Analysis Adelaide against the top teams

Richmond will tell the story for me. They didn't overexert themselves against Sydney for long periods of time so fatigue should not be a crutch to lean on. It is a home game, Friday Night Footy, should be a huge crowd.

If they can not get themselves up for this contest and if they can not win at the Oval against a quality opponent in good form on a big stage then that will speak volumes.

Tex Walker needs to show that being the captain is not to big a job for him. I understand he carries a heavy load, especially with what transpired last month---but at the end of the day he needs to take marks, kick goals, and have an impact on the field. On field performance is far and away more important for him and the team from here on out.

Sometimes a leader has to lead from the front---and now is that time for Tex.

STrAng3C1oUdZ

Aug 31, 2013
We're just a bit unrealistic as supporters. Its a young team. Its also a bit slow and lacking some run. We've worked hard the last couple of weeks and its taken it out of us. The upside is now we have some major talent in the team and they have a fair bit of upside. As much as this poor half is out of the box, we can also produce good games out of the box as well. Dont be surprised if we beat Richmond.

Secondly, I still reckon our tactics are substandard. Nearly all the possession advantage Sydney have over us is from manufacturing uncontested ball. We've got better at this over the last 3 games, but today is back to our standard for the last two years. Our defensive setups and lack of proactive setups is also a prob.
I don't think were being unrealistic expecting not to get smashed like we did today, i never thought we were going to beat Sydney but at least be competitive and show some spirit

Nov 1, 2012
We're just a bit unrealistic as supporters. Its a young team. Its also a bit slow and lacking some run. We've worked hard the last couple of weeks and its taken it out of us. The upside is now we have some major talent in the team and they have a fair bit of upside. As much as this poor half is out of the box, we can also produce good games out of the box as well. Dont be surprised if we beat Richmond.

Secondly, I still reckon our tactics are substandard. Nearly all the possession advantage Sydney have over us is from manufacturing uncontested ball. We've got better at this over the last 3 games, but today is back to our standard for the last two years. Our defensive setups and lack of proactive setups is also a prob.

Horse s**t :)

We've been a young team "on the up" since 2007

Feb 4, 2009
Port Magpies - SNAFL
Oh well he must be some kind of superstar waiting to happen then
That is a bit unfair. What do you expect him to do? Sit on his hands? Everyone hates the fact that VB performed so well....because if he was BOG....that means he is ahead of a range of players. If VB is poor at AFL that shows our depth.

little graham

10k Posts
Sep 18, 2013
We had another bad start where we gave up five of the first 6 goals allowing Sydney to control the match. This has been a problem since the start of last year. This is why we lose to the top teams, they know how to control us after jumping us, the lesser teams allow us back into the game.

subaru

30k Posts 10k Posts Bay 13: Flog of the Year
Nov 14, 2007
We've lost to who we thought we'd lose to
We've beaten who we thought we'd beat (except maybe the Dogs)

Rest of this year - I'm going for the alcohol with no expectations.

It's a weird one, one part of it is could be due to we are an all or nothing side in terms of our game style with both Sando and Walsh (Campo being an extension of) being very big on the contested side of the game. This sees us monster teams around our level (mid table) but the top teams are more capable of matching us in that regard which also allows them to expose our outside game which is a massive weakness.

This is something i do believe we were going to fix with Walsh as with another preseasons and development/drafting could see us really begin to balance our list and start to have more elite kicks present which would of allowed that to be more threatening.

Something the next coach will really need to find a solution for is to create that balanced gamestyle.

Sep 16, 2005
GO YOU CROW BOYS
Sydney sometimes really decimate our mids. 2013 they did it as well?

I've found the Matty clarke stoppage work can be exposed badly at times. That in close tap and everyone to close in hurts us badly if we aren't controlling the taps.

It started when he was playing and we still play that way.

Oct 15, 2012
Hobart
WARNING - May be frightening to some viewers...

Top 4 teams = Collingwood, Geelong, St Kilda, Bulldogs
AFC = 11th

Results (2 / 6)
Western Bulldogs 18.13 (121) def. Adelaide 10.12 (72)
St Kilda 19.9 (123) def. Adelaide 12.4 (76)
Adelaide 11.8 (74) def. Geelong 9.9 (63)
Adelaide 7.11 (53) def. by Western Bulldogs 8.13 (61)
Collingwood 6.18 (54) def. Adelaide 7.9 (51)
Adelaide 9.11 (65) def. St Kilda 5.7 (37)

Top 4 teams = Collingwood, Geelong, Hawks, West Coast
AFC = 14th

Results (1 / 5)
Adelaide 16.9 (105) def. Hawthorn 12.13 (85)
Collingwood 20.15 (135) def. Adelaide 14.8 (92)
Adelaide 10.7 (67) def. by West Coast 15.16 (106)
Geelong 19.11 (125) def. Adelaide 10.13 (73)
Adelaide 12.13 (85) def. by Geelong 14.12 (96)

