FTA-TV The Footy Show - 2015

does anyone- know how to get across the paywall- the big reveal is on the HS website.

Here's the "big reveal":

FOOTY legend and popular TV host Garry Lyon is battling depression.

The Melbourne champion is on indefinite leave from The Footy Show after a massive falling-out with his best mate and the show’s funnyman, Billy Brownless.

The friendship shattered after Brownless discovered a relationship between his ex-wife Nicky and Lyon.

Yesterday Channel 9 issued a statement saying Lyon will stand down from his various media duties while he seeks treatment for an ongoing mental health condition.

“For several months The Footy Show and Footy Classified co-host has been suffering from a serious mental health condition and he will take time out from all media roles to recover. There is no set time-frame as to when he will return to television,” said Nine Melbourne’s managing director Ian Paterson.

“We are all supporting Garry and hope he will be back to good health very soon. Our priority is his wellbeing.”

Lyon is no longer with his wife Melissa, who was a great friend of Nicky Brownless.

Lyon’s mental health is believed to have deteriorated over the Christmas holiday period. He is living alone.

The Sunday Herald Sun understands Brownless confronted Lyon over the relationship during the summer break and is gutted.

Yesterday Brownless was in Geelong visiting one of his daughters.

Dressed in a white T-shirt and black shorts, the usually jovial TV personality looked drawn as he dashed from the front door to a parked blue Ford Falcon on the street.

“I don’t want to make any comment,” Brownless said.

A source said Brownless, 49, was “absolutely gutted ... devastated” but has been “blown away’’ by the public support he has received since news of the mates’ bust-up broke.

It is understood Brownless is hoping he and Lyon can find a way to repair their friendship.

Footy Show panellist Sam Newman said the situation was a private matter but that he was the “last person on the planet to be giving them advice about how to live their life”.

“Professionally I’m hopeful because it’s very vital to our show that they’re both part of it,” Newman told the Sunday Herald Sun.

“While this has become a very public matter, it is also a very private matter. I hope it works out for everyone’s sake.”

Lyon’s nickname in media circles is Lone Wolf. He is a very private man who keeps to himself and he rarely socialises with any of his Footy Show colleagues.

A promotional shoot for the show this Tuesday has been cancelled.

Lyon is the face of Triple M’s AFL footy call coverage and Brownless appears on the station’s Rush Hour show with James Brayshaw.

Triple M Network boss Mike Fitzpatrick, who will meet with Lyon’s manager Craig Kelly this week, said: “We are in discussion with Garry and currently not in a position to make any announcement. We support him through this difficult time.”

The Footy Show will return next month.

James Brayshaw will host the show solo until Lyon is fit to return.

Damian Barrett will fill in for Lyon on Footy Classified.

brownlessa23e0a63c23a3a0639283c412d705a29.jpg

Feel very sorry for Brownless.

Personally I am just pissed off- effects three of my favourite things during the NFL off-season-

1. Triple M Footy Saturday Arvo
2. The Footy Show ( I am supposedly one of the few who still enjoys the chemistry between Garry, James, Billy, Sam, Shane.
3. Triple M footy Friday

Hopefully this will lead to the end of the hack show. Lyon is horrendous on TV and Billy justplays a bad idiot......although to his credit he does the idiot bit very well.

Plays it exceptionally well considering off the screen he's one of the nicest, most genuine, down to earth blokes you could ever have a conversation with. Nothing like the nuffie he tries to portray himself as.

Shattered for the fella TBH.

The only downside is we don't get to enjoy watching them when Essendon returns to its former winning ways, but maybe this is just good old fashion karma

Plays it exceptionally well considering off the screen he's one of the nicest, most genuine, down to earth blokes you could ever have a conversation with. Nothing like the nuffie he tries to portray himself as.

Shattered for the fella TBH.
You think he plays it? Ever seen his short foray into the world of politics? The bloke has fried most of his brain cells with the amount of alcohol he abuses.

Wouldn't be surprised if that was part of the reason Brownless became estranged from Nikki a few years back.

Lyon leaving due to depression seems like bs. He has dogged his mate by banging his ex missus and now cant face the reality of owning his s**t campaigner behavior. The shame is too much for him.

Not a great day for people actually suffering from mental health issues to have their experience cheapened by someone unable to own their shame.
Are you certain that the claimed mental health issues stem from being unable to face up to what he did, and not related to the mental state he was in that lead him to do it in the first place.

He's 99% sure ;)

If I were to buy into these baseless rumours (ie. guesses) for a moment, I would say that they don't have to be mutually exclusive. It's possibly that GL has done something wrong, and that he has a mental illness - or that he's done something wrong because he has a mental illness.

Or he's just feeling like a piece of s**t for getting caught screwing his good mates missus and it's convenient for Lyon's PR manager to label it "mental health" to ease the media scrutiny on him.

You think he plays it? Ever seen his short foray into the world of politics? The bloke has fried most of his brain cells with the amount of alcohol he abuses.

Wouldn't be surprised if that was part of the reason Brownless became estranged from Nikki a few years back.

Lyon leaving due to depression seems like bs. He has dogged his mate by banging his ex missus and now cant face the reality of owning his s**t campaigner behavior. The shame is too much for him.

this is my first impression too. and the oldies say our younger generation are a generation of responsibility dodgers?:(:(

so billy is divorced and so is gaz so two single ppl bang and its the end of the world. not a great look but really its none of bills business any more

Except from Bill's perceptive his mate has taken advantage of the situation, he might even had held hopes of patching things up also we don't know when the fling actually started.