View Full Version : Who's touring here next summer?

Freo Big Fella
26 Jan 2004, 12:05
I've been hearing romours that the Windies have pulled out and the Kiwi's are touring instead. Can anyone confirm/deny?

RooDog
26 Jan 2004, 12:07
west indies are not coming due to a heavy schedule and now we are playing the Pakis in a 4 test series and the Kiwis in a two test series or it may be the other way round!! it was in the Advertiser like about a month ago!!

Freo Big Fella
26 Jan 2004, 12:12
Originally posted by RooDog
west indies are not coming due to a heavy schedule and now we are playing the Pakis in a 4 test series and the Kiwis in a two test series or it may be the other way round!! it was in the Advertiser like about a month ago!!

I know it's old news:D, I've been Travelling so I'm out of the loop.

RooDog
26 Jan 2004, 12:17
no worries mate! glad i could help!

Rob
26 Jan 2004, 13:23
Originally posted by RooDog

Due to a heavy schedule? More like because the ACB smelled a disaster. They just got bowled out for 50-odd against South Africa, and scraped past Zimbabwe by the skin of their teeth.

dr nick
26 Jan 2004, 13:30
i presume the kiwis will be shafted to Bellerieve and the WACA?

dr nick
26 Jan 2004, 13:31
Originally posted by Rob
Due to a heavy schedule? More like because the ACB smelled a disaster. They just got bowled out for 50-odd against South Africa, and scraped past Zimbabwe by the skin of their teeth. i wasnt aware CA made these decisions.

Russian
26 Jan 2004, 15:33
Last I heard, the Windies may still be coming for the one day series with Pakistan.

catattack
26 Jan 2004, 17:07
Originally posted by nicko18
When will they begin play tests again at Hobart?

I would have thought now with the new and improved ground developments down there they would be playing a test there every season.

Russian
26 Jan 2004, 17:24
Originally posted by catattack
When will they begin play tests again at Hobart?

I would have thought now with the new and improved ground developments down there they would be playing a test there every season. I would think the 6th tests will go back to Hobart after the dismal failure of playing 2 in Sydney this year. I can't see them demanding a test in a 5-match summer though.

catattack
26 Jan 2004, 18:04
Originally posted by Russian
I would think the 6th tests will go back to Hobart after the dismal failure of playing 2 in Sydney this year.
Good. I enjoy the tests from Bellerieve, only thing that I dislike is it always seems to rain! Ah well, you'll get that where it's located I guess.

Tim56
26 Jan 2004, 21:48
It'll prob be the ram rooters for two because their season roughly coincides with ours.

Tim56
26 Jan 2004, 21:51
Schedule still has the Windies coming out here:

http://aus.cricinfo.com/db/FORTHCOMING/FORTHCOMING_TOURS_AUS.html

I'll hopefully be in England in 2005 for the Ashes as well.

Russian
26 Jan 2004, 23:35
Good. I enjoy the tests from Bellerieve, only thing that I dislike is it always seems to rain! Ah well, you'll get that where it's located I guess. Not as much as Brisbane - they should get the early game instead of Perth coz it's less likely to rain in October.

Crooked Rain
27 Jan 2004, 00:13
Australia, Holland and Namibia are set in stone for next year as the Pakis have also pulled the pin.

Boxing Day Test v those plucky little Namibians. Can't wait and nor can Marto as it's his best chance yet of grabbing that elusive test century. :D

Seriously though - the golden series would be Aus, India and South Africa. (which would be definitely be the end for Marto).

cr.

shiva25
27 Jan 2004, 07:38
Originally posted by Russian
Last I heard, the Windies may still be coming for the one day series with Pakistan.

Thats all we need. Another Zimbabwe type side to come here and just make up the numbers.When will cricket Australia wake up and try to get 3 quality teams in the one dayers to keep it interesting.I am sick of watching Zimbabwe already this season.
Cant wait for the footy to start

red+black
27 Jan 2004, 09:02
Cricket Australia are solely to blame for this season's debacle. Fancy playing tests v Zimbabwe at traditional test grounds, but shafting Sri Lanka this year to Darwin and Cairns. The only other time the Zimbos came here, we had Australia A playing as well because we all knew that the Zimbos were crap.

Zimbabwe should never play in a triangular tourney here.

NYC-Kaiser
27 Jan 2004, 09:11
Nam & the Dutch both coming next year? they are both bottom level teams aren't they?

with all the anger about Zimbabwe currently being here, why not about those teams? i can't imagine either of them being competitive.

Mickey
27 Jan 2004, 09:24
Originally posted by NYC-Kaiser
Nam & the Dutch both coming next year? they are both bottom level teams aren't they?

with all the anger about Zimbabwe currently being here, why not about those teams? i can't imagine either of them being competitive. That post was a joke by someone who is upset that Zimbabwe haven't been as competitive as people hoped. They have played alright in the past 3 games and should have beaten India the other night.

red+black
27 Jan 2004, 09:59
an extremely painful death for one Robert Mugabe and all will be well again in Rhodesia. there are no other solutions.

Freo Big Fella
27 Jan 2004, 11:21
Originally posted by shiva25
Thats all we need. Another Zimbabwe type side to come here and just make up the numbers.When will cricket Australia wake up and try to get 3 quality teams in the one dayers to keep it interesting.I am sick of watching Zimbabwe already this season.
Cant wait for the footy to start

When do South Africa tour next? Maybe seeing Smuth get stuck into Lee will convince the selectors to drop the Pie Chucker. I wouldn't mind the Kiwis coming over here either.

Mickey
27 Jan 2004, 12:01
Originally posted by Freo Big Fella
When do South Africa tour next? Maybe seeing Smuth get stuck into Lee will convince the selectors to drop the Pie Chucker. I wouldn't mind the Kiwis coming over here either. 2005/2006 they'll be here.

CatManDo
27 Jan 2004, 12:35

Aint it the truth.

Id love to see the Kiwi's though. Probably put up more of a fight than the Paki's to be honest.

GoEagles
27 Jan 2004, 16:57
I won't be too disappointed if WA hosts New Zealand again for the test match. They were very competitive last time they were in town and they are always good entertainers. Only bummer will be Billy Bowden won't be able to umpire the match!

pazza
27 Jan 2004, 17:56
If the Kiwis come out, bring them to Melbourne and Sydney, where there are plenty of Kiwis living, guaranteeing massive crowds.

Neither city has seen the Kiwis in a test match for quite some years now.

Rob
27 Jan 2004, 18:04
i wasnt aware CA made these decisions.

I would imagine CA would have a huge input into which teams tour Australia, seeing as though they are the ones that organise the bloody tours. i.e if CA say 'West Indies, we want you to f*ck off until you get a decent side', then I would imagine there is not a lot the WI could do about it other than to, well, f*ck off.

Vulcan
27 Jan 2004, 18:20
Originally posted by red+black
Cricket Australia are solely to blame for this season's debacle. Fancy playing tests v Zimbabwe at traditional test grounds, but shafting Sri Lanka this year to Darwin and Cairns. The only other time the Zimbos came here, we had Australia A playing as well because we all knew that the Zimbos were crap.

Zimbabwe should never play in a triangular tourney here.

Maybe it might help if you put brain first and keyboard second matey.
It was the poor old Bangladeshes [if that can be a collective for them] who played up north improving the averages,along with the Zimbabwe tests of all our so called stars.

The Indians should have won the series,they just lacked the killer instinct in the end.

But it was a fantasic cricket by both teams nonetheless..

Russian
27 Jan 2004, 23:48
Originally posted by pazza
If the Kiwis come out, bring them to Melbourne and Sydney, where there are plenty of Kiwis living, guaranteeing massive crowds.

Neither city has seen the Kiwis in a test match for quite some years now. Bangladesh host the Kiwis in October and the Kiwis host Sri Lanka in December so the tests will be played in November in I guess Brisbane and Hobart

As for the Windies having a busy schedule, they play in England in July, then only the ICC Champions Trophy between then and hosting South Africa next March!!!

Crooked Rain
27 Jan 2004, 23:58
Originally posted by Mickey
That post was a joke by someone who is upset that Zimbabwe haven't been as competitive as people hoped. They have played alright in the past 3 games and should have beaten India the other night.

Hey I'm all for the Zimbos. I think they do a great job considering the lack of resources they have to work with. Put Andy Flower, Goodwin, Wishart and Johnson back in their line up and yer batting woes are fixed.

Good to see them on the improve in the last few matches, but I do hold reservations about their future as an improving nation simply because of the shocking situation over there ATM.

I remember seeing a doco on Zimbabwian cricket and those guys do extremely well considering their small playing base.

More power to them, but next year I'd love to see three ultra-competitive teams fight out the VB series.

BTW, It's a joke that Sri Lanka have been shafted to Darwin and Cairns next year.

cr.

Zeke
28 Jan 2004, 06:25
Good. I enjoy the tests from Bellerieve, only thing that I dislike is it always seems to rain! Ah well, you'll get that where it's located I guess.

Yet another common, yet unfounded opinion regarding the amount of rainfall in Tasmania.

Mr Q
28 Jan 2004, 17:42
Originally posted by pazza

Neither city has seen the Kiwis in a test match for quite some years now.

Plenty of Saffers in Perth, but South Africa have never played a Test match here. Don't think Cricket Australia really care about that sort of thing.

For that matter there are bucketloads of Kiwis everywhere in Australia. Their national obsession seems to be emigration to Australia.

BTW, isn't the Paki tour a 3 test tour and the Kiwi's two? If so Hobart would be unlikely to get a Test.