Has Damien Hardwick taken us as far as he can?

I don't think they're ignoring instructions. Some just aren't able to do it.

And that too.

I suspect its not that they are ignoring instructions, but when they lose their focus (ie by taking the opposition for granted) they start taking short cuts, and then they get cut to pieces.

It always seems when we are "on", everything is working. But when the players take the foot off the gas, it goes to s**t

They are talking the talk pre-game, but they really need to start backing it up. Cant be complacent against so called "weaker" teams (and I think some here massively under rate the dogs and the GC in particular), and can sit on a lead and think the job is done

To be fair, this is a new thing for much of the team - how often have they gone into most games being considered favs? They need to get their heads around it pretty quickly though

I'd like to know one thing.

Do the Richmond supporters believe the recent plateau is because of poor coaching or poor player development?

Cheers

Do the Richmond supporters believe the recent plateau is because of poor coaching or poor player development?

Cheers

A few key players out + the mid tier players playing below their output of last season. I.e. Foot soldiers like Grigg, Houli, Edwards and the young guys who need to take the next step like conca and ellis. If you count under performing players as player development, then that one.

We played very well last season and deserved our 5th place finish, but capable sides like North, Essendon and the Eagles all missed finals. While very disappointing it wouldn't be the biggest shock to see us land in the 8-11 range this year if we can't recapture the form of last season.

A few key players out + the mid tier players playing below their output of last season. I.e. Foot soldiers like Grigg, Houli, Edwards and the young guys who need to take the next step like conca and ellis. If you count under performing players as player development, then that one.

We played very well last season and deserved our 5th place finish, but capable sides like North, Essendon and the Eagles all missed finals. While very disappointing it wouldn't be the biggest shock to see us land in the 8-11 range this year if we can't recapture the form of last season.

What do you think is holding you back though, Hardwick's ability's or a lack of player development from the football department?

Can I answer cattle? I think we pretty much maxed out the ability of the recycled players we've brought in last season, so a side with better youth (port... in time, maybe even the bulldogs and saints) may go past us if we continue to get the same level of output from these players.

I'll go with development, as its up to our footy department to start getting the likes of McDonough, O'Hanlon, lennon etc to step up and force the likes of grigg, Edwards etc out.

1. Poor player development from our elite performance coaches
2. Other teams targeting our game style
3. Poor contributions by players who should know better
----------------------------------------------------
4. Injuries and playing mature players to fill gaps left by those injuries (catch 22 playing the kids here, confidence vs experience)
5. Poor player development of our next tier of players (after having been aligned with Coburg, we're starting to see this shift)
6. Poor player development of our next tier of players (due to their own injuries, no fixing this)

Cheers

We'd be 3-3 right now if it weren't for injuries and looking good for 14-15 wins again...

Cheers
Imo its a combo of critical players out with the poor form of senior players Newman, Edwards and Grigg. The thing is its coupled with the rise of Astbury, Griffiths and the expectation of Arnot and Lloyd.

Cheers

I believe we were a middle rung side last year that had an easy draw and beat a lot of underperforming or undeveloped clubs. We were never really that good. That's why we got smashed in the second half of the elimination final by a team that was lucky to even make the eight.

We won 15 games, missed the Top 4 by half a game, and beat both grand finalists. That's not luck.

Cheers

It's the coaching , and this years recruiting. We can blame Maric being out , Lids and Rance but we have the cattle to
Cover them to beat the gold Coast , Carlton , Doggies and The Brions and we only won two of 4.

He hasn't rewarded the form players in the pre season eg Sam Lloyd was the best performing small forward but didn't debut till round 4 and kicked 3. Instead he played Newman a guy that he's decided will be a forward after 12 years as a Backman and played him down there. add Martin in the backline , Jack at CHF and he's promoted Thomas instead of Miles and actually played the pensioner every week when any supporter that knows their footy can see how this guy just grinds our ball movement to a halt.

Two many out of form players haven't been dropped for the guys performing in the VFL.

Grigg
Edwards
Newy ( played well against Collingwood and last 5 min against the blues) shouldn't have been out there at all against the doggies .

