View Full Version : Demons Get Their Man

Yze_Magic
22 Nov 2003, 10:46
SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA SYLVIA

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

not to mention brock mclean and Chris Johnson

Sylvia is simply the reincarnation of one Michael Voss

GO DEMONS, AND GO SYLVIA, MCLEAN AND JOHNSON!!

TheSheik
22 Nov 2003, 10:47
You idiot !!

You knew that Cooney was going 1 and Walker was going 2 so you had a free hit at everything else !!

Yze_Magic
22 Nov 2003, 10:50
Originally posted by TheSheik
You idiot !!

You knew that Cooney was going 1 and Walker was going 2 so you had a free hit at everything else !!

actually, i thought Carlton were bluffing

thank God they did take Walker, leaving Sylvia to us

superstar
22 Nov 2003, 10:56
Reincarnation of Michael Voss? My god, you are stupid!

Voos was probably the best junior of the last deacde. Kicked 14 goals in the carnival I think. He wouldn't have gone pick 3 in an average draft.

Sylvia is a gun, but Voss he aint. More like a Kane Johnson/Riccutio type. Be realistic you moron.

lamby29
22 Nov 2003, 11:05
Awesome. :D

Bit surprised that we went for McLean, but he was terrific in the Championships and the TAC Cup Grand Final. He could well turn into the next Jason Johnson.

BT
22 Nov 2003, 11:45
Originally posted by superstar

Voos was probably the best junior of the last deacde. Kicked 14 goals in the carnival I think. He wouldn't have gone pick 3 in an average draft.

Sylvia is a gun, but Voss he aint. More like a Kane Johnson/Riccutio type. Be realistic you moron.

Roo reincarnated would be fine thank you very much!

Walker may have slightly more talent than Sylvia, but Col is tougher & exactly what we needed. He has an awesome vertical leap & the strength to back it up.

That is why HE IS OUR MAN!

McLean is a tough nut too, deperately needed mongrel injection! :D

Joffaboy
22 Nov 2003, 12:20
Originally posted by BT

McLean is a tough nut too, deperately needed mongrel injection! :D

I know people who personally know Brock McLean and reckon he is a great young fella. Hopefully so because if he is like the rest of the McLean clan, I would count my fingers after they shook your hand.

Just hope Brock doesn't get a big head, otherwise he could go the time honoured McLean way and make Pike look like an angel.

Bananabender
22 Nov 2003, 16:39
Voss was great when he kicked his fourteen but it was in a very weak second division at the time.

Just quietly I think Melbourne have done very well with Sylvia and McLean. Not just the best available but will fit well into the Melbourne lineup.

Falconer02
22 Nov 2003, 16:53

that 14 was in one game

Falconer02
22 Nov 2003, 16:55
Originally posted by Bananabender
Voss was great when he kicked his fourteen but it was in a very weak second division at the time.

Just quietly I think Melbourne have done very well with Sylvia and McLean. Not just the best available but will fit well into the Melbourne lineup.

at least they will have someone tough in the middle other than godfrey.

Demonheart
22 Nov 2003, 18:14
More like a Kane Johnson/Riccutio type.

More like the roo? I'll take that thankyou very much.

chiliboy
22 Nov 2003, 21:24
Never in my life, have I been so excited, as I am about colin sylvia, oh yes, oh yes, demons on the ball!!!!

IT ALL OVER BABY!!!!!!

Stevo
22 Nov 2003, 21:27
And next year you'll be able to get your man again with another priority pick!

Ching
22 Nov 2003, 21:57
Some people wouldn't call Ben Holland a man.

Mead
22 Nov 2003, 22:37
Melbourne had pick 3 in the draft and may have got a good player with it?! Stop the presses, recruiting coup of the century.

dasler
22 Nov 2003, 22:39
Anyone else harbouring the suspicion Yze's computer screen is white and sticky now? :p

lamby29
22 Nov 2003, 22:45
Originally posted by Mead
Melbourne had pick 3 in the draft and may have got a good player with it?! Stop the presses, recruiting coup of the century.
Well... Fiora, Fosdike and Croad were all picked up at #3 in recent drafts.

Stevo
22 Nov 2003, 22:47
Originally posted by lamby29
Well... Fiora, Fosdike and Croad were all picked up at #3 in recent drafts.

And Sylvia could go the same way.

Don't count your chickens.

