View Full Version : THE LIST - RATED...what do you think??

tigermania
20 Dec 2003, 11:25
1.Coghlan - best for the last 2 years
2.Brown - on Bulldogs form
3.Richardson - one of few matchwinners in the side
4.Ottens -good late season form
5.Johnson - potential top 3
6.Campbell - getting long in the tooth
7.Gasper - best defender in the league
8.Tivendale - one of the new leaders of the club
9.A Kellaway - highly under-rated
10.Chaffey - see Tivendale
11.Stafford -stiff to miss top 10
12.Newman - most improved top 10 next year
13.Bowden - can be much better
14.Zantuck -much improved
15.Krakouer - can be higher
16.Rodan - see Krakouer
17.Fiora - should be top 10 dissapointing
18.D Kellaway - great servant
19.Hall - over-rated
20.Blumfield - can be hugher if injury free
21.Hilton - last chance
22.Morrison - should make starting line-up
23.Fleming - hard worker no skills
24.Marsh - handy back-up
25.Shultz - can be higher given the chance
26.Fletcher - can be the surprise packet
27.Houlihan - which Houlihan will come out to play
28.Rogers - ready for pension
29.Pettifer - biggest dissappointment at the club
30.Nicholls - how did he escape the cull
31.Hyde - see Nicholls
32.Gilmore - best of the young guns
33.Tuck - unknown talent
34.Weller - see Tuck
35.Hartigan
36.Archibald
37.Roach
38.Jackson
39.Raines

kretchy
20 Dec 2003, 11:54
Pretty much the same as I'd have, except for Schulz probably a few spots higher. Richo probably a bit lower although I agree he is one of our few matchwinners but his negatives mean I wouldn't rate him at three but I'd still have him somewhere in the top 10.

Weaver
20 Dec 2003, 11:59
1. Ottens - a good big man is better than a great small.
2. Campbell - we win when he plays.
3. Johnson - the hearbeat of the team.
4. Coughlan - rising superstar.
5. Bowden - frustrating, but few as talented.
6. Brown - if his mind is right.
7. Gasper - best man-on-man defender.
8. Tivendale - almost only game-breaker in squad.
9. A Kellaway - very solid, and better when Gas is around.
10. Richardson - bully who likes things easy.
11. Stafford - leadership and toughness, nice pointy elbows.
12. Blumfield - a receiver, but a classy one.
13. Newman - only 2nd to Coughlan as generation next.
14. Chaffey - plays well but is a luxury in the BP.
15. Fiora - skill, pace and flair and beginning to put it all together.
16. D Kellaway - tough sould of the club.
17. Zantuck - could well be our new FF/
18. Morrison - talented CHF prospect with great apprenticeship.
19. Shultz - genuine blue-chip prospect, more a 2005 talent.
20. Tuck - utility who should be the find of the season.
21. Krakouer - talented and ready to prove it.
22. Houlihan - great skill, needs a good team to give him the ball.
23. Fletcher - honest tagger.
24. Hall - works hard and team-oriented. Not a ruck or KP though.
25. Hilton - enough talent if he gets fit.
26. Rogers - no skill, still can contribute.
27. Rodan - all sizzle, no sausage.
28. Marsh - career back-up.
29. Gilmour - good prospect, not this year though.
30. Fleming - just honest and tough.
31. Pettifer - poor confidence, poor fitness, OK skill.
32. Weller - handy 4th defender.
33. Foley - genuine rover, could force his way in for 2005.
33. Nicholls - some skill, but never been fit.
34. Dragcevic - talented but reduced to hobbling about.
35. Archibald - mobile big flanker who needs to learn the game.
36. Roach - classy but has to up the tempo.
37. Hyde - can't kick even if he can get it.
38. Hartigan - honest toiler, jack of all trades - master of none.
39. Jackson - good athlete, needs a footy tutor.
40. Moore - good athlete, still very raw.
41. Raines - light, receiver, wingman.

tigermania
20 Dec 2003, 12:51
Thanks for your thoughts Weaver & kretchy

Any-one else?????

