AFL Clubs Fear An "Arms Race" - AGE

Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
Successful clubs run themselves in successful ways, they also have fan bases with different tastes & preferences. The pre-match razzamatazz may not be for all of them but the whole thing shouldn't be turned into another massive ego-booster pissing contest either !!

"Those who have the most dollars will be more adventurous and innovative with match-day fan engagement," one club chief executive said. "Some will work, some will not."

He then added: "It might be best to concentrate on having a good team on field first."

Other officials have pointed out that the smaller clubs, unlikely to have as big a budget, face the toughest test. Some clubs will spend more than $300,000 on the match-day experience, and may eventually need to hire a specialist employee to preside over the entertainment.

"We have all heard about the arms race in football-department spending; this match-day stuff could be next," said another club official.

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl...t-in-matchday-experience-20150228-13rgtl.html

Skimpy cheer leaders serving full strength beer.

Thanks.

AFL isn't like other sports. We do not need cheerleaders to make going to the game worth while. Plus we want a female friendly environment. Having cheerleaders there would tell the women that this is a game that is designed for just the enjoyment of men.

So they wanted a cap on football spending now they want a cap on match-day spending.

All for my club to bring back the 'blue birds'. Proviso being that we bring back our VFL sides, which play before our AFL side and get a social club & ground that makes you feel like you have the home ground advantage.

Bring back these lovelies.
show_image.php

North Melbourne has proved that you don't need a lot of money to provide an amazing match day experience.

All you need is an MP3 file loaded with "You're the Voice".

I'm sure I'm not saying anything here that is a revelation or particularly noteworthy, but it needs to be said time and time again - we don't need 'entertainment' in footy.

NBA, NFL, 20-20 cricket - the big thing with all these sports is that they all have breaks in the middle of play. A 1 minute timeout, a wicket etc. You can't afford to get up and go to the toilet, get drinks, get food etc at these times...so the sport turns to entertainment to fill in the gaps. Timeouts are taken in American sports randomly to break the other teams momentum sometimes, and so you could be halfway through the 2nd quarter!

AFL is different. You don't get breaks in the middle of play. So there can't be 'entertainment' during the actual game. But because of no breaks, fans can't get up and leave in the middle of quarters. So come 1/4 time, 1/2 time, 3/4 time, people get up to go to the toilet, get a drink, get some food. The quarters are 30 minutes long so it makes sense people will at least want to move around. So you don't need ******* entertainment. Besides, how many kids do you reckon become rusted on fans after getting to play on the field at half time on match days? I reckon there would be plenty, who just did Auskick just because, but got to experience it all and loved it. That would be more beneficial to attracting support than having some super ******* s**t fireworks and some busty cheerleaders (assuming they try to take over large portions of the field at half time for that kind of s**t).

The only time you get long breaks in the middle of playing time is when someone is injured, fair chance with a serious injury too (knocked out, smashed face etc). I think it may perhaps be considered a little over-the-top too have cheerleaders shaking pom poms around when someone could be stretchered over with potentially career-ending or worse injuries (Caracella anyone?).

I really don't think the gap between the haves and the have nots will accelerate because of 'match day experience' (unless something extremely innovative is created - but we all know it will be big bangs and flashy colours and noises and girls - basically Michael Bays Transformers on a footy field because that's what 'the people want' according to flogs in suits). Of course the rich get richer. Top clubs have more money to spend on football department, this correlates to better on field performance, which brings in more fans, media attention, TV, sponsors etc, this brings more money, they have more money to spend on FD etc. I don't think spending 300k on match day experience would be overly profitable over the course of the year - will a Collingwood fan really choose to go to Collingwood/GWS at the MCG (for example) because of the 'experience'? I doubt it.

Ridiculous idea to cap or tax this. Embarrassing suggestion.

I'm not saying prematch entertainment is all good - most of it is clumsy and the clubs don't even measure if it's effective or not.

But capping clubs for trying to make the fan experience better is the dumbest thing I've ever heard of for a league that is trying to encourage more fans to the game.

Oh man, I would love a club that spends and does the least for frills around the footy. If a club decided to not have any pre match entertainment, promised to not play the beats for Come With Me in the breaks, didn't do stupid competitions that appeals to morons, and made it a pure football experience, I would become a platinum member of that club.

AFL isn't like other sports. We do not need cheerleaders to make going to the game worth while. Plus we want a female friendly environment. Having cheerleaders there would tell the women that this is a game that is designed for just the enjoyment of men.
Completely agree. Cheerleaders are there to be lauded at and I think as a society we should be moving away from casual idea of a "womans role is to be looked at".