Top 4 teams = Hawks, Adelaide, Sydney, Collingwood
AFC = 2nd

Results (1 / 3)
Hawthorn 21.14 (140) def. Adelaide 12.12 (84)
Sydney 14.10 (94) def. by Adelaide 15.9 (99)
Adelaide 6.11 (49) def. by Collingwood 10.15 (75)

Top 4 teams = Hawks, Geelong, Freo, Sydney
AFC = 11th

Results (1 / 5)
Adelaide 11.12 (78) def. by Hawthorn 13.11 (89)
Adelaide 8.11 (59) def. by Fremantle 10.6 (66)
Adelaide 6.14 (50) def. by Sydney 19.13 (127)
<EDIT>Adelaide 14.10 (94) def. Geelong 14.8 (92)
Fremantle 11.9 (75) def. Adelaide 7.11 (53)

Top 4 teams = Sydney, Hawks, Geelong, Freo
AFC = 10th

Results (0 / 4)
Geelong 18.11 (119) def. Adelaide 12.9 (81)
Adelaide 9.17 (71) def. by Sydney 21.8 (134)
Fremantle 12.18 (90) def. Adelaide 7.8 (50)
Adelaide 14.8 (92) def. by Hawthorn 15.14 (104)

2015 (up until now)
Top 4 teams = Freo, West Coast, Hawks, Sydney
AFC = 9th

Results (0 / 4)
Adelaide 7.15 (57) def. by Fremantle 10.8 (68)
Adelaide 12.13 (85) def. by Hawthorn 17.12 (114)
West Coast 22.15 (147) def. Adelaide 14.7 (91)
Sydney 17.15 (117) def. Adelaide 9.11 (65)

5 wins from 27 games against the Top 4 since 2010

1 wins from the last 14 attempts

If I missed any, or got something wrong let me know!

<EDIT> no wonder Sanderson got so excited about us beating a "Top 4 team" that night we beat Collingwood in 2014 !!

Last edited by a moderator:

SloaneysDanger

Feb 26, 2014
Adelaide Utd, Liverpool, Cavaliers
WARNING - Maybe frightening to some viewers...

Top 4 teams = Collingwood, Geelong, St Kilda, Bulldogs
AFC = 11th

Results (2 / 6)
Western Bulldogs 18.13 (121) def. Adelaide 10.12 (72)
St Kilda 19.9 (123) def. Adelaide 12.4 (76)
Adelaide 11.8 (74) def. Geelong 9.9 (63)
Adelaide 7.11 (53) def. by Western Bulldogs 8.13 (61)
Collingwood 6.18 (54) def. Adelaide 7.9 (51)
Adelaide 9.11 (65) def. St Kilda 5.7 (37)

Top 4 teams = Collingwood, Geelong, Hawks, West Coast
AFC = 14th

Results (1 / 5)
Adelaide 16.9 (105) def. Hawthorn 12.13 (85)
Collingwood 20.15 (135) def. Adelaide 14.8 (92)
Adelaide 10.7 (67) def. by West Coast 15.16 (106)
Geelong 19.11 (125) def. Adelaide 10.13 (73)
Adelaide 12.13 (85) def. by Geelong 14.12 (96)

Top 4 teams = Hawks, Adelaide, Sydney, Collingwood
AFC = 2nd

Results (1 / 3)
Hawthorn 21.14 (140) def. Adelaide 12.12 (84)
Sydney 14.10 (94) def. by Adelaide 15.9 (99)
Adelaide 6.11 (49) def. by Collingwood 10.15 (75)

Top 4 teams = Hawks, Geelong, Freo, Sydney
AFC = 11th

Results (0 / 4)
Adelaide 11.12 (78) def. by Hawthorn 13.11 (89)
Adelaide 8.11 (59) def. by Fremantle 10.6 (66)
Adelaide 6.14 (50) def. by Sydney 19.13 (127)
Fremantle 11.9 (75) def. Adelaide 7.11 (53)

Top 4 teams = Sydney, Hawks, Geelong, Freo
AFC = 10th

Results (0 / 4)
Geelong 18.11 (119) def. Adelaide 12.9 (81)
Adelaide 9.17 (71) def. by Sydney 21.8 (134)
Fremantle 12.18 (90) def. Adelaide 7.8 (50)
Adelaide 14.8 (92) def. by Hawthorn 15.14 (104)

2015 (up until now)
Top 4 teams = Freo, West Coast, Hawks, Sydney
AFC = 9th

Results (0 / 4)
Adelaide 7.15 (57) def. by Fremantle 10.8 (68)
Adelaide 12.13 (85) def. by Hawthorn 17.12 (114)
West Coast 22.15 (147) def. Adelaide 14.7 (91)
Sydney 17.15 (117) def. Adelaide 9.11 (65)

4 wins from 26 games against the Top 4 since 2010

0 wins from the last 13 attempts

If I missed any, or got something wrong let me know!

<EDIT> no wonder Sanderson got so excited about us beating a "Top 4 team" that night we beat Collingwood in 2014 !!
Thanks for this info :thumbsu:

Sums us up perfectly and shows how far away from a premiership we really are.