-​
78​
-​
Sorrento​
Cups WR​

did he include penalty strokes?

legit as the day is long.

He is the sort of bloke who would call a penalty on himself if he was out having 9 holes of practice.

Chipped in twice for two birdies

just had one of those miracle days

legit as the day is long.

He is the sort of bloke who would call a penalty on himself if he was out having 9 holes of practice.

Chipped in twice for two birdies

just had one of those miracle days

amazing effort!

he would've needed a couple of 3 and 4 pointers in the extra 15 points (above par)

Paulina-Gretzky-on-cover-of-Golf-Digest-thumb-350x459-132023.jpg

paulina-gretzky-golf-digest-photoshoot.jpg

elle-paulina-gretzky-golf-digest-h-lgn.jpg

Not sure about the stance peternorth, but her grip looks strong.

Paulina-Gretzky-on-cover-of-Golf-Digest-thumb-350x459-132023.jpg

paulina-gretzky-golf-digest-photoshoot.jpg

elle-paulina-gretzky-golf-digest-h-lgn.jpg

Not sure about the stance peternorth, but her grip looks strong.

stance lends itself to back problems.

grip is good, strong, firm yet gentle.

triceps are supposed to make light contact with pecs. she has no problem there

They didnt play in the club comp.
Played in a group of 16 comp
Can pm you his golf link number if that helps

no need. i believe you, but i just wanted to see it officially myself. ive never seen a score of 50 at my club, and reckon its an awesome score that is rarer than hens teeth. deserves many accolades.

Cheers mate, yeah I have found I am playing heaps better, played last week and hit a mid 90's for the first time ever so really happy about that. So the driver will stay away at this stage.

I have noticed I have been 1 club short on most of my approaches, so will be trying to fix up that aspect as well as I can miss a few approach shots from roughly 50-100m out from the green. All about practice in the end!

i think a bit 'yes' and a bit 'no'. people associate practice with 'getting better'. but one doesn't guarantee the other, unfortunately. i think practice, by yourself, without someone knowledgeable watching, is probably only good for learning your tendencies, and making them more consistent. but if you do use it for this, and learn, then you absolutely will improve, no question.

the most common type of higher-handicapper i play with are what i call 'slice deniers'. seemingly they are all just guarding against the occasional left ball. as a result they spend all day aiming middle, hitting a pull-fade, and playing from the right rough/trees. if they just admitted to, and played to, their tendencies, they'd shoot better scores without any swing improvement. for them, just aiming and firing left, and finishing in the fairway more often than not would be something like finding a casino game that paid out 60% or 70% of the time. i like those odds.

as for mis-clubbing on approaches, i think this poster replying on a golf blog had quite good advice: "My pro when I was growing up would say 'what club can you, under the penalty of death, be sure you could hit over the green? Now take one less." don't worry about being '1 club short'. just know how far you usually hit them now and play accordingly.

the most common type of higher-handicapper i play with are what i call 'slice deniers'. seemingly they are all just guarding against the occasional left ball. as a result they spend all day aiming middle, hitting a pull-fade, and playing from the right rough/trees. if they just admitted to, and played to, their tendencies, they'd shoot better scores without any swing improvement. for them, just aiming and firing left, and finishing in the fairway more often than not would be something like finding a casino game that paid out 60% or 70% of the time. i like those odds.

as for mis-clubbing on approaches, i think this poster replying on a golf blog had quite good advice: "My pro when I was growing up would say 'what club can you, under the penalty of death, be sure you could hit over the green? Now take one less." don't worry about being '1 club short'. just know how far you usually hit them now and play accordingly.

if slice deniers use pro v 1s and have to buy them all the time they would learn quickly to tee off from the right side of the box and aim left.

what if the club of choice to hit over the green is the driver? hehe

Continued my playing around the Perth public courses by playing Hillview and Marri Park over the last week.

Hillview

Course was pretty plain, but was still fun. A lot of doglegs and sweeping holes which made a decent challenge for a scrub like me. Course could have been in better shape though. Went around in I think ~108 which is whatever for me. Had 50 on the front, and then on the back had a magnificent drive on 10 to set up a chance to win a bonus myself and my friend play for on in 3 on a par 5, made 9. Fine enough for someone of my level, would play more often if it was closer.

Marri Park

This course is in bit of a shifty area of Perth compared to closer to the CBD. On walking in, noticing that there was a full pub attached with skimpies pouring, as well as a driving range so small that anything longer then a 4 iron was banned, I had little hope of the course being any good from a golf point of view (though excellent for amenities:thumbsu:)

However, the course was in excellent condition and was really interesting to play, with a huge range in the variety of par fours in terms of length and difficulty. Most of the greens were smaller then the courses I usually play (Whaleback and Collier) and the fairways tighter then those courses, which was a decent challenge for a hacker like me. Went around I think 114 or so, played atrociously on the back, heat didnt help. Course was also quite hard

Shot of the day on the 18 is a sweeping left par four with a massive ravine/hazard ranging from 150-220 on the right, with anything more then 3m right of the fairway out of bounds. My friend plays a terribly mishit drive from maybe 60m from the tee, smashes it right and looks certain to find death, instead hits a warning signing that could not have been more then 3ft square and bounces back onto the fairway, allowing him to finish with a bogey and claim the victory for the day. Another course I would play more, but is a 30 minute drive from where I live.