Pirate
20 Dec 2003, 14:20
1.Campbell - most under-rated player in AFL
2.Ottens - ready to roar
3.Coughlan -
4.Richo - still vital despite his flaws. A match-winner.
5.Brown
6.Johnson
7. Gaspar
8.Bowden - more valuable than many people think
9.A. Kellaway - most admired
10.Stafford
11.Tivendale
12.Chaffey
13.Zantuck
14.Newman - has a lot of admirers, but I still want more
15.Blumfield
16.Krakouer - expecting 40 goals in 2004
17.D.Kellaway - injuries the problem, but still a champion if fit
18.Fiora - improving;will show us something in 2004
19.Rodan - thought he'd be further advanced by now
20.Hilton - when fit and confident will be handy
21Hall - needs to play 22+ games in a row
22Rogers - still handy,experienced, but too spasmodic
23Morrison - unproven
24Schulz - will be very good, but don't expect too much yet
25Houlihan - talented yet unreliable
26.Hyde - I've changed my mind;now I think he can be handy;great endurance.Too light and small.
27.Marsh -wait and see
28Fletcher - could be servicable
29Tuck - I'm tipping he could surprise us and be a regular in the starting line-up
30Pettifer - last chance.Larke medallist who needs to grow up
31Fleming - great attitude, low on speed and skill
32Weller - time will tell;apparently has good approach
33Nicholls - goodbye Mr.Nicholls
34Gilmour
35Jackson
36Moore
37Roach
38Foley
39Hartigan
40Raines
41Archibald

CJH
20 Dec 2003, 20:48
1. Ottens - If anyone doubts that a ruckman can be the most influential on the field, just watch a replay of this years grand final again. Both Ottens and Coughlan are Brownlow material.
2. Coughlan - One of the premier midfielders in the Comp. May well be a once in a generation player like Voss.
3. Johnson - Sheer class in the middle.
4. Campbell - We fell away in 2003 because of injury taking the head of our leadership. His influence as a leader is as inmportant as his football.
5. Gasper - Leader and defensive general.
6. Brown - A gilt edged freak.
7. Tivendale - A much more rounded player now.
8. Richardson - A tease but is very hard to match up on. He is his own worst opponent.
9. Stafford - Crucial to our structure.
10. Fiora - Has the pace to break the game apart. Could be Lappin-like.
11. Bowden - A tease as well. Should be an AA player but hasn't put it together.
12. Chaffey - Ballast for the team.
13. A Kellaway - Hard and versatile defender.
14. Blumfield - MIssed on fitnes last year but has the class.
15. Newman - I likened him to Andrew McKay when I first saw him play and have not seen anything to make me change my mind. Excellent driver in heavy traffic.
16. Zantuck - Has the ability to find the ball up forward (a rare skill) and also plays tall in defence.
17. Morrison - I've not seen him play but understand the reason for him being brought into the team. Structurally important.
18. Krakouer - .Now should have the fitness and strength to compete at the top level. Has more skill in his fingernail than most player will accrue in a lifetime. Needs to put it all together.
19. Houlihan - A classic player for Starvation Corner! Play him on the HFF and give him licence to do clever stuff.
20.odan - Has the ability to take the ball from in tight and break play open with pace from a standing start. Needs to get more of the ball and use it properly. Backup for the 'A' midfield team.
21. Fleming - Either him or Fletcher as the defensive midfielders. Fleming gets the nod at this stage because of how well he did last year. Close thing though.
22. Hall - A utility who can be used in a versatile manner. Best suited to being a 'follower'. Still built too much like a high jumper to be a centre square ruck. Another player crucial to our structure.
23. Hilton - Miller wanted Solomon - a 188 cm 90+ kg half back flanker. Hilton has all the attributes to be a Solomon but needs to put it together.
24. Fletcher - Depth player. Will be used as a defensive midfielder.
25. Tuck - Not a walk up start into the best 22 but should be pressing for a midfield berth straight away. May push past Fleming and Fletcher.
26. Weller - Defence depth player.
27 Shulz - Developing KPP player. Will have some opportunities for cameo roles.
29. D Kellaway - Big Question mark over his body. Will be higher if he stays fit. May be the his last year.
30. Rogers - Depth midfielder.
31. Marsh - .Depth ruckman
32. Nicholls - Depth midfielder.
33. Pettifer - Has all the skill but is not right between the ears. Surely on his last chance.
34. Moore - The one most likely to be first promoted off the rookie list. This will depend on how much the defensive depth is tested.
35. Gilmour - .
36. Roach - .
37. Jackson - .
38. Hartigan - .
39. Raines -
40. Archibald - .
41. Foley - .
42. Dragcevic - Good luck to him. If he can revive his agility, he may yet still be a good player for us.
43. Hyde - A poor man's Greg Tivendale. I still have visions of the 2002 preliminary final where he has run into an open goal and missed from point blank range. Would have put us in front with only minutes remaining. Cost a GF berth.

