View Full Version : What was the crowd behaviour like last night?

Punchy Bassett
10 Jan 2004, 13:30
Seeing there seems to have been a bit of focus on behaviour in crowds recently just wondering from the people who were there was the crowd well behaved last night?

catattack
10 Jan 2004, 13:35
It's been getting better every year.

I was sitting in M12 last night, and it's the same old stuff. But I didn't really see the coppas having to intervene many times, so I guess you could say the crowd was well behaved.

pazza
10 Jan 2004, 13:43
Part of whatever problems may have occurred is where the opposition supprters seem to place themselves. Often, they place themselves in Melbourne where it is the most noisy, be it in amongst Bay 13.

There are stories I'm hearing that there was nearly a fair dinkum blew between the "Swami Army" and the Bay 13 gang around them.

It would be smarter to have a roped off area for the opposition supporters to be in as it may make it safer.

dodgey
10 Jan 2004, 13:56
120 + were ejected according to the HUN, including 15 before a ball had been bowled ..:confused:

IDIOTS

catattack
10 Jan 2004, 14:07
Originally posted by dodgey
120 + were ejected according to the HUN, including 15 before a ball had been bowled ..:confused:

IDIOTS
The crowd was getting restless before the gates had even opened, that's where most of that 15 figure would come from.

scmods
10 Jan 2004, 14:50
There were the usual irresponsible drunken louts throwing stuff at the Indian batsmen early on, but Ponts soon told the slips cordon to knock it off and get on with the game. :D

the_big_sav
10 Jan 2004, 17:43
i saw the cops take someones whistle away from them :confused:

catattack
10 Jan 2004, 17:49
Originally posted by the_big_sav
i saw the cops take someones whistle away from them :confused:
That person was unlucky because the coppas around us were turning a blind eye to whistles and chucking stuff in the air.

alstey
10 Jan 2004, 18:41
I rolled up at Gate 7 at 8:00am to make a huge day of it.

Sloshed by 9am!

I smuggled 1.2 L of straight vodka into the ground - thus showing how much of a joke security checks are!

I lost one mate to the cops for skulling against... BIG FISH!! Anyone here see that Unit skulling...? Something special. E-Mail me if you want a video clip of him in action!

I was blowing a whsitle all night and nothing happened. I have an issue with people being thrown out for beach balls - what harm do they do?

All in all a top night!

Best chants to the "Swami Army"

"Your going home on the back of an Elephant..."

"Show us a Visa!!"

"You drove me here in a taxi!!"

"Lets go f***ing MENTAL!!" (as we all jump banging seats)

Can't top Bay 13!

catattack
10 Jan 2004, 18:56
It was an awesome day! I was sitting amongst all that, and it's the best fun you can have at the cricket.

There was another chant going around...

"Who ate all the curry?"

:D

doggies40
10 Jan 2004, 20:24
Originally posted by catattack
It's been getting better every year.

I was sitting in M12 last night, and it's the same old stuff. But I didn't really see the coppas having to intervene many times, so I guess you could say the crowd was well behaved.

I was sitting in the same spot as you catattack :D , well not the same spot but i was in m12, was heaps of fun, there wasnt much trouble around that area, well not what i saw anyway, we were all there to enjoy ourselves and i think we all did that :D.
I ended up getting beer, coke, water even yoghurt over me, but hey if i didnt want that then i wouldnt sit in that area :D .

There was a guy just in front of where i was sitting who got his whistle taken away from him then he asked the cop or security, cant remember who took it away , if he could have it back at the end of the night :D was pretty funny at the time.

I thought the cops handled the crowd pretty good, but i cant say the same about the blond security lady who was really the only one throwing people out, she even threw out a young boy(prob about 8 or 9) because he picked up a beach ball that landed in front of him and threw it back into the crowd.

And geez how loud was it when everyone was hitting the chairs, i could feel it vibrating haha, ive never seen or heard that at the mcg before, but overall it was a good fun night. LETS GO F****N MENTAL :D :D :D :D .

Yabba
10 Jan 2004, 20:58
the best song was "weve got the world cup, in our hands etc..."
was great for getting into the currys

catattack
10 Jan 2004, 21:01
Originally posted by doggies40
I thought the cops handled the crowd pretty good, but i cant say the same about the blond security lady who was really the only one throwing people out, she even threw out a young boy(prob about 8 or 9) because he picked up a beach ball that landed in front of him and threw it back into the crowd.
Oh she kept walking past me and giving me dirty looks. She was on a mission; you could see it in her eyes. Whenever a chant would start up, she was always the first on the scene to see if she could escort a few more people out.

Maybe she got money for each person she evicted, I don’t know! :p

catattack
10 Jan 2004, 21:05
Originally posted by Yabba
the best song was "weve got the world cup, in our hands etc..."
was great for getting into the currys
The way they were carrying on and dancing around in the Aussie supporters faces, they were just begging to get the absolute **** payed out of them. :D

doggies40
10 Jan 2004, 21:11
Originally posted by alstey
I lost one mate to the cops for skulling against... BIG FISH!!

Was that in m12? And was that why everyone was saying FISH FISH FISH FISH?

And what about dilmah :D :D was he the man or what, :D .

Yabba
10 Jan 2004, 21:12
and with the so called fanatics next to them! they were so ****e they sat there for the day and took out the flag twice. they were a waste of space

doggies40
10 Jan 2004, 21:14
Originally posted by catattack
Oh she kept walking past me and giving me dirty looks.

Maybe she was just trying to pick you up :D :D :D :D.

And those indians gave as good as they got, 1 of em at the end of the match even tried to start a fight with the aussies, well he was taken away by the cops, stupid idiot he was.

alstey
10 Jan 2004, 22:08
BAY 13 HERO!!!

I have photos of the bloke, a VIDEO OF HIM SKULLING A BEER IN THREE SECONDS and I hav ehis mobile number.

True legend he is.

bozza
11 Jan 2004, 04:04
Fish = Freak.

Saw him v England last year, had about 10 beers in 10 minutes before the cops banned him from going back to the bar.

bozza
11 Jan 2004, 04:06
Originally posted by alstey
I lost one mate to the cops for skulling against... BIG FISH!!

So they kicked him out for skulling a beer? That is one thing that really ****es me off at the cricket, cops over policing the joint. ********s.

catattack
11 Jan 2004, 10:56
Originally posted by doggies40
Maybe she was just trying to pick you up :D :D :D :D.
:eek:

Originally posted by bozza
Fish = Freak.
The bloke was a tank, he was a freak show! :D

Dunno how he could do what he did, but then again I am only young! :p

scmods
11 Jan 2004, 13:34
The security at the WACA this summer have told me that beach balls are okay as long as they stay in the crowd - if it goes on the ground you lose it!

catattack
11 Jan 2004, 13:41
Originally posted by scmods
The security at the WACA this summer have told me that beach balls are okay as long as they stay in the crowd - if it goes on the ground you lose it!
MCG and beach balls just don't go hand in hand with the Police! :p

doggies40
11 Jan 2004, 14:07
Originally posted by scmods

That sounds good, i dont see anything wrong with beach balls at the cricket, its not like there gonna hurt ya if your not watching and it hits you, the police were ok with them at fridays game, they let people have fun with them but as soon as it came near them then they would get it and pop it with a pen, except of course that blond security lady she would throw you out if she saw you, stupid cow she was.
Nothing wrong with them, but its fair enough if they go over the fence then you lose it.

skilts
11 Jan 2004, 14:47
If the cricket is so boring that you have to play with a bloody beach ball, why not stay home and allow others to enjoy them selves unhindered by imbecility?

Then again, who gives a toss? It's not as if people who attend one-day games have any pretensions to being human.

Ah, Australia, what a heartbreak old country you are. And people have difficulty understanding how a loon like Howard gets elected.

GoEagles
11 Jan 2004, 23:59
On TV it seemed the crowd was a lot quieter and better behaved that in previous seasons. Definately no signs of f**king mental chants and jumping up and down on seats!:eek: :D I didn't see one beach ball either.

The beach balls seem to be out in force the most in Sydney and Perth. Melbourne and Adelaide seem to be 'home' of the whistles.