View Full Version : Sfl Restructuring Signals Rebirth Of Football In Southern Tasmania

The Scarecrow
3 Feb 2004, 21:42
Source: SFL Website (http://www.southernfootball.com.au)

The Southern Football League has accepted the recommendation of a taskforce to re-brand football in Southern Tasmania.

Chairman of the SFL, Roger Viney said it was very important for the future of football to have a higher level body in place to assist with Development, Marketing, Sponsorship, spiralling costs of Umpiring, Branding and Management.

“We now have agreement from the 16 clubs as the board of the SFL to move forward with a new relationship and become controlled by a new body, supported by the Australian Football League, and to be known as AFL Southern Tasmania.”

“This move follows a decision taken earlier this year at a public meeting where it was agreed to set up a taskforce to examine football in the south of the State. There was also agreement for the establishment of an executive controlled independent body called AFL Southern Tasmania,” said Mr Viney.

“AFL Southern Tasmania will consist of seven people with a portfolio to run football in Southern Tasmania.”

“Perhaps the greatest over-riding factor for our football family is the need for football in southern Tasmania to speak with the one voice. For the Corporate sector it’s extremely important that there should only be one voice.”

“The recommendations from the task force are felt to be the best method of delivering Football to the community and Corporate world as a package which is attractive, marketable and most of all, sustainable. With the acceptance of the branding comes the agreement and handing over of the ‘heads of power’ of the SFL, so that it becomes controlled by the new body to be called AFL Southern Tasmania.”

“The Clubs now have an important challenge ahead of them and that is the growth of Football in southern Tasmania.”

“I am hopeful that by early in the New Year the League will embrace the new structure which will strengthen Football in the South and will begin a rebirth of football in Tasmania.”

Mr Viney said the other significant issue from the player’s perspective is the Branding of local football. “No one would argue that the most powerful brand name in sport in this country is the “AFL.” This will allow for many advantages such as the simple lifting of the players and their own self esteem by lifting the local competitions profile as it has done in other states.”

“In looking at the future of the SFL, we need to speak to the market place with one unified voice as we seek out corporate sponsorship. A close working relationship with AFL Tasmania is vital for the local development of the sport. They have the resources and backup to assist in all development aspects of the game.”

“The clubs of the SFL have shown by their example that they are prepared to cover the ‘hard yards’ to further improve football in Tasmania,” Mr Viney said.

Chairman of AFL Tasmania, Peter Hodgman, said “ I congratulate Roger Viney and all 16 SFL Clubs for possessing vision and courage - the decision to hand over management powers to an executive controlled body will prove to be the catalyst to revitalise football in the southern half of Tasmania. I repeat, the decision is visionary and courageous.”

“AFL Tasmania, led by General Manager Scott Wade, looks forward to developing a very strong and mutually beneficial relationship with all stakeholders of southern Tasmanian football, from the STJFL to the Premier Division, and inclusive of all other aspects and competitions in the south.”

“This decision by the 16 SFL Clubs will result in a united football community,” Mr Hodgman said.

Dogs till i die
4 Feb 2004, 18:45
Hope it works out and Tassie footy can get over their petty rivalries

Kingpin
8 Feb 2004, 11:57
I acknowledge the fact that I have been extremely abusive toward the AFL Tasmania in recent years, but IMHO, this will be the only thing that will have the opportunity of saving football here - ESPECIALLY in the South.

What AFL Tasmania needs to do NOW, is take all the opportunities away from Country clubs to stonewall football here, just to make a point.

The crowds are currently the poorest for more than 100 years - former Statewide League club, Hobart in 2003 averaged 440 as a home crowd.
Hobart was forced to change all its colours, nickname, jumper when it entered the league in 1998 - the supporters showed what they thought of this - the final roster match of 1998 against Claremont at the TCA Ground attracted an official crowd of 74 :eek: I was there, and I saw it.