Non of our players are scared of getttinf dropped.

Oh yeah and Hampson is the biggest Fugazi on the planet . Tap specialist but does nothing around the ground or any contest .

The coach has screwed our season royally. It's what he does now the season is shot that will show us what he's made of because he's done it .

I actually think the issue can be boiled down to two things:

- Too much loyalty from Hardwick for his more senior players

- Too much emphasis on part of a game plan that just doesn't suit our players.

Solution:

Drop - Edwards, Grigg, Thomas, Newman, Morris, Ellis, Conca, Grimes, Hampson, Petterd if they don't perform (not all of them at once but if they have a poor run of form give them a run in the 2nd's)

Move the ball fast and take the game on!

I actually think the issue can be boiled down to two things:

- Too much loyalty from Hardwick for his more senior players

- Too much emphasis on part of a game plan that just doesn't suit our players.

Solution:

Drop - Edwards, Grigg, Thomas, Newman, Morris, Ellis, Conca, Grimes, Hampson, Petterd if they don't perform (not all of them at once but if they have a poor run of form give them a run in the 2nd's)

Move the ball fast and take the game on!

Yeah that's the big error , what's the use of developing the young players or bringing guys to the club if you don't play them if they are in form and others aren't. That's the difference between what the Swannies do and is this year . Plus don't get spuds to the club from other clubs like Hampson and Thomas and just play them and sit in the coaches box and just wish upon a star that they'll play the house down when they are not . Isn't the whole idea of having our own VFL side so that they'd clowns can learn the game plan at this level and prove themselves .

It's just been a weird year for mine. I think complacency has set in for the last 6 months . It's a shame really cause they worked so hard for. 4 years.

Is there going to be a thread like this every time we have an ordinary patch? I remember the one from last year, people moaning that Dimma was destroying the club as we proceeded to win 15 games for only the second time this century.

Every Tiger supporter would be disappointed with what we've seen so far in 2014, but fair dinkum, calling for the coach's head and half the side to be dropped because we're 2-3 instead of 5-0? And our "plateau"? Holy hell that's a short plateau. If it were a landscape you'd fall off it.

I completely agree with some of the criticisms in this thread, but you don't improve by sacking the coach for a 2-point loss, nor by dropping 600 games of experience to play untested kids.

Is there going to be a thread like this every time we have an ordinary patch? I remember the one from last year, people moaning that Dimma was destroying the club as we proceeded to win 15 games for only the second time this century.

Every Tiger supporter would be disappointed with what we've seen so far in 2014, but fair dinkum, calling for the coach's head and half the side to be dropped because we're 2-3 instead of 5-0? And our "plateau"? Holy hell that's a short plateau. If it were a landscape you'd fall off it.

I completely agree with some of the criticisms in this thread, but you don't improve by sacking the coach for a 2-point loss, nor by dropping 600 games of experience to play untested kids.

The mistakes have been so obvious , of course he has the opportunity to turn it around. I guess people on here just want it not to happen again. Finals are shot in 2 weeks ,there is pretty much a 95% chance of that. Some are facing up to it before others . You positive guys can go on your rant after the Geelong game.

We will not play finals from 2 and 5 that's just the way it is. And living in a world where we as a footy club are relying on other clubs to stuff up like the bombers did against the saints is just not where we should be after 4 years of building. We have the facilities , the funding and no excuses. The only positivity for this year has been the recruitment of Miles and the bloke has been stuck in the VFL cause Hardwick promoted Thomas. I'd rather whinge now before it's too late. We could of not asked for a better draw for the opening 5 games and they have cooked it. Hes in charge and responsible is all.

Yeah, and here is the "Dimma outcoached again" thread from EXACTLY 12 months ago, when we were all saying the same things.

It's just blind, relentless negativity.

this from 12 months ago.... after the WC game.

We moved the ball quicker and were more attacking around the ground.... was pretty simple. The reason I reckon rucks are over rated is because all you have to do is rove to the dominate ruck... we brought the ball to groundand then smashed them getting it out. Maric worked his arse off around the ground too.
Well done Dimma.....

Where have I heard that before?