James Hird will “eventually” get sacked by Essendon, says Mark Thompson

Says someone who uses the name of one of the world's greatest killers, who has no relationship to ASADA.

You are aware Mao is a common Chinese surname?

B4Bear

Jul 6, 2011
Not really

It's too Jonestown-like a statement

- they will not sack a club champion
- great strategic thinker.
- Things will turn around soon
- baseless decision by WADA to appeal
- Trust ASADA and WADA to try and ruin another

Talk about drinking the koolaid

They are all facts and unless you can show some evidence to the level of reasonable satisfaction to disprove them, I suggest you stay away from the cheap personal attacks and insulting references to historical incidents where numerous people were killed that have no relationship to the Essendon 34.

Let's look at the facts vs your opinion shall we:

- they will not sack a club champion: Tried already, but Hird must have sent Tanya over to sort out Little.
- great strategic thinker. Evidence please. So far EFC has not progressed pass the days of Knights.
- Things will turn around soon. How? List is crap, coach looks lost on the sidelines and he trots off to France when the team is 4-8.
- baseless decision by WADA to appeal Do you KNOW what the basis of the WADA appeal is, an organisation that has never lost a case.
- Trust ASADA and WADA to try and ruin another. The AFL attempted to manipulate the result; however, the independent organisations would not have a bar of it.

So far your coach has bought ruin and misery with him to your club. Your list has gone backwards, your reputation is in the toilet, and you are no closer to a flag than when Sheedy left.

The fact that EFC chose Hird (fact: self promoting flog) over Thompson (fact: dual premiership coach) speaks volumes about where your club sits. It is going to take decades for the damage this odious individual has done to the EFC to be rectified.

So save your faux outrage for your fellow EFC travellers, the rest of us don't give a s**t.

Feb 11, 2013
.... save your faux outrage for your fellow EFC travellers, the rest of us don't give a s**t.
That's not quiet fair, the rest of us do give a s**t. It'll be fun playing Essendon when they're a nice percentage boosting, feeder club.
In fact we might even show more sympathy than we have already. ;)

Abomination

Oct 6, 2014
Gold Coast
His position as coach will be in an interesting spot if we get up at the weekend (which is entirely possible imo).
I've tipped you. No Carlisle for a month and Daniher's lacking confidence.

The meltdown after consecutive defeats to St Kilda and Melbourne would make the last 3 years worthwhile.

However, in this case Mao is actually a first name. Are you aware that it is quite a common first name in Japan too?

Worked with the Japanese for years, so yeah

Akka76

Suspended
Dec 2, 2014
Gold Coast
If you only knew how much he got from the club to buy him out of his marketing business...is there anything below subterranean?

The figure is staggering.

gemba is in strife. In competition against Demetriou and McLaughlan it seems.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/hird-fighting-a-war-on-many-fronts-20141003-10pxl3.html

Hird's other job outside football has been his investment in the successful sports marketing firm Gemba, along with former Nike executive Ben Crowe and Rob Mills.

Just before he accepted the job as Essendon coach in 2010, Hird spent a week in New York with Gemba, negotiating with international tennis powerbrokers in a bid to sell a World Cup-style tennis event called Grand Slam of Nations. After the deal fell through, Hird signed with Essendon. It's a job that has taken an incredible toll on him.

Legal bills have reached the millions, and will edge higher with an appeal to the Federal Court which will begin with a hearing on Thursday.

An investment property owned by the Hirds in Toorak has recently been put on the market.

Now Gemba is enduring a tumultuous time. At its peak, Gemba was the dominant player in the sports marketing space in Australia, advising governments, powerful sporting bodies and sponsors.

Crowe helped broker Toyota and Telstra sponsorship deals with the AFL, but in recent times Gemba's business has been under assault from rivals.

In June, Crowe sold out of the company he founded in 2001. He refuses to say why, but those close to him say the working relationship with Hird had, by the end, broken down.