AFL Tasmania needs to remove Kingborough Tigers & Brighton Robins Football Clubs and send them back the SFL Regional League.
I believe that Lauderdale Bombers will be a good aquisition to the top line-up as it will keep Clarence (also on the Eastern Shore) on its toes.

This is what it should look like.

AFL South
Hobart Tigers - TCA Ground
Black & Gold - Black with Gold sash jumper
Glenorchy Magpies - King George V Park
Black & White - Black & White striped jumper.
New Norfolk Eagles - Boyer Oval
Red, White & Black - St Kilda jumper.
Clarence Roos - Bellerive Oval
Red & White - White with Red V and red back jumper.
North Hobart Demons - North Hobart Oval
Red & Blue - Melbourne jumper
Lauderdale Bombers - Lauderdale Oval
Red & Black - Essendon jumper.

SFL should be retained and play country/amatuer football only.
Member Club should be:
Channel Saints
Kermandie Kangaroos,
Cygnet Port
Huonville Lions
Kingborough Tigers
Claremont Magpies
Lindisfarne Two Blues
Brighton Robins
Sorell Eagles
Dodges Ferry Sharks

The AFL Tasmania should be making decisions on AFL South issues, not allowing the current set-up, whereby SFL Regional League are allowed to affect and make decisions on the SFL Premier League clubs and vice-versa.

The top six clubs (AFL South) should be worked with by AFL Tasmania to bring everything up to standard, and the other 10 clubs (SFL) should be allowed to run thier own show, without giving them the opportunity to affect the SPORT of football in Southern Tasmania - which they have generally done for the last few years in an effort to undermine any good achievements that have been brought about.

I will be joining the vast army of "Stay Away Supporters" on Saturday afternoons from Southern Tasmanian football grounds until these changes are inforced - as a protest.

The Scarecrow
8 Feb 2004, 18:34
I agree with the way the SFL clubs should be put back to playing themselves, as it was proven that they wouldn't and couldn't keep up with the former TFL clubs. Maybe the SFL and OHA should merge, and have them all play in the one league. Which should almost make the league equal for the teams .

Brighton have shown they can compete with the power house teams, as did Cygnet. So, maybe these 2 teams should be added, and have Kingborough drop down into the Regional League. Just a thought anyway.

Kingpin
8 Feb 2004, 19:21
Originally posted by The Scarecrow
Brighton have shown they can compete with the power house teams, as did Cygnet. So, maybe these 2 teams should be added, and have Kingborough drop down into the Regional League. Just a thought anyway.

Brighton are going broke, and are struggling for players - they will finish last this year.

Cygnet would be a great club in AFL South (easily the best club of the SFL Regional League that could be admitted).
They have a decent ground, very big crowds to theier matches - both home and away - a very well run club, and a very football orientated town - almost like the New Norfolk of the Huon, only successful.
They didn't want to come up to the top division because they felt that they would be out of thier depth, and were happy being a big fish in a small pond.
They would be very good at Senior level, poor at Reserve level, dreadful at Colts level, plus they would need an Under 17 team as well, which would be too difficult for a town of about 700 people.

I'll give you the tip, Hobart is REALLY struggling:(
They are going broke and have begun talks about merging with the cash strapped St Virgils OSFC in the Old Scholars competition.
The St Virgils Under 17's team is known as the Hobart Saints already.
This is because Hobart has lost almost all of its old supporters since they were forced to change thier colours/nickname etc.
I'd be surprised if they make it to 2006:(

The Scarecrow
8 Feb 2004, 19:31
I can really see why Hobart is going like they are. I gave away the SFL once Glenorchy lost their colours, and become the "Storm" I reckon one Hobart gets their colours and nickname back things will probably get back to normal for Hobart.

Well, with that, it seems Brighton should be dropped back into the Regional league then. They'll be better off, most of their fans didn't seem to like their recent record. Maybe a swap with Cynget should be done, because Cynget look the better side to get supporters through the gates, than Brighton at this stage.

