View Full Version : Guy Sebastian
What are your opinions on the man? i just bought his cd and its pretty good. i hope he has a long good career, seems like such a nice honest bloke with some actual integrity.
not a bad voice either:)
harry_hawka
8 Dec 2003, 21:35
Originally posted by Groove
What are your opinions on the man? i just bought his cd and its pretty good. i hope he has a long good career, seems like such a nice honest bloke with some actual integrity.
not a bad voice either:)
Yeah I generally agree with that. I personally wouldn't go and buy his cd, but I can still happily listen to most of his music. He definitely seems like a good, honest bloke and I'd have no worries if he was topping our charts for years to come. He's by no means one of my favourites, but good luck to him.
Noddy Holder
8 Dec 2003, 22:33
Yeah I like him too. I'm getting his CD for Christmas. He sings the kind of music I like listening to. I hope he kills them at World Idol.
Geeze, that was quick. They must've had that thing recorded before the winner was even announced. Guy would've shown up, done a bit of karaoke, and now John Foreman can sit back and watch the royalties roll in.
Black Thunder
8 Dec 2003, 22:54
I don't rate his music as such because that is my taste. But he's at least a decent singer, and no where near as bad as the group that made up bardot and scandulus.
I was just happy that the winner of AI wasn't an embrassment.
GoalsFrom50Out
8 Dec 2003, 23:14
I bought it for my Mum for Christmas today ... surprised it was only $25.99.
I think he's a great talent, not sure as of yet whether I'll buy his CD.
He is a nice bloke, loves his footy. He's actually a friend of a friend, I've never actually met him, but knowa few people that know him quite well.
Originally posted by Zeke
He is a nice bloke, loves his footy. He's actually a friend of a friend, I've never actually met him, but knowa few people that know him quite well.
The irony is killing me.
Disgustipated
9 Dec 2003, 13:58
I hope he has lost his virginity and is on a mad rooting spree.
Originally posted by Zeke
Not Luke Toia by any chance?
This has to be one of the classics. The post straight from the Suzi Olsen play book.
Todays lesson: Bignoting myself in some vauge way 101
Originally posted by Mr X
This has to be one of the classics. The post straight from the Suzi Olsen play book.
Musashi.
de_LICA_ish18
9 Dec 2003, 15:32
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
I bought it for my Mum for Christmas today ... surprised it was only $25.99.
Its around $18.00 at Kmart :p
Disgustipated
9 Dec 2003, 15:34
Originally posted by de_LICA_ish18
This time next year will be $2.00 or free to a good home
If I was trying to bignote, I would have said I was related to him, in typical Suzi style.
McAlmanac
9 Dec 2003, 17:15
He is Air Supply reincarnated. Same hair, same music.
His first single is really, really bad... and has pretty much threatened his music career before it's started. The film clip is just about the worst you could ask for, and I'd love it if he could just ease up on the melodramatic singing style just for once.
Sure he's a nice guy, though.
Originally posted by Milkman
Geeze, that was quick. They must've had that thing recorded before the winner was even announced. Guy would've shown up, done a bit of karaoke, and now John Foreman can sit back and watch the royalties roll in.
Whoa that's freaky. They said almost those exact same words on the radio this morning. Of course you'd already posted before then but freaky all the same.
Apparently they'd already recorded alot of backing tracks and such to suit a few different styles of music so I guess your right, All he had to do was come in and "follow the bouncing dot".
I can't really stand the guy's single that's going around at the moment but since he's an aussie who's supposed to be going big places I wish him luck.
Originally posted by Bresh
His first single is really, really bad... and has pretty much threatened his music career before it's started. The film clip is just about the worst you could ask for, and I'd love it if he could just ease up on the melodramatic singing style just for once.
Sure he's a nice guy, though.
coming from someone who thinks the sun shines out 50 cent's poop hole, I think we can all take this opinion with a grain of salt.
(or was that a gram of smack)
FWIW, I think the guy can sing, but would not buy his music.
coming from someone who thinks the sun shines out 50 cent's poop hole, I think we can all take this opinion with a grain of salt.
(or was that a gram of smack)
What the **** are you talking about?
Care to provide me with some quotes where I provide even the faintest idea that I enjoy 50 Cent's music?
Docker_Brat
10 Dec 2003, 00:54
Originally posted by McAlmanac
He is Air Supply reincarnated. Same hair, same music.
Scary isn't it?
What the **** are you talking about?
