View Full Version : Melbourne Supporters are a Disgrace!
superstar
5 Feb 2004, 17:22
This is not directed at most of the Melbourne supporters on this board, who are no doubt fanatical footy fans and members of their club. It is directed at the vast majority of Melbourne supporters out there. Those people and families who attend a few matches a year, get in for free via MCC, then **** off when the mid-season slump coincides with the arrival of snow at Mt Buller.
Melbourne do not have a small supporter base, like the bulldogs or the kangaroos. Nor do they have what would be categorised as a working class following. THere are alot of rich prick Melbourne supporters who simply won't get behind their club.
First your members attempted to vote you out of existence in 1996, then you booted the only bloke prepared to put his own bank account into the club, and now there are supporters just sitting back and watching their club die a needless death.
Digrace!
Supermercado
5 Feb 2004, 17:36
So what are you telling us for?
And yet again with this Mt. Buller myth. You'd think that if there was unseasonable warmth and the skiing was stuffed up for a year we'd be packing out the MCG.
Rubbish, we've just got no fans :D
Originally posted by superstar
First your members attempted to vote you out of existence in 1996,
Ok time to dispell a myth here. The vote you speak of would never have stood up anyway. The club were signing people up ON THE DAY of that vote. Bill Guest in particular signed up employees in order to tip the balance in their favour. Not to mention the 2,000 odd they locked out of the meeting once they'd got their people in. It was Ridley/Johnson/Guest's etc meeting, THEIR vote & THEIR contrived result.
Apart from that, you make some fair points.
The Shev
5 Feb 2004, 20:04
The gist is pretty correct, but don't all clubs have bandwagons fans? Yes. And also, these people and families don't get in for free via the MCC, they have to pay and wait a lifetime for the membership. Unless you are talking about guest passes or something. The Mt. Buller thing is a little overboard, like saying all Collingwood fans are on the doll, etc...
But I agree, it is disappointing that a lot of supporters don't always come out and support the boys, only when we are winning.
superstar
5 Feb 2004, 21:42
Originally posted by The Shev
The gist is pretty correct, but don't all clubs have bandwagons fans? Yes.
Yes, all clubs have bandwagon supporters, but at least they tend to sign up. I'm a Hawthorn supporter. As you saw with the events of last year, there are alot of fairweather, fickle Hawthorn fans out there. But there are also 25000+ that are willing to sign up every year, regardless of how the side is travelling. Like alot of hawks fans, I got pretty dirty on the side last season, but that would never stop me from joining up. The events of 1996 have tought me not to take my club for granted. Unfortunately, Melbourne fans don't seem to share this attitude. I would not say that Hawthorn have a whole lot more supporters than Melbourne, but we got a hell of alot more members.
What bothers me about the Dees is that unlike the dogs and roos, you're not a lost cause. They don't have the money, or the numbers to survive. Melbourne should survive, but things don't look good.
Originally posted by superstar
What bothers me about the Dees is that unlike the dogs and roos, you're not a lost cause. They don't have the money, or the numbers to survive. Melbourne should survive, but things don't look good.
Mate you've fallen into the same trap that the majority of opposition fans have. We're not all rick pricks with $$$ to burn. If you'd been to our AGM at the end of last season you'd see for yourself that the stuck up suit types are well in the minority at the MFC.
People love the snow bunny sterotype, they get plenty of milage out of it, let's not let the facts get in the way eh?
Demonheart
6 Feb 2004, 10:13
Superstar you are correct, we are in this position because we don't sell enough memberships and get enough people to see our games. You were a bit harsh on the MCC members though, they don't get in for free, subscription costs around $400 a year, and if we want to bring in members then their tickets cost more than general admission, which makes it pretty expensive, especially if a family has more than one member. An extra $100 per person for another membership is pretty steep for the average family, you'd be surprised to know that most mcc members don't drive Mercedes, BMW's, Range Rover's etc.
BT, I buy two extra reserve memberships for friends to come and watch the footy with me, is that wrong? Also on that night when the vote took place, the hall was packed and they couldn't get anyone else in, what they were guilty of was incompetence, they should have realised the passion that it caused and hired a hall big enough for all the members to attend, but that is all history.
Originally posted by Demonheart
Also on that night when the vote took place, the hall was packed and they couldn't get anyone else in, what they were guilty of was incompetence, they should have realised the passion that it caused and hired a hall big enough for all the members to attend, but that is all history.
Incompetence? Depends on one's point of view. I reckon Ridley & co knew what they were doing but like you said that's history.
