View Full Version : SA versus NSW one dayer

pazza
23 Nov 2003, 11:06
After being 6/95 after 15 overs, SA have just been bowled out for 245 in the 44th over.

Wonderful late order fightback by the Redbacks. Davison started well with a quick fire 48 off 41 balls.

Manou 63 off 60 balls. Cleary 70 off 74 balls.
Clark 4/44
Nash and Macgill 2 wickets each
Nicholson 1.

dr nick
23 Nov 2003, 11:49
****, and i turned it off at 6/100. thought we were cruising.

Russian
23 Nov 2003, 12:57
NSW 3/35 after 13, Clarke and S.Waugh at the crease

JUBJUB
23 Nov 2003, 13:22
NSW 4/48
S.Waugh and Slater in.

roostersgal4eva
23 Nov 2003, 13:23
Damm JUBJUB - bet me 2 it!

GO DA REDBACKS

JUBJUB
23 Nov 2003, 13:30
I assume Slater is only getting a game because Michael Bevan is injured.

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 13:44
5/62 in the 25th over.

Slater out hooking. :)

Waugh twins at the crease... so I don't feel safe yet.

roostersgal4eva
23 Nov 2003, 13:45
who r our wicket takers

btw has any1 had trouble in seeing the baggygreen scores???

JUBJUB
23 Nov 2003, 13:51
Originally posted by roostersgal4eva
who r our wicket takers

Tait 2 wickets [was on a hat-trick in the 2nd over of the innings]
Rofe 2 wickets
Cleary 1 wicket

roostersgal4eva
23 Nov 2003, 13:52
has dizzie bowled???

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 14:01
has dizzie bowled??? He opened; 6-1-16-0.

Russian
23 Nov 2003, 14:01
Gillespie 6 1 16 0
Tait 6.1 2 11 2 (3w)
Rofe 9 1 25 2
Cleary 7 1 24 1

roostersgal4eva
23 Nov 2003, 14:02
kool

he's looking good for the test series vs india

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 14:06
Tugga out, playing an awful shot.

6/89 in the 30th. :D

goaldrush
23 Nov 2003, 14:09
has dizzie bowled??? Yeah he opened the bowling attack. (sorry but DaveW beat me to it)

Russian
23 Nov 2003, 14:10
kool

he's looking good for the test series vs india And thank God for that. Lee and McGrath expected to miss at least the first 2 tests

pazza
23 Nov 2003, 14:22
6/99 in the 34th over.

Looks like being a bad week for the Blues:D

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 14:44
Mark Waugh finally out!

Just when it looked like the fifth bowler (i.e. Blewett & Johnson) overs could prove our undoing. It doesn't look live Davison will get a bowl.

7/142 in the 39th over.

196 or less gets us a bonus point.

Adelaide Hawk
23 Nov 2003, 14:45
Mark Waugh out, 7/142. I think SA has this one.

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 14:52
Don Nash hits an amazing lofted six over cover.

Blewett and Johnson finally done. Each conceded 33 in their five overs.

7/161 after 41.

pazza
23 Nov 2003, 14:59
8 down now the Blues.

They'll be glad to get home again.

Russian
23 Nov 2003, 15:00
2 wickets or 20 runs?

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 15:13
All over.

5 point win for the mighty Redbacks.

:D

Adelaide Hawk
23 Nov 2003, 15:13
Redbacks BONUS POINT!!!

Russian
23 Nov 2003, 15:26
Originally posted by Adelaide Hawk
Redbacks BONUS POINT!!! And 2nd in both comps, i know we're cheating in the ING but who cares

Adelaide Hawk
23 Nov 2003, 15:30
Originally posted by Russian
And 2nd in both comps, i know we're cheating in the ING but who cares

What do you mean by cheating?

