Footy Journalists

Hah. Well played POBT.

Of the suggested candidates in that article, Andrew Ireland stands out. Proven experience and results in both the football and corporate side of the game. Has already furthered the development of the code as a NATIONAL game too, unlike Eddie who has long played the part of unofficial leader of the Victoria Forever faction.

Hah. Well played POBT.

Of the suggested candidates in that article, Andrew Ireland stands out. Proven experience and results in both the football and corporate side of the game. Has already furthered the development of the code as a NATIONAL game too, unlike Eddie who has long played the part of unofficial leader of the Victoria Forever faction.
He was once Eddie Everywhere. I get the impression he is now Eddie Anything - as in, there is a perception that the bloke can do anything. As far as I'm aware, his only background in actually running an organisation is at Channel 9. Obviously, that was no success.

Being a President is very different from being a CEO. One is a figurehead role, whose only substantive contribution is to provide "vision" and perhaps strategy. In a governance sense, it is an oversight role rather than a direct managerial or executive role. I just don't see how anyone could consider Eddie as even remotely suitable for the AFL CEO role. He doesn't have the experience and, when he's been put in a similar role, he failed.

If the discussion was about someone to take over from Mike Fitzpatrick on the AFL Commission, then I think Eddie should be in the discussion. I'm not saying he is necessarily the right bloke but that is the type of role that he has both experience and success in.

But CEO of the AFL? The person who takes on that role should have extensive business and corporate experience - as a minimum requirement. That the person should be a "footy person" is also important but a name like Eddie's should not even be in the discussion.

Kim Hagdorn

Leuenberger is tipped to spend large portions of the Demons clash up forward, if he plays, leaving Longer to partner veteran Ben Hudson with ruck duties around the vast spaces of the MCG.

Turned on ABC612 in Brisbane before the gave vs the Dons - not sure who it was talking (had already started) but when he came out with

... Hanley and Adcock as our main mids and we had the option of throwing Rockcliff and Redden into the mix if we needed to...

... Black being our only star and needing more to make it all work (ie a negative only having one star) followed by praising Essendon later for having a midfield with no stars in it (so now a positive) ...

... Rich our specialist half back flanker ...

he somehow seemed to lose credibility in my ears ...

Anybody know who it would have been revealing his indepth knowledge of the Lions and give such wonderfully balanced commentary?

Yet he says JB drops down the list due to injury yet Hodge is 7 and has barely played.

I don't think we're in a position to judge Browns on field leadership. He is a fearless leader of men, something we're not exposed to by watching on TV or at the ground.

Smart Replay of West Coast game

After watching the replay a moment that really stood out to me was Polec's goal (late in the 2nd quarter, for those who want to see what I'm talking about). He'd had a pretty average 5 minutes before it, I think he had about 3 turnovers in a row, and before he lined up for his shot Browny had a chat to him. Then after he kicked it Browny puts his arm around his shoulder and looks genuinely proud of the kid.

I don't know how you can question Browny's on-field leadership whatsoever, regardless of how much he's played. Especially from a Vic journo who probably hasn't watched us anyway...

An accurate portrayal of the article writing process:

E2vu0.gif

Just thought I'd leave this opinion piece here, feedback encouraged! Hope you enjoy it.

A Boo for Barrett

This isn’t a boo for Goodes. This isn’t a boo for Boomer. This is a boo for Barrett.

It seems those commenting on AFL issues can say whatever they want without being held responsible for their opinions. Journalists like Mark Robinson, upfront and hard-hitting, who tackle the toughest topics in footy and admit their mistakes keeping their credibility in tact, are hard to come by. If the integrity of AFL is to be maintained, journalists need to report with a sense of plausibility and accountability that reflects the game’s integrity and pride.

The Australian public admire accountability in journalists. Above all else, beyond entertaining their audience, journalists are responsible for informing and educating the public with plausible ideas, in fields they’re experts in. Presumably, for Damian Barrett, this is AFL. We encourage and admire contentious discussion that generates debate – not nonsense. We don’t encourage journalists to opportunistically take advantage of massive occurrences in our great game, to put their ridiculous ideas in the spotlight to generate attention. We don’t encourage journalists shooting non-sensical sh** at the wall to see what sticks. It seems journalists can be blatantly wrong and move on without being responsible for their opinions – without apologising, without taking it back as they should. This reflects poorly on the individual journalist, the AFL media as a whole, and our beloved game.

During the week, Damian Barrett wrote an article in the lead up to Boomer’s 400th game. While it made some decent points and touched on the loyalty owed to Brent Harvey by North Melbourne, Barrett joined the group of journalists opportunistically speculating about Brent Harvey’s playing future, tarnishing the lead up to a brilliant and historical milestone. Damian Barrett can pose that…”Alastair Clarkson and the Hawks seriously asked him the question three seasons ago, and would almost certainly do so again…” but not without considering why, as any respectable journalist should.

Let’s look beyond the fact that the next day Brent Harvey came out stating he wouldn’t play at another club. Let’s look beyond the potential salary cap ramifications for the Hawks. Let’s assess the degree of football understanding behind this comment. Let’s assess, why on earth Damien Barrett thinks Hawthorn would seriously ask the same question three years later.

