Benny Gale on FC

Brendon Gale looked as if he believed his words tonight, but felt guilty for doing so as he knows what others would think of him for saying it.

I didn't have a problem with Caro's tough questions. I mean, she has a point when she says that a record number of fans are signing up to the worst performing side of the traditional clubs (in general of course). As a Richmond supporter herself, she voiced the questions that many Richmond fans would have asked if they were in her position and had the guts to. She set the record straight when he said that they have improved every year from 2010, because 2014 is not an improvement to 2013. I could personally argue as well that 2013 was a downgrade to 2012 in certain aspects, such as the form of many of our players although we did not make the finals that year (We could have easily made finals that year and smashed it IMO).

Yeah, nah.... I don't care about personal form if the team is playing well. The team was so much better in 2013 than in 2012.... That's why we improved, we were no longer reliant on Cotch and co to carry us over the line every game.... Ironically the reason we are crap this year.... the non 'gun' players aren't performing to AFL standard and our 'stars' are performing reasonably averagely....

Because going deep into the draft isn't taking 3 picks . It's taking 5 plus and also jostling and trading to get those picks into a better position . I know your a soccer fan but these are the basics of AFL and this is why the club looks silly rolling out this " we were always going deep into the draft jargon" . Benny rolling it out last night was farcical to any supporter that understands we offered contracts to these guys especially one in his last year ( hasn't played this year because of injury in Winderlck ) and another absolute head case that is out till 5am getting in street brawls and leaving his mate in the gutter to save his own skin.

Hmmm, sounds like he has some spirit.... we should have got him.... He could have whacked Harry O and bitch slapped Garlett...

No he did say it. He said once the ball hits the ground inside 50 we have no pressure on it...
True.
Blind Freddy can see that our entries in to our forward 50 are dreadful.
While I believe our forward six is missing a few key players the first thing I'd fix is getting the ball in quickly to give our front six a chance.

No he did say it. He said once the ball hits the ground inside 50 we have no pressure on it...
Quite a bit different to saying we needed specialised small forward which was insinuated . I have admitted that he insinuated greater crumbing but also went further by saying or words to the effect of mids who can go forward or small forwards who can go I up the midfield . Not stay at home small forward who only plays as a small forward which some think is still warranted in today's game ,

True.
Blind Freddy can see that our entries in to our forward 50 are dreadful.
While I believe our forward six is missing a few key players the first thing I'd fix is getting the ball in quickly to give our front six a chance.

I think perhaps our players have themselves in supercoach teams and just like switching to up their weekly scores ;)

But seriously this is spot on. Richmond playing with intensity at the ball and the man, while moving the ball quickly equals Richmond winning....

who is the more valuable player to us and why you reckon? Could we potentially get a good key defender in free agency

Quite a bit different to saying we needed specialised small forward which was insinuated . I have admitted that he insinuated greater crumbing but also went further by saying or words to the effect of mids who can go forward or small forwards who can go I up the midfield . Not stay at home small forward who only plays as a small forward which some think is still warranted in today's game ,

We actually need more than 1.... and if they can rotate through the midfield (even as a pinch hit the way Titch does) all the better. I have absolutely no doubt that was what Benny was talking about....
I thought he made it very clear that any small, forward or midfielder, needs to be able to play within multiple roles .

Yeah would agree need players like Edwards, Houli, and other outside/ small players to play similar roles, but Steven Morris should just stay down back not foward because he cannot fulfill the role well

It's clear Mitch declined to come to us because Brisbane offered more money and a two year deal. I said Mitch declined to come to us and your taking the piss out of me because he declined to come to us for a better deal ( Der Fred) . The fact the club offered this inbred a contract is a disgrace and that the club is spinning saying we were always going deep into the draft while offering Mitch and Winderlich contracts is spin that was the point of my post. Why would you now make 3 posts backing up Mitch declined to come to our club but having a go at me and Tigerimposter calling us Big Footy Foamers ? You seem to have a pretty high opinion of yourself
. How's Phil Walsh going as coach of the Bulldogs lately? You seem to know lot about footy.

