View Full Version : The 2003 National Draft Thread
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 09:59
I thought it might be a good idea to keep all posts in one thread.
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:00
#1- Western Bulldogs- Adam Cooney.
(Actually not officially announced yet but it is a very,very safe bet.)
Porthos
22 Nov 2003, 10:00
CARN PORT! :D
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:02
Originally posted by Porthos
CARN PORT! :D
:D
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:02
Is there any chance of Tenace slipping through a bit??
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:03
Originally posted by Kenny_01
Is there any chance of Tenace slipping through a bit??
Hmm doubt it.
Athough, everyone thought Salopek would go at 3 last year and ended up pick 8 wasn't he?
Porthos
22 Nov 2003, 10:03
Pick 6.
southjoy
22 Nov 2003, 10:04
Are you guys listening to it anywhere
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:04
Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
Hmm doubt it.
Athough, everyone thought Salopek would go at 3 last year and ended up pick 8 wasn't he?
Pick 6, and Schammer went from 6 to 13.
And yeah, got the live audio stream going.
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:05
Cooney officially number 1
keatings_gal
22 Nov 2003, 10:06
why is it that us Qlders miss out on all the audio....? for some reason it just never works... so im relying on you all to tell me whats happening ok
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:06
1- Adam Cooney
2- Andrew Walker
3- Colin Sylvia
4- Farren Ray
5- Brock McLean
6- Keppler Bradley
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:07
7- Kane Tenace
8- Raphael Clarke
9- David Trotter
10- Ryley Dunn!!
keatings_gal
22 Nov 2003, 10:07
just wait... Nick... can u get the audio?
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:08
11- Beau Waters
12- Ryan Murphy
Lockyer24
22 Nov 2003, 10:08
can you chuck the team in too if its not too much trouble Kenny :)
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:09
14- Fergus Watts
Porthos
22 Nov 2003, 10:10
TROY ****ING CHAPLIN TO PORT!!!!
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:10
15- Troy Chaplin
16- Josh Willoughby
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:11
Yep no probs Lockyer.
17 (BL) - Llane Spaanderman
Russian
22 Nov 2003, 10:11
I guess ur happy Porthos?
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:12
Billy Morrison (pick 17) to Collingwood.
Wish we took Dyson.
13 was Brent Stanton (Northern Knights/Banyule) went to Essendon, u missed him
Bradley and stanton?....**** you sheeds:mad:
essnickess
22 Nov 2003, 10:13
wheres 13?
Lockyer24
Knew Judkins would take him.
Kenny_01
Oops yeah sorry forgot Morrison.
So Brisbane was pick 18.
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:14
Originally posted by Lockyer24
Knew Judkins would take him.
Why?
He hasn't touched a footy all year.
Was he worth it?
Was really hoping for Ricky Dyson.
Gopies 2002
22 Nov 2003, 10:15
Happy the Pies took Morrison.
A key forward is needed.
Kid Dynamite!
22 Nov 2003, 10:15
First my stepdad calls at 10:00 (SA time) so I'm hanging around waiting for Mum to hang up the phone. Then we cant connect to the net for about ten minutes so I'm missing everything. And THEN I discover I have to download the most up to date version of Windows ****ing Media Player! :mad:
Troy Chaplin :D
Kenny_01
22 Nov 2003, 10:16
19 (fre) - Mundy
20 (wc) - Butler
21 (rich) - Gilmore
Yze_Magic
why the hell did Sheeds get BRadley?
Gopies 2002
Why?
Was he worth it?
Guys like Judd hardly played the year before drafted either.
Its all on potential.
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:17
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
why the hell did Sheeds get BRadley?
Why the hell did Mrelbourne get McLean. Just another Mark McGough.
Lockyer24
22 Nov 2003, 10:19
Why?
Was he worth it?
Seemed similar to Coley...injury interupted season..but knew he could play..Judkins will always gamble a solid player for potential star with a question mark.
We need a geniune on baller so he picks the next daniel bandy and a winger...got me stuffed
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:20
Originally posted by Lockyer24
Seemed similar to Coley...injury interupted season..but knew he could play..Judkins will always gamble a solid player for potential star with a question mark.
Well the Wiz Colin Wiseby just said that Morrison would have been his choice and was a great pick up and he is in the know so I am happy with that.
lamby29
22 Nov 2003, 10:21
Originally posted by superstar
:rolleyes:
Very happy with Colin Sylvia.
:D
McLean is a gun too.
Bit disappointed that we didn't get Tenace though.
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:21
Originally posted by marcuz
We need a geniune on baller so he picks the next daniel bandy and a winger...got me stuffed
Seems odd you didn't take Dyson.
Yze_Magic
22 Nov 2003, 10:22
nice try champ
we drafted 2 of the best 'footballers' in the land
Bombers drafted an anorexic beanpole
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:23
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
nice try champ
we drafted 2 of the best 'footballers' in the land
Bombers drafted an anorexic beanpole
Ok, i'll trust your objectivity, expert. Just like I trust the Melbourne recruiting staff with first orund picks.