Kingpin
8 Feb 2004, 19:39
Yes very true Crowy:)
Hobart is GOOOOONE in my book, sadly, after I have had a lifelong involvement with the club, and my family has been with it since day ONE, and were there with Cananore in 1912. :(

Hobart has had several St Virgils people infiltrate the club board this year - all with a clear view to aligning themselves with St Virgils OSFC and renaming them as the Hobart Saints.
They will probably have a mix of the St Virgils and Hobart colours
SVC - Blue with Green and Gold V :rolleyes: HFC - Old Gold & Black.
It is apparently an attempt to get money into the club by aligning themselves with St Kilda :rolleyes:
Meanwhile almost NONE of the old working class fans like myself are left.
Yuppie central now days :mad:

By the way have you got MSN Scarecrow?

The Scarecrow
9 Feb 2004, 18:57
Originally posted by SOUTHERN TIGER
Yes very true Crowy:)
Hobart is GOOOOONE in my book, sadly, after I have had a lifelong involvement with the club, and my family has been with it since day ONE, and were there with Cananore in 1912. :(

Hobart has had several St Virgils people infiltrate the club board this year - all with a clear view to aligning themselves with St Virgils OSFC and renaming them as the Hobart Saints.
They will probably have a mix of the St Virgils and Hobart colours
SVC - Blue with Green and Gold V :rolleyes: HFC - Old Gold & Black.
It is apparently an attempt to get money into the club by aligning themselves with St Kilda :rolleyes:
Meanwhile almost NONE of the old working class fans like myself are left.
Yuppie central now days :mad:

By the way have you got MSN Scarecrow?

Almost went they way with Glenorchy, Carlton was reportedly interested in us wearing their jumper, so we settled with the NRL team, Melbourne Storm, they gave money to the club, and let us use their nickname.

Yeah, I got msn The_Unknown_Prototype@hotmail.com is the e-mail I use on it.

LFC
10 Feb 2004, 11:29
Maybe a swap with Cynget should be done, because Cynget look the better side to get supporters through the gates, than Brighton at this stage.

So true, but won't make the move, as, unkind as it may seem, they won't get out of their comfort zone. Maybe I am a little cynical, however, Lauderdale have made the move instead, perhaps because people are more willing to travel the 15 min from Hobart to watch them than the 1 1/2 hours to Cygnet to watch the Port.
Cygnet won't be beaten this season, and would give the top three a shake in the Premier League, but can't/won't make the transition to Premier Football.

Hobart is GOOOOONE in my book, sadly,

I think that with what you have also said about the St Virglis people on the board, a quite interesting alignment could take place. This has almost happened on occasion with other clubs, and I feel there should be more of it if administered properly.
For instance, correct me if I'm wrong, didn't Hobart a few years ago have some sort of alignment with Lindisfarne, before Clarence began lending u18 players to Lindisfarne? And I also believe that Brighton/New Norfolk and Claremont/Glenorchy had ties in the not too distant past. I may not be correct, so feel free to let me know...

Also SOUTHERN TIGER, I really like your idea of the two tier structure, in that Clarence would no longer hold an Eastern Shore monopoly, but I do feel that Kingborough or another representative need to be from the Huon Region. Having felt the brunt of Cygnet/Kermandie supporters for the last few years, I can attest to this.
The obvious change that one could make to your suggestion, is to change the regional league into two seperate conferences, on for Huon clubs, and one for city/other clubs, this would see:
4/5 sides in the huon comp, and 4/5 sides in the city/other comp. Played under a conference system, ie, play each team from your conference 3 times, and teams from the other once, could work, however, I belive that the SFL has undergone a few too many changes in the last 3-4 years, that they will want to stabilise things over the next couple of years.
Anyway, let me know what you think.

PS sorry about the long post.
:)

The Scarecrow
10 Feb 2004, 18:57
Yeah, Glenorchy and Claremont was together, Glenorchy sent many players their way. I'm sure Hobart/Lindisfarne were together, I noticed some former Hobart players ended up at Lindisfarne.