Mega Thread Trade/Free Agency Open Discussion - RFC Forum

FJ has been there 10 years and prior to Hartley many thought we had the worst list in history .
Back on topic , I think he has done a outstanding job in gaining best 22 players whilst our draft picks develop and I hope the same continues . Using high draft picks to get others players hurts the future .
casino was there for a year part time
If you think no final win in 11 Years as outstanding then I'm sorry you're engulfed by mediocrity
I go by results not heart warming feelings
Explain our success stories under these poker clowns?

Did you miss the part where I said if what Richardson has said it factual. With the amount of players we've targeted we should have been able to land at least one of them but we haven't. Tell me do you consider targeting and failing to land 1 of these 6-8 players a success? I sure as hell don't.

Since 2011 the Pies traded out Wellingham(wanted to go home) replaced him with Grundy. Dawes left for more money and security they got Broomhead for him. Following year they traded out Shaw(28 at the time) who was seen as a trouble maker and landed Adams, lost Thomas who is an injured gimp and got Freeman, traded picks 11 31 & 49 for 6 & 44 which landed them Scharenberg & White(how pick 44 for White is overpaying is beyond me). Then there was last year. Out Harry O (29 years old) & Beams(wanted to go home for his sick father) and in comes De Goey(pick 5 from Lions) Moore Varcoe(Harry O) & Greenwood(pick 25 from Lions).

So in effect Pies lose 28 year olds Shaw & Harry O, home sick Wellingham & Beams, gimp Thomas and spud Dawes for young kids De Goey, Scharenberg, Grundy, Adams, Broomhead & Freeman who is likely to get them a pick than lands Aish to go with Treloar.

I never said lets overpay for anyone what I said was for mine we should have gone hard for Selwood & Suckling as free agents, used pick 12 & a fringe player as bait for Henderson or Redden and picked up Yarran. All of them were attainable but we seem to have settled for Yarran and Townsend.

I don't expect anything other than our club to do all it can to land players that helps us improve. If we have to lose a good player to address a need elsewhere then so be it. You don't win flags without taking a calculated risk or 2 along the way. Hawthorn Sydney Port Fremantle WCE Sydney Geelong & Collingwood have taken those risks over the last few years or heading into this years trade period. What are we doing, IF Richardson is telling the truth, we're sitting on our hands again watching everyone else improve their lists.
Mate you've already changed your avatar from Doozy yesterday to crushed dreams today and crossed out the doozy in your sig and replaced it with it's not happening. You are a grade A sook. Things don't go your way so it's time to pot the club and the administration (and the coach if I remember correctly). Why don't you mention the players we've kept? On good deals as well. How much did the Pies pay Jesse White? And they still lost their best or second best player, it doesn't matter why he left. If that happened to Richmond you'd be all over it as us not being aggressive enough. And yes, being aggressive means overpaying - as the Pies have done with their players. Yes they've brought in good players for their picks, but the contracts are where it's at. Why do you think players want to come to them? Why have they actually gone BACKWARDS in the past 3 years despite bringing in all these guns? Please let me know. Can you also tell me who they expect to replace the big holes in their side in defence and forward line when their players retire (Brown, Cloke, Swan).

Also, please tell me where Suckling fits? Is he best 22? Does he fill a need? And why he wants to come to Richmond when he definitely isn't guaranteed a game or the contract he wants? Or Selwood, does he play in our best 22 week in week out? What would we have to give up to get him because West Coast will match unless we offer big coin. Also how do we get his brother to come play with us because that's why he's going to Geelong? How do we then get Yarran and Selwood if we're giving up our picks for one of them? How do we land future players if we trade away our first this year or next year for decent players, but not a gun? Why would we give up 12 for Redden?

This is why Blair and Dan are doing a good job. Have managed all our contracts very well and not mortgaged our future like others. No big fish yet, but trading period hasn't even started.

Oh and we've actually improved our list and given up nothing to do it. And improved on the field. Knocked off three of the top 4 teams and just couldn't get it done when it mattered. If we had, I suspect we'd be a lot more positive than we are right now.

There were/are some quality players on the table from other clubs but it seems that we've spent all our time going after a big fish, talking about it in the media. Geelong finished 9th this year and will probably add Dangerfield Henderson Selwood & Smith. All of them address needs that Geelong need to fill and they will no doubt be back in the 8 again next year. Watch Fremantle pick up Bennell for a second round pick and maybe McCarthy, watch the Dogs get Suckling for free, Port will add Dixon, WCE are adding Redden & Jetta, Sydney gets Leuenberger, Collingwood will add Treloar and maybe Aish, Saints getting Carlisle & Freeman. Everyone around us looks to be getting stronger, while we seem to be happy landing Yarran(who should be good) and talking up a GWS kid in Townsend who has struggled to play regular footy for 4 years, like he is the answer to our inside midfielder needs.

As I said there was value available that would help our desire to take that next step available and yet for all the talk of the war chest it seems all we've done is grabbed the loose change from the cup holder in Dans Jeep and grabbed the bargain chocolates from the counter at the servo.
Port were going to win the flag after adding Ryder , Norf were going to be their opponents in this years GF after landing Waite and Higgins .
Varcoe was going to put Collingwood into the top 4.
Sydney were going to be unbeatable with the twin towers / Bondi millionaires .
Whilst Melbourne with all their recruits have been coming almost as long as that BJ , my high school sweetheart promised.
If your reading this felicity I haven't forgot , you tease .