Care to provide me with some quotes where I provide even the faintest idea that I enjoy 50 Cent's music?
My apologies. Mistaken identity, or something.
Apology accepted. Normally I wouldn't react so harshly, but this is 'Fiddy' Cent we are discussing here... ;)
More manufactured garbage...In two years from now he will be working in the drive thru at some KFC store in adelaide
Blues_Girl
10 Dec 2003, 11:00
I bought Guy's album on Monday and I can honestly say I love it!
I wasn't overly sure whether i'd like it or not as I wasn't keen on some of the things he sang on Idol.
A worth while buy!
Portmagpies
10 Dec 2003, 18:10
I hope the try-hard falls flat on his fuzznut.
That first single would makes dogs bark.
Originally posted by Portmagpies
I really dont understand why you would say something so negative like that. Try Hard? how ? he is doing what he can to make it. god people like you **** me.
you wouldnt have the talent of one of his fuzz nuts
swansrock4eva
10 Dec 2003, 21:11
I got it Monday night (thanks mum!), and it took me a few listens to get into it, but I definitely like it on the whole. I must admit that I think "Angels..." is one of the weaker tracks, but that's more because of the wonderful 80's midi backing than his actual singing. Possibly a bit too r&b to be a constant stayer in my CD player, but still definitely a good one when in the right mood :)
harry_hawka
10 Dec 2003, 21:25
Originally posted by Portmagpies
Now there's a cliche, tired response if ever I've seen one. He happens to be musically talented, which therefore makes him a try-hard?? Perhaps you and your musical knowledge can justify some reasons why you think he's a try-hard, and why the dogs might bark at his single??
Milkman
10 Dec 2003, 21:48
He shouldn't be singing whiny R&B fluff ballads, it's a waste of his obvious singing talent, and it will kill his career. They should have written a garage album for him, (although I wouldn't imagine that Mr John"love ballad" Foreman is very hip to the garage scene). His single is bollocks, and I could see why dogs might bark at it.
tomaraya
10 Dec 2003, 22:36
Originally posted by harry_hawka
Now there's a cliche, tired response if ever I've seen one. He happens to be musically talented, which therefore makes him a try-hard?? Perhaps you and your musical knowledge can justify some reasons why you think he's a try-hard, and why the dogs might bark at his single??
could you please refer to any song that the fuzz nut has written please.
musically talented my arse.
if and when i hear an original tune from this glorified karaoke singer i will reassess my opinion of his "musical talents".
until then(and i aint holding my breath) i too hope he falls flat on his face along with every other manufactured 'pop' star.
Noddy Holder
10 Dec 2003, 23:16
Good to see that tall poppy syndrome is alive and well in Australia. :o
Beffery
11 Dec 2003, 11:43
Originally posted by tomaraya
could you please refer to any song that the fuzz nut has written please.
musically talented my arse.
if and when i hear an original tune from this glorified karaoke singer i will reassess my opinion of his "musical talents".
until then(and i aint holding my breath) i too hope he falls flat on his face along with every other manufactured 'pop' star.
He wrote "I 4 U" which is on the album, co-wrote 2 other songs and arranged his own versions of "When Dove's Cry" and "What a wonderful world".
Nothing ****s me more than people like you who are negative for the sake of being negative.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5478,8131586^661,00.html
Milkman
11 Dec 2003, 11:52
My ass he arranged anything.
SonOfScray
11 Dec 2003, 11:58
Will he be hounded by the media over the fan getting hospitalised due to heat / crowd crush a la Limp Bizkit and the BDO?
Milkman
11 Dec 2003, 12:22
Only if he lies to the media about visiting the fan in hospital, as Fred Durst did.
Lenny29
11 Dec 2003, 20:44
Watched about 20 minutes of Australian Idol.. but love his first single.
Portmagpies
11 Dec 2003, 21:12
why the dogs might bark at his single??
Haven't you heard it?
Portmagpies
11 Dec 2003, 21:15
Mr Sebastian is a try-hard because he, like so many other unfortunates, is appropriating African-American culture.
Read Norman Mailer's 'The White Negro.'
dannyboy
11 Dec 2003, 21:29
That angels single is boring rubbish. And I dont think its tall poppy syndrome to bag his music or status....he's a good singer, sure hes a good bloke too. but that song is just a production line hit that appeals to the consumer majority for as long as it can hold their fleeting attention.
To anyone that really does want a meaningful discussion on Guy, here are my thoughts:
He wrote 3 tracks on the album.
Only Angels was not majorly rearranged by him. All other tracks were actually rewritten by Guy but he was not given credit for the arrangements due to liscensing issues.
The 3 songs he wrote for the album are 3 of the best 4 tracks on the album.
This guy is supremely talented, whether you like his music or not. His voice is extremely rare, his musical talents are even rarer.
While pop stars travel the world to work with the best producers, Guy only needs to look inside because he has it all in there.
The album is pretty good for a 6 day recording and while it has about 3 songs that could be sung by anyone, the other 9 are enjoyable.
His second album is were we will see his genius because he gets to write everything.
BMG are extremely happy with him, not just because of the sales, but after seeing him work on the album, they can see that he has something that the other manafactured acts don't have, the whole package.
My only problem with his success is that he wont be singing at Planet Shakers next year.
LionHeart20
12 Dec 2003, 10:24
I won't buy anything that has anything to do with Australian Idol.
3lions3
12 Dec 2003, 11:48
Originally posted by Moti
To anyone that really does want a meaningful discussion on Guy, here are my thoughts:
Only Angels was not majorly rearranged by him. All other tracks were actually rewritten by Guy but he was not given credit for the arrangements due to liscensing issues.
This guy is supremely talented, whether you like his music or not. His voice is extremely rare, his musical talents are even rarer.
While pop stars travel the world to work with the best producers, Guy only needs to look inside because he has it all in there.
The album is pretty good for a 6 day recording and while it has about 3 songs that could be sung by anyone, the other 9 are enjoyable.
His second album is were we will see his genius because he gets to write everything.
BMG are extremely happy with him, not just because of the sales, but after seeing him work on the album, they can see that he has something that the other manafactured acts don't have, the whole package.
My only problem with his success is that he wont be singing at Planet Shakers next year.
Same church, I presume. Go peddle your wares elsewhere.
Originally posted by Beffery
arranged his own versions of "When Dove's Cry" and "What a wonderful world".
So he decided what songs went in what order in the Cd.
I think it's a sad indication of where our music industry is heading when we have to manufacture 'Idols'.
What is there to Idolise about him anyway, he is a complete ****ing pussy.
Milkman
12 Dec 2003, 12:42
Tracks re-written?, never heard of that before. He either wrote them, co-wrote them or didn't write them at all. It's much more likely that that he was credited for songs which he didn't write, rather than the other way around. It is common practice in the music biz to do such (although usually not with manufactured radio friendly top 40 music), so as an artist which had no creative input, can still collect on the royalties. The most famous case of this is probably Stuart Copeland's contract clause with the Police, where he was to be credited with the writing of at least one song off every Police album, regardless of whether he actually wrote one or not. I'm quite surprised to hear that Guy got any album credits at all, and if this is really true, he either has a very good manager, or somebody somewhere has a conscience. The latter being highly unlikely in this industry.
Stealth bomber
12 Dec 2003, 13:44
He shouldn't be singing whiny R&B fluff ballads, it's a waste of his obvious singing talent, and it will kill his career.
Pretty much my thoughts exactly.
I'm not the least bit surprised. It wasn't going to matter who won this contest - they were always going to be doomed to record vacuous empty pop for all eternity.
I thought Guy had the potential to be something much more interesting than that. Maybe he still can, while it isn't too late.
I almost wish Shannon actually had won, because he deserves this music and this music deserves him. Guy deserves better.
Disgustipated
12 Dec 2003, 14:52
Originally posted by 3lions3
Same church, I presume. Go peddle your wares elsewhere.
Great sledge
3lions3
12 Dec 2003, 14:55
Originally posted by Disgustipated
Great sledge
Means a lot.
No, I live in Melbourne, he is from Adelaide.
And he did rearrange the music on most tracks the very same way he rearranged most of the music on Idol.
Hot Spenny
12 Dec 2003, 15:39
Originally posted by M29
What is there to Idolise about him anyway, he is a complete ****ing pussy.
Pussy or not, i'd say he is laughing all the way to the bank, while you crying all the way to centrelink.
Milkman
12 Dec 2003, 15:46
Originally posted by Vulture
Pussy or not, i'd say he is laughing all the way to the bank,
I seriously doubt that. The label and songwriters (who probably work for the label) will be splitting the cash.
Milkman
12 Dec 2003, 15:47
No, I live in Melbourne, he is from Adelaide.
And he did rearrange the music on most tracks the very same way he rearranged most of the music on Idol.
I think you may be confusing Guy Sebastian with John Foreman.
