stafford, gaspar, campbell, A kellaway, tivendale, johnson, brown, coghlan, bowden, chaffey, we could be right up into the top four as we were after round 8 this year before injuries simply cut too deep.

Tigers won't be a force with Frawley as coach. You've always had a decent list.

As for this year, you can't use injuries as an excuse for the pitiful and moribund performances your team put in.

itsintheblood
20 Nov 2003, 15:55
Tigers won't be a force with Frawley as coach. You've always had a decent list.

As for this year, you can't use injuries as an excuse for the pitiful and moribund performances your team put in.

And we can see how well your overrated mob go when Hird. pretty boy Lloyd, flethcher and J. Johnson are out.

The fact the Gaspar, richo, stafford, ottens, campbell only played half a game together for the whole year doesn't count in your eyes you uneducated ****??? Even you with your pea sized brain would know that it's pretty hard to replace key position players of this calibre with the reduced playing lists. But then again, you seem to continuously pay your mob under the table and rort the salary cap and cheated your way to the 2000 premiership.

Sure we put in some ordinary performances this year without doubt but we can hardly blame Danny Frawley for our key group being out injured.

Good coaches are hard to find and it will be interesting to see how your pretty bombers go once the great man (and ex richmond champ) sheedy decides he's had enough.

Stevo
20 Nov 2003, 16:06
And we can see how well your overrated mob go when Hird. pretty boy Lloyd, flethcher and J. Johnson are out.

The fact the Gaspar, richo, stafford, ottens, campbell only played half a game together for the whole year doesn't count in your eyes you uneducated ****??? Even you with your pea sized brain would know that it's pretty hard to replace key position players of this calibre with the reduced playing lists. But then again, you seem to continuously pay your mob under the table and rort the salary cap and cheated your way to the 2000 premiership.

Sure we put in some ordinary performances this year without doubt but we can hardly blame Danny Frawley for our key group being out injured.

Good coaches are hard to find and it will be interesting to see how your pretty bombers go once the great man (and ex richmond champ) sheedy decides he's had enough.

Gaspar played the first, what, half season? Richardson played the vast majority of the season, Stafford similarly. Campbell missed large chunks. Ottens played the second half of the season. Duncan Kellaway also missed large portions of the season.

The issue is not so much how many games you lost, but overall how poorly you played. That's not an indication of the players who were absent, but of the poor performances of the players that were present. In the latter half of the year you only had Gaspar, D. Kellaway, and Campbell absent. Granted, all very good players. But that certainly doesn't justify your performances, particularly when you have the likes of Coughlan, Johnson, Chaffey, Tivendale, Bowden, Richardson, Rodan, A Kellaway, Stafford playing, and for the second half of the season add Ottens.

As for the Bombers, they're not the issue here. Is this your usual form of argument? Tepid ad hominem attacks and red herrings? You can call me uneducated and in possession of a pea-sized brain, but I can spot a lack of logic from a mile away.

anonymous Joe
20 Nov 2003, 16:07

Sheedy has plenty of years left in him we'll never slump to Ninthmonds standards when he leaves anyway. And all sides sturgle without their stars of course Essendon will strugle without Fletch, Hird, Lloyd , JJ but guess what he'll still be a better chance to make the finals without out stars then you **** club, with or without your so called "key group" being injured.

Demonheart
20 Nov 2003, 20:20

I'm impressed by your knowledge of the MFC......

Farmer, left because he wanted to go home to Perth
Leoncelli, retired
Rigoni, hmmm, unless something has happened in the last 24 hours he is still on our list

But really why am I bothering with this clown?

The Shev
20 Nov 2003, 21:03
And who's this wowoeding?

:confused:

Macca19
20 Nov 2003, 21:28
And you rate stevens a better player than copeland? Same age but copeland has two medallions to speak of. Stevens wouldn't happen to be one of those port chokers we speak of wouldnt he???? Were has he been in the finals when it really counted????? Don't get me wrong, he's a good player and I'd love him at richmond but for you to question other players you DONT have who are of similar quality is hypocritical.

Similar quality?? Have you watched any football over the last 3 years? As much as i now despise Nick Stevens for screwing us over he is 4 times the player Robert Copeland will ever be. Just because you play in a premiership, it doesnt suddenly make you automatically a fantastic footballer and better than 90% of other footballers in the league. Plenty of average footballers have premiership medallions. Plenty of champion footballers dont have premiership medallions.

The fact you reckon Robert Copeland is a better player than Nick Stevens is simply laughable. Even the most one eyed Brisbane supproter wouldnt rate Copeland a better player than Stevens. Stevens is in the top 30 players in the league. Copeland would be somewhere around the 250 mark. I could name 250 footballers better than Copeland.

Stevens picked up 550 possesions this year. Copeland has picked up only 430 in his career, let alone this year. The most amount of disposals Copeland has in a match is 17. Stevens averages 23 disposals EACH WEEK over the last 4 years. But yes...Copeland is better than Stevens :rolleyes:

Macca19
20 Nov 2003, 21:36
Enlighten me blueboy. What do they think of scotland?? From what I've heard they dont rate him very highly.

You dont have a bloody clue do you? Every Collingwood supporter on this site, and i mean EVERY, said they were sad to see him go but understood he needed a change because he wasnt getting a fair go by the coaching staff.

Try and get a clue before you attempt to come across as knowledgable.

londontiger
20 Nov 2003, 22:27
Now, now... this is a public forum and I can comment on what I like, even if it does make you life a little difficult.

You are an idiot. Carlton will end up lower than 15th next year. Look who you have traded. McKernan, Allan, and some significant retirements.

You have got rid of players, and replaced them with duds (and I throw Stevens in there as well - port receiver)

And you can quote this post at the end of the year.

Wooden Spoon for you.

Crow-mosone
20 Nov 2003, 23:31

No,
that was just essendon, and Sheedy feeding his need to be controversial at least twice a day.

anonymous Joe
20 Nov 2003, 23:36
Originally posted by Crow-mosone
No,
that was just essendon, and Sheedy feeding his need to be controversial at least twice a day.

Wouldn't say that offering a player $100,000 more than their worth is stupid. And they were supposedly banned from the usually friendly club luncheon during trade week.

itsintheblood
21 Nov 2003, 08:44
Originally posted by londontiger
You are an idiot. Carlton will end up lower than 15th next year. Look who you have traded. McKernan, Allan, and some significant retirements.

You have got rid of players, and replaced them with duds (and I throw Stevens in there as well - port receiver)

And you can quote this post at the end of the year.

Wooden Spoon for you.

well said!!!!!

itsintheblood
21 Nov 2003, 08:50
Originally posted by Macca19
You dont have a bloody clue do you? Every Collingwood supporter on this site, and i mean EVERY, said they were sad to see him go but understood he needed a change because he wasnt getting a fair go by the coaching staff.

Try and get a clue before you attempt to come across as knowledgable.

Pretty thin coming from a supporter from a club that chokes more often than Jack the Ripper!!!!!!

You obvioulsy didnt read the whole thread before making your
s tupid comment.