Companies such as Working Three and Bastion Group are now edging into Gemba's market.

Ironically, one of those rivals now includes Hird's nemesis in football, former AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou. Earlier this year, Demetriou became a shareholder of the sports marketing Bastion Group and joined its board.

Demetriou's new role will be to lead strategy, acquisitions and growth, and a push into the creative, corporate and government advisory work that Gemba thrives on.

Bastion is also 25 per cent-owned by Hamish McLachlan, the brother of new AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan, Demetriou's protege and successor.

The stars are aligning against Gemba.

"Call it Hird versus Demetriou part two," quips one footy insider. "But this will be tough for them [Gemba]. It's footy, and in footy you just can't fight city hall."

On that final point, it seems no one told James Hird.

nineteen eighty

Sep 18, 2003
TIGERS
Living in Sydney I feel the Sharks got off very lightly and Flanagan should be banned.

Very big difference between Flanagan and Hird.

Flanagan put a stop to the program once he found out what was going on.

Hird sent a "united nations" text to get the program back up and running after Doc Reid put a spanner in the works.

nineteen eighty

Sep 18, 2003
TIGERS
There are more than 2 reasons though why Hird will get asked to clean out his office but really Just a quick few straight off the top of the head
1. Has not empathy cares for no one
2 No idea about coaching
3 Blames others takes no responsibility
4 Big Big Sook calling what Mitchell did naive and immature. Truth Hurts Did he run to Tanya or get his dad to write to the Herald Sun
5 Its all about Hird
6 See 5 above etc etc

Nothing is ever his fault. Deflection, deflection, deflection.

Hird's latest from the HUN:

Hird said the 4-8 Bombers’ game was heading in the right direction and he had the right blend of experience and youth.

“We had eight guys with under 50 games play in the team. That’s a high percentage,” Hird said.

“History will tell you if you play seven players or more with under 50 games the chances of winning are very low.

“You’re almost giving yourself no chance of winning with that amount of players under 50 games.​

teknodeejay

Apr 14, 2004
Dallas Cowboys, Arsenal
Let's look at the facts vs your opinion shall we:

- they will not sack a club champion: Tried already, but Hird must have sent Tanya over to sort out Little.
- great strategic thinker. Evidence please. So far EFC has not progressed pass the days of Knights.

There is evidence of this.

His strategy has been to cheat at club level like he did while playing, and either not get caught or ensure everybody else takes a hit around him.

To this end, he has been excellent. Evans, Robinson, Thompson, the players, Dank... and I'm sure there's more. Plus a multi million dollar holiday and sitting in the chair, unmovable, while the kingdom falls apart.

Given his locks of blonde, he is absolutely following the Lannister method of leadership and accountability. Just need to wait for the day someone either poisons the wine, unloads a crossbow into him, or drags him through the streets naked and full of shame.

The Hopper

Aug 30, 2014
Turbojugend
There is evidence of this.

His strategy has been to cheat at club level like he did while playing, and either not get caught or ensure everybody else takes a hit around him.

To this end, he has been excellent. Evans, Robinson, Thompson, the players, Dank... and I'm sure there's more. Plus a multi million dollar holiday and sitting in the chair, unmovable, while the kingdom falls apart.

Given his locks of blonde, he is absolutely following the Lannister method of leadership and accountability. Just need to wait for the day someone either poisons the wine, unloads a crossbow into him, or drags him through the streets naked and full of shame.

Ooh, I'd like that. James being paraded through the streets, with footy fans chanting "SHAME".

And I imagine that Hird might even resemble Cersai with his locks shorn:

Cersai.jpg

The Hopper

Aug 30, 2014
Turbojugend
Almost feel dirty saying this, but if it meant they would extend his contract I would be glad to see us lose this weekend to ensure the "great" man stays a lot longer :p

It's an Icarus-type thing. You don't wish too much success for him, lest it goes to his head, but you don't want them getting so pounded that they sack him in Round 18.

I imagine waterboarding works like this too.