WRFL Division 3 2018

Kozole how is the knee mate? Didn't look great on the day.

Actually was an ankle/lower leg,its all bruised/swollen now. Didn't need a stretcher but they told me to use it.

I bet that all your coach is worried about is winning round one and not becoming a Division One powerhouse

Yeah winning Round 1 is a short term goal, but getting to Div 1 & doing well is OUR overall goal we are not content with winning the Div 3 Flag nor the Div 2 Flag.

Yeah winning Round 1 is a short term goal, but getting to Div 1 & doing well is OUR overall goal we are not content with winning the Div 3 Flag nor the Div 2 Flag.[/QUOTE]

Cmon Matty, what Bang said was correct and the whole reason div3 was created. However a small number of clubs (like yours) will always have ambitions to climb up (and good on you) but first you must build a solid base and have a plan, don't rush or you will just be another club that goes up and down through divisions each year. You know clubs get trapped into spending all there money each year on players. I suggest you bank some each year and build a bank. Then when your ready increase your spending a bit to get the right players who can play a higher division and then have a tilt. When you move up then use some more money from your bank to build again.
And most of all engage the supporters, sponsors, juniors and the community as without support this will ultimately fall down..

Good luck to you and your club..

You do know that most div1 clubs are putting away money and working with smaller budgets, so when Deer Park come back to the pack they will be ready to have a crack. Most clubs know that Deer Park are basically unbeatable. It's a sad situation for the WRFL but what can you do..

What practice matches have we got this week guys?

We play Burnside over at Burnside. Looking forward to it, as it should be a good hit out leading into the Easter break.

I think you are completely off the mark here. It may be seen as a development league for Parkside (which is a bit laughable really because why develop when as a club you don't go all the way with it when the chance was there?) but I doubt that many other clubs are treating it like that.

I dont think that any of the clubs in DIV 3 think they are better than other clubs or BETTER THAN THE DIVISION. They just go about their business and do the best they can. If they are good enough to win it one day they will go up and do the same thing in Div 2. I guarantee you that no teams are sitting down and hatching elaborate 5 year plans on how they are going to climb through the ranks of the WRFL to one day become a powerful club in Division one.

I am sure that after their experience in Div one last time that nobody at North Sunshine is interested in going to Division One ever again. They don't see Division 3 as a development league it is just the league they play in where they do their best.

I think that you (along with many others at this level) have forgotten what it is really about.

I was once a coach in Division one. When I was coaching I fell for copying everything that I see in the AFL that you and many other coaches, players and mostly administrators at this level fall for.

WE MUST:
* Get more professional.
* Train Harder
* Rotate players on and off the bench
* Do recovery sessions
* Better have ICE BATHS
* Get medical professionals
* Raise More Money
* Pay players more
* Get more sponsors

Back then I bought right into it, followed the crowd and thought I knew it all. Now I realise I was just being a ****** (starts with W and ends in KER)

Local footy isn't about becoming more professional. There is already a professional league (AFL) and a semi professional league (VFL) if that's what you want to be involved in go to one of those.

Local leagues were once for (and should still be) people who want to have some fun, enjoy a sport they love, make friends and socialise with people in your local area........ I wish we could get back to that but I think it is too far gone.

Rant Over

Great post,

Ps: yeah u were a wa*ker coach lol :p
Love Ya mate

romsey bet us by 4 goals if that (nth sunshine)

We appreciated the much needed game so a big thankyou to the nth sunshine footy club. My recollection of the score was a little bit different however, fairly sure romsey played two quaters against a 6 goal breeze and 1 with the wind and conceded zero goals and kicked 14.23 Fair effort considering the amount of under 16s and 18s players that made their debut.

Your right about the score but i didnt see to many young kids in the group that came out in the second lot the difference at the end was about 9 goals romsey way and good luck to them they seemed a good bunch of blokes and no I'm not affiliated with either club

That should be an interesting game between Heights and Vale. Based on how well Albanvale have apparently recruited and the fact Heights are in strife, I would imagine a comfortable win to Albanvale.

G'day Mongrel,
Was it played in good spirit? Did you guys get something out of the contest?
As per my post in the RDFL its a practice match and the purpose is to get something out of the game.
I also congratulate Nth Sunshine for taking the challenge and it's the only way to move forward and show everyone you guys (nth sunshine) are heading in the right direction. I'm aware of the perception of your club and the leaders need to make change.
Good luck to all..

G'day Mongrel,
Was it played in good spirit? Did you guys get something out of the contest?
As per my post in the RDFL its a practice match and the purpose is to get something out of the game.
I also congratulate Nth Sunshine for taking the challenge and it's the only way to move forward and show everyone you guys (nth sunshine) are heading in the right direction. I'm aware of the perception of your club and the leaders need to make change.
Good luck to all..

Yeah theres no doubt sunshine took a big risk in playing an undefeated premiership side turbos. But that just shows their character. Would my list of players or many others front up week in week out after 30 goal hidings? Probably not. Absolute respect for the nth sunshine boys.
Yes the game was played in good spirits. It was a horrible nite for footy tho and being a 6 quater game meant my seniors played 2 quaters against a massive breeze and 1 with it. All that aside tho it was a much needed hitout for us and nth sunshine were fantastic with their help with one of our players that got knocked out. Neither side were worrying about scores it was all about the effort and all in all i think the game was a success for both clubs

I am no longer involved in Div 3 but as a past President of a Div 3 club I am gravely concerned over the state of some of the clubs both on and off the field, but this post is not about the onfield, its more alarming to me the number of clubs that are not in great shape off the field when it comes to the operations and finanacial stability of the clubs.