I really can't rate any of the 17 year old kids we've drafted because I've never seen them play. In fairness, not a lot is expected of them next year. It is good to see a whole heap of them developing at the one time.

LC_15
21 Dec 2003, 07:20
One thing hit upon is Zanners potential FF material.

I dont think he could be a permanent full forward. But he has shown that he can be swung down there for goals. (As long as they are crossed from someone doing a beckham :), how many times as he done the off the boot thing :) ) .

I thin zantuck is a good defensive player. I also think his kicking improved this year. Would like to know his Clangers from last year and the year before...

LC

CJH
21 Dec 2003, 11:14
Zantuck has the happy knack of being able to find the ball up forward. He is quick on the lead, has some flair to make an impossible goal and is built like a tank. If he could also add high marking into his reporte then he could end up being Modra-like.

Modra himself was an unheralded youngster and didn't even make a dint at AFL level until he was 24.

If the forward line contained Richo and Stafford, Zantuck would only get the 3rd defender who would probably be too good for him.

bionicsasquach
21 Dec 2003, 15:08
Originally posted by tigermania
1.Coghlan - best for the last 2 years
2.Brown - on Bulldogs form
3.Richardson - one of few matchwinners in the side
4.Ottens -good late season form
5.Johnson - potential top 3
6.Campbell - getting long in the tooth
7.Gasper - best defender in the league
8.Tivendale - one of the new leaders of the club
9.A Kellaway - highly under-rated
10.Chaffey - see Tivendale
11.Stafford -stiff to miss top 10
12.Newman - most improved top 10 next year
13.Bowden - can be much better
14.Zantuck -much improved
15.Krakouer - can be higher
16.Rodan - see Krakouer
17.Fiora - should be top 10 dissapointing
18.D Kellaway - great servant
19.Hall - over-rated
20.Blumfield - can be hugher if injury free
21.Hilton - last chance
22.Morrison - should make starting line-up
23.Fleming - hard worker no skills
24.Marsh - handy back-up
25.Shultz - can be higher given the chance
26.Fletcher - can be the surprise packet
27.Houlihan - which Houlihan will come out to play
28.Rogers - ready for pension
29.Pettifer - biggest dissappointment at the club
30.Nicholls - how did he escape the cull
31.Hyde - see Nicholls
32.Gilmore - best of the young guns
33.Tuck - unknown talent
34.Weller - see Tuck
35.Hartigan
36.Archibald
37.Roach
38.Jackson
39.Raines
Pretty bloody good, xcept:
Hilton (Lower)
Schulz (Higher)
Krakouer (Lower, but with much potentiol)

CJH
21 Dec 2003, 18:27
Originally posted by Weaver

13. Newman - only 2nd to Coughlan as generation next.

Possibly a midfield role for Newman this year?

22. Houlihan - great skill, needs a good team to give him the ball.

Classic definition of a receiver!

