View Full Version : Tigers right in the hunt for 2004 . . .

CJH
21 Dec 2003, 11:17
Tigers right in the hunt for 2004 . . .
Sean Callander
richmondfc.com.au
10:28:49 AM Fri 19 December, 2003

When Tiger fans sat down to dissect 2003, there was a common theme in all discussions – it was time for change.

The actions of the football department reflected this desire, and over the past two months the Club conducted one of its most aggressive recruiting campaigns for many years.

So, when lists were finalised after the national rookie draft, there could be few complaints. Only Carlton turned over more players than Richmond during the 2003 trade/draft period.

Slowly, but surely, the gloom that set in after that agonising Round 22 four-point loss to Hawthorn, and the 13th-place finish in the 2003 season, is lifting.

It's not, however, the normal blind optimism that often consumes fans during the summer months.

There’s a quiet confidence -- almost unspoken -- among Tiger fans. We all know what needs to be done, and the pieces are falling into place.

The earliest, and best, indicator is membership sales. They’re ticking along nicely, always a positive sign that supporters have faith in the direction the Club is heading.

And there’s every reason to have faith.

Director of Football, Greg Miller, signalled the Club’s intention of snaring a big-name player during the trade period. There was none bigger than Bulldog excitement machine Nathan Brown. In 2004, he will pull on the No. 7 Yellow and Black guernsey.

Last year, the Tigers' tumble down the ladder coincided with injuries to star players such as skipper Wayne Campbell, key defender Darren Gaspar and big man Brad Ottens.

It’s tough to address depth issues in a single draft/trade period, but Richmond certainly appears far better placed heading into 2004 after securing the services of a number of ready-made senior players.

Brown is the standout. A player of rare talent, he has been the most productive small forward in the competition during the past two years. But Brown’s time on the Tiger forward line is likely to be limited, as he has been earmarked for a midfield role.

Brisbane pair Shane Morrison and Luke Weller will also be firmly in the mix for senior football after lingering on the verge at the Gabba in recent years. Both are desperate for the chance to show their wares. Morrison, in particular, has key position written all over him. He’s a top pick-up.

Former Blue, Simon Fletcher, is also raring to go and show that he still has what it takes to contribute at the elite level.

Ben Marsh is another handy acquisition. The Tiger big man stocks were stretched with Ottens, Hall, Stafford and Holland all sidelined at some stage during 2003. Squeezed out in Adelaide behind Clarke and Biglands, Marsh will be out to show the Crows that he still has something to offer.

Shane Tuck is the 'smokey'. He could prove the surprise-pack selection of the 2003 National AFL Draft. The son of the Hawk legend would love a shot at senior league footy after showing plenty of promise in SA with West Adelaide. A real hard nut, Tuck’s number 21 Tiger jumper could become a common sight around the ball and at the bottom of the pack . . .

The Club has also made a substantial investment in the future. Look out for the names Alex Gilmour, Daniel Jackson, Brent Hartigan and Kyle Archibald down the road. And what Tiger fan isn’t stirred to see the names Roach (Tom) and Raines (Andrew) back on the playing list!

Another important factor to consider is that Richmond will enter the 2004 season a whole lot stronger than it did in 2003, with few long-term injury worries.

Campbell and Gaspar remain on track for a Round 1 return, while Duncan Kellaway is enjoying an injury-free run and wants to remind everyone of his value to the side in 2004.

Justin Blumfield is another enjoying a productive pre-season and looking for an end to the injury woes that beset his debut season at Punt Road. The prospect of Blumfield returning to the form he displayed in the 2000 Grand Final with the Bombers is tantalising.

The Club has already laid its cards on the table to some extent – Richo will be at full- forward, Ottens to ruck, Stafford will sneak forward and Hall in defence.

Enough words have been written about 'Richo' to fill a book. Let’s not add to them, we’d just all love to see the big fella back to his best.

Despite the team's lowly finish in '03, it wasn’t all doom and gloom. Mark Coughlan showed he is the real deal and, alongside Kane Johnson, gave the Tigers the hard-edged midfield combo we’ve sought for years.

Chris Newman could follow in Coughlan’s footsteps next season. The Club’s 'Rising Star' in 2003, Newman really grasped his opportunity and he'll add another dimension to the midfield mix in '04.

Throw in Greg Tivendale, coming off his best season yet, and Joel Bowden, and there should be no shortage of supply for the forwards.

Another shining light in 2003 was Ty Zantuck. Alongside Andy Kellaway, he grabbed the chance to take a senior role in defence in the long-term absence of Gaspar. He’ll be no less important to the Tigers’ 2004 plans.

It makes interesting reading, doesn’t it?

Most pundits will have the Tigers finishing in the bottom four (just wait and see).

But make no mistake -- we are well in the hunt. We need a bit of luck with injuries -- no doubt about it -- but the pieces are in place.

If you haven't done so already, 'Make your Blood Oath for 2004' because I reckon it's going to be an exciting ride . . .

CJH
21 Dec 2003, 11:22
While it is a bit of a sugary puff-piece, there is no doubt that the optimism (ROID's) expressed is being felt by almost all of us.

froars
21 Dec 2003, 12:26
With the exception of one (come in Diggles), i think we're all glad to see the changes.

mcgarnacle
25 Dec 2003, 10:30
top 4 in '04, anything less & i'll be p*ssed.

