List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Trade FA Megathread

Petracca (Pick1), Weller/Ahern/Laverde (pick 10ish, whoever is still there), McKenzie (pick18-21ish), De Goey (pick 22), Cockatoo (pick 40), Foster (pick 41ish)

This is assuming we get our 3 top 20 picks as has been mentioned and a 3rd round compo for Gwilt (Foster pick). I don't think it's unrealistic, probably not likely we get another 2 picks inside the top 20 while keeping pick 1, but otherwise one of McCartin or Brayshaw instead of Petracca. Would be very happy with this and then PSD one of Jaksch or O'Rourke.

He was taken at pick 12 in a compromised draft (his true worth was probably more like 16/17 or so, out of his agegroup), has done little since, is out of contract and is likely to nominate a club of choice, all of which means that GWS are likely to get considerably less than they paid for him in the first place, putting his range anywhere from about 20 onwards, especially if what Brisbane got for their "departing 5" last year is anything to go by. Given that we have a pick around 21/22, there should be no need to include him in any trade for pick 1.

Doesn't mean he's no good, but he's not give-up-pick-1-in-order-to-get-him type good.

we are finally singing from the same page mate!!!!

:D

things might be on the up here after all

Crocker who can't even get a game for the Box Hill hawks? he just wasn't good enough and doubt he would have been even if at Geelong.
Some massive myths in footy, geelongs good players have come from drafting good footballers... Polish turds like Crocker & you still end up with a turd.
Development is obviously a factor, but choosing the right guys is the biggest factor.
Look at hawthorns effort on Garrett.

Let's be honest with ourselves.

If Geelong drafted the same spuds we did for about 5 years, they'd still be spuds.

Only one still getting games who left the Saints is Cripps and he was getting games ***** us as well.

Thankfully, things are starting to look a bit better.

Last edited by a moderator:
Some massive myths in footy, geelongs good players have come from drafting good footballers... Polish turds like Crocker & you still end up with a turd.
Development is obviously a factor, but choosing the right guys is the biggest factor.
Look at hawthorns effort on Garrett.
Dayle Garlett you mean, right?

Rahul would you expect McKenzie to last to pick 20 after today? Id think Essendon, Freo and North would all be pretty keen.

Could we be better served by swapping 1 to GC for 7, 14 and a player? Grab Weller at 7, McKenzie at 14 and best available from there?

Rahul would you expect McKenzie to last to pick 20 after today? Id think Essendon, Freo and North would all be pretty keen.

Could we be better served by swapping 1 to GC for 7, 14 and a player? Grab Weller at 7, McKenzie at 14 and best available from there?
Reckon he's still good to go at #21 if we want him.

Ive stated this months ago that if we walked away with Petracca, Weller, amd Mckenzie we should be jumping in joy....

Its now starting to look like they could all fall below pick 15 lol