BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Old 18 Jan 2009, 15:26   #16
Ford Fairlane
BigFooty Moderator
This is a Veteran user. Respect.BigFooty Board Moderator

Port Adelaide
Port Adelaide Magpies
Re: Hamish Hartlett

Another video montage of Hartlett. Thanks to Jakko for posting originally.

How To: Embed a YouTube video.
Old 20 Jan 2009, 00:04   #17
Ebert80
BigFooty Member

Port Adelaide

I can't wait to follow this lad's progress this year, he looks all class. I've heard he's a possibility to debut early in the season.

I can see him as a definite fan favourite and a 200 game player for the club.
Old 24 Jan 2009, 11:51   #18
dyertribe
School of Excellence
This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Port Adelaide
NUFC, AUFC, AKT#31

How's this for a day out. His one game of U19s for Westies last year as listed in the '09 Prospectus:

36 D (26 K, 10 H)
5 M (1 cont)
22 CP
17 Clr
7 I50
2 Tkl
2 G, 1 B
1 GA, 2 SA
dyertribe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 08:59   #19
Toots Hibbert
Est. 1870
This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Port Adelaide
Man U,Packers,Feyenoord

He has as much if not more promise as Boak did IMO.

I've noticed at training that he seems to really enjoy the hard work. I was watching him doing twenty and thirty yard sprints round the boundary with a trainer holding a stop watch and he was just smiling and determined to do better when the times were called out to him. His body language just spoke of a young guy really enjoying the challenge of getting the best out of himself.
Old 26 Jan 2009, 20:07   #20
crap detective
BigFooty Newbie

Port Adelaide

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyertribe View Post
How's this for a day out. His one game of U19s for Westies last year as listed in the '09 Prospectus:

36 D (26 K, 10 H)
5 M (1 cont)
22 CP
17 Clr
7 I50
2 Tkl
2 G, 1 B
1 GA, 2 SA
mitch banner had a 41 d game last year in the tac cup
crap detective is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2009, 07:48   #21
*PAF
BigFooty Elite Member
Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.

Port Adelaide

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toots Hibbert View Post
He has as much if not more promise as Boak did IMO.

I've noticed at training that he seems to really enjoy the hard work. I was watching him doing twenty and thirty yard sprints round the boundary with a trainer holding a stop watch and he was just smiling and determined to do better when the times were called out to him. His body language just spoke of a young guy really enjoying the challenge of getting the best out of himself.
IMO, just like Boak and Sal did, he will get plenty of games this year.
*PAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2009, 16:38   #22
KING-JAMES
BigFooty Member

Portland, Heat

Best of luck to Hamish.
I talk to him a fair bit and his absolutely loving it at Port.
Says all the boys couldn't have made the transition any easier.
Reckon you have a ripper on your hands, and a real good bloke to go with it.
#1 Gumbleton Fan
KING-JAMES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Feb 2009, 11:04   #23
ShrewDext
BigFooty Apprentice
BigFooty Tipping 2009

I read somewhere (Maybe draft day reports), that Hartlett had shoulder surgery.

How is he training in the pre season? Is he involved in all contact drills or on a modified program?

Do you feel he will be named in the NAB?

Is there room at Port for both Hartlett and Davenport to debut in the teal in Rd1 or early '09.

Fantasy Footy has started, so would appreciate your thoughts.

Enjoy your Footy in '09.
ShrewDext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Feb 2009, 14:15   #24
Forzaport
Bigfooty Consigliere
BigFooty Tipping 2009This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Port Adelaide

hamish did have minor surgery and i believe will begin contact work this week or next week. Rumor has it that hamish will get a run in the NAB, but don't expect to see him come round 1. Not sure about Davenport yet - gut feeling says depth player, but haven't seen him in action yet so i don't know where he would fit in.
Old 5 Feb 2009, 21:57   #25
ShrewDext
BigFooty Apprentice
BigFooty Tipping 2009

Cheers Forzaport,

With such a deep draft in '08 and these kids already having almost superstar status it makes things difficult on the Fantasy Footy aspect of AFL.