Of the courses I have played from best to worst (in terms of interesting rather than repetitive holes)

Collier (Lakes and Island in particular)
Marri Park
Glen Iris
Hillview
Whaleback
Rosehill
Freo Public

Hit 10 over at Sunshine on Monday in a bit of wind which was good, this round included a 9 on a par 5.
Yesterday hit 11 over at Keilor, greens were obviously criminally slow due to rain which cost a couple of shots.
I've taken to using distance balls, Srixon 333 or even used a Titleist Velocity. Seem to find these balls are better for my game, especially in wind.
Hitting an 8 iron around 145, into the breeze these balls don't seem to get taken away like the performance balls do.

Played Magenta Shores this weekend, I play of scratch and only play once every 3-4 months due to work commitments. Had 3 birdies and 2 eagles was delighted with my game considering I hadn't hit a ball for so long! Course was in excellent condition and well worth a trip!

Ended up playing Whaleback three times in the last five days because it was the only course I could bothered booking in for for the long weekend playing with two friends who don't play much.

Finished with 103, 106, 104 (consistancy hey) so still haven't achieved my goal of breaking 100 on a course in Perth.

Played a mixture of decent and terrible as per usual, only benefit was beating my friend who plays off single digits off our system of him spotting me a shot every hole matchplay. Hooray for winning a beer.

Played St Andrews Beach last weekend on a pretty windy day and shot 74, fantastic course. Might slide into the top 10-15 I've played.

Southern GC on Anzac Day for 70.

Woodlands on Sunday for 73.

Played Leongatha on the weekend.

Tuff track in the cold, wind and rain.
Greens in great condition (bloody hard to read tho), fairways superb.
Bunkers all GUR due to course repairs.
Rough is not real bad....compared to the Amazon, jesus thick rough

Had 38 points on the Saturday and shot 6 over.

Would recommend the course but take a few spare balls

So I have been playing golf for about a year now. Started off getting around 120, down to 110, hovered around 100 and then was consistantly breaking 100. I was happy with the level I was at within 12 months. Then one day I scored 117. I went out and tried again and scored a 65 on the front 9...didnt finish the back 9 in anger. Played once more and scored around 113. I havent played now in 2 months.

I was playing worse than when I had started. Couldn't even hit the most basic of shots. I was at the stage where I could always hit the green when between 80-130 metres. Now I couln't even imagine it. I am so put off by the game it makes me sick. I loved it so much.

I have never had a lesson...is this my problem? I just don't understand how I can go from being ok to being an absoloute spud.

I am having a hit tomorrow at Sale golf club. Its a beautiful course so I have decided not to keep score and try to enjoy myself.

So I have been playing golf for about a year now. Started off getting around 120, down to 110, hovered around 100 and then was consistantly breaking 100. I was happy with the level I was at within 12 months. Then one day I scored 117. I went out and tried again and scored a 65 on the front 9...didnt finish the back 9 in anger. Played once more and scored around 113. I havent played now in 2 months.

I was playing worse than when I had started. Couldn't even hit the most basic of shots. I was at the stage where I could always hit the green when between 80-130 metres. Now I couln't even imagine it. I am so put off by the game it makes me sick. I loved it so much.

I have never had a lesson...is this my problem? I just don't understand how I can go from being ok to being an absoloute spud.

I am having a hit tomorrow at Sale golf club. Its a beautiful course so I have decided not to keep score and try to enjoy myself.

Golf iz like that, just chill. Play irons all day, play 4 holes with 4 clubs only.
Mix it up for fun.
As for lessons, I've never had one and play off 7 so there is some version of hope

I think lessons can fast track development or allow you to be on par with others in lieu of athletic ability. I would say a 30 minute lesson every month would be more effective than watching hours of Youtube videos.

If you practice dont make it a chore. Make up games and put yourself under some pressure.

I see guys off +1 (so 1 under par) who shoot rounds of 20 over every now and again. I find that if I'm stressed with uni I don't usually play that well. A lot of external factors can put your game off.

How long did it take you to get to single digits toxic?

I think lessons can fast track development or allow you to be on par with others in lieu of athletic ability. I would say a 30 minute lesson every month would be more effective than watching hours of Youtube videos.

If you practice dont make it a chore. Make up games and put yourself under some pressure.

I see guys off +1 (so 1 under par) who shoot rounds of 20 over every now and again. I find that if I'm stressed with uni I don't usually play that well. A lot of external factors can put your game off.

How long did it take you to get to single digits toxic?

First 10 years of golf I played about 5 -8 times a year max.
Once I played once a month I went from 15 to 9 in about 3 months.
Still only playing about once a month and zero practice kills me