Yze_Magic
22 Nov 2003, 22:51
Originally posted by dasler
Anyone else harbouring the suspicion Yze's computer screen is white and sticky now? :p

my keyboard is ruined

lamby29
22 Nov 2003, 22:53
Originally posted by Stevo
And Sylvia could go the same way.

Don't count your chickens.
That wasn't really my point.

But you're right.

Stevo
22 Nov 2003, 22:57
That wasn't really my point.

But you're right.

So what was your point?

lamby29
22 Nov 2003, 22:59
Originally posted by Stevo
So what was your point?
That Sylvia was a good get at 3.

Stevo
22 Nov 2003, 23:13
That Sylvia was a good get at 3.

Well, time will tell. He should be, but draft picks are generally judged in hindsight. Sylvia was the right man to take at #3, no doubt. But if he doesn't become a gun, for some reason, will the recruiting be looked on so favourably?

evertonfc
22 Nov 2003, 23:56
Although the Melbourne contingent will vehemently disagree...

The Demons look to have gone for a player that addresses the biggest issue of it's latent fan base; physical grunt.

I'd have been surprised if any other club would have taken Sylvia at #3. He's certainly top 10 and probably 5, but I wouldn't put him ahead of Clarke, Ray, Tenace or Bradley.

Indeed, McLean at #5 is also another surprise for me. He was about 10-11 in my ranking, but what makes him a more favourable proposition to the four players mentioned above?

I'm sure they'll turn out to be quality 100+ game players for the Demons, but some of their drafting continues to raise eyebrows.

Yze_Magic
23 Nov 2003, 00:14
Originally posted by evertonfc

The Demons look to have gone for a player that addresses the biggest issue of it's latent fan base; physical grunt.

I'd have been surprised if any other club would have taken Sylvia at #3. He's certainly top 10 and probably 5, but I wouldn't put him ahead of Clarke, Ray, Tenace or Bradley.

Indeed, McLean at #5 is also another surprise for me. He was about 10-11 in my ranking, but what makes him a more favourable proposition to the four players mentioned above?

I'm sure they'll turn out to be quality 100+ game players for the Demons, but some of their drafting continues to raise eyebrows.

youre kidding right?

yes, he addresses oiur needs

it also just so happens he was the best player available at number 3. Best by a mile

Ray, bradley, tenace and Clarke are not in the same ballpark as Sylvia..

he is simply a machine

dodgey
23 Nov 2003, 00:19
The Dees will be up there next year ;)

It IS an EVEN year after all :D

BigCat1
23 Nov 2003, 00:54
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
youre kidding right?

yes, he addresses oiur needs

it also just so happens he was the best player available at number 3. Best by a mile

Ray, bradley, tenace and Clarke are not in the same ballpark as Sylvia..

he is simply a machine

Whose kidding???

Mate get your hand off it. You could throw a blanket over about 4 of them. Tenace, Bradley, Ray and Sylvia varied in many recruiters opinions. 'Best by a mile' - 'not in the same ballpark' :rolleyes:
You are a tool

Rival_V
23 Nov 2003, 02:25
he is simply a machine

Thats what you get with those Pie supporters.

Not to mention Andrew Walker and Kane Tenace..................

Damn that sucks!

Super Demon
23 Nov 2003, 09:27
Originally posted by BigCat1
Whose kidding???

Mate get your hand off it. You could throw a blanket over about 4 of them. Tenace, Bradley, Ray and Sylvia varied in many recruiters opinions. 'Best by a mile' - 'not in the same ballpark' :rolleyes:
You are a tool

Hey Big Cat
You're right of course......we should have consulted YOU before we made any of our choices.
Hell we could have picked up a real gem like CAMERON THIRLEY .................You Tosser

Sylvia and Mclean will do just fine, go and worry about your own team.

superstar
23 Nov 2003, 09:58

I agree on McLean, but not Sylvia. Sylvia is a Kane Johnson type, and worth pick 3. Will be a really good player, just not as good as some of these ignorant morons are suggesting (next Michael Voss - pfft!)

McClean fits the Melbourne recruiting criteria - overlook better players to address needs.

lamby29
23 Nov 2003, 10:40

Please.

Kevin Sheehan rated Sylvia as a possible number 1 pick. Colin Wisbey did too.

Most people saw him as the 2nd best player in the pool.

BigCat1
23 Nov 2003, 11:22
Originally posted by Super Demon
Hey Big Cat
You're right of course......we should have consulted YOU before we made any of our choices.
Hell we could have picked up a real gem like CAMERON THIRLEY .................You Tosser

Sylvia and Mclean will do just fine, go and worry about your own team.

