Is it time that AFL clubs dropped beverage company sponsorships ?

To be fair, it is pretty easy to get this info online.

http://www.responsiblegambling.vic....tion/gamble-aware/know-the-facts-about-pokies

Got no idea if this stuff is on the machine itself but my guess the vast majority of gamblers would choose to ignore it.
All Victorian gaming machines must have this information accessible. Can be found under the info button. This will show theoretical returns. Avg spins per win and odds on certain results. Highest I've seen is 1 in 90 million to get 5 wizards.

My God, what a crap thread. Sooking it up because someone dared criticise his magnificent club. I hope he's pleased with the 5 pages of obesity discussion he has generated.

And then coming up with corkers like this:

You are comparing the break-up of families and the destruction of lives to someone needing to get to a gym every now and then? Or are you sheeting home the entire obesity epidemic and diabetes to drinking soft drink? Either way, you are a &^*%ing moron.

Here's the difference between soft drinks and pokies. Soft drinks are merely a contributing factor to the obesity epidemic. By contrast, pokies are completely responsible for tens of thousands of people's gambling addictions. The Hawthorn football club is almost certainly directly responsible for the ruining of lives. Not that you give a sh!t.

If you want to practice sophistry, we could just as easily go the other way and ask why footy clubs shouldn't be allowed to accept sponsorship from cigarettes. You'd probably be delighted to see your precious baby hawks accepting ice sponsorship if they could. Just as long as you guys get your hands on more cash. Hey, drug addicts should practice more personal responsibility!

But to answer your supposed question: If it shuts up people like you I would happily stop footy clubs accepting sponsorship from fast food companies and soft drink manufacturers to stop them from running pokies. Pokies should simply be banned outright - or at least limited to casinos like they are in WA.

The effects of pokie addcition

empty-wallet.jpg

The effect of diabetes

article-2189756-1495786E000005DC-861_468x610.jpg

More than 1 million Australians have this disease.

Meanwhile only around 70,000 Australians have a pokies problem, who on average lose $21,000 a year.

I know I'd rather have my legs and fingers than lose a months salary a year.

Would it? Doesn't stop people from the lotto, people still smoke knowing the possibilites with clear picture sin front of them, wouldn't change a thing.
People would still do it but at least you could say that they're making educated decisions on what they're spending their money on.

Obesity is now the leading cause of death in Australia.

Around 9 million Australians are overweight and another 5million are obese this includes over 1million overweight and 250,000 obese children.

More than 5million Australian have fatty Liver disease and over 1million have type 2 diabetes.

Meanwhile every AFL club has an affiliation with Coca-Cola and or the Pepsi Owned Gatorade brand or similar.

Players do ads for Gatorade and PowerAde, supposed sports drinks that contain around 25 spoonfuls of sugar with high salt content and market them as healthy drinks that makes you an athlete.

Somehow this is overlooked while people are outraged about poker machines that adversely affect a tiny fraction of the population.

If we are going to run the morality meter over AFL and club revenue this is the first place to start.
Most people are over weight because they are lazy & arrogant! To busy whinging and blaming others, to take responsibility apron themselves!

Their should be a fat tax for people with skin folds over the recommended level! Why should a person who stays fit and looks after the self pay for the fat and lazy!

We run on carbs bro.

Fat makes you fat.

Not sure if sarcasm or not, but our best source of energy is actually fat.

The myth of a high carb diet being healthy and fat being unhealthy has caused obesity and related diseases soar in the past 30/40 years.

Sports drinks are fine, no idea why you're targeting them

There's actually nothing healthy about them, packed with refined sugars.

A lot of players don't actually drink it anymore, they put it in their mouth, swirl it around and spit it out. They then chase it with a bit of water.

Source: Sport scientists in the AFL, including Port Adelaide's Darren Burgess

Just like all foods it depends what you do, and if you can burn off the energy. Take a look at this:

Michael Phelps, 12,000 calories a day in 2008. Plenty of starch there.

http://blogs.wsj.com/health/2008/08/13/the-michael-phelps-diet-dont-try-it-at-home/

Breakfast: Three fried-egg sandwiches loaded with cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, fried onions and mayonnaise. Two cups of coffee. One five-egg omelet. One bowl of grits. Three slices of French toast topped with powdered sugar. Three chocolate-chip pancakes.

Lunch: One pound of enriched pasta. Two large ham and cheese sandwiches with mayo on white bread. Energy drinks packing 1,000 calories.

Dinner: One pound of pasta. An entire pizza. More energy drinks.

He might not be overweight, but he sure as hell wasn't technically healthy.

