Apr 21, 2005
London
Ok

I know it seems like a stupid comparisson... and while I've been withdrawing the urine about Pods for the last few months, I honestly think weighing up the pros and cons for these 2 guys is worth considering.

Pods -
Accurate Kick
Lead and mark forward
Versatile (can play fwd or back)
Cheap as chips
Won't have to give up much to get him (although will he still be around for our 3rd/4th round pick?)
Been on 2 lists and hasn't made it
Trained with 2 teams over past summers and hasn't made it
Possible late bloomer due to his late start at the game

Fev
Proven(ish) goal kicker in AFL
Accurate Kick
Will cost a packet load (possibly effecting how much we can pay griff/coon etc in the coming years)
Bad attitude/body language
Will have to give up A LOT to get him from Carlton
Potential to go off the rails and give nothing
Potential to kick 100 goals a season

Not sure what else to add. But at any rate, who do you all think is the better buy?

I've not see too much of Pods... but I've seen and read a lot about Fev and most of it hasn't been great. Pagan is a good coach and Fev hasn't responded to his requests to pull his head in. It makes you wonder what sort of character this guy is.

Also... our team seems pretty down to earth. Not too many egos around and with a good young crop of home growns coming through, I think Fev could possibly stirr the pot a little too much.

My vote goes to Pods

I vote for fevola. If eade wants him he will get him. Remember he traded for Big Bad Buslting Barry Hall. He wouldnt be half the players he is today if it wasnt for eade. Have fevola the leading forward and darcy stay in the goalsquare packmarker.

fev = $460K a year, plus pick 11, plus say faulkner/birss/eagleton

we could get Pods and a quality CHF for the same price.

so question is,

is whitanall/polak/tarrant + Pods > just Fev

plus the journos would love it!

'Eade gets big Pods'

'Dogs pleased with Pods'

'Another bag for the dog's Pods'

etc...

or for when he has a bad day on the field:

'Pods licked by Gaspar'

'Pods well held'

'No joy for Pods'

Bad attitude is an understatement. At present, Fevola has an attitude that is flat out incompatible with being a consistently good player at this level. If Pagan, who has a great record at getting the best out of such players, can't get him to even give the impression of caring about his club, i doubt he is likely to come to us and all of a sudden be a different man.

I'm all for getting Pods, from the games i've seen him play this year, not only is he a stand out but he DOMINATES at Vfl level, for those who say he's been tried out at Collingwood and so on, who cares, that was then and this is now, back then he may of struggled for whatever reason.

Plus Pods was used later in the season at Werribee in the backline, i wonder if this was a request from Eade to see how he handled it?

If we can trade a fringe player for another 2nd round draft pick, i would use it on Pods!

I'd rather have Andrew Wills back at the club then Pods.

Absolutely ridiculous comment! But hey, you are entitled to your opinions. We just don't have to take them for much.
Pods is screaming for a shot at the highest level and I think he deserves it too. He has been the dominant forward in the VFL this season and has spent periods down back when he could have added to his tally (kicking 5 in just over a quarter against Springvale before being moved down back being just one example).
I don't know how many other players have been so close without being given a chance, but I think the time has come to allow the bloke to either show he can match it or can't.
His past experience on Rookie Lists is irrelevant as he has grown a heap since then and is now a leader at Werribee and mature player. Last year, the Swans told him to improve his kicking and leading power, and so he did!
Desperately striving for a shot, I say we give it to him. It would be a great story and he would not cost an arm and a leg like a certain moody and lackadaisical forward from Carlton.

CrAckDoGGer said:
I vote for fevola. If eade wants him he will get him. Remember he traded for Big Bad Buslting Barry Hall. He wouldnt be half the players he is today if it wasnt for eade. Have fevola the leading forward and darcy stay in the goalsquare packmarker.

The difference with Eade with us now and Eade in his time at Sh**ney is that while at Sh**ney he had the full backing of the AFL to poach players and pay them any amount they wanted without any problems with a salary cap (they have an "official" one but there's no way they stick to it). Big difference, AFL wants Sh**ney to succeed at any cost while the doggies are there to make up numbers in the AFL's eyes. :cool:

Just listened to a great interview with him on SEN. Insightful and seems to be looking forward to this week's Grand Final. He is taking everything in his stride and seems to have a good head on his shoulders.

Pods V Fev, please

That's like running a maiden from Warracknabeal against a cox Plate runner.

This poll is even stupider then the Cooney V Walker poll.

ben.carbonaro said:
Pods for me, he deserves another chance in my book.

Then talk it up on the Swans board.

Coondog 17 said:
Pods V Fev, please

That's like running a maiden from Warracknabeal against a cox Plate runner.

This poll is even stupider then the Cooney V Walker poll.

I agree. Pods is a VFL hack. Get a grip people. Pull your heads out of your collective backsides.

If Pods is drafted by this footy club...........

Benno From Berwick said:
I agree. Pods is a VFL hack. Get a grip people. Pull your heads out of your collective backsides.