Did you ever watch Idol at all? Or have you ever actually read or listened to any of the actual events from the show?
The songs chosen were by the performers, and in Guy's case, he adapted the songs to suit his own voice. That is what is called arranging the music. Foreman collaborated with him as that was the format for the show, but it was Guy who created the different approach.
I have no problem with you bagging someone because that is your lot in life, but at least do some research before trying to cut the poppys down.
Portmagpies
12 Dec 2003, 18:22
Mr Sebastian will be lucky to keep the shirt on his back after BMG take him to the cleaners. Unfortunately, that's the nature of the beast.
Milkman
12 Dec 2003, 18:31
The songs chosen were by the performers, and in Guy's case, he adapted the songs to suit his own voice. That is what is called arranging the music. Foreman collaborated with him as that was the format for the show, but it was Guy who created the different approach.
I have no problem with you bagging someone because that is your lot in life, but at least do some research before trying to cut the poppys down.
Umm, no, John Foreman arranged the music. Guy may have had a say in the vocal arrangements and thrown a couple of ideas in, but Mr Foreman arranged the instrumentation, which is what you get the arrangement credit for.
And no, it's not tall poppy syndrome, how many times do I have to say I think he's a talented singer. Just a wasted talent.
Originally posted by Vulture
Pussy or not, i'd say he is laughing all the way to the bank
With what? The 2 cents in each CD that is sold?
Obviously you have no idea what you're talking about so I think I will just move on.
Anyway, good luck to Guy at World Idol. I hope he does Cry Every Mountain as I think it is a better option than What a Wonderful World. Shows more of his talent.
BTW, 2 cents of every album isn't bad when you consider he has sold 300,000 copies!
Obviously you have no idea what you're talking about so I think I will just move on.
There is no clearer indicator of having no idea, than dismissing the other person as having 'no idea'.
PrideofSA
13 Dec 2003, 13:20
Sounds to me like most of you don't know much about the music industry.
Guy Sebastion is supremely talented....however he is being taken for a bit of a ride and doesn't get a whole lot of say in what he does......just listen to the debut single....whoever won was going to sing that.....and it does his talent no justice at all.
If the public doesn't get bored of him, I can't wait to see what he does in 2 to 3 or so albums time. When he has more artistic liscence I think we will see the best of him..
In the mean time he will be churning out some aweful tunes.
Milkman
13 Dec 2003, 14:37
BMG will make absolutely sure the general public is bored with him before too long. They're gonna milk this big time before the next Aussie Idol series starts. He'll probably release 3 albums within the next year alone. I'm sure album 2 was already in the works before album 1 was even released.
There is no clearer indicator of having no idea, than dismissing the other person as having 'no idea'.
Of course, how did I not see this?
Guy's contract is most definately a pretty crappy one. My cousin is in the business and saw a copy of the contract and couldn't believe the 5 album deal.
However, BMG gave him licence because they wanted the best album they could do in such little time, and with his talent, why not use it.
The contract also limits the amount of credit he receives when he rearranges other people's songs. He is allowed to do it (which he did on most tracks) but he is not allowed to get credit for it due to the royalties. They had to allow it on the 2 idol songs because the tracks were allowed to be altered for the competition and were previously released.
With these 2 songs and the fact that he wrote 3 other songs, at least Guy will make a decent enough living out of the album.
I have a friend who is in a Melbourne based group whose single reached the top ten and they pretty much received nothing. Guy knew that the contract was poor, and the only way to make a living was writing.
PrideofSA
13 Dec 2003, 14:54
Of course, how did I not see this?
Guy's contract is most definately a pretty crappy one. My cousin is in the business and saw a copy of the contract and couldn't believe the 5 album deal.
However, BMG gave him licence because they wanted the best album they could do in such little time, and with his talent, why not use it.
The contract also limits the amount of credit he receives when he rearranges other people's songs. He is allowed to do it (which he did on most tracks) but he is not allowed to get credit for it due to the royalties. They had to allow it on the 2 idol songs because the tracks were allowed to be altered for the competition and were previously released.
With these 2 songs and the fact that he wrote 3 other songs, at least Guy will make a decent enough living out of the album.
I have a friend who is in a Melbourne based group whose single reached the top ten and they pretty much received nothing. Guy knew that the contract was poor, and the only way to make a living was writing.
exactly right
PrideofSA
13 Dec 2003, 14:56
is also why the management for my band is looking overseas when the time comes to do so instead of Oz, because we simply don't have the population base to earn enough money.
mattyc2422
13 Dec 2003, 16:02
I saw Guy's video clip this morning. It's bloody awful.
BMG will make absolutely sure the general public is bored with him before too long. They're gonna milk this big time before the next Aussie Idol series starts. He'll probably release 3 albums within the next year alone. I'm sure album 2 was already in the works before album 1 was even released.
"You might get 12 days to work on that one".
"No, I'll get a long time to work on that one. I'm glad we met the deadline with this album. Next album I'll be able to write a heck of a lot"
took that from the interview milkman, dont know if you read it...maybe he might get a chance to show off his talent witha bit more time.
I hope BMG give the guy a break, hes gonna burn out pretty quick if they keep him going like this.
I know if i was the oz Idol i probably would have gone insane by now. more credit to the guy the way he carries himself.
Milkman
13 Dec 2003, 16:37
Guy will have to pay back the making of his albums and videos before he recieves a cent, if he's signed under a standard contract. All a record contract initially does is land you a massive debt, not make you wealthy. The fact that he has bugger all creative input, only puts him further up sh¡t creek. The people who own the songs make the real money. His main income would be from merchandising, so if you want to support him, buy the shirt rather than the album.
GoalsFrom50Out
13 Dec 2003, 16:46
Originally posted by de_LICA_ish18
Yeah, but, K-Mart is all the way down at Ingle Farm or the Plaza ... I'm not going there just buy my Mum something. :p
Adrian Shelton
14 Dec 2003, 19:14
Sounds like 'Bad News' and Guy have about the same deal
"I'm on 40 quid a week, what are you on?" "I'm on 11 pound 25 a week i thought the whole band were!"
I could just imagine Guy and Shannon getting stuck into each other "You've got 5 grand!!" "no i ****** spent it!" "you got *$%^^&& 5 grand!!!" *bash*punch*belt*:D
PrideofSA
15 Dec 2003, 08:40
Guy will have to pay back the making of his albums and videos before he recieves a cent, if he's signed under a standard contract. All a record contract initially does is land you a massive debt, not make you wealthy. The fact that he has bugger all creative input, only puts him further up sh¡t creek. The people who own the songs make the real money. His main income would be from merchandising, so if you want to support him, buy the shirt rather than the album.
He still gets perfomance royalties on the the album which is significantly less than writing royalties, but i heard a rumour that he has sold enough records already to have paid off the debt....anyone have any more on that?
He needs sales of about 500,000 albulms before he makes money off his recording contract.
However, he should be making a nice sum due to the writing royalties. An industry figure on one of the FM stations said somewhere around the $150,000 mark with current sales as he wrote 3 tracks and arranged 2 others.
He has also signed a deal with pepsi although I expect that he won't see a lot out of that.
Milkman
15 Dec 2003, 11:18
Originally posted by PrideofSA
He still gets perfomance royalties on the the album which is significantly less than writing royalties,
Performance royalties = bugger all. Artists make more money off t-shirt sales when on tour, than they do off the gigs themselves. If a band breaks even on tour (merchandise excluded), that's considered to be a success.
Also, it's not enough just to have helped write the songs, you actually have to OWN them to collect royalties. I doubt that Guy has enough clout at this stage to be in that position.
theGimp
15 Dec 2003, 11:44
Guy Sabastian care factor... 0.0
Anyone can manufacture talent for the ignorant audience.
Anyone heard of the wiggles.
Admittedly, they have more talent than he ever will.
PrideofSA
16 Dec 2003, 10:01
Originally posted by theGimp
Guy Sabastian care factor... 0.0
Anyone can manufacture talent for the ignorant audience.
Anyone heard of the wiggles.
Admittedly, they have more talent than he ever will.
you're not a musician are you?
theGimp
16 Dec 2003, 12:12
you're not a musician are you?
No.
Ohh the shame of it all...
I didnt know this board was for musicians only
PrideofSA
16 Dec 2003, 19:55
Originally posted by theGimp
No.
Ohh the shame of it all...
I didnt know this board was for musicians only
No ofcourse not, but by your response i could tell that you don't appreciate talent, and/or recoginse it.
theGimp
17 Dec 2003, 06:18
No ofcourse not, but by your response i could tell that you don't appreciate talent, and/or recoginse it.
So by me saying I think that Guy Sabastian is manufactured, I dont appreciate talent.
Quick Quincy Jones, there is a half price sale on at K-mart for Guy sabastian blow up dolls.