Meh, we are all gonna die someday, Crazy John was a healthy man, dropped dead at 42. For me every moment we spend worrying about someone else is one moment less we have to look after ourselves. I don't help the people around me, just set a good example and a few of my friends have surprised me and are pushing harder then me in some respects :)

So one in every 22 people have type two diabetes in this country? Five million fatty liver disease sufferer's?
Obesity is now the leading cause of death in Australia.

Around 9 million Australians are overweight and another 5million are obese this includes over 1million overweight and 250,000 obese children.

More than 5million Australian have fatty Liver disease and over 1million have type 2 diabetes.

Meanwhile every AFL club has an affiliation with Coca-Cola and or the Pepsi Owned Gatorade brand or similar.

Players do ads for Gatorade and PowerAde, supposed sports drinks that contain around 25 spoonfuls of sugar with high salt content and market them as healthy drinks that makes you an athlete.

Somehow this is overlooked while people are outraged about poker machines that adversely affect a tiny fraction of the population.

If we are going to run the morality meter over AFL and club revenue this is the first place to start.

Not sure if sarcasm or not, but our best source of energy is actually fat.

The myth of a high carb diet being healthy and fat being unhealthy has caused obesity and related diseases soar in the past 30/40 years.

What an absolute load of rubbish. Which obese people ate high-carb and low-fat? Please, who?

Maybe some Kenyan distance runners eat fatty diets, they need fuel. What do Kenyans eat?

We have a system that runs on glucose, and we have plentiful access to natural sugars.

Why oranges at 3/4 time and not lard cubes?

The effects of pokie addcition

empty-wallet.jpg

The effect of diabetes

article-2189756-1495786E000005DC-861_468x610.jpg

More than 1 million Australians have this disease.

Meanwhile only around 70,000 Australians have a pokies problem, who on average lose $21,000 a year.

I know I'd rather have my legs and fingers than lose a months salary a year.

As someone who has worked in a pawn shop this post just shows you have absolutely no idea about what gambling addiction does to families.

Not a ****ing clue.

As someone who has worked in a pawn shop this post just shows you have absolutely no idea about what gambling addiction does to families.

Not a ****ing clue.

What make them sell their stuff ?

I don't value material things over life and health.

I'm not a fan of pokies btw I just think there are much bigger issues.

So one in every 22 people have type two diabetes in this country? Five million fatty liver disease sufferer's?

Yep 1 in 22. 1 in 4 has impaired liver function due to being overweight.

Many don't know they have this of course.

I know this started as a troll thread, but man, it does reveal some ignorance.

Yes, people have a responsibility to look after themselves first and foremost, but as a society we have a responsibility to ensure that people aren't taken advantage of. That's part of the social contract of being in a society. The tactics gambling companies, alcohol companies, soft drink companies, etc use are very much akin to those used by the cigarette industry. In time, we realised we owed it to people to force cigarette companies to come clean and in time, the same will be true of the others mentioned.

That's not to say they will be banned. But anyone who thinks multimillion-dollar corporations and consumers are operating on a level playing field are kidding themselves and just like the superior feeling that blaming others for their own misfortune can bring.

Would it? Doesn't stop people from the lotto, people still smoke knowing the possibilites with clear picture sin front of them, wouldn't change a thing.

Actually the ban on advertising, health warning labels, and plain packaging have worked very well. The number of Australians smoking has almost halved since 1991.

http://www.health.gov.au/internet/main/publishing.nsf/content/tobacco-kff

The alcohol and junk food industries lobby against similar regulation not because they care about "freedom of choice" but because the changes actually work.

What an absolute load of rubbish. Which obese people ate high-carb and low-fat? Please, who?

Maybe some Kenyan distance runners eat fatty diets, they need fuel. What do Kenyans eat?

We have a system that runs on glucose, and we have plentiful access to natural sugars.

Why oranges at 3/4 time and not lard cubes?

Every obese person and/or person with type II diabetes I've ever known has had a high carb intake. Eating low fat is a guaranteed way to send your body (especially hormones) out of whack.

Because oranges spike insulin of course. You wouldn't be eating sugary fruits as your base diet though.

Modern day sport scientists are easing all their players into a low carb diet with high fat intake, you have more energy and it's easier to stay lean. They only carb load at the end of the week before a game and even then, their carb intake isn't that high. Port Adelaide in 2014 had their players averaging under 40g per day and then loading at 100+ at the end of the week.

Hell, this isn't even just for sport, the best up to date physicians, doctors, dieticians and nutritionists etc. are making the same recommendations to all their clients.