Rodan#18.
27 Dec 2003, 08:03
Originally posted by CJH
Tigers right in the hunt for 2004 . . .
Sean Callander
richmondfc.com.au
10:28:49 AM Fri 19 December, 2003

this guy any relation to that old property steward, Charlie wasn't it ?

Cogs is a gun
29 Dec 2003, 00:56
Originally posted by mcgarnacle
top 4 in '04, anything less & i'll be p*ssed.

Better get yourself ready to be p*ssed because unless we do what sydney did we won't make the top four.

utility
29 Dec 2003, 04:01
Originally posted by CJH
If you haven't done so already, 'Make your Blood Oath for 2004' because I reckon it's going to be an exciting ride . . .

Sounds a lot like Malcolm Blight when he signed as coach of St Kilda. :p

diggler
30 Dec 2003, 21:50
Another year of false optimism at tigerland.
Same old script with a few new names added.
As I've said previously, our list is woeful. Yes a bit of new talent has been added, but its mixing with the most underachieving band of incompetant losers in the AFL.
The only truth in that article is that most experts say Richmond will finish bottom 4!

Pirate
30 Dec 2003, 22:57
Your hand is still on it, diggler.

itsintheblood
31 Dec 2003, 08:20
Originally posted by diggler
Another year of false optimism at tigerland.
Same old script with a few new names added.
As I've said previously, our list is woeful. Yes a bit of new talent has been added, but its mixing with the most underachieving band of incompetant losers in the AFL.
The only truth in that article is that most experts say Richmond will finish bottom 4!

I think our depth and backline are still causes for concern but I wouldnt say our list was woeful. I'd classify Melbourne's list as woeful. I'm disappointed we didnt cull nichols and fleming and possibly pettifer as I think these guys simply aren't up to AFL standard. I think D.Kellaway should have retired. Plenty of courage and guts but always injured and no skills whatsoever. Matty Rogers should have gone also. I guess it's just too much to achieve in one season with 12 players turned over. Last chance for Hilton too. Should have gone this year.

wrennyboy
31 Dec 2003, 10:03
Well i remember talking to my mate whose mum knows greg miller and they go out for coffee often. She is a tigerfan and always asked questions. She asked him how come you didnt trade or delist hilton and pettifer and he said that he couldnt afford to pay out their contracts so they will give them one year. Also thats the same with Nicholls i think when we got him from hawthorn it was a 2 year deal. I like fleming but lets see what he can do in 2004

Pirate
31 Dec 2003, 10:08
Originally posted by itsintheblood
I think D.Kellaway should have retired. Plenty of courage and guts but always injured and no skills whatsoever.

No skills? His kicking is below par, but what is wrong with the rest of his skills? A good mark, clean handler of the ball, good handball,good ball-winner,etc,etc. Skills don't stop and start with kicking. You don't represent Victoria in state of origin if you have "no skillls whatsoever" !!!!!!!

diggler
31 Dec 2003, 16:31
You are living in the past Pirate. He played state football 9 years ago and the game has long passed him by. He was a very strong mark then and this skill has deserted him. We are the only club foolish enough to let him continue.

TheFoxhat
1 Jan 2004, 08:11
The Backroom Boys have done there job - Now's the time for the players to stand up ....:cool:

Pirate
1 Jan 2004, 13:52
Originally posted by diggler
You are living in the past Pirate. He played state football 9 years ago and the game has long passed him by. He was a very strong mark then and this skill has deserted him. We are the only club foolish enough to let him continue.
He actually had a contract for 2004. It would have been more foolish to sack him and still have his contract as part of the salary cap, plus not have his leadership and character around the place.

CJH
1 Jan 2004, 14:20
Originally posted by wrennyboy

She asked him how come you didnt trade or delist hilton and pettifer and he said that he couldnt afford to pay out their contracts so they will give them one year. Also thats the same with Nicholls i think when we got him from hawthorn it was a 2 year deal. I like fleming but lets see what he can do in 2004

Nicholls was picked up in the draft and as such, wouldn't come with any existing contract baggage. He may have nominated a minimum salary figure but this is unlikely as it would limit his chances of being picked up. I would suggest that he is on the base payments and a 1 year contract.

Hilton and Pettifer must have had time left to run on their existing contracts (Duncan and Rogers certainly did) which makes delisting them problematic. It would mean paying out their contracts which would count for this years salary cap and probably put us over the limit.

itsintheblood
2 Jan 2004, 08:05
Originally posted by CJH
Nicholls was picked up in the draft and as such, wouldn't come with any existing contract baggage. He may have nominated a minimum salary figure but this is unlikely as it would limit his chances of being picked up. I would suggest that he is on the base payments and a 1 year contract.

Hilton and Pettifer must have had time left to run on their existing contracts (Duncan and Rogers certainly did) which makes delisting them problematic. It would mean paying out their contracts which would count for this years salary cap and probably put us over the limit.

Fair call but by gee it's frustrating watching these guys running around the field sometimes. You get the feeling we're two or three men down when these guys (nichols, pettifer) simply dont make a contest or make shocking errors. Our bench may as well be empty with them there.

I'm a huge fan of D.Kellaway and will never question his courage or committment and its a shame he's had so many injuries over his career but let's be honest, how a guy with his lack of disposal skills has played the game for so long is beyond me. His time is well and truely up and he should have done the right thing by the club and retired. It just takes the place of a young recruit for another year. Ditto M.Rogers. I hardly think these two will set the world on fire this year. If anything, having that experience around the place for another year will be good.