Opinion Clarko and the idiot

Which makes me think that they weren't port supporters but just some random drunk dickheads who only supported the team that won.
His name might soon be known and then we will find out if he is a Port Member and if he is he wont be for much longer.

Did you have a problem with a Port legend like Dave Granger clocking Graham Cornes pre-emptively?

I don't want to be just taking the alternative view for the sake of being a pain in the arse, but lets be honest here, if some ****wits were to accost Keith Thomas post match next week we'd be calling them crows fans regardless of their attire.
I saw the video a couple of times this morning but when I saw it again a couple of more times this arvo I thought of Granger and Cornes. Clarko like Granger threw a left and like Granger it was all arm contact. His fist missed the head and it was inside of the arm contact to the head.

I wonder how Clarkson got into this situation in the first place. I don't know the game day logistics but especially for night games, surely players, coaches and officials should be kept apart from the public. Why was Clarkson not on the team bus from the ground to his hotel?

I sure hope when Port play in Melbourne that Ken and Co aren't wandering Melbourne streets late at night where any drunk yobbo can accost them.

It's just common sense to assume the worst about 'joe public' especially on Saturday nights.

His name might soon be known and then we will find out if he is a Port Member and if he is he wont be for much longer.

There's some suggestion in the main board that one of the blokes is a Geelong supporter.

It'll all come out in the end. Lots of people will end up with egg on their face by Tuesday I'd say.

Take of this what you will

went to get my car washed at the valet today
(Selling the car and wanted a crisp awesome job)
And the 18ish year old who was walking with me to my car top hand me the keys saw me in a port top and said

"So you see that clarko thing, that was my mate ayy
he was in town and in the casino then he sees clarko and wants a funny snapchat so goes up and pays him out about port and then best thing you know clarko has swung one at him and told him to f off

he had it on his snapchat story but has deleted it since, so funny though ayyy

anyways we couldn't get this Mark off or this one here...

In mu ignorance and just wanting to get away from the brace face bogan I didn't ask him if he was at the game or if he actually goes for port

and for all I know that guy could've been having me on but he seemed to dumb to make his story up

I wonder how Clarkson got into this situation in the first place. I don't know the game day logistics but especially for night games, surely players, coaches and officials should be kept apart from the public. Why was Clarkson not on the team bus from the ground to his hotel?

I sure hope when Port play in Melbourne that Ken and Co aren't wandering Melbourne streets late at night where any drunk yobbo can accost them.

It's just common sense to assume the worst about 'joe public' especially on Saturday nights.

Left the ground about 45 minutes after the final siren. A couple of umpires walked past us on the footbridge, pulling their official AFL wheeliecases behind them.

They might've only been staying across the bridge but it staggered me.

All you would've needed is one Port or Hawks fan with a grudge and it could've turned nasty real quick.

Super complacent by the AFL.

It would have been ~ an hour after the game and he made the decision to walk back to the hotel instead of catch the team bus so he could de-stress.

Yeah that is actually a pretty dangerous thing to do at 11pm when you're a public figure.

And the provocation defence only applies (in Australia at least, can't say anything for other countries) to murder. And the threshold would be a lot higher than 'some dickhead was yelling in my face'.

Ah the famous Moffa case. My parents were friendly with them and next door neighbours who were godparents to my youngest sister and brother were related to them. He successfully used extreme provocation as a defence to get off killing her. But the law has to change to get rid of this common law principle. Too many clever barristers over the last 40 hears have got wife killers off going to jail when the victim isnt there to defend what alleged provocation they have been accused of.

It's been that way for years. I remember one year taking my brother in law to the Essendon final where we got less than 20k. He's not a follower of Aussie rules but has respect towards Port Adelaide. We were that pissed by the end of the game that instead of walking out from the outer towards Federick St we somehow found ourselves behind the members, so of course we walk to the bar for another pint.

By this stage the players & coaches were making there way out and mingling with the fans that were still around the place. Unfortunately I had to leave with my bro-in-law in a hurry as he was convinced he had the right to tell Sheedy what he thought of him. He's a funny prick but can easily cross the line when he's has 5 or 6 too many.

It's a shame if we end up like the stadiums in Europe were fans need to be segregated and players & officials always kept in restricted areas.