You screwed up. Tennace or Clarke.
Essendon screwed up too.
Hawthorn are killing me with the suspense.
Billy Morrison (pick 17) to Collingwood.
Wish we took Dyson.
Are you nuts? This is fantastic news!!!
Injury pushes some players back (eg. Richard Cole) when they otherwise would have gone higher.
The Wiz has confirmed that that would have been his selection at that pick also.
I've seen Dyson and he's overrated. Like Dylan Smith was a few years ago. He will probably make it, but has some question marks. We might still get him!
AWESOME NEWS! :cool:
Davidson and Morrison...future Tassie legends!!
I'm ecstatic with the selection of Tenace. Pace to burn and great skills.
Never thought we'd have a chance of getting him though.
You screwed up.
good call when no one has played a game and only just been drafted, maybe just give it a little more time!
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:26
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Are you nuts? This is fantastic news!!!
Injury pushes some players back (eg. Richard Cole) when they otherwise would have gone higher.
If you reckon injury pushed Cole back, there would be a lot of thankful sides for his injury. He is crap, and a waste of a first round pick.
Morrison sounds good though.
keatings_gal
22 Nov 2003, 10:26
can u tell me who Brisbane have picked with #23 yet?
lamby29
22 Nov 2003, 10:27
Ok, i'll trust your objectivity, expert. Just like I trust the Melbourne recruiting staff with first orund picks.
You screwed up. Tennace or Clarke.
Essendon screwed up too.
Hawthorn are killing me with the suspense.
Just like I trust you with your unbelievable hatred of the MFC.
Deestroy
Ahh yes, I trust you over them. How long have you worked as a recruiter again?
NICK THE PIE MAN
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Davidson and Morrison...future Tassie legends!!
Don't forget the Shak-attack. :)
Eddie Woloschek
22 Nov 2003, 10:28
what happened to the picks? leave the arguments for later
scooter600x
22 Nov 2003, 10:28
Originally posted by keatings_gal
can u tell me who Brisbane have picked with #23 yet?
Moody
If you reckon injury pushed Cole back, there would be a lot of thankful sides for his injury. He is crap, and a waste of a first round pick.
Morrison sounds good though.
That's your opinion on Cole. I see unlimited potential in him. Once his confidence really picks up, he could be anything.
Morrison is exactly what we need!!
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:29
Originally posted by Deestroy
Ahh yes, I trust you over them. How long have you worked as a recruiter again?
Every year I can only hope it's the Melbourne guy's first day.
Johnstone
Molan
McLean
hahaha, and you wonder why your cellar dwellars and bankrupt!
Good luck finding a club to merge with. We already told you to **** off!
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:29
19 - Fre - David Mundy (Murray)
20 - WC - Sam Butler (Central District)
21 - Ric - Alex Gilmour (Tasmania)
22 - Gee - Cameron Thurley (Tasmania - VFL)
23 - BL - Matthew Moody (South Fremantle)
24 - Kan - Chad Jones (Claremont)
25 - Haw - Harry Miller (Port Adelaide)
26 - WC - Daniel McConnell (Eastern)
27 - Fre - Adam Campbell (Ballarat)
28 - Ess - Jay Nash (Central District)
daddy_4_eyes
22 Nov 2003, 10:32
And still no Burges...
yep cause Hawthorn has shown perfect drafting strategy, Luke Brennan has shown oh so much so far.
|D_J^B_J|
22 Nov 2003, 10:33
Why, oh why did we not draft any local players? It's a distinct possibility that each one of Dunn, Murphy, Mundy and Campbell will either demand a higher price to stay in a few years, or will quit the club to go back to their home state altogether.
Deestroy
22 Nov 2003, 10:34
Every year I can only hope it's the Melbourne guy's first day.
Johnstone
Molan
McLean
hahaha, and you wonder why your cellar dwellars and bankrupt!
Good luck finding a club to merge with. We already told you to **** off!
Luke Brennan.
Now **** off ********.
keatings_gal
thanks scooter
superstar
Originally posted by rda
yep cause Hawthorn has shown perferct drafting strategy, Luke Brennan has shown oh so much so far.
Not condoning some of our selections. Brennan, Elstone were ordinary decisions.
But at least we got Hodge, Mitchell, Brown, Osborne, Ladson etc to build a future around.
You have Sylvia and massive dept.
year of the roo
22 Nov 2003, 10:36
Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Why oh why did we not draft any local players? It's a distinct possibility that each one of Dunn, Murphy, Mundy and Campbell will either demand a higher price to stay in a few years, or will quit the club to go back to their home state altogether.
Surprising that you didn't take Jacob Surjan too. Murphy went a bit higher then I thought he might, but I think Freo have done really well!
FuManchu
But at least we got Hodge, Mitchell, Brown, Osborne, Ladson etc to build a future around.
