View Full Version : The bull**** stops..

Ripper
3 Feb 2004, 19:50
When the green flag drops.
(old speedway saying)

17 sleeps to go before the Wizard Cup where we will get a good idea how we are going to go.

The only negatives are the loss of Koopsie & Croadie who were battling to get in the first 22.

We should finish this year with a lot of 50 game + players (The pope should be able to say exactly).

2003 was the only time we have had a positive percentage. I think if we could improve that again by 10-15% we will have had a good year regardless of what happens.

That enough verbosity from me. Thoughts.

Freo Hitman
3 Feb 2004, 20:54
Originally posted by RIPPER_46

The only negatives are the loss of Koopsie & Croadie who were battling to get in the first 22.

They aint negatives , In my eyes they are huge plusses. Clive will get a go & his heart is in Freo , Koopsie in my eyes only ever played good games when his spot in the squad was being reviewed.

Right now I am gonna name my A Team for the year

B - Hayden.....................Haddrill.......................Wa lker
HB- Woods...................McPharlin.....................Grover
C- Headland...................Pavlich.........................C arr
HF- McManus ..................Polak........................Schammer
F- Farmer........................Medhurst....................J Longmuir
Ruck- Sandilands , Bell , Hasleby

Interchange - Simmonds , Cook, R Dunn , M Johnson

Emergencies - Browne , T Longmuir , Parker , Clive

Kapow!!!
3 Feb 2004, 20:55
WOOO, GO DOCKERS. WE RULE.

Koopsie and Croad were no big loses, I reckon we should do alright!

Ripper
3 Feb 2004, 21:03
Originally posted by Freo Hitman

Add Cunningham , Thornton , Webster to those emergencies and that's where the strength is.

Depth = strength IMO. If the worst comes to the worst we can nearly cover at least 7 injuries.

Freo Hitman
3 Feb 2004, 21:09
So what are your guys expectations ????
This year I expect finals with us to make it to the 2nd week atleast !!!

Ripper
3 Feb 2004, 21:11
A PF would be a excellent outcome IMO.

Moo
4 Feb 2004, 01:25
I am a bit perplexed .... am I the only one that thinks TLo is in our best 22.

Yes he is a mongrel dog who runs around, but hey the boy fights for everything and we simply look better with wags in the forward line.

May be a bit much to start Dunn and a fit Thornton will give it a crack.

Moo

KiNgCliVe26
4 Feb 2004, 02:18
CLIVE WILL TAKE US TO THE HOLY GRAIL!!!

CLIVE!!!! YEAH CLIVE!!! CLIVES COOL!!!!

CLIVES BACK WITH AVENGEANCE!!!!! NUTHING CAN STOP HIM.

GO CLIVE!!!!

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 08:08
Originally posted by Moo

He probably is moo. I just looked at Freo H's lineup which looks pretty good and didn't want to get bogged down in an aurumeny over the exact best 22. As some of his starting 22 will probably be missing at some point I was more than happy with his emergencies.

Moo
4 Feb 2004, 09:44
Rip

A few years ago we wouldnt even been able to have this discussion ....so its all good my friend!

Moo

masai
4 Feb 2004, 10:33
[B

Emergencies - Browne , T Longmuir , Parker , Clive [/B]

Medhurst at FF, I know they all move around and I never seem to know which position they are really playing, but JLo would probably be FF with Medhurst in a "roaming" forward position.

Dunn and Johnson have not played a senior game, are they that good or is the rest of our squad that bad. These two players could be very good players for the club, but they've got to prove it yet. Let's not jump the gun.

Parker as an emergency ............................ Mr Integrity is still in pretty good form and I would have thought he'd be in the first 10 selected. Oh well now that the masses have stopped bagging Macca, hey why not try and get rid of Parker senior.

Kenny_01
4 Feb 2004, 10:48
For me...