At the end of 2009, Hawthorn tabled an offer to Josh Kennedy who opted to leave to the Sydney Swans. While his grandfather John Kennedy Sr. was a legend for the Hawks, the strong family ties were not enough to keep Josh Kennedy at the club – one of the reasons being that around the likes of Hodge, Sewell, Lewis and even Sam Mitchell (as big of a surprise as that may be to Wayne Carey), Josh Kennedy’s opportunities to break into the best 22 were somewhat limited. Now one of the most prominent midfielders in the league, Josh Kennedy serves as a reminder to Hawthorn, of just how important giving opportunities to young footballers is.

Hawthorn’s ageing list is in a remarkably different position now to what it was 3 years ago. Will Langford, Jonathan Simpkin, Jed Anderson, Billy Hartung, Jonathan O’Rourke, Brendan Whitecross and Alex Woodward are all on the fringe of playing senior footy consistently over the next couple of years. So in assessing why Damien Barrett comments that Hawthorn would again “seriously” consider a 38-year-old for its ageing list; I wonder whether he gave it any proper thought or merely interviewed a 6 year old wearing gold-and-brown at his local Auskick clinic.

Can Damian Barrett not see that playing Brent Harvey ahead of the younger players on the list would open Hawthorn up to losing them, in a similar fashion to Josh Kennedy in 2009? Can Damian Barrett not see that in the last 3 years Hawthorn have won 2 premierships and are in a markedly different position to what they were then? Can Damian Barrett not see, that if Hawthorn wants another player at the club it would be someone who is a better fit than Brent Harvey at 38? Can Damian Barrett not see, that it isn’t 2007 and Hawthorn doesn’t need a Stuart Dew?

Hawthorn has averaged 116 points this year, the most of any club, boasting one of (if not the) the most damaging forward lines in the league. With small forwards Cyril Rioli and Paul Puopolo, is Boomer seriously required? With the outside run provided from Isaac Smith, Bradley Hill, Shaun Burgoyne, Liam Shiels and Billy Hartung, the only thing for Hawthorn to seriously consider is how quickly to dismiss Barrett’s claim.

A professional AFL journalist should be able to. Boomer is a gun, and Barrett is a professional. But for someone who’s Twitter account regularly holds the AFL tribunal accountable for mistakes, he’s a big pot calling the kettle black. He has a responsibility to inform and educate his audience, not deal out this sort of rubbish. His comment was outright ridiculous. I feel for the 60-70 year old men who love their footy, read that, took it to their discussions at the local pub and got laughed at by those who were exposed to high quality insightful commentary over the course of the week; such as Dermott Brereton discussing the tactics of Fremantle’s midfield positioning and how other teams have combatted this over the course of the year.

Damian Barrett, I’ll never be able to listen to anything you say, or read anything you write without cringing. Maybe that’s just because I see you as a shock-jock with access to some industry sources and thousands of misled followers on Twitter. There are people out there who are good at what they do, are professionals and experts in one field or another. If you’re a professional, be one. Put forward your plausible opinions; keep the ridiculous conspiracies to yourself. When you’re wrong, take it back.

If Hawthorn want Brent Harvey, it’s so that he can sit down and have a cup of tea and a nostalgic chat with 86 year old John Kennedy Snr - about how the game’s changed from their time to now, and have a good laugh at the sensationalist fodder published in the media that journalists get away with.

Nighthawk out.

Just thought I'd leave this opinion piece here, feedback encouraged! Hope you enjoy it.

A Boo for Barrett

This isn’t a boo for Goodes. This isn’t a boo for Boomer. This is a boo for Barrett.

It seems those commenting on AFL issues can say whatever they want without being held responsible for their opinions. Journalists like Mark Robinson, upfront and hard-hitting, who tackle the toughest topics in footy and admit their mistakes keeping their credibility in tact, are hard to come by. If the integrity of AFL is to be maintained, journalists need to report with a sense of plausibility and accountability that reflects the game’s integrity and pride.

The Australian public admire accountability in journalists. Above all else, beyond entertaining their audience, journalists are responsible for informing and educating the public with plausible ideas, in fields they’re experts in. Presumably, for Damian Barrett, this is AFL. We encourage and admire contentious discussion that generates debate – not nonsense. We don’t encourage journalists to opportunistically take advantage of massive occurrences in our great game, to put their ridiculous ideas in the spotlight to generate attention. We don’t encourage journalists shooting non-sensical sh** at the wall to see what sticks. It seems journalists can be blatantly wrong and move on without being responsible for their opinions – without apologising, without taking it back as they should. This reflects poorly on the individual journalist, the AFL media as a whole, and our beloved game.

During the week, Damian Barrett wrote an article in the lead up to Boomer’s 400th game. While it made some decent points and touched on the loyalty owed to Brent Harvey by North Melbourne, Barrett joined the group of journalists opportunistically speculating about Brent Harvey’s playing future, tarnishing the lead up to a brilliant and historical milestone. Damian Barrett can pose that…”Alastair Clarkson and the Hawks seriously asked him the question three seasons ago, and would almost certainly do so again…” but not without considering why, as any respectable journalist should.