27. Rodan - all sizzle, no sausage.

Ouch!

jk_shredder
21 Dec 2003, 18:49
1. Campbell - we really missed him this year.
2. Gaspar - we fell apart after his knees did.
3. Coughlan - one of the few positives of 2003.
4. Johnson - lethal when injury free
5. Ottens - he just rules!!
6. Chaffey - a real hard nut
7. Stafford - I feel better when he is in the team.
8. Richardson - which Richo will come out to play. Only person who can beat him is himself.
9. Tivendale - improved a lot but need to improve his decision making in regards to disposals.
10. Nathan Brown - the great white hope!
11. Blumfield - needs a solid pre season to really fire in 2004 and should do so.
12. Rodan - will improve more but an excitement machine nonetheless.
13. Andrew Kellaway - very much under rated.
14. Duncan Kellaway - its sad to say this but 'the glove' needs a decent 2004 to keep playing.
15. Joel Bowden - most gifted but frustrating player in the team. No right side.
16. Ray Hall - one of the few 'talls' who is not afraid to tackle. Will improve.
17. Krakouer - having Brown in the team will do him good.
18. Fiora - poor decidion making cost us a match (v Carlton), lots of talent needs to improve his disposals.
19. Newman - will be better in 2004
20. Zantuck - talk that he will move forward a bit more in 2004. Will be very good to watch.
21. Morrison - inclusion will improve the team.
22. Marsh - might struggle to get a game unless there is some injuries to our talls.
23. Shultz - will improve if he gets more game time
24. Pettifer - last chance
25. Fletcher - might be a surprise
26. Fleming - need to play the ball and not the man.
27. Nicholls - last chance
28. Houlihan - why is he still on the list?
29. Tuck - could be another surprise packet.
30 Rogers - should have retired at the end of 2003.
31 Hyde - need to improve - A LOT!!

The rest of the team are a complete mystery which should see the light of the day when the season starts.

CJH
21 Dec 2003, 19:24
Originally posted by jk_shredder

26. Fleming - need to play the ball and not the man.

In reality, he only once cleaned up a player unfairly - that was Nick Riewoldt which ultimately ended Fleming's season. Now he has a reputation as a hit man; a thug; a head case.

This is only a good thing!!!!

We all know he lacks any great skill but having a few players in the team that the opposition are wary of is something that we need (Stafford being the other obvious candidate) Even their mere presence near the ball means the opposition are even just a little bit cautious which means there game is reduced slightly.

jk_shredder
21 Dec 2003, 20:00
Originally posted by CJH
In reality, he only once cleaned up a player unfairly - that was Nick Riewoldt which ultimately ended Fleming's season. Now he has a reputation as a hit man; a thug; a head case.

This is only a good thing!!!!

We all know he lacks any great skill but having a few players in the team that the opposition are wary of is something that we need (Stafford being the other obvious candidate) Even their mere presence near the ball means the opposition are even just a little bit cautious which means there game is reduced slightly.

I distinctly remember watching the Richmond v Collingwood game when he decided to smash half the Collingwood team (its not a bad thing, I know), he was reported for which he got off it also resulted in lots of free kicks against us and we were done after the first quarter. Its not all his fault but he just needs to improve that part of the game. As a result of that game, however, after the game the umpires paid closer attention to him and he was suspended the next time he was caught. He is a hard nut and a nice guy but he needs to be hard at the ball NOT the man.

jeab
21 Dec 2003, 20:04
ALL ****:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Richmondfan#1
21 Dec 2003, 21:24
I'm only doing the guys that were on our last year, and I put Brown in there as I know a bit more about him than the other newbies.