B: Hayden Haddrill Parker
HB: Woods McPharlin Grover
C: Headland Hasleby Bell
HF: McManus Polak Carr
F: Farmer J. Longmuir Medhurst

R: Sandilands Pavlich Schammer

I: Simmonds Walker Cook T Longmuir

E: Thornton, Browne, Dunn

I would love to see Thornton and Browne in our starting 22 but they may have to wait a few weeks or for a couple of injuries. I think our best 22 is pretty settled. I threw in Dunn in there as an emergency, I think he will sort of play a role like Schammer did last season, just to get a feel for AFL footy.

Balip
4 Feb 2004, 10:49

You we're doing great until you got to the emergencies Hitman. I aint no expert but Parker would be a walk up start in any team I choose. He adds stability and experence to what is still a pretty young back line.

Now for a question. What is so unbelievably good about Dunn? Everybody here and on DL seems to be raving about him but I missed why.

Kenny_01
4 Feb 2004, 10:51
Originally posted by masai
Parker as an emergency ............................ Mr Integrity is still in pretty good form and I would have thought he'd be in the first 10 selected. Oh well now that the masses have stopped bagging Macca, hey why not try and get rid of Parker senior.

No-one is bagging anyone mate, just because FH thinks Parker isn't in our best 22 doesn't mean he's having a go at him, it's just his opinion. And I can see where he is coming from. Parker is still in my starting 18 but he is now a year older and there were a few signs there last season that he may be on the decline. Not to mention that he might be riddled with little nagging injuries again.

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 11:03
Originally posted by Kenny_01
For me...

B: Hayden Haddrill Parker
HB: Woods McPharlin Grover
C: Headland Hasleby Bell
HF: McManus Polak Carr
F: Farmer J. Longmuir Medhurst

R: Sandilands Pavlich Schammer

I: Simmonds Walker Cook T Longmuir

E: Thornton, Browne, Dunn

That would be my prefered lineup too.

Masai I don't think anyone has it in for the one and only Action Man.

When you think back to the GF, who would have given Brisbane much hope with both Scott's & Macdonald injured?

That is the position we neen to be in.

masai
4 Feb 2004, 11:36

Masai I don't think anyone has it in for the one and only Action Man.

Ok I may have been bit strong with my wording, but I just felt that at the moment Parker is an automatic selection in the 18.

If his form goes off, start looking at it then, but I think his injury problems from last year have been sorted out and he is still the "general" of the backline.

I'll just have my caffeine fix and get on with life.

ThePope
4 Feb 2004, 12:34
We should finish this year with a lot of 50 game + players (The pope should be able to say exactly).
We start the year with
3 over 150
2 100 - 149 (5 in total over 100)
10 50 - 99 (15 in total over 50)
4 30 - 49
8 10 - 29
3 1 - 10
14 0
At the end of the year, assuming no major injuries, etc we could end up with:
1 over 200
4 150 - 199
6 100 - 149 (11 in total over 100)
8 50 - 99 (19 in total over 50)
6 30 - 49
3 10 - 29
7 1 - 10
8 0

A few stats on games played. At the moment, our full 44 man squad has 1931 games between them. Brisbane's 43 man squad has 3671. Brisbane's most inexperienced 22 man lineup last year (happened to be against us) had 2703 games of experience. Our most experienced 22 at the moment has 1829. Brisbane's grand final team has 3454. That's over 3 seasons per player more experienced that our most experienced line up.
Of course Collingwood almost got there with a fairly inexperience side, 1993 games in the grand final and an average for the year of 2002.
But it all shows that if we can keep this side together... the next 5-8-10 years will be SuperExciting!

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 12:40
Thanks, your holiness. As a matter of interest how did we start 2003?

ThePope
4 Feb 2004, 12:55
1776 at the beginning of 2003 from our 43 man squad (including rookies, not that they add much, 17 games from Mott and 11 from Smith)
I think this might be the key difference between us and Brissy circa 2000. They had the experence then, just needed to put it all together. BTW, the Lions had 3428 games of experience at the beginning of 2003... don't have previous years at hand. Will try to look at their "experience growth" over the weekend.

pav_is_god
4 Feb 2004, 13:07
I can't wait!!!

