BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Closed Thread

Old 28 Oct 2008, 10:39   #2251
SS jumbo
Red Card

Re: Black Diamond AFL

Dear Deitzy

Remove the two ads above - Register for free or log in.
Old 28 Oct 2008, 10:47   #2252
swans12
BigFooty Member

[quote=SS jumbo;12913035][quote=swans12;12912731]

Hey everyone I found a picture in the newspaper of swans 12 taken at the Gateway Hotel Islington last Saturday Night.

Right on schedule fool and good to see another of your intelligent football comments, you seem to know the gateway quite well. Learn a few tricks when you did your hard jail time?
Old 28 Oct 2008, 12:10   #2253
bingo peter
BigFooty Apprentice

From the BDAFL website: http://www.bdafl.com.au/news.php?id=970

Former President says New Rule Is Unaustralian

Former League president and recently elected Board Member, Ian Granland, said the newly introduced Victorian Country Football League (VCFL) rule to ban serious sexually derogatory comments at games is a farce.

"If what I read is correct" Granland said, "then this VCFL rule, which is expected to match the racial vilification laws, outlaws comments at football games which could be construed as sexually demeaning."

"These could include comments to players, umpires and officials."

According to Kevin Taylor's Footystats site, the CEO of the Ballarat Football League, Rod Ward said that if someone called the umpire a white p__fter and he finds it offensive then a complaint can be lodged. And worse still the penalty for clubs could the loss premiership points and spectators banned.

"I can understand people being uncomfortable with continual sexually implicit comments - not that you get many - but it has been going on for over 100 years." Granland said.

"What is going to the footy and being unable to espouse your feelings coming to? And it could get worse, even if on the very minor occasions they may be of a sexual nature, like for instance using the term, 'you bastard'. I mean its a spur of the moment comment. You don't go home and write out 200 times "you rotten p__fter bastard and paste it on your wall." Lifes not like that. You accept the umpires decision and get on with it. You may not like it but thats how we are as Australians."

"I wonder if the term 'd_ckhead' could be construed as sexually demaning? How do they define the word 'serious'?"

"I think they are going a bit over the top with this. They need to modify their stance with this issue. Some action may be required but not the way that this is being sold. Let us pray that it doesn't hit NSW football in the manner as it apparently has in country Victoria."

Is this bureaurocracy gone mad or are they onto something that needs attention

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

What does eveyone think of this? As a memeber of the homosexual community (and proud of it!) I believe it is about time.

Over the years I have heard some disgusting things directed towards players AND officials and I think it's time it was stamped out.

And with recent events, Hopefully the BDAFL looks at stamping it out on the bigfooty forum too
Old 28 Oct 2008, 13:07   #2254
bdk1963
BigFooty Apprentice

Tips W: (2151), O: (1974)

Angry Re: Black Diamond AFL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knots View Post
Who really cares if the coaches or players are paid? I reckon good on the Crows for offering some coin. Every other club at the very minimum pays their senior coach. At least they are working on a plan to become more competitive, and that’s what this league needs. About time a struggling club is showing some initiative. Pity Nelson Bay and Woy Woy didn’t do the same.
Knots knows nothing....
http://www.aflvic.com.au/index.php?id=6
see page 2

And yes NB are in the market for a development coach and are "offering some coin"
Old 28 Oct 2008, 14:47   #2255
waugh17
BigFooty Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by weaglesman View Post
On what I have seen of the Tigers (about 10 games over 2 yrs), Lester is courageous but makes bad decisions, Youlten wouldnt get a run in 1st grade at a top 4 side, and I dont know who White is.
Could'nt agree more.
Old 28 Oct 2008, 16:41   #2256
noodles81
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdk1963 View Post
Knots knows nothing....
see page 2

And yes NB are in the market for a development coach and are "offering some coin"
Good to see the Bay are trying to build back up, although my mind is made up that it is almost impossible to then compete in the 1's. Good for the club to still be around but the bosses at the league wont be as exited.
My question is about the 18's? will you guys have the numbers as I believe Spencer and Henderson would still be 18's but how many have you got from this years 16's and are the league adopting the 'player loan' system for all grades?
Old 28 Oct 2008, 16:53   #2257
noodles81
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane

Quote:
Noodles.....What amounts have you heard?.
Mate the figures I heard were around the 1k mark, he may of just been curious as to what he would get,maybe the commute to sydney was getting to him.
Welcome Blackmagic to the forum, il have a stab and say yr Brennan so you would have the best info being from the Bay and also best mates with Gordo. I suppose the only reason this rumour had more weight is the fact the Crows have cash, they next door to you guys iv heard he is shopping around and obviously he left on not the best terms
As you said once you have confirmed we'd love to know.

