Scandal Alastair Clarkson whacking port fan

Given that he was (reportedly) 5m from his hotel door/lift, and that he looked to have a number of club officials around him, I would've kept on walking, and looked to those who are in a better position (ie. club officials or security) to block the guy from getting through the door.

Well you use words like "seem" so you don't know. Go and listen to the interviews and get the whole story. Also there were 3 guys not 1, Fagan was pushing the other 2 away. You have just watched the 10 seconds that obviously been edited by the idiots.

Here are some facts from the interview - paraphrasing from Fagan
  • At the traffic lights down from the Playford the 3 pissed blokes approached Clarko asking for a photo.
  • Clarko Politely declined and said something along the lines of "Not tonight Fellas"
  • For the next 70 to 80 m the 3 pissed blokes were fairly relentless trying to get Clarko to oblige with a photm after he has sad no
  • Clarko continued to say no politely and was walking away from them towards the hotel the whole time
  • The 3 pissed blokes stared to get physical bumping into Fagan and trying to get at Clarko
  • one pissed bloke got infront of Clarko with his phone/camera
  • At that time Clarko felt that his personal space was invaded and pushed the guy out of the way
  • When Fagan was asked if they felt threatened his answer verbatim ".......... you don't know who you are dealing with, you could tell these guys were pretty up and about looking for a little bit of trouble"
  • Fagan said we were just trying to get back to the hotel safely and I was pushing and shoving as much as Clarko but I wasn't on camera.

People defending Clarkson are dickheads. So the same applies when some tool gets in your face in the street after a night out, does it? Just belt the bloke and want to go on with things? Turn it up.

The fan is an absolute pest and dickhead too, but that doesn't give someone else the right to get violent.
Clarkson hardly belted the bloke. He firstly fended him off and followed up more aggressively when the bloke persisted. Is there any evidence of this bloke being "belted"? Did he experience anything other than mild discomfort from the push?

The Hawthorn lads protested mildly and the responses subsequently escalated as the "supporter" wouldn't relent and got worse. How far was he going to go? Nobody knows, but it was concerning that he wasn't responding to any of the protests or the initial fend off. They quite rightly defended themselves IMO.

Ultimately no harm was done to any party. A good result.

Your post didn't have any points, it was a rant against Clarkson backed up by the actions of Noel Gallacher, who head butted a bloke taking his picture coming out of a nightclub.

ah yeah, nah.

1. I never said I have sympathy for Noel (or Liam) Gallagher. I may have empathy (as in, I try to understand why he might respond like that) but that is very different to sympathy, and empathy is something that every adult human should be able to show towards every one else. It is a mature response to try and understand someone else's perspective. (and again - very different to sympathy). I in no way excused Gallagher for attacking a reporter - I just pointed out, that when you bring emotions into it, it is very easy to call him a dick, while excusing someone like Liam Hemsworth for doing the same thing.

2. I also only included Williams as an example of the principle that provocation is not an excuse for violence. (and I actually pointed out very clearly that I didnt think Clarko's response was in any way as serious as Marley)

3. I clearly stated that the guy was being a dick.

4. I, however, also stated, that the guy being a dick, in no way excuses a response of violence. The guy made no physical contact with Clarko. He did not threaten him in any way.
If you going to respond to this, please do not go into some hyperbole about how, just because I try to understand something like a mature human being, it makes my posts irrelevent because it doesnt agree with yours - instead give me a reasonable explanation for why Clarkson is somehow not at fault for his violent reaction.
(And I have nowhere said that Clarko should be charged with assault, or suspended by the AFL. I am not talking about the severity of what he did, nor am I suggesting what response the appropriate authorities, including the AFL, should take. I am just saying that he is not excused from his actions just because the guy was being a dick)

Yeah reasonable force. Unless the bloke was high on ice, a shove on the bloke's shoulder would've sufficed

Holy mother of god

" Excuse me sir are you high on ice. I need need justification from the tweeners ay BF before I retaliate "

He pushed him, and I'm fine with that you have a right to your personal space. If that was a guy getting in a police officers face he would have been smashed to the ground, cuffed and arrested, so why is it ok to do it to an everyday person?
This, this and more THIS!