I think Dunn will get a start in some of the Wiz Bang games (provided we don't get knocked out first rnd), but will only come of the bench in the regular season, barring injuries to key players or a Judd like burst onto the seen.

Having said that, CC is a rational man, if it was me I'd throw Dunn into HF!!! (must take my medication ;) )

sabre_ac
4 Feb 2004, 13:20
They aint negatives , In my eyes they are huge plusses. Clive will get a go & his heart is in Freo , Koopsie in my eyes only ever played good games when his spot in the squad was being reviewed.

Right now I am gonna name my A Team for the year

B - Hayden.....................Haddrill.......................Wa lker
HB- Woods...................McPharlin.....................Grover
C- Headland...................Pavlich.........................C arr
HF- McManus ..................Polak........................Schammer
Ruck- Sandilands , Bell , Hasleby

Clive,T Longmuir and Parker all deserve to be in there. the only problem is I cant see who to remove.
M Johnsons for one
R Dunn as its probally a little early.
And I hate to say it but I think McManus's time is up.

ImperialPurple
4 Feb 2004, 13:24
Originally posted by sabre_ac

And I hate to say it but I think McManus's time is up.

We all agree that macca's disposal is a little suss, but he has improved enormously since CC arrived and last year was his best year of his career. Easily in the best 18. There is no way I would be giving up on Macca just yet. Or Cookie for that matter. Tough as old boots the both of them and who would replace that hardness.

Have to disagree on that one Sabre.

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 13:26
Clive,T Longmuir and Parker all deserve to be in there. the only problem is I cant see who to remove.

Exactly , to get better we need 26+ players who deserve to be there.

We have an embarrasment of riches. :D

And it is going to get more embarrassing. :D

ImperialPurple
4 Feb 2004, 13:33
Don't Ripper - you're embarrassing me....:cool:

pav_is_god
4 Feb 2004, 13:35
:o

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 13:37
Originally posted by ImperialPurple
Don't Ripper - you're embarrassing me....:cool:

Sorry , I get a bit passionate sometimes.

Exeter
4 Feb 2004, 14:09
Exactly , to get better we need 26+ players who deserve to be there.

We have an embarrasment of riches. :D

And it is going to get more embarrassing. :D

But you'd be well used to embarrassment by now.

pav_is_god
4 Feb 2004, 14:14
Originally posted by Exeter

Sure he is, but when you're pushed down the stairs by a team mate you have to get straight back up.;)

ImperialPurple
4 Feb 2004, 14:15

At least we could laugh at ourselves during those dark days. We Freo people embody all that is good about being Aussies - the ability to take the p1ss out of ourselves when we know that we aren't that great.

How bad were we? Really bad!!!

But this is an embarrassment of a completely different kind. One that will make us cry with joy. Roll on those red cheeks. I'm loving it.

Go Freo!

masai
4 Feb 2004, 14:19
Sorry , I get a bit passionate sometimes.

Being so passionate, I assume you have been busy working on getting a good number of "leave passes" organised for the coming winter?.

The big smoke of Subi beckons you.

While I'm at it, I got grumpy this morning about leaving Parker out of the 18, now some clown (Sabre) says Macca's time is up. What do players have to do to satisfy some supporters. Macca's 2003 was VERY good (read consistent) and I am yet to see any sign off him being ready for the disgard pile.

Must be my PMS day ........................... grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 14:25
Being so passionate, I assume you have been busy working on getting a good number of "leave passes" organised for the coming winter?.

You bet, I'll have to check up on the children. ;)

The big smoke of Subi beckons you.

LOL I don't mind it since we have been catching the train to the footy.

