Bob Brown resigns as Greens Leader - Milne elected leader

the-devil-nytimes-bookcritic.jpg

Bob Brown (as depicted on the Andrew Bolt Blog)

Hilarious!

It's funny to watch the Liberal barrackers around here all predict the demise of the Greens. Keep up the good work folks :thumbsu:

I'm sure the more deluded elements see Browns retirement as a planned Liberal Party act of Machiavellian genius.

"We knew if we did NOTHING long enough, he'd eventually break!"

They are truly disturbed individuals. Every bit as moronic as the christian republican elements of the U.S. south.

She was elected unopposed. Bandt elected deputy.

Good decision IMO. Keeps the party controlled by the more moderate sections (ie not Rhiannon) and might help him increase his profile when he's got a difficult challenge ahead of him to hold on to Melbourne.

Australian politics has lost one of it's few principled individuals.

Yes very amusing, gross hypocrite over so many issues its not funny.

Makes Cherly Kernot look like a decent person.

Christine Milne wont last long. Such a shame.

Bandt is a decent choice. He certainly isn't as extreme as Rhiannon and the like and he improves their chances of holding Melbourne.

I'm sure the more deluded elements see Browns retirement as a planned Liberal Party act of Machiavellian genius.

"We knew if we did NOTHING long enough, he'd eventually break!"

They are truly disturbed individuals. Every bit as moronic as the christian republican elements of the U.S. south.

It's good in a way though, I imagine plenty in the Coalition party rooms think exactly like them. The more out of touch with reality they are, the harder it is for them to successfully change things in their favour.

Great ...just great...another woman political leader ... has worked so well lately.....
Kristina....Anna ...Jools.....:rolleyes:

Watch the Greens now go the way of the Democrats.......a la the Stott Despoja / Meg Lees factors......

Wow - I guess you would be explaining how a party with such a small vote Australia wide has such a presence in Australian politics.

You having such a grasp of democracy and all that......:rolleyes:

You mean like the LNP (QLD), the Nationals and the CLP (NT)?

Great ...just great...another woman political leader ... has worked so well lately.....

Watch the Greens now go the way of the Democrats.......a la the Stott Despoja / Meg Lees factors......

It sounds like you need a dose of ACTION MAN!

368040-tony-abbott-and-those-speedos.jpg

Feel better now?

Pretty sexist comment coming from a "female"

What ?- I'm not allowed to point out that the last 3 leaders of Labor governments have been women ...oh ..wait ...Labor governments ..... that explains it.
They are embarrassing the to average female ....

Yes - I am a woman - thats why I can say what you are all thinking anyhow .....

Some guy on Contrarians just called Gillard a muppett ...on National TV ! Don't think my comment is that bad after all :D

Say what you like about Brown's ideas and policies, but he's principled.

Yep. The partisan hacks in here are showing their true colours by attacking Brown's principles.

I personally can see this being the beginning of the end/end of the beginning/whatever for the Greens. Could easily go pear-shaped within years. When the two major parties are so similar (and both so terrible) an option like the Greens will gain some of the vote out of protest - but only so long as they are seen to be more principled than their major party rivals. Instability along environmental/socialist lines (as has been referred to in the press for some time and in this thread already) could easily lose the Greens much of that vote. But I don't see that as a bad thing for the ALP.

[As for Action Man Abbott, I reckon he needs to do more work on his upper back (in particular his lats) but for his age he is in tremendous shape.]

This has probably saved the ALP. The Greens have been stealing votes of the ALP for years now, so much that the ALP is teatering.

Could be the curcuit breaker Steve Smith needs before knifing Juliar in September.

^^So your saying that the Greens are going to drop-off, the ALP will pick up support and that this ALP improvement is somehow going to instigate a challenge against Gillard, all before September. :confused:

The ALP needs to gain support from Coalition voters not Greens (who preference Lab over Coalition 75-80% of the time). It could be argued that the presence of the Greens in supporting a minority Labor government could be turning some swing voters towards the Coalition, but whatever happens to the Greens vote between now and the next election does little to change their influence in the current parliament.