1. Ottens
2. Coughlan
3. Campbell
4. Johnson
5. Richardson
6. Gaspar
7. Brown
8. Tivendale
9. Stafford
10. Chaffey
11. Bowden
12. Blumfield
13. Zantuck
14. A. Kellaway
15. Rodan
16. Fiora
17. Newman
18. Hall
19. Krakouer
20. Hilton
21. Schultz
22. D. Kellaway
23. Houlihan
24. Fleming
25. Nicholls
26. Rogers
27. Hyde
28. Dragicevic
29. Pettifer
30. Moore.

keatings_gal
21 Dec 2003, 22:33
1. Morrison
2. Weller
3. Raines
4. Schultz

WOO HOO.... all our faves up here.... morro is a champ & im happy that you all pretty much rated him highly & listed him as an important inclusion to the team coz i reckon he will be... so many ppl here in brisbane didnt respect him for the good work that he did & he is a very loyal player... after a reserves game that we lost in the finals ( we werent even out yet) he left the ground crying & said sorry to me & my friends coz he said they were that bad (& they werent... we jsut didnt have many of our own players that day)

Weller... another of the sweetest guys u will ever meet... family pedigree is good here in QLD... his father was a ruckman for Windsor/Zillmere & his uncle owns/runs NOrthern Eagles ( the new state league club formed from the old windsor/zillmere... his mum is a runner for the 18s there & does the umpiring for their games as well.. & his younger brother jake is just about the crash onto the scene... jake who is probably already taller that Luke played his 1st year in the 18s this year & ended up playing senior footy for the eagles... will play alot more & will no doubtedly be in the state squad for next year if he keeps it up....

both were key defenders for most of their time with the lions however Morro was used all around the ground during the past year & it was great watching him bagging a few goals while running forward.. morrison & weller can also be used in the ruck if necessary... that is one of the beauties of playing under a coach like Craig Brittan.. he knows that players will get a game easier in the seniors if they can play anywhere on the ground not just a set position so this holds these boys in great stead for their football futures....

Raines... i was so proud when the little bloke got drafted to you guys... we have seen him grow even over the course of a year of two into what is quickly becoming a great footballer... he still has a long way to go dont get me wrong im not expecting miracles overnight but i know with a lil bit of nurturing that he will have a bright future @ your club... we got to know him while he was just coming to watch his "big" (evben though hes shorter than andy) brother play for the lions reserves & the strangest thing happened coz after the GF we were walking through the park @ the MCG & saw him there.. of all ppl to see.... but lil andrew raines.. i was like.. OMG.... how cool is it to see you here... nick is a bit forgetful @ the best of times so i kinda had to know when andrew was playing... especially when he was playing in the state side just so i could let nick know.. LOL...

& Schultz... he trained with us alongside his lil mate Byron schammer a couple of years back as part of the AIS program & they were both really great kids & yeah Jay's cousin or brother lives in qld....well he did when jay was training with us...

keatings_gal
21 Dec 2003, 22:34
hey do u know what numbers all those guys are wearing yet?

CJH
22 Dec 2003, 06:26
Originally posted by keatings_gal
hey do u know what numbers all those guys are wearing yet?

16. Morrison
25. Schulz (still wearing Benny's old number from last year)
30. Weller
38. Raines (Possibly will be given his fathers #4 once Rogers retires)