Russian
23 Nov 2003, 15:42
Originally posted by Adelaide Hawk
What do you mean by cheating? We've played a game more than everyone else

Kane McGoodwin
23 Nov 2003, 16:34
A good recovery by the Redbacks - Cleary is having a very good all-round season thus far. Are we now playing Davidson as a specialist batsman, as I would have thought he would have go a bowl (with Blewey & Johnson going for 6.6 po). Doesn't really matter in the end. Have some good young bowlers coming through. Should now blood another young batsman for Deitz, who is not suited to the 1-day game.

DaveW
23 Nov 2003, 16:36
I reckon Blewett felt Davo was too much of a risk with Mark Waugh at the crease when it was time to use someone other than the four front-liners.

Kane McGoodwin
23 Nov 2003, 16:57
Originally posted by DaveW
I reckon Blewett felt Davo was too much of a risk with Mark Waugh at the crease when it was time to use someone other than the four front-liners.
Perhaps, but could have tried 1 over, or brought him on after M Waugh was dismissed & the tail-enders were in. Didn't really matter though, as we got the bonus point! :cool:

Paralowiepower
23 Nov 2003, 17:21
Well done to the Redbacks who did the double over the Blues :)

w00dy
23 Nov 2003, 18:28
well done to the crow eaters... good to see a team that looks like sunbury 5ths on paper getting up and beating the star studded NSW side...

and i'm a big wrap for davo, getting more runs... how good was the world cup for him??? seems andy flower can't get a run though, how much longer is he in the side for???

Sezza_20
23 Nov 2003, 19:25
Go Redbacks!! What a great week!!
That really was a strange game. When the broadcast came on TV at SA 6/95 I nearlly turned it off. All the "recognised" batsmen were out. The partnership b/w Manou and Cleary was awesome. Fast scoring, lots of boundaries and very entertaining. It was a shame when Manou got out especially stepping on his wicket. To make 245 was unreal. The bowling and fielding was good also. Tait was excellent early and the other fast bowlers did well. It was a good decision to leave Higgs out and play the 4 fast bowlers.
It was a great result especially gaining the bonus point. Mark Cleary played a great game which was good to see. Hopefully this will be a better season for the redbacks!!

mik
23 Nov 2003, 19:37
agree..it was great to see the 'backs win....

watching on telly, i thought oh no, what r they doin (6/95), but then cleary and manou were excellent...it was great to watch....manou in exceptional touch..if he kept goin, would have made 270 i rekon (as cleary was also in wild form)

great fielding effort

REDBACKS - ING AND PURA CUP CHAMPS 2003/04

eastaugh36
24 Nov 2003, 07:30
Go you redbacks! Things look so promising!!!!!!

Jars458
24 Nov 2003, 08:36
I thought a great way to spend my sunday arvo would be on the hill at Adelaide Oval.

I got there a bit late due to late night drinking and was horrified to see the score was 5 for 77.

Whilst I went to get a beer we hit two boundaries and the frist ball I actually watched, Davison got out and we were 6 for 85.

Worked out that NSW had won the toss and thought it must be a shocking batting wicket with a bit of movement.

Manou and Cleary then proceeded to tear the NSW attack apart being particularly severe on McGill and Thornley.

They played some beautiful cover drives and looked in no trouble to Manou had another brain explosion and nocked the bails off with his arse.

Dizzy did a good job olding up and end to make 19 and then Clearly was given out run out which seemed a marginal decision. Only saw one replay at the ground so would be interested in anyone's view who saw the broadcast.

245 was a competitive score but given the fact that Cleary and Manou had batted so well I thought it was 40 too few.

Put simply, the Redbaks bowling and fielding was just awesome.

Gillespie was crisp and tight and Tait caused all sorts of problems. Two LBW's in two balls were from sheer pace and to see Katich beaten like that was sensational ( a very poor mann's Darren Lehmann;) ). The hattrick ball to S W augh was also a ripper which he struggled to keep out.

After this NSW were never in the game at all. The batsmen other than Waugh (a bit streaky) couldn't get the ball off the square, and when they tried to hit out, they got out eg Clarke, although Blewett's catch diving in front was an absolute ripper.