While I'm at it, I got grumpy this morning about leaving Parker out of the 18, now some clown (Sabre) says Macca's time is up. What do players have to do to satisfy some supporters. Macca's 2003 was VERY good (read consistent) and I am yet to see any sign off him being ready for the disgard pile.

Must be my PMS day ........................... grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

I understand, We will edumacate Sabre one day . It is a throwback to when he took on the other mob almost singlehandedly and some of their bad habits rubbed off.

one less sleep to go since I started this post! :D

Au_Blue#24
4 Feb 2004, 14:42
At least we could laugh at ourselves during those dark days.

Dont kid yourself - no freo supporter was laughing at there plight in the dark days. No self respecting footy fan would.

Kenny_01
4 Feb 2004, 14:48
I don't know which McManus Sabre was watching in 2003 but it wasn't Shaun McManus.

At the start of last season, I was questioning his worth also and thinking his spot was in real jeopardy but his 2003 was excellent. I would like to see him starting on a half forward flank in 2003.

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 14:50
I don't know which McManus Sabre was watching in 2003 but it wasn't Shaun McManus.

That's it! Sabre was right. Rove Macmanus is not in our best 22.

sabre_ac
4 Feb 2004, 15:24
Well guys once again I am the odd one out :P
But!
T Longmuir,Waterhouse and Parker deserve to be in the side.
I still have faith Waterhouse will bounce back and having him roaming around Medhurst,Longmuir and Polak would be sensational.
Parker I think is still serviceable as well.

Who makes way then?

Exeter
4 Feb 2004, 15:39
Roll on those red cheeks. I'm loving it.

Go Freo!

May you have a spanking good time.

RogerMellie
4 Feb 2004, 15:56
But!
I still have faith Waterhouse will bounce back and having him roaming around Medhurst,Longmuir and Polak would be sensational.

Who makes way then?

What has Clive done lately to '"deserve" a spot in the side? Saying he deserves it more than Macca is just batty.

Anyway, here's mine...

Hayden Haddrill Parker
Walker McPharlin Woods
Headland Haselby Carr
Simmonds Polak McManus
Medhurst J-Lo Farmer

Sandilands Bell Pavlich

Schammer Cook T-Lo Grover

sabre_ac
4 Feb 2004, 16:05
Originally posted by RogerMellie
What has Clive done lately to '"deserve" a spot in the side? Saying he deserves it more than Macca is just batty.

Well he deserves to be given a go.
We all know what he is capable of and surely that would have more of an impact than macca.

ImperialPurple
4 Feb 2004, 16:59
May you have a spanking good time.

Just so long as Ca.... no forget it, I won't bring that one up here...;)

masai
4 Feb 2004, 17:27
Well he deserves to be given a go.
We all know what he is capable of and surely that would have more of an impact than macca.

Do you share a house with Chris_Dudd / Danny_Green?.

Macca had a pretty good season, face facts.

Kenny_01
4 Feb 2004, 17:39
Clive was close to useless last season, even after 2 solid months in the AFL. He would have to improve his form dramatically to get back into the side, especially over McManus. I won't be holding my breath.

Right now, IMO anyway, he is about the 30th player on our list.

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 17:42
Just to refresh your memory Sabre

Top ten in the Doig Medal
Peter Bell 110
Matthew Pavlich 107
Paul Hasleby 97
Robert Haddrill 93
Shaun McManus 91
Matthew Carr 89
James Walker 88
Paul Medhurst 87
Dion Woods 84
Roger Hayden 84

FreoDocker
4 Feb 2004, 17:59
But!

Who makes way then?

I'm pretty hopeful that the days are gone where guys are simply in the team because they "deserve" to be. I'm a big fan of Clive, T.Lo and Parks, but the simple fact is that if they can show enough form in the preseason to warrant a place in the side for the start of the season, they will have "earnt" it. Keep in mind that last season we didn't have too many serious injuries other than Parks and McPharlin. I believe that this year our depth is sufficient to be able to cover a few injuries, which I haven't felt was our strength in previous years.