Put this clown back in his cage please Mods. We try very hard to
avoid his guy but he still keeps
Popping up and following is around the board . I'll be cutting and pasting this conversation and the last few posts to Doss that's for sure .
Luke beveridge is coaching the bulldogs, just saying .
I also believe that Gale said the club was always keen to invest in the draft , whilst remaining open to options that may present themselves to fill needs such as midfield depth .

I watched and thought geez, how badly does Benny want to say "look, we are shithouse" but can't ;)
Yeah he was crushed by the loss but I tell you who felt it most was Richo during the broadcast , you can
Actually see it in his face after the game that he had just seen with his own eyes that Dimma is a dead man walking and no longer had his support . He was shattered that that could happen again within a fortnight and against Melb after last years tommy Hafey game

Yeah he was crushed by the loss but I tell you who felt it most was Richo during the broadcast , you can
Actually see it in his face after the game that he had just seen with his own eyes that Dimma is a dead man walking and no longer had his support . He was shattered that that could happen again within a fortnight and against Melb after last years tommy Hafey game
Yeah the great man was stuttering and almost lost for words. I reckon he wanted to give the boys a spray himself. I think he's finally sensed that this could be another false dawn and was embarrassed in the box with Denis making snarly smart arse comments

I honestly felt the same. I was there and at half time, we were 2pts down. I remembered the stat about our results when losing at half time and knew the way we were playing, we weren't going to win, but it felt like a "jumped the shark" moment. It was a sick in the guts type of performance. The entire group is disjointed.

A couple of observations:

1. When I was watching the game against the Demons I noticed the thing Garry Lyon brought up about only one player going over to Nathan Drummond when he was being stretchered off. It struck me then, but I thought maybe more of his team mates had offered some words of support or encouragement and it just wasn't picked up on television. Incidentally, that person was Steve Morris who you can see running a fair distance to get to Nathan and give him him a pat while his team mates stood around looking at the ground.
Garry should not have prefaced his question with, "Maybe I'm reading too much into it". It gave Brendon an easy out.
2. Brendon offered up "Our leadership is a work in progress". Many of us have picked up on it and bemoaned a lack of leadership around the ground. This is confirmation that it is a concern and is being worked on.
3. Gale did a very good job. That sort of close-quarters, rapid-fire questioning is very tough to deal with calmly. Remembering and re-reinforcing what you want to put across without sounding like a press-release or completely avoiding the questions asked requires skill and belief.

I didnt see Benny really getting rattled. I thought he handled himself well. Only when he started discusssing McPharlane and he got called out did he do a serious u-turn. Better to u-turn and realise your point may not have been the best one than to carry on and look like a real dick.

Don't think he looked rattled at all. Think he wanted to slap Carro for her stupid questions which were either self explanatory or he couldn't answer in order to remain respectful ie. could have mentioned Dangerfield but the majority of people in jobs similar to Gale rarely speak of things outside of their club.

Whilst you also can't expect Gale to chuck the team under a bus and create a s**t storm for the media to thrive on (was having a discussion with journalist). Like does Caro really expect Gale to come out and say that if Dimma doesn't make finals he will definitely get the sack come the end of season. Not only does it pile on more unwanted pressure on the playing group but it doesn't account for factors as too why we missed out, such as injuries. And whilst i'm not saying that Dimma should retain his job if we have injuries and miss out on finals but if we make significant improvements in the area's which we are currently failing dismally then perhaps you could say we are still on the right track. It's not as black and white as Caro makes out and her comment regarding a review at the end of the season, every club regardless of how successful would have a review at the of the season and should there be no improvement between now and the end of the season then it will bleeding obvious that Dimma will not be coaching in 2016. Moreover people complain about not playing youngsters but when they play badly after replacing experienced players point towards them not being good enough. But there has to be a phasing out process as you can't expect to replace a 250 gamer with someone who has played 5 games and expect results overnight*.

*comment in regard to Gale and his McPharlin link.