Let’s look beyond the fact that the next day Brent Harvey came out stating he wouldn’t play at another club. Let’s look beyond the potential salary cap ramifications for the Hawks. Let’s assess the degree of football understanding behind this comment. Let’s assess, why on earth Damien Barrett thinks Hawthorn would seriously ask the same question three years later.

At the end of 2009, Hawthorn tabled an offer to Josh Kennedy who opted to leave to the Sydney Swans. While his grandfather John Kennedy Sr. was a legend for the Hawks, the strong family ties were not enough to keep Josh Kennedy at the club – one of the reasons being that around the likes of Hodge, Sewell, Lewis and even Sam Mitchell (as big of a surprise as that may be to Wayne Carey), Josh Kennedy’s opportunities to break into the best 22 were somewhat limited. Now one of the most prominent midfielders in the league, Josh Kennedy serves as a reminder to Hawthorn, of just how important giving opportunities to young footballers is.

Hawthorn’s ageing list is in a remarkably different position now to what it was 3 years ago. Will Langford, Jonathan Simpkin, Jed Anderson, Billy Hartung, Jonathan O’Rourke, Brendan Whitecross and Alex Woodward are all on the fringe of playing senior footy consistently over the next couple of years. So in assessing why Damien Barrett comments that Hawthorn would again “seriously” consider a 38-year-old for its ageing list; I wonder whether he gave it any proper thought or merely interviewed a 6 year old wearing gold-and-brown at his local Auskick clinic.

Can Damian Barrett not see that playing Brent Harvey ahead of the younger players on the list would open Hawthorn up to losing them, in a similar fashion to Josh Kennedy in 2009? Can Damian Barrett not see that in the last 3 years Hawthorn have won 2 premierships and are in a markedly different position to what they were then? Can Damian Barrett not see, that if Hawthorn wants another player at the club it would be someone who is a better fit than Brent Harvey at 38? Can Damian Barrett not see, that it isn’t 2007 and Hawthorn doesn’t need a Stuart Dew?

Hawthorn has averaged 116 points this year, the most of any club, boasting one of (if not the) the most damaging forward lines in the league. With small forwards Cyril Rioli and Paul Puopolo, is Boomer seriously required? With the outside run provided from Isaac Smith, Bradley Hill, Shaun Burgoyne, Liam Shiels and Billy Hartung, the only thing for Hawthorn to seriously consider is how quickly to dismiss Barrett’s claim.

A professional AFL journalist should be able to. Boomer is a gun, and Barrett is a professional. But for someone who’s Twitter account regularly holds the AFL tribunal accountable for mistakes, he’s a big pot calling the kettle black. He has a responsibility to inform and educate his audience, not deal out this sort of rubbish. His comment was outright ridiculous. I feel for the 60-70 year old men who love their footy, read that, took it to their discussions at the local pub and got laughed at by those who were exposed to high quality insightful commentary over the course of the week; such as Dermott Brereton discussing the tactics of Fremantle’s midfield positioning and how other teams have combatted this over the course of the year.

Damian Barrett, I’ll never be able to listen to anything you say, or read anything you write without cringing. Maybe that’s just because I see you as a shock-jock with access to some industry sources and thousands of misled followers on Twitter. There are people out there who are good at what they do, are professionals and experts in one field or another. If you’re a professional, be one. Put forward your plausible opinions; keep the ridiculous conspiracies to yourself. When you’re wrong, take it back.

If Hawthorn want Brent Harvey, it’s so that he can sit down and have a cup of tea and a nostalgic chat with 86 year old John Kennedy Snr - about how the game’s changed from their time to now, and have a good laugh at the sensationalist fodder published in the media that journalists get away with.

Nighthawk out.

I know this is an ant-barret piece, but really isn't it about Harvey and Hawthorn. Not sure it is really needed on the Lions board. It kinda comes down to Hawks don't need Boomer, he's too old, Barret's a flog, and whilst well written not sure I needed to read it. (I did however read it to the end)

Sorry mate! New to Bigfooty and just realised that some threads were applicable to specific clubs. Didn't notice that while I was first posting. My bad, but I appreciate it all the same :)

No worries - FYI there's different club boards, and each board has its threads largely dedicated to that club. There's also a plethora of other boards as well for varying purposes.

Just steer clear of the Damian Barrett slash fiction board. It might upset you.

Brisbane Lions IF - the Lions get a priority pick ... THEN ... it will be the biggest AFL Commission-endorsed joke since the Karmichael Hunt and Israel Folau signings.

Im not usually violent but if I ever meet Barrett face to face, I'm going to punch him right in the glasses

Here we all were, happily going about our business completely oblivious to the musings of D Barrett.

And then Figjam17 went and re-posted that little pill of poison where the unsuspecting could stumble upon it.

Now our once-carefree world is beset by wailing and gnashing of teeth.

Top work, Figjam. Thanks a million.