2015 Fixture (who did well and who got unlucky)

According to The Age's reckoning Sydney got very very lucky considering they were Minor Premiers.

Then again...... when some teams are favored every year without fail does it still count as "luck"?

3110rohans_draw.jpg
Do you ever stop whinging about Sydney?

Disappointed the suns aren't in melbourne more often. 3(?) games. was hoping to watch a bit of Gaz this year.

2x WA trips for us this year, no SA. there goes those plans too.

Interesting choice to televise the Saints and Dogs over the Dons and Hawks on FTA.

Disappointed the suns aren't in melbourne more often. 3(?) games. was hoping to watch a bit of Gaz this year.

2x WA trips for us this year, no SA. there goes those plans too.

Interesting choice to televise the Saints and Dogs over the Dons and Hawks on FTA.
Wouldn't it be to draw people to the game?

Can't believe melbourne got a friday night game ahead of us.

Lol!!
Melbourne got a very easy draw, AFL trying to give them a leg up. But happy with our draw as well, much easier than last year which was a killer for the first half of the season.

We play Brisbane, Geelong, Richmond, Essendon and Fremantle twice. We play Crows away, Port at home, Eagles in Tassie, Swans at home with GWS and GC away. A pretty good draw overall considering we finished top 4 after finals not to cop Hawks, Swans or Port twice and the two interstate teams at home.

richmond, carlton and collingwood take up 17 of the 22 Friday night games. while the two sa teams who both rank in the top 4 for average home attendances don't even get a Saturday showdown... wtf has carton done to deserve 6 Friday night games

If those three teams have a similar season to this year it is going to be movie night a lot on Fridays.

Also have 8 six-day breaks (equal highest) and are the only side not to play any of the bottom six sides twice.

3110rohans_draw.jpg

Man oh man...Rohan Connolly has one s**t head.

We are you moral and intellectual superiors.

Accept that and life will be far easier.

If someone were to do a sum of each teams fixture by giving a score from level of difficulty. Eg. Hawthorn are 18, Sydney 17, Port 16. Would give a decent indication of who got the toughest draw. Could even account for travel further down the line

Loving ANZAC day at Adelaide OVAL

Norwood v Port followed by

Hawks v Port

What a day....

Again loads of people are gona miss out because the powers that be decided to make the capacity the same as shitfull park somehow not taking into account that thousands of extra people want to go to the football when it is in the city... school boy error. Needed to be 60k.

It's not finished yet, there's still room for another stand

We'd love nothing more than to play another bottom 8 mob like the Pies one extra time every season.... but you already get what ? 17 home games for the season is it ? Did you ask for the usual 20 this time and settle on the usual 17 or 18 ?

Play a game at Kardinia Pk, or at least prove you arnt bottom 4 material next season and we'll think about it ok.
You simply arnt much of a drawcard these days. Being s**t will do that.

The ticket sales excuse to avoid a flogging every year...yeah we dont notice it at all ;)

Yeah and we'd love nothing more than to beat a top 4 side like Sydney on their home turf again but it kinda gets old after doing it for a decade, so perhaps you guys come down to the G once in awhile and play us, who knows you might actually go better than your last outing at the G.

I think you should check the fixture mate, we have 12 home games not the 17 as you suggested. We have 17 games in Melbourne, but that's kind of expected when 10 teams are from Victoria.

As for Kardinia park, that's up to the Cats and whether they would want to play us down there. They would request to play a home game against us every year and it would be stupid of them to play it at KP when they will get a much higher attendance at the G.

I also think you will find that we still are a draw card. We ranked number 1 for crowd attendances during the home and away season despite "being s**t" while you guys, the minor premiers, finished down in 9th. here is the proof thanks to footywire. http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/attendances?year=2014&t=R&h=A&s=T

We'd love nothing more than to play another bottom 8 mob like the Pies one extra time every season.... but you already get what ? 17 home games for the season is it ? Did you ask for the usual 20 this time and settle on the usual 17 or 18 ?

Next year is 13 games (probably 14 once R23 is finalised) games at the MCG. Not our fault that opposition clubs request to play home games against Collingwood at the MCG to capitalise on our support.

Play a game at Kardinia Pk, or at least prove you arnt bottom 4 material next season and we'll think about it ok.
You simply arnt much of a drawcard these days. Being s**t will do that.

Highest attendance average in the AFL (again). Only 11k more per game than Sydney.

Overall, pretty embarrassing for you.

If someone were to do a sum of each teams fixture by giving a score from level of difficulty. Eg. Hawthorn are 18, Sydney 17, Port 16. Would give a decent indication of who got the toughest draw. Could even account for travel further down the line

You mean like the thing that's been posted multiple times in this thread?

Also have 8 six-day breaks (equal highest) and are the only side not to play any of the bottom six sides twice.

3110rohans_draw.jpg
Problem with this rating system is the points assigned to everything are fairly arbitrary. I see the logic behind the Hawthorn 18 points, St Kilda 1 point thing but that just assumes that there is an equal gap in difficulty of every team based on ladder position. A terrible assumption to make given how close sections of the ladder were with many teams separated by mere percentage. The points awarded for everything else (road trips, interstate games, 6 day breaks) are all completely subjective and I doubt there is any stats that backs up the values used.

I still think the handicapping element of the fixture is rubbish. Of course as a supporter of the Premiers I'd say that, but why should teams who performed badly (often largely thanks to tough runs with injury) be gifted dream draws the following year as a result? The fixture's goal should be equality, not equalization.

Yet another way the AFL is punishing successful clubs to advantage those who've failed to get their s**t together.
Agree 100%. Problem is the draw will never be fair unless everyone plays each other twice, once home and once away, which will never happen, too many teams to do that now.

Problem with this rating system is the points assigned to everything are fairly arbitrary. I see the logic behind the Hawthorn 18 points, St Kilda 1 point thing but that just assumes that there is an equal gap in difficulty of every team based on ladder position. A terrible assumption to make given how close sections of the ladder were with many teams separated by mere percentage. The points awarded for everything else (road trips, interstate games, 6 day breaks) are all completely subjective and I doubt there is any stats that backs up the values used.

Not to mention giving Hawthorn an extra 'difficulty' point for every game they have in Tassie. :drunk:

According to The Age's reckoning Sydney got very very lucky considering they were Minor Premiers.

Then again...... when some teams are favored every year without fail does it still count as "luck"?
Sydney though have those guaranteed double chance games against early era GWS, it makes their draw look a fraction easier due to a local derby which will level out soon (hell, they already lost one of those clashes).

I think everyone would agree that it is, at best, a rough guide.

Not to mention giving Hawthorn an extra 'difficulty' point for every game they have in Tassie. :drunk:
Precisely. If anything Tassie is an advantage to us given the bitterly cold weather and strong wind characteristics that only we would be used to at Aurora Stadium.