Massive department or massive debt, due to massive department?
superstar
29 - Syd - Tim Schmidt (West Adelaide)
30 - PA - Bradley Symes (Central District)
31 - Ade - Josh Kruger (Glenelg)
32 - Col - Brayden Shaw (Northern - father-son)
33 - BL - Jed Adcock (Ballarat)
3rd Round
34 - PA - Luke Peel (Sandringham)
35 - Col - Brent Hall (South Fremantle)
36 - Mel - Chris Johnson (father-son)
37 - Ric - Thomas Roach (father-son)
38 - Gee - Mark Blake (father-son)
MCG-Unit
Thanks heaps guys, keep them coming......can't get the audio on the AFL site
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:37
39 - PA - Robert Forster-Knight (Essendon)
40 - Kan - Eddie Sansbury (Central District)
41 - Haw - Zac Dawson (Calder)
Collingwood are getting quite a bit of height for their list
DYSON!
RICKY DYSON!
YEHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:40
Collingwood are doing well.
42 - Gee - Matthew Spencer (Swan Districts)
43 - Fre - Brett Peake (East Fremantle - father-son)
44 - Ess - Ricky Dyson (Northern)
45 - Syd - Amon Buchanan (Sydney)
is the draft tracker on the afl site working for ne1?
Gopies 2002
22 Nov 2003, 10:41
Essendon would be very happy to pick up Dyson so low.
Gopies 2002
22 Nov 2003, 10:42
Originally posted by pozzo
is the draft tracker on the afl site working for ne1?
Nope - at least the audio is working fine.
lamby29
We have Miller, Armstrong, Bell, Smith and Fisher too.
Very silly to write off McLean already.
And then there is Sylvia...
Presti_is_god
Suprised gayfer hasnt gone yet.
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:43
Geez Will Gayfer has fallen through.
Still hasn't been picked up.
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:44
Originally posted by Presti_is_god
Suprised gayfer hasnt gone yet.
Yep beat me to it by one minute!
cam_the_bruce
has harrington gone yet?? (the guy who kicked all those goals in the state championships)
Eddie Woloschek
46?
MCG-Unit
22 Nov 2003, 10:45
Thanks heaps guys, keep them coming......can't get the audio on the AFL site
|D_J^B_J|
Originally posted by year of the roo
Surprising that you didn't take Jacob Surjan too. Murphy went a bit higher then I thought he might, but I think Freo have done really well!
Yeah, I'm particularly happy with Dunn at 10 and Mundy at 19, I just thought we would have viewed the local boys more favourably than the interstate boys due to the minimal risk of them leaving in a few years. And Sabre will be fuming after we overlooked Moody!
Presti_is_god
Hopefull gayfer will stil be there @ #60!! :D
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:46
46 - PA - Michael Pettigrew (West Perth)
47 - Syd - Andrew Ericksen (Sandringham)
48 - Col - Heath Shaw (Northern - father-son)
49 - BL - Tom Logan (Waratah)
who was the shock first round pick in every1s opinion?
The Old Dark Navy's
22 Nov 2003, 10:47
Geez Will Gayfer has fallen through.
Still hasn't been picked up. Hope he lasts until 57
Originally posted by Presti_is_god
Hopefull gayfer will stil be there @ #60!! :D
that would compliment the rest of their picks and make it a very good draft for Collingwood
year of the roo
22 Nov 2003, 10:49
who was the shock first round pick in every1s opinion?
Ryan Murphy IMO.
superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:49
50 - WB - Isaac Thompson (Woodville/West Torrens)
51 - Haw - Matthew Ball (Box Hill Hawks)
52 - Mel - Pass
gayfer still there at 57!
ricky mott to carlton! haha
Ricky Mott? should i b happy or disappointed?
The Old Dark Navy's
22 Nov 2003, 10:50
Well done Blues, Mott instead of Marsh. Get Gayfer or Morrison next
NICK THE PIE MAN
22 Nov 2003, 10:51
Disappointed. ;)
Nah who knows.
Everyone is a critic on draft day. You analysis your picks a few years down the track.
superstar
53 - Ric - Daniel Jackson (Oakleigh)
54 - Gee - Pass
55 - SK - Sam Fisher (West Adelaide)
56 - Kan - Brent Lecras (West Perth)
57 - Car - Ricky Mott (South Fremantle) :D
58 - Ade - Ben Hudson (Werribee- VFL)
keatings_gal
yeha i reckon Ryan Murphy as well...
disappointed
maybe he'll get his act together at carlton
two reject ruckman in two years (angwin,mott)
one of them at least should do ok
TheSheik
22 Nov 2003, 10:53
Is Jacob Surjan still available ??
The Old Dark Navy's
22 Nov 2003, 10:53
Blues needed Mott as backup. Not disappointed
Actually Mott shouldnt be bad, he is better than Marsh. Plus he was a rising star nominee last year. it just means 2 big fatties at the club now.
no gayfer at 60- collingwood got julian rowe from oakleigh
king_carey_018
22 Nov 2003, 10:56
Surjan, Moody, Stewart, Gayfer, Burges, Cosgriff, Davey, Joel Campbell, Grundy, Archibald and Furfaro all yet to go ( I think)
The Old Dark Navy's
22 Nov 2003, 10:57
Oh good .... Bowyer ... another midfielder:confused: