View Full Version : 2004 Buddy Draft - Allocation
blackdiamond
16 Dec 2003, 10:37
Here is the first of two Power Player Buddy Drafts, the names were pulled out of a microwave container rather than a hat, not sure if this would have influenced the result (probably would have been better microwaved).
Below you will find your project player for 2004:
Junior Burger - Adam Grocke
Sandola - Jacob Surjan
PJ Power - Josh Francou
_espoir - Jarrad Schofield
PowerGirl36 - Matthew Primus
Santos L Helper - Gavin Wanganeen
Macca19 - Adam Kingsley
footballphantom - Byron Pickett
Porthos - Damian Hardwick
Poet from Port - Matthew Bishop
Kid Dynamite! - Darryl Wakelin
Arsene Wenger - Michael Pettigrew
mic59 - Joel Patfull
Powergirl81 - Robert Forster-Knight
Nicski - Dale Ellis
Malibu#27 - Cain Ackland
Groove - Josh Carr
Eddie Woloschek - Stuart Dew
Port01 - Dean Brogan
Kaysee - Steven Salopek
Grave Danger - Toby Thurstans
Ray Nolan - Warren Tredrea
Russian - Josh Mahoney
Scott - Stuart Cochrane
chris17 - Brendon Lade
Pred - Stephen Gilham
Ford Fairlane - Jared Poulton
Eago77 - Damon White
Port 1978 - Chris Hall
Andre - Chad Cornes
dreamkillers - Peter Burgoyne
The Floodbuster - Troy Chaplin
sog35 - Domenic Cassisi
Beffery - Michael Wilson
Bresh - Wade Champion
Asgardian - Salim Hassan
crazy_big_al - Brett Montgomery
ParalowiePower - Brett Ebert
Jabsy - Luke Peel
PAfolwr - Kane Cornes
gbear - Shaun Burgoyne
rubberman - Roger James
Zombie - Brad Symes
These selections are final so I will hear no arguments, no trades are to occur. If you have any questions please address them in your post and I will try to answer them.
I will start Player Buddy Draft 2 at about 1pm, so keep an eye out if your selection is due.
Beffery
16 Dec 2003, 10:42
Fantastic work Scott!
Michael Wilson... very happy with that!
Arsene Wenger
16 Dec 2003, 10:53
was after a young fella, and i got my wish
Pettigrew to become a houselhold name on this board, and the port footy club...
go the grew
now scott is this the player we really closely follow? and stuff like u said b4 ?
Macca19
16 Dec 2003, 10:56
Originally posted by Scott
Macca19 Adam Kingsley
You cant be ****ing serious?
Im claiming this draft was RIGGED!!!! :mad: :D :(
I demand a redraft!!
Beffery
16 Dec 2003, 10:59
Originally posted by Macca19
I demand a redraft!!
I must admit, I breathed a sigh of relief and then had a small chuckle when I saw that.
Tough luck Macca :( ;)
Kid Dynamite!
16 Dec 2003, 11:05
Darryl Wakelin. Very happy with that.
We're connected to the modem at the moment since Dads computer isnt working, so only one computer is connected to the internet. Its typical, isnt it. I'll probably end up with a crap selection. :mad:
Arsene Wenger
16 Dec 2003, 11:08
scott is it possible to post the selcetion order
Russian
16 Dec 2003, 11:11
I demand a redraft!! I'd rather have him than Mahoney :rolleyes: :mad:
Paralowiepower
16 Dec 2003, 11:46
Ebbbbbbbbbeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrtttttttt :D
Sandola
16 Dec 2003, 12:01
Incredible. I have just been spending the last half hour trying (amidst the usual customer service distractions -- trying to keep up with the footy is hell in the Christmas rush) to find what I could about young Jake on the South Freo FC website. Precious little. I'll delve deeper.
But whinging is ok, right, Scott? I sure would have preferred someone a bit more ... established.
But Jake IS a future superstar!!! I'll let you know when I find out about that surname.
crazy_big_al
16 Dec 2003, 12:40
I am very happy with my pick, Monty is a good player. I am so glad i did not get ackland as that would have been a hard pill to swallow
blackdiamond
16 Dec 2003, 12:50
Originally posted by Arsene Wenger
was after a young fella, and i got my wish
Pettigrew to become a houselhold name on this board, and the port footy club...
go the grew
now scott is this the player we really closely follow? and stuff like u said b4 ?
Yes this is the player you closely follow, draft 2 is just a little bit of fun but I suppose you can keep a close eye on that player as well if you like! ;)
blackdiamond
16 Dec 2003, 12:52
I demand a redraft!!
I thought that was the most classic part of the draft.
I think we were all hoping Porthos might get him but Macca you would have been my second choice, when it comes to Kingers you think very much like me, bad luck Kingers! :D
Arsene Wenger
16 Dec 2003, 12:54
does second draft start soon?
blackdiamond
16 Dec 2003, 12:56
scott is it possible to post the selcetion order
They are in order so Junior Burger had pick 1 and Zombie had the last pick.
blackdiamond
16 Dec 2003, 12:58
does second draft start soon?
Yep, just trying to scoff down a pie at the moment. :D
Arsene Wenger
16 Dec 2003, 12:58
So we have to wait until each person sees their selection, and piks a player
so im pik 12
Unbelievable...3 rookies and I had to end up with one of them.
Oh well, I'll make the most of it. I guess my post count probably would justify rookie status anyway! :p
blackdiamond
16 Dec 2003, 13:08
So we have to wait until each person sees their selection, and piks a player
so im pik 12
Not exactly, to be fair I thought I better do another pick of the microwave container.
I don't think you will like your pick, sorry mate! :(
Porthos
16 Dec 2003, 13:09
I got Dimma! How easy is my job?
rubberman
16 Dec 2003, 15:49
Roger James :D
Hopefully will get over the groin injury and back to his best.
Might put a fiver on him for the umpires award.
Kid Dynamite!
16 Dec 2003, 16:32
Play in front, consarnit.
Originally posted by Porthos
I got Dimma! How easy is my job?
Thank goodness you got Hardwick and not me, otherwise I woud have grounds to say that the draft had been rigged, as Scott had threatened me that he would give Hardwick to me, although it would have been a little fun to bag him everyday;) :p
Joel Patfull! Oh well, I suppose he might turn out to be the next big thing.
This is what comes of daring to suggest to Scott that Kingsley may be a victim of bad press.
_espoir
16 Dec 2003, 18:38
happy with schoey! :p :D
JuniorBurger
16 Dec 2003, 20:29
Junior Burger - Adam Grocke
Dunno what you expect me too do with young Adam but I will try me best!!:D
BTW what did I do to get first pick or was it a random order?:confused:
Champion for a champion.
Get on the park, son.
Port1978
16 Dec 2003, 20:55
Originally posted by Paralowiepower
Ebbbbbbbbbeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrtttttttt :D
You bribed Scott, didn't you? Just admit it! :p
Andre - Chad Cornes
I forsee bouts of euphoria at great marks and runs mixed with liberal doses of shouting as Chad trys to milk frees and argues with the umpires.
Two simple rules to save my sanity Chad.
1) Umpires don't like you. So don't milk for frees. And if they penalise you unfairly (which admittedly they do often), just shake your head and go back to your position.
2) Don't wait till time on to turn it on.
blackdiamond
17 Dec 2003, 13:07
Originally posted by JuniorBurger
Dunno what you expect me too do with young Adam but I will try me best!!:D
BTW what did I do to get first pick or was it a random order?:confused:
Your name came out of the microwave container first and when doing the selections of the players young Adam was first as well.
_espoir
17 Dec 2003, 15:29
_espoir - Jarrad Schofield
actually someone can take him if they wont... i wont be posting on here no more...sorry mates!!
Beffery
17 Dec 2003, 15:34
Originally posted by _espoir
actually someone can take him if they wont... i wont be posting on here no more...sorry mates!!
:eek:...... :(
That's sad :(
I'll take him off your hands if you want...
Sandola
17 Dec 2003, 16:15
What, no more wonderful pix of Tredders et al? That's seriously bad news. Wozzup?
Kid Dynamite!
17 Dec 2003, 16:31
:( Is it because of work?
Russian
17 Dec 2003, 16:39
actually someone can take him if they wont... i wont be posting on here no more...sorry mates!! Schofield or Mahoney?
I'll stick with Mahoney
_espoir
17 Dec 2003, 16:51
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
:( Is it because of work?
partly... also not doing good health wise...
thank you and goodnight :)
Kid Dynamite!
17 Dec 2003, 17:44
We'll miss you around here :(
Ford Fairlane
17 Dec 2003, 19:00
I was matched with poults - that's about as easy as it gets I reckon! So here's a bit of help with Mahoney just for a bit of a challenge. A couple of articles, the first from the Herald (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,8186704%255E20322,00.html)
Port's Pie floater is Mahoney
17 December 2003 Herald Sun
Damian Barrett
PORT Adelaide may have drafted the all but forgotten Josh Mahoney yesterday as mere back-up to its stars, but the player himself is preparing for regular matches.
The drafting of Mahoney was the shock of yesterday's pre-season draft. The 26-year-old was last seen in the AFL in late 2000.
Power recruiting manager Alan Stewart said Mahoney's age was irrelevant.
"We need people who can come in and play straight away and Josh Mahoney, we are sure, has the capabilities of playing eight or 10 games for us next year," he said.
The Mahoney story should provide inspiration for all footballers playing in the VFL.
He played 19 matches with Collingwood in 1997 and 1998 as a helmet-wearing, courageous small defender, then played 11 games for Western Bulldogs in the following two seasons, had a stint with Essendon reserves before joining VFL premiership-winning Williamstown in 2003.
The helmet is now in mothballs and he re-invented himself as a midfielder/forward last season, kicking 42 goals.
Most in football thought he would never again be heard of at the elite level, but Mahoney remained confident.
"I am so grateful. Some people aren't lucky enough to get one opportunity and it's probably fair to say I'm getting a third opportunity," he said.
"I suppose it proves that if you keep performing in the VFL, clubs are looking.
"(Port) are very close to winning a premiership and my main aim is to do everything possible to create an opportunity and, if injuries come up early on, then to make the most of any chances I get.
"I just have to make sure I perform week in, week out."
The shift to Adelaide will be disruptive for Mahoney and his wife, as they are expecting a child next month.
and the second from the
Age (http://realfooty.theage.com.au/articles/2003/12/16/1071336958096.html)
Quietly, from port to Port
By Emma Quayle
December 17, 2003
Josh Mahoney had more than an inkling Port Adelaide planned to call his name at yesterday's pre-season draft, but did not want to tell too many people.
The Williamstown midfielder had talks with Port in the weeks leading up to last year's national draft. But when the club chose not to take him, and he had to explain himself to a wondering bunch of family and friends, Mahoney felt like a bit of a fool.
"I built it all up a bit last year and when it didn't happen, it was a real let-down, for me and for everyone else I'd let in on it. I didn't want to have to go through all that again and I've pretty much learnt that it doesn't matter what a club says, you're just in the mix until they call your name out," Mahoney said.
"My wife knew, this time, but she was probably the only one. I didn't even tell my parents, so the general reaction from everyone has just been shock."
In drafting Mahoney with its second choice yesterday, the Power allowed him to redefine what a "recycled" player really is. Phil Read, Ben Marsh and Paul Koulouriotis restarted their stalled careers after only a few months out of football; when Mahoney reports for pre-season, he will not have played a senior game in more than three years.