^^So your saying that the Greens are going to drop-off, the ALP will pick up support and that this ALP improvement is somehow going to instigate a challenge against Gillard, all before September. :confused:

Logic is clearly in short supply in this topic :eek:

With the increased power the Greens will have next election I can see Brown's departure causing a fair few headaches behind closed doors. With more power the Greens are becoming more and more likely a major party with the same gaffes and vulnerabilities.

Brown was a unifying leader. Can see the Greens becoming a lot less focussed with him gone.

SHY and Rhiannon petrify me.

Interesting. Tassie Greens leader Nick McKim has ruled himself out as the replacement Senator, which is surprising, because he has long been regarded as the anointed successor. People are now talking about Peg Putt (former state leader) and Greg Couter (the Greens candidate in Denison in 2010).

So, new party room will be as follows:

Milne (Tas) - Leader
Bandt (Vic) - Deputy
Di Natale (Vic)
Siewert (WA)
Ludlam (WA)
Hansen-Young (SA)
Wright (SA)
Rhiannon (NSW)
Waters (Qld)
Unknown (Tas)

Siewert, Waters and Milne are genuine environmental activists. The others are more focused on social issues. In that sense, I don't really expect Milne to stay at the head of the party for too long. Her expertise isn't in the areas that most of the party room are most concerned with, and she doesn't have the personal cachet of Bob Brown.

I dare say the only reason she was elected unopposed is because Bob made it clear she was his anointed successor. Once he's out of the way, we'll see the real rearranging of chairs.

Yep. The partisan hacks in here are showing their true colours by attacking Brown's principles.

I personally can see this being the beginning of the end/end of the beginning/whatever for the Greens. Could easily go pear-shaped within years. When the two major parties are so similar (and both so terrible) an option like the Greens will gain some of the vote out of protest - but only so long as they are seen to be more principled than their major party rivals. Instability along environmental/socialist lines (as has been referred to in the press for some time and in this thread already) could easily lose the Greens much of that vote. But I don't see that as a bad thing for the ALP.

[As for Action Man Abbott, I reckon he needs to do more work on his upper back (in particular his lats) but for his age he is in tremendous shape.]

They have to move to the centre - but they don't have the infrastructure to do it. I have got a mate who organises the preferences deals for the Greens - he gets hate mail for trying to ensure Green members have the best chance of being elected. It is ****ing mad

Came to have a laugh at all the Brown haters predicting the demise of the Greens now he has retired - conflicted much? :)

It might affect their vote slightly in the short term, but most Greens voters are well educated and unlikely to be swayed by the politics of personality.

"University of Tasmania economist Peter Whish-Wilson, who was second on the Greens Tasmanian Senate ticket at the 2010 election, is the likely replacement if he wants Brown’s spot; Whish-Wilson is highly regarded within the party."

http://www.crikey.com.au/2012/04/13/bob-brown-resigns-as-greens-leader/

This is very likely if Peter W-W agrees to the idea. It is also likely that Bob and the Tasmanian Greens have been in discussions behind closed doors with Peter already. It won't be Peg Putt. Greg Couter is a possibility, but less likely than Peter W-W if he agrees.

As Nick McKim is currently a Cabinet Minister in the State Government, it would have looked bad for him to abandon his post - never going to happen.

Came to have a laugh at all the Brown haters predicting the demise of the Greens now he has retired - conflicted much? :)

It might affect their vote slightly in the short term, but most Greens voters are well educated and unlikely to be swayed by the politics of personality.
It's less about the politics of personality and more about factionalism. There has always been tension between the blue-ribbon environmentalists and the left-wing social activists within the Greens. Brown was a strong leader and kept them largely in check.

I'm not predicting that the Greens will implode but I do think that this will be the beginning of a shift in the control and philosophy of the party away from the traditional 'greenie Greens' like Brown and Milne. Will that hurt or help them in the greater scheme of things? Personally I think the former.