A won't get into a slanging match with a guy with whose age probably represents the amount of posts he's had. Here's a tip - maybe you should actually read what I posted

If you think Syliva is 'mile ahead' and 'not in the same ballpark' as Tenace, Ray and Bradley then you are also a tool.

no1bankteller
23 Nov 2003, 11:54
BigCAT1 as far as I am concerned you have infinitly more credibility then most people posting here having correctly identified WC no.26 pick...great effort...

superstar
23 Nov 2003, 15:39
Please.

Kevin Sheehan rated Sylvia as a possible number 1 pick. Colin Wisbey did too.

Most people saw him as the 2nd best player in the pool.

Had a look at some of Wisbey's thoughts today. He actually had Sylvia 7th on his list, despite saying the top 7 were all very equal.

In regard to Brock McLean he said: "Reluctantly, and against the weight of popular opinion, I cannot rate him worth earlier than a late 2nd round pick at best, and then with some reservation."

Looks like some more sterling recruiting by the dees.:D

Stevo
23 Nov 2003, 16:57
McLean's reputation was inflated by a great GF performance. Bar that one game, his performances throughout the year don't justify a #5 pick.

Super Demon
23 Nov 2003, 17:03
A won't get into a slanging match with a guy with whose age probably represents the amount of posts he's had. Here's a tip - maybe you should actually read what I posted

If you think Syliva is 'mile ahead' and 'not in the same ballpark' as Tenace, Ray and Bradley then you are also a tool.

My friend as I previously mentioned, go and worry about your own team.
I really like the part that you dont want to get into a slanging match with me.........and proceed to do just that.
Your pathetic attempt at suggesting my age relates to the number of posts that I have made on this board is quite amusing.

The correct spelling of our new recruit's surname is Sylvia
but according to you its ]Syliva[/B].....I can at least spell.

Fall Out Boy
23 Nov 2003, 17:23

The correct spelling of our new recruit's surname is Sylvia
but according to you its ]Syliva.....I can at least spell. [/B]

If you're going to make a rather inane attempt to rip on someone for a minor typo, it's best to make sure your post is free of fault.

A lesson or two in the use of vB Code might be in order.

FreoDocker
23 Nov 2003, 17:34
Sylvia is simply the reincarnation of one Michael Voss

He's not dead yet is he??

w00dy
23 Nov 2003, 18:10
Originally posted by FreoDocker
He's not dead yet is he??

hahahahhahahahaa... lmao...

in my opinion there have been lots of phantom drafts around and none of them normally get everything right... some people have different opinions on different players... craig cameron would have seem mclean play a number of times, not just in the grand final, so he knows how he plays... but of course his performance in the GF was going to be taken into account, it reflects his ability to stand up to the occasion...

i'm a demon supporter and i'm happy with our selections, as will most of the clubs who had top 10 picks... time will tell which ones were right and wrong...

lamby29
23 Nov 2003, 19:36
Had a look at some of Wisbey's thoughts today. He actually had Sylvia 7th on his list, despite saying the top 7 were all very equal.

In regard to Brock McLean he said: "Reluctantly, and against the weight of popular opinion, I cannot rate him worth earlier than a late 2nd round pick at best, and then with some reservation."

Looks like some more sterling recruiting by the dees.:D
I get the impression that he rates Sylvia as the best 18 year old in Australia (along with Cooney), but didn't have him going at 1 because his upside isn't as big as someone like a Walker or Cooney.

Reading through the profile though... orgasmic.

As for McLean, he has been wrong before. And Cameron knows what he is doing.

BTW, how are Luke Brennan and Daniel Elstone going?

Demonheart
24 Nov 2003, 07:51
Superstar and bigcat1, what is the reason why you don't rate McLean? I'm asking as apart from the blury 60 secs on afl.com I haven't seen him play and I am interested in hearing from someone with an unbiased view.
Looking at his credentials he seems to have achieved alot but after reading Wisbey's comments it appears his major concern is his future development, which is highly speculative.

BigCat1
24 Nov 2003, 11:13
Originally posted by Demonheart
Superstar and bigcat1, what is the reason why you don't rate McLean? I'm asking as apart from the blury 60 secs on afl.com I haven't seen him play and I am interested in hearing from someone with an unbiased view.
Looking at his credentials he seems to have achieved alot but after reading Wisbey's comments it appears his major concern is his future development, which is highly speculative.