Hopefully at the next practice match on the 12th (?) we will be able to see how much the young kids have come on and how polly and co will shape up in the forward line.

error404
4 Feb 2004, 20:07
any one who bags Shaun McManus should go out and buy a WCE membership. in 70 years time, macca's heart will be on display in the museum along side of phar lap's heart.

Sera
4 Feb 2004, 20:11
Ryley Dunn will jump a whole host of guys and make his way into the team by round one.

Freo Hitman
4 Feb 2004, 20:30
Originally posted by Moo

Yes he is a mongrel dog who runs around, but hey the boy fights for everything and we simply look better with wags in the forward line.

May be a bit much to start Dunn and a fit Thornton will give it a crack.

Moo

Trust me Moo , It was Cookie or T Lo !!! If I went for T Lo people would no doubt say what about Cookie , Kinda a dman if you doo damn if you dont situation

Freo Hitman
4 Feb 2004, 20:34

At the start of last season, I was questioning his worth also and thinking his spot was in real jeopardy but his 2003 was excellent. I would like to see him starting on a half forward flank in 2003.

The reason I have him on my A Team HFF is because I know he will stiffle any run out of the Dockers forward line by the opposition , a good forward in my eyes is someone who has a bit of defensive grunt & kick his 2-4 every week. He has his defensive grunt , question remains if he plays all season up forward whether he will kick his 40 odd goals.

Freo Hitman
4 Feb 2004, 20:43
Dunn and Johnson have not played a senior game, are they that good or is the rest of our squad that bad. .

Some guy who comes in too see me at work has been watching training reguarly & is a very astute student of the game. He has told me Dunn & Micky J are da Bomb , They are class , skill , composure , the whole package rolled into one .

The question for your answer , they are that good.

Ripper
4 Feb 2004, 21:35
Some guy who comes in too see me at work has been watching training reguarly & is a very astute student of the game. He has told me Dunn & Micky J are da Bomb , They are class , skill , composure , the whole package rolled into one .

The question for your answer , they are that good.

Even better F_H if that is the case. No one will be slacking when it comes to getting a run. ;)

Undertaker
5 Feb 2004, 00:11
I can't wait for the footy to start if we can stay fit you will see more improvement. Here is my best 22.

Backs Hayden Haddrill McPharlin
Half Backs Grover Polak Parker
Centreline Woods Haselby Carr
Half forwards T - Lo Simmonds Headland
Forwards Medhurst J - Lo Farmer
Followers Sandilands Bell Pavlich

Interchange Schammer Cook Walker McManus

These guys will also get a run this year
Siegert, Thornton, Johnson, Dunn, Browne, Waterhouse, Peake & Webster

Now you know why I am excited lots of depth and plenty of expereince.

Monocle
6 Feb 2004, 21:29
Originally posted by Balip
[
What is so unbelievably good about Dunn? Everybody here and on DL seems to be raving about him but I missed why. [/B]

Have you ever watched him play other than on TV ? Have you ever heard him talk to a group of players that where his teamates. ? If the answer to any one of these questions is no , then no disrespect to you but then you have missed somthing special!!! Is he the greatest new talent going around ? NO . But the kid has the X factor the ability to make a point of difference . I am not a Dorker, but I am most impressed with this kids credentials, one day he will make you proud.

Freo Hitman
6 Feb 2004, 22:45
Originally posted by Monocle
Have you ever watched him play other than on TV ? Have you ever heard him talk to a group of players that where his teamates. ? If the answer to any one of these questions is no , then no disrespect to you but then you have missed somthing special!!! Is he the greatest new talent going around ? NO . But the kid has the X factor the ability to make a point of difference . I am not a Dorker, but I am most impressed with this kids credentials, one day he will make you proud.

He has that air and confidence around him that he himself thinks he is invincible . A Young Wayne Carey Attitude , A Tony Lockett on song , Dunstall on a lead , Bartlett having a kick. He certainly has that X Factor