And it's out in the open now. That NSW player I wouldn't mention earlier, Jacob Townsend.

Fact is we were willing to pay treloar as much as the pies did, and give gws more than what the pies will give, yet he still chose the pies, and they might even have to sack their coach next year. And we have made the finals 3 years running and they haven't . It has nothing to do with the club itself , it has everything to do with the people in charge . Their people are just better than ours . If Benny was fair dincum he would replace Blair and Dan with better people .

Is that true? Please post your proof.

Can you tell me who these better people are to replace Dan and Blair? Thanks.

Port were going to win the flag after adding Ryder , Norf were going to be their opponents in this years GF after landing Waite and Higgins .
Varcoe was going to put Collingwood into the top 4.
Sydney were going to be unbeatable with the twin towers / Bondi millionaires .
Whilst Melbourne with all their recruits have been coming almost as long as that BJ , my high school sweetheart promised.
If your reading this felicity I haven't forget .
U married her and still haven't got the BJ ;)

casino was there for a year part time
If you think no final win in 11 Years as outstanding then I'm sorry you're engulfed by mediocrity
I go by results not heart warming feelings
Explain our success stories under these poker clowns?

He said the best 22 players we have got or our draft picks.... not our team performance. You're usually better than that TI....;)

You can't rate the trade period till it is finished some are going a bit early on bagging the club
Let's wait and see what happens next week before we start a witch hunt
You cant rate the trade period for at least a season really, not all big names perform at their new clubs, wasnt Paddy Ryder supposed to take Port to a flag, he still may but he didnt really do anything for them this year, Boyd at the Dogs is the same, whereas we picked up an unknown in Miles two years back and he has been one of the best and most consistent mid fielders we have.

For all we know Townsend may prove a better pick up than Treloar.

It is frustrating but we do manage to keep our key players and we have improved even if only by small margins every year bar one since 2010, so we are still heading in the right direction.

652081-a17ba614-cab9-11e3-b520-1a79dc9db4b9.jpg

307625-tlsgalleryportrait.jpg

b8811133z.1_20150320074732_000_gd86h3tb.2_1-1agmogl.jpg

597310-aafb3640-5b42-11e4-b4ce-f640a0126658.jpg
273838-tlsnewslandscape.jpg

And soon:

Nathan-Freeman-Kidzphyz-Sept-Camp-2015.jpg

These 6 guys didn't want to play there. 4 All Australians, 1 premiership player and a top 10 pick.

Good thing they cleared out all these duds to make room for Treloar, Greenwood, Adams and Jesse White lol

"Destination Club"
Good thing we got rid of the Ben cousins type party boy's ;)

Is that true? Please post your proof.

Can you tell me who these better people are to replace Dan and Blair? Thanks.

Look buddy. It is not my job to educate you. And as for who is better well whoever does the job for the Hawks, the cats, nth, Sydney , west coast. They are all better, they have a better record of attracting a grade talent .

Get your head out of the sand , other clubs run rings around us with regard to trade week and free agency .

Look buddy. It is not my job to educate you. And as for who is better well whoever does the job for the Hawks, the cats, nth, Sydney , west coast. They are all better, they have a better record of attracting a grade talent .

Get your head out of the sand , other clubs run rings around us with regard to trade week and free agency .
Why won't you tell me how you know that we offered Treloar same coin? Is it because you don't have a solid source?

North lol. They're about to fall off an absolute cliff. Sydney lol. Helps having an extra mill in the cap. Plus they have zero depth. They also have academy players that we don't have access to.

Adams Greenwood Scharenberg Varcoe Crisp & Grundy have been acquired by moving those players on, soon to be joined by Treloar & Aish. BTW Thomas has been a bust for Carlton, Shaw and Harry O were both over 28 when they were moved on replaced by players who should be there for 5-10 years, Beams and Wellingham were home sick and wanted out.

I never said they were bad trades, I just said they wanted out. Not everyone is queuing up to play for Collingwood like bigfooty would have you believe.

Yes it's been a fantastic job by the club to retain our list but in reality the current list has not been able to get over an elimination final 3 years straight. We simply must start being aggressive and this talk of picking up some fringe bit player and having them improve the list is great but even through the recruitment of some fine players that weren't heralded by other clubs - we still haven't won a final in 3 years.

Geelong finished 9th this year and will probably add Dangerfield Henderson Selwood & Smith. All of them address needs that Geelong need to fill and they will no doubt be back in the 8 again next year.
Dont know about this , Geelong have lost some quality out the front door as well and still haven't landed all those players yet which is relying on adelaide not matching.

No one wants to go to Richmond because the people in charge are incompetent .
:rolleyes:

The club apologists are out today
No they are not, not everyone hates on everything Richmond do or dont do.

Fact is we were willing to pay treloar as much as the pies did, and give gws more than what the pies will give, yet he still chose the pies,
And why do you think he chose Collingwood, $$$$$, add in the fact of an attractive job offer for the missus and also add in that there were rumours going around before Treloar nominated that a club threatened him with ' choose us or else ' IMO i think that was would be the withdrawal of the job for the missus.

Adams Greenwood Scharenberg Varcoe Crisp & Grundy have been acquired by moving those players on, soon to be joined by Treloar & Aish. BTW Thomas has been a bust for Carlton, Shaw and Harry O were both over 28 when they were moved on replaced by players who should be there for 5-10 years, Beams and Wellingham were home sick and wanted out.
And yet Collingwood are slipping down the ladder each year.