Shoved the bloke away and kept walking. Another shove if he came back.

Anything more than that is over the top against someone clearly drunk but making threats or being violent.

Thats exactly what he did.
3. I clearly stated that the guy was being a dick.

4. I, however, also stated, that the guy being a dick, in no way excuses a response of violence. The guy made no physical contact with Clarko. He did not threaten him in any way.

Wrong mate... but hey don't let the truth get in the way of your story.
You saw a 10 second excerpt that was edited by the idiots before the sold it to a TV station.

Verbatim from Interview today on Fox Footy: "........ so we thought lets just keep our head down and get into the hotel as quickly as we could. But um right towards the door when we were trying to get in that's when he made contact with me and tried to stop me from getting in the door then put the camera in my face....."

No, he 100% is not... that is clear in every single sport in the world.

He is a professional sportsman/coach. This would happen multiple times every single game, to every single sportsman in the world. Unless the fan had physically jumped the fence and had made physical contact, there is absolutely no reason where it is justifiable for him to respond physically, and even in that case it would require restraint.

It sounds like it was only a push - and if thats the case, then I'm not saying he deserves any serious punishment, but at least a talking to from the AFL and an apology from Clarko are both in order. (while the fan should also be reprimanded if he was going beyond what is reasonably expected of a fan).

Watch the video, contact was made by the fan, you can see his body press up against clarko just before being pushed away. Also heard mention that prior to filming he was pushing clarko as well.

Well within his rights to push back.

So you reckon every time there is a king hit, the person getting hit did nothing to provoke?

However Im pretty sure the law is pretty clear - if you hit first, you're in the wrong. (unless you can argue that you had reason to believe your safety was being threatened). There is no questioning that the guy was being knob... And, if a member of port, then he's probably got some sort of reprimand coming against him.
But that doesnt excuse Clarko's response.

I remeber when Noel Gallagher broke someone nose for taking photos of him... and he was crucified by the media. Why is a football coach immune to this?
What happened to Sam
Newman when hit the patron on the footy show ?

Clarko can't punch and is a sore loser.. Haha.. Nah bloke was being a dick and I would of done the exact same thing. Now this knucklehead is taking legal action, get over it champ you've had your 5 minutes in the sun.

Clarkson's response was justified. Just because he's a public figure doesn't mean he should have to put up with being accosted and harassed by drunk dickheads.

If that's what happened then there's no issue.

But you know as well as I do that's not what he did.

That's exactly what happened. There's certainly no vision to support your claims of choking or king hit etc

As you've said to others, it appears you are basically lying without any video evidence to back your stand point.

So everytime A current affair run a piece on some crook and they push the camera man over or push the pest interviewer do they go to Jail or get charged? What about all the idiots leaving court pushing and shoving journos? How about all the reality shows when people push and shove each other? What about the fact these little 18 year old terrorists got touched up when being arrested by police last week?

The calls for Clarko to go to jail are from do gooder flogs, the same people who have absolutely no life and get a kick out of yelling out loud from the bleaches. Gutless.

3 pissed up clowns who apparently weren't at the game, merely pub hoping, followed Clarko over the footbridge to his hotel ribbing him about the game

As they approached the hotel the girlfriend has started filming old mate getting up and personal in the face of Clarko, who after requesting he stop 3 times previously started screaming in his face, to which Clarko pushed him away with his left hand, which was as heavy as a Gaff habdball, but matey kept going.

Clarko then swung around and gave him a don't argue

Totally blown out of proportion and the offender and his girlfriend should be interviewed by the coppers for intent to extort, then banned from the PAFC, if Koch has any balls

They are Obviously EFC supporters and probably family members of Albert
Followed over footbridge?
Kotch to expel Geelong supporters from PAFC if he has balls?

Have you been drinking? Drinking and posting is as bad as getting pissed at Casino and pestering footy coach.

Yeah reasonable force. Unless the bloke was high on ice, a shove on the bloke's shoulder would've sufficed.

I don't know how you can justify a grab at a bloke's neck. Oh wait never mind, you go for Hawthorn. :$

Never happened. Why do people blatantly make stuff up to try to win an internet argument?