I am told that one of the Div 3 clubs this week jsut went through its 5th President inside of 3 years as a club and from what I have been told their isnt anyone taking a step forward to assume the responsability that comes with the Presidents role, this is not a crack at the club merely a point that their are bigger issues around the sustanability of some of the newer and older clubs as well.

Their are many club in all divisions at the moment doing it tough and as I stated its not just a division 3 issue at all, I have grave concerns for the future of the clubs and some of the WRFL developments plans dont bode well for all clubs, I think the league has a lot of work and some might suggest credability in front of them.

The board alone as shown their putulence to the clubs by not attending meeting's with the clubs and the Leagues President has no idea about footy and the challenges of clubs and there operational challenges on a daily basis, I for one would love to see some "real" Football people involved at a board level as I think the league and the board has missed the boat with recent decisions at all levels.

I have attempted to contact the leagues newly appointed Football development officers to no avail as yet, we as clubs need to understand and take note that these people who have been appointed by the AFL and work out of the WRFL offices have mixed responsabilities but as a concerned long time WRFL person I want to know what are they doing for my clubs Juniors and increasing the participation rate at a local level.

I understand and have seen the new strategic plan's that have been developed by the AFL and in some cases I can see the strategy, what I don't see is the plans and process to make it happen.

I am not calling for a revolt what I am asking is for you to think about in the immediate future how healthy are our clubs off the field and what is the AFL and league doing about it??????

I have attempted to contact the leagues newly appointed Football development officers to no avail as yet, we as clubs need to understand and take note that these people who have been appointed by the AFL and work out of the WRFL offices have mixed responsabilities but as a concerned long time WRFL person I want to know what are they doing for my clubs Juniors and increasing the participation rate at a local level.

DP LION I have a suggestion to help your juniors and increase participation. Grab two players that you are paying $800 a game. Tell them that their services are no longer required. Take that money and advertise that you have 64 spots available at your club for junior players that have never played AFL before FREE OF CHARGE. No fees, free boots, shorts, socks, bag and club gear.

Just like that you have improved your juniors and increased participation..... .who would have thought.

DP LION I have a suggestion to help your juniors and increase participation. Grab two players that you are paying $800 a game. Tell them that their services are no longer required. Take that money and advertise that you have 64 spots available at your club for junior players that have never played AFL before FREE OF CHARGE. No fees, free boots, shorts, socks, bag and club gear.

Just like that you have improved your juniors and increased participation..... .who would have thought.

No use potting clubs like Deer Park. Yes they pay players as per most clubs, but agree maybe they have a bigger budget that probably is difficult to compete with in the WRFL. However with there success I believe they have done a lot to build there junior base over the last 3 or so years. This to me should be congratulated and the model they used should be forwarded to other clubs.

Yeah theres no doubt sunshine took a big risk in playing an undefeated premiership side turbos. But that just shows their character. Would my list of players or many others front up week in week out after 30 goal hidings? Probably not. Absolute respect for the nth sunshine boys.
Yes the game was played in good spirits. It was a horrible nite for footy tho and being a 6 quater game meant my seniors played 2 quaters against a massive breeze and 1 with it. All that aside tho it was a much needed hitout for us and nth sunshine were fantastic with their help with one of our players that got knocked out. Neither side were worrying about scores it was all about the effort and all in all i think the game was a success for both clubs
Was there any players that caught your eye that you think will be valuable to Nth Sunshine in the up coming season Mongrel?

Anyone no scores from albanvale vs sunny heights. was there for about 3 qtrs albanvale doninated heights in every area big strong forwards and fast mids looked way to good for heights played 6 qtrs today tho at the end of the 3 my guess would have been about 13 goals up albanvale but i no they swapped 80 % of there ones out to put 2's in after 3qtrs.

That should be an interesting game between Heights and Vale. Based on how well Albanvale have apparently recruited and the fact Heights are in strife, I would imagine a comfortable win to Albanvale.
Sinking cans today was a treat watching Albanvale win by about 10 goals looked fast and moved the ball well. Few stand outs for the in diacono, A.brook, Blake,Charenko. Can't wait for a cracking game round 1.

Just on the subject of sinking cans, I also enjoy a beer but have noticed club prices have increased now to around $4:80 a heavy and $4:00 a light. Gee this is steep. Happy to pay $4:00 a heavy but anything over this is a rip off.
What's your opinion..,

Just on the subject of sinking cans, I also enjoy a beer but have noticed club prices have increased now to around $4:80 a heavy and $4:00 a light. Gee this is steep. Happy to pay $4:00 a heavy but anything over this is a rip off.
What's your opinion..,
You can always go to the AFL and pay $30 to get in and pay $6 a beer. Clubs are paying $2+ a can so they do have to make some money turbo

Cheers Ando,
I always buy from the club just find it a bit rich that's all.
How do clubs pay $2+ when I can buy a slab for under $48. I would assume clubs get a discount as buying bulk. However I do recall a club telling me once, it was cheaper to buy from Dan Murphy than where the club got them from. Interesting.