tiger of old
22 Dec 2003, 14:01
1-Ottens: time is ripe for otto to become the most dominate bigman in the game.
2-Campbell: i concur with all about cambo,s influrence on gameday.surely one of the most underated capts in the comp.
3-Johnson: cogs may take the "fan Fair"[rightly so mind you]however johnson,s leadership quality,s and the deflection factor makes him a vital cog[pardon the punt] in the development of the likes of cogs,newman etc.
4-Coughlan: no doubt this kid has what it takes and will one day be a worthy capt of the club.
5-Brown: not since john pitura has a "recruited player"come to the club with such high expectations on him.i have no doubt brown will cope with such expectations and thrive.he has the talent.
6-Gasper: like cambo when gas fell down we fell down.his importance to the backline is in the irreplacable bracket.
7-Stafford: our 2nd most important bigman behind otto.both players have onething in common.they both can be damaging in the ruck or up fwd.
8-A.kellaway: one of the most respected players in the comp from within and outside.no task is never to small.
9-Richo: taken out of the leadership role pretty much sums up richo,s standing at the club.no longer is he the be all end all type.like cjh said richo is his own worst enemy and a lepord never changes its spots.dont get me wrong richo is vital to the side however we are now in post richo mode.
10-Newman: an outstanding kid who has grown in the past 2yrs.
11-Chaffey: probally our most consistant player over the past 2 yrs.has finally reached his potential.
12-Blumfield: has the talent just needs luck on his side when it comes to injury.s.
13-Krakour: time to put that talent to work.make 2004 your year lad.
14-Tivendale: excellent year by tivers.if he can continue well that another question.still to one-sided for my liking.
15-Bowden: should be in the top 3 on talent alone.perhaps thats the problem.
16-Zantuck: the Bull of the side.wont ever shirk an issue.would fit in well in the hafey sides of the 60,s onwards.
17-Morrison: a tad hard without seeing the kid play however i can see him taking over from holland,s role at the club.
18-Rodan: i love his attitude of taking anyone on.however like some have stated what you see rodan of today is what you will see tomorrow.
19-Rogers: in his twiglight of his career but still can be a valuable contributor.
20-Hall: a circus clown beckons after his football days are over:D.on football matters i cant reallysee any wothwhile improvement in him.
21-Fiora: very much like hall and rodan.has been in the system lomg enough to show his talent and has failed to deliver.
22-fleming: honest goer at best.
23-Schultz: his status will no doubt improve as the years go on.
24-Marsh: while he will always play 3rd fiddle to staff and otto his place on the list will be vital should injury set upon otto or staff.no more vardy types in the ruck.
25-Houlihan: has the talent but not the application.
26-Hilton: same as houlihan.
27-Nichols: injury phrone.
D.kellaway: same as nichols.however a great servant to the club who should really had retired.
29-Petiffer: get a heart lad.
30-Fletcher: didnt know back then and i still dont.why was he selected?
of the rest i have not seen therfore not fair to rate at this stage.

cheers!

One-eyed Tiger
22 Dec 2003, 18:09
Sorry guys I find it way too difficult to rank our entire list, especially when I haven't seen some of the list play. Will try this instead:

OUR BEST - Nuff said
Campbell
Johnson
Ottens
Cogs
Richo
Brown
Gas

SOLID 2nd TIER
Staff
A.Kellaway
Chaff
Tiv
Newman
Zantuck

POTENTIAL - Talented but not doing enough
*Bowden
*Krak
*Blumfield
*Rodan
*Fiora
*Hilton

ON THE FRINGE - could be a couple who surprise here but more than likely not.
D.Kellaway - last season, not sure how useful he'll be. May share tagging duties with Fleming/Fletcher. Wish him well.
Rogers - last season, depth player, if named hopefully only as a permanent small forward. Will at least compete hard to keep ball in FWD line.
*Fleming - because we lack tough nuts there is still a spot for Fleming. Should be a better player with the benefit of having an AFL season under the belt. Hope we don't try and make him into a tagger because his attack on the ball is fantastic. Get him busting open those packs.
*Hyde - have never been a fan but finally seen some promising signs in him towards end of season. Along with Hall, my tip to be biggest surprise packet.
*Hall - Cops heaps but I believe he has the athleticism to be a decent spoiling Backman. Doesn't go to ground easily and stronger than he looks.
*Nicholls - could go either way, a proper preseason will at least enable him to give it his best shot. At least puts his body on the line which is more than I can say about the next 2!
Houlihan - skillful but lacking heart, won't change! His type are not tolerated by Matthews and Malthouse so why should we tolerate them?
Pettifer - skillful but lacking heart, and fitness. Won't change. Don't expect him to be any different in what could be his last AFL season. Will have to really pull something out of the bag to stay at Richmond after 2004.

X-FACTOR - All being given a 2nd chance. Who will use it?
*Morrison - the great white hope, I think a few have over-rated him. Be happy if he can just provide a contest at CHF and hold his own keeping the ball in the area and bringing the ball to ground for crumbers.
*Tuck - sounds like a play anywhere Mr. Fixit.
*Weller - hear on the grapevine he is a bit of a hard nut. Hope so.
Marsh - backup for Staff and Otto only.
Fletcher - occasional skill blunders but endeavour and courage good. Good backup.