With no 'heavy' contact training upto now and probably little upperbody strengthening Hamish could be a few months away?

Port has a pretty impressive young midfield also.

The NAB will reveal more I am sure.

Many thanks
ShrewDext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Feb 2009, 18:13   #26
cozdawg#09
BigFooty Member

The Mighty Catters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forzaport View Post
hamish did have minor surgery and i believe will begin contact work this week or next week. Rumor has it that hamish will get a run in the NAB, but don't expect to see him come round 1. Not sure about Davenport yet - gut feeling says depth player, but haven't seen him in action yet so i don't know where he would fit in.
Have heard that Choco said he "wouldn't be surprised if Hartlett plays every game this year." He's been really impressing on the track as has Davenport.
cozdawg#09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Feb 2009, 08:19   #27
Power Pete
BigFooty Member

Port Adelaide
PAMFC - THUNDERBIRDS
22 Hamish Hartlett

Power Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Feb 2009, 22:20   #28
Ford Fairlane
BigFooty Moderator
This is a Veteran user. Respect.BigFooty Board Moderator

Port Adelaide
Port Adelaide Magpies
Re: #22 Hamish Hartlett

Here comes Hamish.

Quote:
Hamish Hartlett earns Port Adelaide debut
Andrew Capel, Adelaide | February 20, 2009 11:30pm

IN A week in which a host of first-round draft picks will make their NAB Cup debuts, Port Adelaide's Hamish Hartlett has set himself modest goals.

"I'm not expecting to set the world alight. Just getting a first touch of the ball will be fantastic," the Power's highest ever draft selection (No. 4) said yesterday.

Hartlett is among six 2008 first-round draftees being showcased in the four matches this weekend, along with Carlton's Chris Yarran, North Melbourne's Jack Ziebell, Sydney's Lewis Johnston, Geelong's Mitchell Brown and Hawthorn's Ryan Schoenmakers.

Fremantle's Stephen Hill and Brisbane's Daniel Rich were first-rounders who played last weekend, gaining 13 and 11 disposals respectively.

"After watching a few of the other first-round draft picks out there, I don't expect too much first-up," said Hartlett, who will line up against Sydney in Canberra tomorrow.

"I'm just looking forward to getting used to the pace of the game and getting that first touch."

Midfield dynamo Hartlett, 18, is ready to roll after a pre-season largely spent rehabilitating a reconstructed left shoulder. It was initially feared he would not be ready to play until the start of the home-and-away season.

"The shoulder's fine now," said Hartlett, who copped the injury playing for West Adelaide last year.

"It's almost seven months since the operation and it's almost back to full strength. I'm doing all the weights and all the contested work out there, so it's good. The (left) shoulder has never been as strong as the right one, but it's getting there."

Coach Mark Williams described Hartlett's work on the track as "brilliant" and expressed surprise at the strength of his overhead marking.

"He really does some good stuff in that regard, as well as his kicking and ball-finding ability," Williams said.

Hartlett, who missed last week's trials against Sturt and the Port Magpies with a minor hip injury, described playing his first game for the Power as "a huge thrill".

"It's a pretty hard team to crack, so to get rewarded with a game first-up is fantastic. It's a pretty big goal I've achieved," he said.

"I was really excited when I found out and when I put the guernsey on for the first time at training, I looked at myself in the mirror and thought, 'I could really get used to this'. It was a great feeling."

Hartlett said he expected to be used off the bench as a running half-forward/wingman/half-back.

Most importantly, he wants to walk off Manuka Oval a winner.

"The whole team is looking to start the year really strongly. We want to get a win on the board early, to get some confidence and consistency and strength into our game," he said.
Old 20 Feb 2009, 22:35   #29
Power King
BigFooty Elite Member

Port Adelaide

excited mate, i'm excited.
Old 25 Feb 2009, 12:55   #30
kerplunky
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane
SANFL-Central District

in reagards to Dt, how would you guys see the battle between harlett and davenport for a spot in the side?

thanks in advance.

-->