Its very simple he walked the 10 minutes across the bridge to the Playford on North Terrace. He did it twice last year. The last 70m or so according to Footy manager Chris Fagan the 3 boofheads asked 3 times for a photo with Clarko. You cant blame him for saying no after a loss and hard day in the box. So thats why both Fagan and Clarko felt intimidated. 3 drunks followed them and didnt take no for an answer.

The guy leaned in to Clarkson, initiating contact. He was within his right to give him a stiff push away, probably not to the neck area, but somewhere lower. This idiot is a drongo, ban from AO, ban from PAFC club and Alberton, and if a member, tear it up for life. Zero tolerance. I am proud of the fact that an opposition coach thought he could take a safe walk around the Oval and across to his hotel after an away game, this incident is an absolutely aberration and should be made an example of.

When the phone recording came out and the dick began to yell and lean across Clarkson, an ugly line was crossed.

The guy leaned in to Clarkson, initiating contact. He was within his right to give him a stiff push away, probably not to the neck area, but somewhere lower. This idiot is a drongo, ban from AO, ban from PAFC club and Alberton, and if a member, tear it up for life. Zero tolerance. I am proud of the fact that an opposition coach thought he could take a safe walk around the Oval and across to his hotel after an away game, this incident is an absolutely aberration and should be made an example of.

When the phone recording came out and the dick began to yell and lean across Clarkson, an ugly line was crossed.
From what's shown in the video, Clarkson initiated contact.

It is either:

Idiot follows Clarkson with mate recording in front
Idiot leans in to Clarko
Clarko gently pushes him aside
Idiot leans back in and yells
Whack

OR

Idiot follows Clarkson with mate recording in front
Clarko gently pushes him aside
Idiot leans in and yells
Whack

Either way, there is no need to lean in to him. None.

I know of the person in the video. Friend of a friend.

Definitely a Port "fan" but I reckon he would think 1870 is a postcode.

He's allowed to in that situation. If someone gets into your space, you're allowed to push them away with reasonable force.

Clearly the first shot wasn't enough to hurt the guy or push him over, so it sounds like reasonable force to me.

I very much doubt Clarkson will be facing any sort of assault charge.

So it wasnt at the ground and chances are wasnt even a port supporter? Carry on
Probably not..

Do we know he was at the game?
Probably not..

No doubt the 'fan' was being an annoying dickhead, but Clarkson's reaction certainly wasn't warranted. That kind of behaviour coming from an AFL coach (practically the face of the club) is concerning.
Not only concerning, disappointing and which runs totally against the grain with what we are trying to stop.

Im surprised this guys name and facebook hasnt become public yet.
there is a reason for that I reckon, Clarko could be charged with assault if he chooses to prosecute? For all we know, the lawyers could be arranging lunch to discuss this matter for a settlement.....just saying. The rap sheet that Clarko has, it doesn't paint a pretty picture of if history.

Come on, put yourself in his shoes. There's only so much you can take of someone antagonising you in your personal space, leaning into you with a camera in your face and screaming in your ear. Keep having this dickhead scream at you and film you and touch you until you get into your hotel room? Nah, **** that.

You have a choice, one is to walk away and or stop, shirt front the bloke and tell him politely to go forth and multiply....

Now stop everyone, think about this.

IF, the inebriated person was concussed and cracked his head on the ground, what would the sentiency be and or has been.

Now this didn't occur, BUT...

Take away the high profile names, what would people think then?

I am not making a mountain out of mole hill, just saying that kind of reaction is not tolerated or should be to an unexpected victim, yes, he wasn't expecting it.) that could have been really ugly, THANK GOD he didn't connect...... think people. We have seen this before where the common denominator is alcohol..... this is the cause.

I would expect an apology from Clarko coming soon....

In a perfect world they'd both get together later today, say they'd both behaved like dickheads & if they could go back they'd both maintain a bit more decorum.
Don't have to pretend to be best mates & hug etc, but * me this has taken a fair bit of gloss off our win.
Can we get back to the footy?

I didn't defend the drunk fan. Funnily enough, 'talking crap' doesn't actually break any law.

From the video, it appears that Clarkson both initiated and escalated any physical contact.

I'm more than happy to admit that the fan was poorly behaved, but there's a vast difference between being an annoying drunk, and taking a swing at someone because you're unable to control your temper.

People who think it's fine to say what ever they like and act however they like with no fear of physical confrontation give me the shits.

You deliberately go out of your way to upset someone be prepared for a punch in the face.

If I was Clarko I would have done the same.