KIDS - can't comment on what I haven't seen
*Shulz - didn't expect him to play in 2003, and given our recruiting see him spending more time at Coburg in 2004, unless he starts banging the door down. Very promising.
Gilmour
Hartigan
Roach
Jackson
Raines
Archibald

All in all I believe success in 2004 season will be greatly dictated by how well our fringe players perform and also if some of the usual suspects deliver on their potential. The players I have "asterisked" are the ones I'm expecting to show something in 2004.

Expecting to get shot down on Hall, Hyde and Nicholls, but at least they have a crack which is why I'd prefer them to Houlihan and Pettifer.

Fingers crossed for an injury free preseason so that the entire list can give it their best shot in 2004.

Pirate
22 Dec 2003, 19:19
[QUOTE]Originally posted by One-eyed Tiger
[
*Hyde - have never been a fan but finally seen some promising signs in him towards end of season.
I feel the same. Also, agree with your comments on Morrison ie he's the great white hope, and may be over-rated.

keatings_gal
22 Dec 2003, 23:27
16. Morrison
25. Schulz (still wearing Benny's old number from last year)
30. Weller
38. Raines (Possibly will be given his fathers #4 once Rogers retires)

thanks matey

Rodan#18.
25 Dec 2003, 18:12
Originally posted by CJH
Fleming... he lacks any great skill

ok he might not get a game with Brisbane, that's why he's a Tiger...but I've seen him hit packs, take grabs and hit targets by hand and foot. Not too long ago we needed more flemings, not less.

As for Rodan ...you're all stupid. ;)

Dog Town
25 Dec 2003, 18:41
Originally posted by Weaver
1. Ottens - a good big man is better than a great small.
2. Campbell - we win when he plays.
3. Johnson - the hearbeat of the team.
4. Coughlan - rising superstar.
5. Bowden - frustrating, but few as talented.
6. Brown - if his mind is right.
You are all in for a very pleasant suprise.If played in his best position for a year Browns in the top 10 players in the comp no contest.It hurts me to say it but your going to have a top notch midfield this season.

wrennyboy
25 Dec 2003, 21:02
Well thank you very much for that mate. Its good to hear some good signs going into 2004. Go browny and kick some goals in 2004

wrennyboy
30 Dec 2003, 21:43
Keatings_gal might i just add thank you so much for that lil info on those players. Its good to see a brisbane supporter likening our choices. Um can you please Give me a summary of their form in 2003 for their state side (brisbane reserves) and just tell me what those players are capable of etc like kicking long range goals or taking spekkies. Thanks and the longer the summary the better i liked reading ur one before :p

And can u please make sure u add the following:
Overhead Marking/Marking in general
Onfield kicking/Kicking on the run/Set shot goals
Decision Making
Leadership
Passion
What there capable of
Have they been in a biff before and do they show heart?

Thanks Keatings gal

itsintheblood
31 Dec 2003, 08:06
Originally posted by kretchy
Pretty much the same as I'd have, except for Schulz probably a few spots higher. Richo probably a bit lower although I agree he is one of our few matchwinners but his negatives mean I wouldn't rate him at three but I'd still have him somewhere in the top 10.

It's a real shame richo will be remembered for his on field tantrums rather than the great player he could have been. So much talent but no brains. Hopefully he'll finally match the year he kicked 90 goals and really shut his critics up.

essnickess
31 Dec 2003, 15:43
Originally posted by CJH
43. Hyde - A poor man's Greg Tivendale. I still have visions of the 2002 preliminary final where he has run into an open goal and missed from point blank range. Would have put us in front with only minutes remaining. Cost a GF berth.
one time. 2002?

One-eyed Tiger
3 Jan 2004, 14:39
Originally posted by essnickess
2002?

2002 VFL Preliminary Final.

CJH
3 Jan 2004, 16:50
Originally posted by One-eyed Tiger
2002 VFL Preliminary Final.

Ah yeah! Thanks for clearing that up! Was a bit too ambigious!