Autopsy Rd 8 Carlton v Geelong Post Match Discussion

Did anyone else here the post match interview with Sam Doc on the ABC, said they couldn't pin point the issues, seems to be a lot of things on field, they're sticking together to work throuh it..he was very open and up front.
Asked for us supporters to hang in there, "I grew up a Carlton supporter and stuck with them through the really tough times I know what its like keep coming to the games, hang in there we'll turn it around"

Highly impressive young bloke, Love Him

say what you want we are a 5 goal better team with ellard in it :drunk::drunk::drunk:

why do we keep playing armfield, deadest 15 touches a game an nothing,why can't a smith or co play that role,

Did anyone else here the post match interview with Sam Doc on the ABC, said they couldn't pin point the issues, seems to be a lot of things on field, they're sticking together to work throuh it..he was very open and up front.
Asked for us supporters to hang in there, "I grew up a Carlton supporter and stuck with them through the really tough times I know what its like keep coming to the games, hang in there we'll turn it around"

He's such a good egg.

Will probably get shouted down for this, but have always had the feeling that Menzel is a bit of a developing FIGJAM.

Those instances where he'd sook if he was ignored on a lead were always pretty telling.
You shouldn't be shouted down for it. It's spot on imo.

Don't get me wrong, his 4 goals were great. In a losing side, 4 goals isn't a bad effort. Disposing the footy at 37% is absolutely atrocious though. Unfortunately last night, his bad outweighed the good.

But again, he wasn't alone. There were about 20 other blokes that were as bad, if not worse than Menz.

Make him captain from next season. The guy bleeds blue! :thumbsu:

I was trying to be nice :(

Don't be sad...

People around here aren't themselves at the moment...you're welcome anytime.

I'm actually off to the 'G tomorrow, taking my best mate and his daughter...she's a Doggies fan.

Looking forward to barracking for a real team...:thumbsu:

It's cause he's one of us. He gets it ;)

What's not to :hearts: :hearts: :hearts: esky.

Captain Doc!

Does a coach in an AFL team, coaching AFL players really have to say 'apply talking pressure'? It'd sort of be like telling them to aim between the two middle sticks

Correct me if I'm wrong .. only it appears to me, and I'm sure I'm not the only one .. that leaving it up to the players to choose whether they are applying enough (tackling) pressure on the opposition isn't exactly working. It would mean having to work harder .. and I'm not convinced they like to do that.
I grew up on Carlton being the one quarter specialists to win matches.

I doubt the need to work hard for 4 qtrs has sunk in at Carlton over recent decades.. whereas, at the top sides .. it has.

Club must interview all possible replacements for Mick and not just pick a new coach because one of our rich benefactors says he should be the next coach.

Absolutely. Each applicant will have various ideas of tactics and player development; the club will then be able to make an informed decision.

Clarkson stood out when Hawthorn went through this process.

John Elliot said during the week that the club should appoint Worsfold because he is a proven coach, a premiership coach

Some people never learn.

It's funny how some players' disposal efficiency can be analysed and some can't.

Menzel's 4 goals were great and very important but they shouldn't gloss over the fact that his DE% was atrocious. If it were anyone else...

......kicking 4 goals a week, no one would give 2 hoots.

If you want a game based on DE, take out the goal posts and make them run in circles.

Correct me if I'm wrong .. only it appears to me, and I'm sure I'm not the only one .. that leaving it up to the players to choose whether they are applying enough (tackling) pressure on the opposition isn't exactly working. It would mean having to work harder .. and I'm not convinced they like to do that.
I grew up on Carlton being the one quarter specialists to win matches.

I doubt the need to work hard for 4 qtrs has sunk in at Carlton over recent decades.. whereas, at the top sides .. it has.
I'm not by any means saying that Mick isn't telling them to apply tackling pressure, I'm just saying that solely pinning the blame on him for their lack of effort is quite bemusing.

We have issues on top of issues.

Even our interchange can't get things right. All night they stuffed up who was going on and who was going off, who was on who and who was where. It was seriously an absolute joke. The players were just lost.

To see the players up close was so, so sad. Seeing Cripps come off, pull out his mouth guard and show such devastation was heart breaking. Judd I think has become numb to it all.

Sad times.

Give it a rest.

You don't speak for our entire supporter base.

Enough is enough!

I don't claim to.

That's 3 posts from the thousands that are posted everyday. It's almost insignificant. People bitch and moan about everry other aspect of the club but the admin is exempt?

If you haven't noticed the supporters are voting with their feet.

How effective is unconditional support ? Clearly it's working a treat.

What about an unaccountable board? How's that going?

What about our former Prez, or the current one?

All great stuff Aph.

I'm not by any means saying that Mick isn't telling them to apply tackling pressure, I'm just saying that solely pinning the blame on him for their lack of effort is quite bemusing.

Yeah .. totally agree. I'm sure Carlton supporters like myself would be a lot more patient with Mick if they could at least see the players having a red hot go each week. But then .. as Mick says .. the buck stops with him. If the players are not responding .. either the players or the Coach have to go.
Kicking out the Coach is the easy option .. only would this be simply another .. in a long line of Carlton mistakes?

My opinion only

I don't claim to.

That's 3 posts from the thousands that are posted everyday. It's almost insignificant. People bitch and moan about everry other aspect of the club but the admin is exempt?

If you haven't noticed the supporters are voting with their feet.

How effective is unconditional support ? Clearly it's working a treat.

What about an unaccountable board? How's that going?

What about our former Prez, or the current one?

All great stuff Aph.

Give it a rest passmark.

You have made your point in several threads and no need to derail this thread pushing your negative agenda.

Final warning!

Positives from last night. Simmo and Doc and Murph won't stop trying. Menz gets a PB. Jones took 7 marks (maligned but he's not out worst). Bucks was lively when subbed in and had nice long penetration in his disposal.

Looked like a small gameplan shift to a more run and corridor use

Negatives
Tackling........diabolical
Two way running......non-existent
Playing injured/sore players
2 ruckman
Zach way way way out of form
Non selection of KPP's