I do rate McLean! I also reckon Slyvia is in the top 5 players this year! I made a response to Yze _loser's claim that Sylvia was a miles ahead and not even in the same ballpark as guys like Tenace and Ray.

Simply he is not. Tenace, Trotter, Ray, and Walker are all very close. Recruiters around Aust differed on who they thought were better. I know for a fact Collingwood thought Tenace was a slightly better prospect than Slyvia. So did Wiseby.

bogan_blue
24 Nov 2003, 12:27
What is wrong with Melbourne supporters ?
When god was handing out brains, they must have been in the line waiting for ar$e fittings, they talk so much $hit.
None of the picks have played a single game, and personally I hope Slyvia fails at Melbourne just to see morons like Yze_magic and Chillboy (there's a twit if ever there was one) to eat their words.

Demonheart
24 Nov 2003, 12:41
I do rate McLean! I also reckon Slyvia is in the top 5 players this year! I made a response to Yze _loser's claim that Sylvia was a miles ahead and not even in the same ballpark as guys like Tenace and Ray.

Simply he is not. Tenace, Trotter, Ray, and Walker are all very close. Recruiters around Aust differed on who they thought were better. I know for a fact Collingwood thought Tenace was a slightly better prospect than Slyvia. So did Wiseby.

Point taken, next time I won't speed read a thread, I tend to agree with you about the evenness of the top 6 or 7 but what I think makes Cooney, Sylvia and possibly McLean is their mental toughness and competitive nature. Who would have you taken at #5?
You also have to remember that not much has gone right for us this year, both onfield and off, and if we get a little carried away with our picks, it's probably due to alot of relief of finally having some good news and something to look forward to.

Bogan_blue I hope your team is brought to it's knees by their own incompetance and lose several top draft picks and are forced to draft a whole lot of rejects from other clubs and....hang on, what team to you barrack for?

Super Demon
24 Nov 2003, 12:56

Its great to see people quoting Colin Wiseby (when it suits them)
Hey Big Cat have a look at what Wiseby thinks of Cameron Thirley
It makes very interesting reading
http://www.voy.com/51976/15263.html

Jabso
24 Nov 2003, 14:22
BTW Demon supporter's, how's that "saviour" you got with the #1 pick a few years ago going?

superstar
24 Nov 2003, 14:31
Originally posted by Demonheart

McLean is your typical scrappy onballer, who can dominate at U18 level, but will be exposed at the highest level. He's a Mark McGough type. As so far as his U18 efforts go, he was worth a top 10 pick, but I wouldn't have taken him in the top 15. Can't see him improving much, and being anything other than a run of the mill onballer with poor disposal. He's tough though which explains Melbourne taking him, as they have the softest list in the comp. Still, there were much better playres overlooked at 5.

Sylvia will make it, and be a very good player. I agree with Wisbey's comments that the upside is not as big as others. Still, you've got to play it safe early in the draft, and he's a sure bet to be a good player, probably in the Kane Johnson calibre though, not the superstar Michael Voss status that Yze_Spastic rates all Melbourne players as.

dees_best
24 Nov 2003, 14:52
Brock McLean and Colin Sylvia will be better footballers than Mark McGough and Kane Johnson superstar you sutpid tool.Who would you have picked if you were the Melbourne Footy Club?

Sylvia was the obvious choice at pick3.He and McLean are exactly the type of players we need at the MFC to start a winning generation over coming years.You can bag Melbourne as much as you want but in the end we will see who comes out on top.;)

lamby29
24 Nov 2003, 14:59
McLean is your typical scrappy onballer, who can dominate at U18 level, but will be exposed at the highest level. He's a Mark McGough type. As so far as his U18 efforts go, he was worth a top 10 pick, but I wouldn't have taken him in the top 15. Can't see him improving much, and being anything other than a run of the mill onballer with poor disposal. He's tough though which explains Melbourne taking him, as they have the softest list in the comp. Still, there were much better playres overlooked at 5.

Sylvia will make it, and be a very good player. I agree with Wisbey's comments that the upside is not as big as others. Still, you've got to play it safe early in the draft, and he's a sure bet to be a good player, probably in the Kane Johnson calibre though, not the superstar Michael Voss status that Yze_Spastic rates all Melbourne players as.
McLean has good disposal. He is no Simon Black but he rarely misses targets. His disposal by hand is very good too. I think he can develop into a 200 game, no fuss centreman for the Dees.

As for Sylvia... he will be better than Kane Johnson.