After starting out at Collingwood in 1997, Mahoney was traded to the Western Bulldogs for Tyson Lane two years later, and delisted at the end of 2000. He spent two years as a top-up player for the Essendon reserves, captaining the 2002 team, and this year helped Williamstown, his original club, win a flag.
"There's a bit of a joke going with the general manager down there, that I only have to spend a year at Williamstown and I'll get drafted," he said. "I played there in 1996 and got drafted to Collingwood. And now this."
The move to Adelaide, though, will not be a simple one. The 26-year-old has a job, as a medical representative for a pharmaceutical company, that he must leave behind. His wife, Kellie, is expecting the couple's first child in late January.
That the Power seemed so keen means the thought of moving is not a sudden one. Still, yesterday was something of a shock.
"It's a big move. It's our whole life we have to move over there, but I've been really lucky that Kellie has been so supportive of me and known that I've had this burning desire to play AFL again," Mahoney said.
"We've been together since before I got drafted to Collingwood, so she's been through all the highs and lows of being drafted and delisted and traded.
"I'd pretty much resigned myself to the fact that maybe my dream of playing AFL footy was over, and now this is a chance to try and start it all again."
Now here's a guy who's been through three clubs already, hasn't played footy at the highest level for 3 years, has been through the disappointment of being on some sort of promise last year to be drafted and missing out, is leaving behind a job and bringing an eight month pregnant wife to Adelaide to pursue his dream. Now he's copped a bit of sh*tcanning since he was drafted yesterday, but I reckon a guy who can take those knocks and is prepared to make those sacrifices on a pretty skinny promise deserves all the support Port supporters can give him.
Ray Nolan
17 Dec 2003, 20:01
Ray Nolan - Warren Tredrea
Bonus!
PAfolwr
17 Dec 2003, 21:10
I'll have to deal with all those whinging Collingwood supporters on an even more regular basis. :D
Paralowiepower
17 Dec 2003, 21:33
From one Paralowie resident to another, hope you get better _espoir
blackdiamond
17 Dec 2003, 22:45
_espoir you can still keep your player for the time being at least until we find another regular poster, as stated before we all have a player by random and this is the way it should stay.
Im hoping your circumstances will change, its been good having you around, get well soon!
Santos L Helper
18 Dec 2003, 13:19
Wangas!!
Am willing to talk trade, but the offer better be a beauty.
PAfolwr
18 Dec 2003, 18:14
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
...Am willing to talk trade, but the offer better be a beauty.
Hmmm..............Betheras and a draft pick? :)
Santos L Helper
19 Dec 2003, 01:31
Originally posted by PAfolwr
Hmmm..............Betheras and a draft pick? :)
:)
Kid Dynamite!
19 Dec 2003, 20:22
If it's allowed, would Russian be willing to trade Mahoney for Wakelin? I'm really warming to him.
blackdiamond
19 Dec 2003, 22:26
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
If it's allowed, would Russian be willing to trade Mahoney for Wakelin? I'm really warming to him.
No, a rule is a rule.
Sandola
20 Dec 2003, 09:40
Unless it's a ruck rule.
PowerGirl36
20 Dec 2003, 20:04
Primus is too easy...oh well that's probably a good thing.
blackdiamond
21 Dec 2003, 12:47
Sandola
Jacob Surjan's love slave
Classic, if we could all have a little saying about our Buddy Player#1 under our name that would be fantastic.
Good stuff Sandola! :D
Sandola
21 Dec 2003, 13:24
I'll be changing that to something more sober as the year wears on....
What is a Stephen Gilham? Some strange variety of sea-bird?
power_goddess
25 Dec 2003, 10:08
I'm willing to take Stuey Cochrane!!!
blackdiamond
25 Dec 2003, 10:57
Originally posted by power_goddess
I'm willing to take Stuey Cochrane!!!
He mine, all mine!
But one can be bribed, make it good! :D