Some spiritted batting by M Waugh and Nash threatened to deny us the bonus point but we were never in danger of losing the game

Once the bit parters got ten overs out of the way ( I too was unsure why Davison wasn't given the ball) Gillespie got a wicket and that was that bar the shouting.

Andy Flower managed to drop a regualtion catch off Mark Waugh before taking a very nice one in the deeep of Clark near the end.

Blewett got antoher nice catch and Deitx an excellent run out. All in all SA's fielding was great.

A bloke on the hill was giving **** to McGill and everyone else all day. Some of it was funny but by the end of the day it was getting very old. Too much West End can do that for you.

Anyway, all in all the Rebbacks were saved by their bowlers again who made NSW batting line up look ordinary. Still have some grave doubts about our batting though when Blewett fails.

Boof should be back soon though and if not playing for Australia will give SA a huge shot at both titles.

EagleBlue
24 Nov 2003, 10:00
Originally posted by Jars458

Dizzy did a good job olding up and end to make 19 and then Clearly was given out run out which seemed a marginal decision. Only saw one replay at the ground so would be interested in anyone's view who saw the broadcast.

The side-on view (which is I assume the one you saw at the ground) showed there was some serious doubt, BUT there was one view shown in front of the stumps which showed that was about 90% certain, so going on the laws of cricket he was a bit stiff, actually some of the umpring yesterday was shocking.
Deitz, caught behind off pad, given out
Thornely plumb LBW, given not out
S.Waugh out caught behind, given not out
(Luckily those decisions didnt have an impact)
Some of the non-wide calls were amazing, especially from the umpire at the opposite end to Parker (cant remember his name), must of thought he was umpiring a test match.

Unfortunately (or fortunately for the Redbacks) I think we will see a lot of Boof this summer :mad: reckon Clarke will get the nod for the one-day series and Katich will get the nod for the Test series

Jars458
24 Nov 2003, 10:13
Originally posted by EagleBlue

Saw the Thornley replay and said that is so bloody out its not funny.

The S Waugh one was itneresting as all the players went up in unison straight away.

In my own game on Saturday I had two appeals turned down almost identical to those two, so I have some sympathy for the bowlers.:)

EagleBlue
24 Nov 2003, 10:23
Originally posted by Jars458
In my own game on Saturday I had two appeals turned down almost identical to those two, so I have some sympathy for the bowlers.:)

Do you have "neutral" umpires ???? If you dont you will never get LBWs.

Jars458
24 Nov 2003, 10:32
Do you have "neutral" umpires ???? If you dont you will never get LBWs.

True. Have never played with a neutral umpire in my career as have never been in a grade high enough

Funnily enough my only wicket was an lbw to finish off the game. The fact that they had only eight players may have helped us win 92 to 76. High standard stuff.:(

JUBJUB
24 Nov 2003, 12:03

Even after a few replays you still couldn't tell if Waugh hit it.

I like Brendan Julian's comment that it was probably a bad thing [at the time] when Thornley went out.He was so slow that he was putting NSW out of the game.

roostersgal4eva
24 Nov 2003, 12:37
The best thing about BOTH the 1 dayers and the Pura Cup is Dizzie's comeback especially with brett and pidge doubtfull for the 1st-2nd tests - he looked in great shape and will give the Indian batsman nightmares!

On the game...

Clerey, Rofe and Cosgrove look like future stars and could find themselves in the test and 1 day areans for Oz - especially rofe

I'm conserned about the batting though - we score quicly which is our saving grace but we loose wickets too quickly for my liking :(

GO DA REDBACKS!!!!!!!!!!

Thunderstruck
26 Nov 2003, 09:08
Freakin awesome performance!!! Rofe, Clearly, Manou (showed that hidden talent of his) tait, Dizzy, Davo, great fielding too, 5 points fantastic!