BigCat1
25 Nov 2003, 10:46
Its great to see people quoting Colin Wiseby (when it suits them)
Hey Big Cat have a look at what Wiseby thinks of Cameron Thirley
It makes very interesting reading
http://www.voy.com/51976/15263.html

Mate if you had a clue you would know that i thought taking Thurley at 22 was ridiculous. I don't see why we didn't wait until pick 54 if we wanted him so bad. As for Wiseby's comments they are all good apart from the fact he needs to keep his feet more and put on a few extra kilos. Col did say he hadnt seen much of him. In an article yesterday Thurley said he had put on 10 kgs over the last year and a bit. Could be another Lokan.

Ps Demonheart I would have taken Tenace at 5. Actually earlier as i reckon he's in the top 3 players. match winners are hard to come by. In no way am i slagging off Melbourne's picks b/c it's plain to see why they made them. All these guys are so close it makes little difference anyway.

lamby29
25 Nov 2003, 11:07
Could be another Lokan.

Another dud? :confused:

Super Demon
25 Nov 2003, 11:17
Mate if you had a clue you would know that i thought taking Thurley at 22 was ridiculous. I don't see why we didn't wait until pick 54 if we wanted him so bad. As for Wiseby's comments they are all good apart from the fact he needs to keep his feet more and put on a few extra kilos. Col did say he hadnt seen much of him. In an article yesterday Thurley said he had put on 10 kgs over the last year and a bit. Could be another Lokan.

Ps Demonheart I would have taken Tenace at 5. Actually earlier as i reckon he's in the top 3 players. match winners are hard to come by. In no way am i slagging off Melbourne's picks b/c it's plain to see why they made them. All these guys are so close it makes little difference anyway.

Hey Bigcat do you always play the man when you're under pressure?
Buddy I've seen you having a big moan about Thurley on another board.
At least you have now taken the first step and (almost) admitted that Thurley isnt that good a prospect.
As well as the part already mentioned by you, Colin Wisbey had a few negatives about him......... "Nice versatility at VFL level - He has stood up to a variety of challenges during the '03 VFL year, playing wing, HBF and HFF/FP.
However, I just struggle to see him at AFL level."

Yze_Magic
25 Nov 2003, 20:46

yeah,,

we are going to take your opinion of McLean more serious than Craig Cameron and Noel Judkins opinions

HAHAHHAHAHHAH

who is the spastic?

marcuz
25 Nov 2003, 21:00
Is that the same Noel Judkins that picked heffernan with pick 2 and McAlister with 5...or the same one that passed over pike because he thought he was finished

Stevo
25 Nov 2003, 21:01

I had the same impression, although I think his disposal isn't quite so poor as your post makes it sound. He runs all day and can break a pack open. A reliable inside midfielder for the work he does at the stoppages, not in the open. Yes, he's a Mark McGough type, and yes, he doesn't have huge scope for improvement.

If you value toughness above potential, then McLean's your man. Otherwise, he was really worth around about a second round pick. The benefit of taking him at #5 is that no one wants to see a high pick wasted, and McLean is fairly sure to be a decent player for the Demons. But I don't think he'll ever be too much more than a "good ordinary" player.

Porthos
25 Nov 2003, 21:04
Sounds a bit like Port picking Josh Carr at #7.

lamby29
25 Nov 2003, 21:06
I'm hoping McLean develops into the next Jason Johnson.

marcuz
25 Nov 2003, 21:13
I'm hoping McLean develops into the next Jason Johnson.

Not as explosive as jason is. If he is as tough as jason then he will be handy for melbourne.

dees 4 life
25 Nov 2003, 21:30
Dees supporters can we stop talking these two up. Yes we are happy to have them as most supporters would be but there is no reason to talk them up even before they have played a game. When or if they become stars thats when we will talk them up.

BigCat1
25 Nov 2003, 21:37

Thurley - However, I just struggle to see him at AFL level."
Geez I hope you don't read all the other reports he did. That's one of col's favourite lines. He picked a number of guys he thought would struggle to make the last big step. How was his summary of McLean? Keplar Bradley may as stay at home and not bother. Same with Harry Miller.

Super Demon
25 Nov 2003, 22:09
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BigCat1
[B] How was his summary of McLean?

what about Noel Judkins on Sport 927 this morning?
Claimed that he would have taken Mclean at 2 fir Collingwood if he'd had the chance.

http://www.sport927.com.au/gateway/Daily_Audio/Sound%20Grabs/NJ_251103.asx