Lastly hows yr 2's team goin? there were a few 'experienced' blokes running around. Was that their finale/making way for some young guns or are they going round again?
Old 28 Oct 2008, 17:13   #2258
rizzbang
BigFooty Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodles81 View Post
Mate the figures I heard were around the 1k mark, he may of just been curious as to what he would get,maybe the commute to sydney was getting to him.
Welcome Blackmagic to the forum, il have a stab and say yr Brennan so you would have the best info being from the Bay and also best mates with Gordo. I suppose the only reason this rumour had more weight is the fact the Crows have cash, they next door to you guys iv heard he is shopping around and obviously he left on not the best terms
As you said once you have confirmed we'd love to know.

Lastly hows yr 2's team goin? there were a few 'experienced' blokes running around. Was that their finale/making way for some young guns or are they going round again?
he trained most tuesdays and thursdays throughout the year with the bay and was just playing for st george on weekends so i wouldnt say the terms were too bad
Old 28 Oct 2008, 17:23   #2259
Barto86
BigFooty Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by rizzbang View Post
he trained most tuesdays and thursdays throughout the year with the bay and was just playing for st george on weekends so i wouldnt say the terms were too bad
There was no falling out between Warners Bay and Gordo...He is still down at the club all the time. He trains, and runs water for all grades and is out having a beer with the boys on a regular basis...I think your source may have got it wrong sorry Noodles...
Old 28 Oct 2008, 17:48   #2260
MerkSaysWhat
BigFooty Member

Question Re: Black Diamond AFL

Gordo is on great terms at WB. He's a great bloke who is out with the rest of the doggies on a regular basis. My mail is he'll be in Sydney again next year. Pity really 'cos he should have a go at VFL/WAFL/SANFL level.

Ressies should be strong again next year with 10 age 20's players new to AFL in 2008 being big improvers. The doggies look after each other on and off the field, no tall poppy BS.

Old fogies retire every year - can't tell until round 6 whats going there as pre season starts in April after age 35.

The big smokey in 09 is Barton......
Old 28 Oct 2008, 18:43   #2261
WorkingtheTurkey
BigFooty Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by weaglesman View Post
On what I have seen of the Tigers (about 10 games over 2 yrs), Lester is courageous but makes bad decisions, Youlten wouldnt get a run in 1st grade at a top 4 side, and I dont know who White is.
As others have mentioned, this is a very accurate assessment. Tiger, I know you and you are a good bloke trying to defend our mates who you rate as footballers, but it is coming off a little UTF-ish. The players you mentioned are among our best but seriously they wouldn't be in the top 10 in the top 4 clubs.

That being said, good to see the new coach signed up. Looking forward to some pre-season floggings - we need it..
Old 28 Oct 2008, 19:55   #2262
Knots
BigFooty Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdk1963 View Post
Knots knows nothing....
see page 2

bdk1963…… good on you and I assume your club, the advert looks great and I hope you are able to attract some new blood to the league. No need to take offence of my comments. I, like the rest of the football community just want to have a competitive competition and not see clubs get bashed by 200 odd points every week.
Old 28 Oct 2008, 20:06   #2263
bdk1963
BigFooty Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodles81 View Post
Good to see the Bay are trying to build back up, although my mind is made up that it is almost impossible to then compete in the 1's. Good for the club to still be around but the bosses at the league wont be as exited.
My question is about the 18's? will you guys have the numbers as I believe Spencer and Henderson would still be 18's but how many have you got from this years 16's and are the league adopting the 'player loan' system for all grades?
Whilst it is not ideal to drop back to the two's the BDAFL has been made well aware that this is what we need to do in an attempt to rebuild. I believe that provided that we have 18's they will grant the club's request. It is NB intention to have under 18's in 2009, and both Brad's to be a part of the side.
Provided players are not continued to be approached and poached by other clubs, NB has some chance of survival.
A considerable amount of effort is going into improving the club both on and the off field support and continuing to develop our junior and existing talented players.
Senior training will be split between Medowie on Tuesday nights and NB on a Thursday.
Old 28 Oct 2008, 20:10   #2264
bdk1963
BigFooty Apprentice

Quote:
bdk1963…… good on you and I assume your club, the advert looks great and I hope you are able to attract some new blood to the league. No need to take offence of my comments. I, like the rest of the football community just want to have a competitive competition and not see clubs get bashed by 200 odd points every week.
Don't we all. Unfortunately the strong are getting stronger and weak weaker......
Old 28 Oct 2008, 21:19   #2265
captain insaneo
BigFooty Newbie

warners bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by SS jumbo View Post
I log on myself and yes i am tough. My son just helps me with some of the lingo that goes on here. If you dont like my remarks, turn off your computer! By the way you would lose your right testicle because I can guarantee that no one on this board would kick the crap out of me.

Yeah thats right , try 7 years in jail and 3 years since training in martial arts to protect myself from the crims that tried to whack me whilst doing hard time.
i have eaten tougher pieces of steak than you. Also you couldn't fight your way out of a wet paper bag. P.S. singleton is probably the lamest place on earth, go back to you dirt filled carrot field, you hick!
..............jerk

-->