Demonheart
9 Feb 2004, 09:33
Originally posted by BT
Incompetence? Depends on one's point of view. I reckon Ridley & co knew what they were doing but like you said that's history.
I hope you are wrong, tiger was someone i respected very much at our club, but we will never know
Turbocat
16 Feb 2004, 20:26
Melbourne SUPPORTERS are not a Disgrace !!!! For a start any person who puts money into a club is better than passive barrackers or followers As you might has ascertained by my logon Im a cat follower and SUPPORTER but I would say I have a soft spot for the Dees.My membership for GFC with my family is 2 adults with Captains club, 2children, all with 11 Res.Seats adds up to around $1400 so I figure I’ve earned the right to call myself a supporter and the question is where are all the Melbourne supporters.
I have often wondered how a club that had so much success through the 50’s and early 60’s, that truly was a power the likes of the Lions today but only more so, a club that played at the best ground and had probably had the most prestigious social club ended up falling to the level of also run club. Don’t get me wrong the Cats have not been much better but look at the Flags you guys won, the 70’s, 80’s and 90’ should have seen an enormous gain in the numbers willing to follow Melbourne. Winning usually begets proud and passionate followers who then are prepared to become members and if they do their job properly they then infuse their kids with the same feelings and the numbers grow. For some reason this hasn’t happened. Maybe the poor run of success in the 70’s or maybe the Dees had too much success and become complacent or satisfied? Who knows? If anybody is a disgrace it’s the amount of passive followers that must be out there, that have followed the club at one time or another but never became members or failed to take their children to the games to ensure the club continued to gain strength.
I think it is time for some questions and hopefully some answers. If it the MCC members have contributed to the downfall I don’t know, but I hear talk on the radio about them getting a free ride etc but I have never seen any exact numbers. How many MCC members nominate the Dees as the main team? How many members pay for reserved seats in the outer at the G. How much has the non existence of a real home base, a real social club effected the appeal of the club. How many people in and around Melbourne would count MFC as their team, and where are they geographically located? These and other questions need answers, NOW
So over to you guys, please remember these comments have been made in a constructive manner. I definitely want Melbourne to be around for another 100 years but I think things have got to change for that to happen.
Turbocat
Originally posted by Turbocat
Melbourne SUPPORTERS are not a Disgrace !!!! For a start any person who puts money into a club is better than passive barrackers or followers As you might has ascertained by my logon Im a cat follower and SUPPORTER but I would say I have a soft spot for the Dees.My membership for GFC with my family is 2 adults with Captains club, 2children, all with 11 Res.Seats adds up to around $1400 so I figure I’ve earned the right to call myself a supporter and the question is where are all the Melbourne supporters.
I have often wondered how a club that had so much success through the 50’s and early 60’s, that truly was a power the likes of the Lions today but only more so, a club that played at the best ground and had probably had the most prestigious social club ended up falling to the level of also run club. Don’t get me wrong the Cats have not been much better but look at the Flags you guys won, the 70’s, 80’s and 90’ should have seen an enormous gain in the numbers willing to follow Melbourne. Winning usually begets proud and passionate followers who then are prepared to become members and if they do their job properly they then infuse their kids with the same feelings and the numbers grow. For some reason this hasn’t happened. Maybe the poor run of success in the 70’s or maybe the Dees had too much success and become complacent or satisfied? Who knows? If anybody is a disgrace it’s the amount of passive followers that must be out there, that have followed the club at one time or another but never became members or failed to take their children to the games to ensure the club continued to gain strength.
I think it is time for some questions and hopefully some answers. If it the MCC members have contributed to the downfall I don’t know, but I hear talk on the radio about them getting a free ride etc but I have never seen any exact numbers. How many MCC members nominate the Dees as the main team? How many members pay for reserved seats in the outer at the G. How much has the non existence of a real home base, a real social club effected the appeal of the club. How many people in and around Melbourne would count MFC as their team, and where are they geographically located? These and other questions need answers, NOW
So over to you guys, please remember these comments have been made in a constructive manner. I definitely want Melbourne to be around for another 100 years but I think things have got to change for that to happen.
Turbocat
I really don't know enough about MCC membership to answer your questions. Deestroy, Dees 01, Demonheart etc.. can you help TC out here?
As far as I know MCC members don't nominate a club when they become members like AFL members do.
I am fairly sure that the MFC only gets revenue from those MCC members who take out associate MFC memberships ($60 I think).