Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

dispute

Feb 8, 2013
I love these "imagine" scenarios

Imagine if the kid who yelled "Ape" was a 13 year old kid from China at his first AFL game. He then gets pointed out by Goodes, escorted out of the football and get labeled as the face of racism.

I love these "imagine" scenarios

Imagine if the kid who yelled "Ape" was a 13 year old kid from China at his first AFL game. He then gets pointed out by Goodes, escorted out of the football and get labeled as the face of racism.
Imagine if that was relevant to this issue?

Godchin

Jan 4, 2015
I see we are still going on with the same stuff here.

The sad thing is that the payer feels like he is being racially abused.

That's the bottom line, it stops there.

The players mental health is everything, no ifs buts or whinging from anyone.

Has Goodes actually played the racist card in regards to the boos?

Confuscius

Apr 21, 2011
NY Jets, Storm, Liverpool, Thunder
If hypothetically Tony Abbott played AFL and was the PM he would be booed as well. Is this racist or just against him bringing his own agenda into sport where before him there was no racism.

So it's the political thing now? Whenever Goodes has had a chance politically to speak it's generally about racism and how he abhors it.

So if that's why you're booing, because Goodes doesn't like racism and he uses the platform he's been given by being a superstar athlete to try and help people, then there's no way around it: you're a racist.

It's not simply booing that's racist it's the specifically targeted weekly attack and the why. He's copped it more than any other player and the only thing he's really done different to any is that he dared have an opinion on something that's made many many people uncomfortable and broadcast it publicly.

connolly

Jul 29, 2015
General Santos City, Mindanao
Persis Solo, Davao Aguilas FC
He is an athlete, not a politician. If he wants to debate politics leave the sport and become a politician. If he wants to do both people will boo him and call him a flog.
So what about Manny Pacquiao. Filipino Senator and world boxing champion. Respected in both fields. O sorry Philippines is not a racist country and Manny is not from a minority.

Sep 25, 2010

Tedeski

Oct 2, 2006
Mava Fan Cooler
I used to get called curry muncher and other horrible things, its part of life there other kids who are asian etc who get bullied too

Goodesy gets that & more mate & for years.
But a constant barrage of a mass of people booing on the place where he loves most, the footy field, from one state to another, is perhaps a little more than you & I have experienced. Myself being of Italian background.

ashep

Jun 15, 2014
I see we are still going on with the same stuff here.

The sad thing is that the payer feels like he is being racially abused.

That's the bottom line, it stops there.

The players mental health is everything, no ifs buts or whinging from anyone.
But mah free speech!!!

Stumpy Pete

Sep 2, 2003
At the Butterfly Ball
Mate exactly how much sense can you make when you start with imagine.

There has been no positive outcome to this, are we not here.

He did lecture after, as is his right btw, no problem with that.

Some people have responded, as is there right.

But hey, you just think they are all racists even when most of them are not.

Support the lie, fight bigotry with bigotry.

Nice one.

BTW, I dont give a toss what Murphy or Carlton say, if they support this lie
then they are liars.

No I don't. I think most people booing Goodes aren't racists.

What I am saying is that after Goodes has come out and publicly talked about his mental distress and after it has been revelaed Goodes is facing increasing racist vitriol online (refer to the attack on his Wikipedia page) any reasonable person should be critically reassessing their choice to boo and deciding that, you know what, maybe I'll stop doing that.

But I've just read a post from someone who thinks the racial anguish faced by Goodes is awesome because it puts him off his game and their team has a better chance of winning.

So I think reasonableness has gone out the window on this one.

Regards

S. Pete

Aug 19, 2013
Port Adelaide
Personally I think he is trying to enhance it.

Regards

S. Pete

And there is the problem, people's views are different. You are entitled to that opinion, clearly that is not shared by a lot of people that just want to go and watch a footy game without Antics from Goodes or anyone else for that matter.

Ratts of Tobruk

May 1, 2013
ATV Irdning
Ok if your outrage is real maybe just channel a little of it into helping aboriginal kids as well.

Right now they are sitting in communities around the country wondering why one of their idols is being harassed out of the game.
?

Is this some attempt at that BS right-wing rhetorical tactic whereby you tell smart people that disagree with you that they should be on the front-line 'doing something' or using their talents to get rich rather than being on social media?

I've already donated to the GO Foundation. I'm on here pointing out why Goodes shouldn't be harrassed. I'm not going to go away because some people don't like what I have to say. So what point are you trying to make?

HoopsAhoy

Sep 3, 2012
One minute silence before Anzac Day matches??? How *****ing DARE the AFL tell me what to do. BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !
Nice attempted deflection. Not. You are either extremely ignorant or deliberately seeking to distort things for another agenda.

Actually it's not the AFL telling you to do it. The moment or minute of silence is an expression of reflection or contemplation used in funeral and memorial services such as on ANZAC Day at various locations. It is a widespread measure of respect in other countries too.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moment_of_silence

Wake up to yourself.

Wargreymon90

Oct 3, 2010
Port Adelaide
It was because she was a kid and he knew it. And he has effectively gone out with a megaphone and started lecturing the crowd, he just did it with actions and not words.

He is detracting from the game of footy, which is the main reason I would suggest that people pay to go to a FOOTBALL match

I don't want to pay to go to a U2 concert and be lectured on world poverty by Bono, I just want to go and enjoy the concert, does that make me racist too?
So he should only make a stance against racism when it's ok with non-indigenous people?

Sep 25, 2010
If this keeps on its current trajectory I suspect that in a few months time a whole bunch of people will be thinking to themselves "I can't believe I thought it was okay to keep booing him."

Really? I'm leaning more towards thinking the AFL might rue the day they thought they could thought-police entire segments of the population into being censored to express themselves towards someone they don't like as a person.

It could really hurt those turnstyles. But hey, bite the hands that feeds you if you dare AFL. Bring that political gun to the argument. Draconian measures always work out!

McCarthy called. He thinks if you boo Goodes you are a communist sympathiser.