If Pods is drafted by this footy club...........
do you go down and watch werribee?

Ever heard of Danney Del Ray?

In my opinion yes, Dry Rot.

Would be great to finally be able to include him in my weekly player reports after a game, always think the VFL listed player got a rough deal by yours truly not including them.

But, what can I do ?

Dry Rot said:
Agree with those who don't want Fev, and if he goes to another club it probably skittles the chances of Whitnall coming here.

Re Pods, what if we are only using 3 draft picks. Is he worth a punt for our 3rd round pick?
I can see us trading our first 2 picks, if so then yes but i still want to look at hugh minson.

Re Fevola, is this the kind of player we want?

Fevola in new low at club function
By Caroline Wilson
September 13, 2005

CARLTON forward Brendan Fevola was heralded as the future face of his once-proud football club in June when the Blues put their misgivings aside and signed the erratic 24-year-old to a three-year deal worth close to $1.4 million.

At the time, it seemed a more than generous gesture. Risky, too, given Carlton's dreadful recent history with crippling long-term contracts but the club rightly said the deal — although not the ridiculous size of it — was forced because it otherwise would risk losing the talented forward for nothing at the end of the season.

But it was not so much the money that seemed scandalous, more the depths to which the club had plunged to clutch at a player like Fevola for stature in the football market place.

Never were those depths better underlined than at Carlton's best-and-fairest count five days ago.

It was a somewhat messy Fevola who wandered from his table to one alongside it, taking the seat of his club's communications director Ian Coutts shortly before Carlton legend John Nicholls presented Anthony Koutoufides with the best and fairest medal that bears Nicholls' name.

What followed was a stirring speech by the premiership captain directed at a group of footballers whom he asked to think not what the club could do for them but the reverse.

Loudly, and within earshot of most of his table — not to mention individuals nearby — Fevola made it clear what he thought of Nicholls and his fighting words.

The young forward, whose name is below that of Alex Jesaulenko on locker No. 25, used filthy language in demonstrating his lack of respect for Carlton's 328-game three-time flag winner, an official AFL legend and a ruckman in the team of the century.

When Nicholls, the one-time king of physical presence on the playing arena, referred to poor body language, Fevola, in what at least three people at the table deemed a sarcastic gesture, put his hand up and called "that's me".

Initial reports from a club desperately searching for a hero indicated Fevola had performed well on the night. It was said he went out of his way to make himself known to club sponsors and greet board members.

That this would be considered noteworthy for a player who will earn $400,000 next year for playing alone and take home a chunk of Carlton's marketing money is an indication of the Blues' low expectations of Fevola.

So much has been written of his on-field dummy spits and refusal to work for his teammates even when carrying an injury and, yes, this was not a football match. However, it was an official club function and while the odd tired and emotional display at the end of a season is no big deal, Fevola's verbal performance directed at Nicholls was inexcusable.

Blues chief executive Michael Malouf said last night he had been made aware of allegations regarding Fevola's words at the function. "There was some speculation about some comments made late the following night, which came to my attention," Malouf said. "But the report was second-hand and could not be substantiated. On the basis it was hearsay, we didn't follow it up at the time. If it is established that anything was said, yes, we would look at it. John Nicholls is a legend of the Carlton Football Club and well within his rights to speak the way he did.

"At this stage, Brendan's a contracted player. To trade him would require the agreement of Brendan and the approval of the board."

Coach Denis Pagan is in place for three years and Carlton continues to search for the right man — or men — to breathe new life and a strong influence into its football operation.

Pagan said of Fevola after a shocker late in the season: "We have had talks, Brendan and I, and we don't agree on the principles of football."

At the same time, Carlton is searching for a suitable trade for Fevola but history shows that, during trade week, a will does not always mean a way.

But while that search continues, decision-makers at Carlton should bear in mind that for all this club has lost in recent years, it should fight to preserve its self-respect — a self-respect that was not evident for several damaging minutes last Thursday at the third table from the stage in Telstra Dome's Victory Room.

This story was found at: http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/09/12/1126377257486.html

Dry Rot said:
Re Fevola, is this the kind of player we want?

Fevola in new low at club function
By Caroline Wilson
September 13, 2005

CARLTON forward Brendan Fevola was heralded as the future face of his once-proud football club in June when the Blues put their misgivings aside and signed the erratic 24-year-old to a three-year deal worth close to $1.4 million.

At the time, it seemed a more than generous gesture. Risky, too, given Carlton's dreadful recent history with crippling long-term contracts but the club rightly said the deal — although not the ridiculous size of it — was forced because it otherwise would risk losing the talented forward for nothing at the end of the season.

But it was not so much the money that seemed scandalous, more the depths to which the club had plunged to clutch at a player like Fevola for stature in the football market place.

Never were those depths better underlined than at Carlton's best-and-fairest count five days ago.

It was a somewhat messy Fevola who wandered from his table to one alongside it, taking the seat of his club's communications director Ian Coutts shortly before Carlton legend John Nicholls presented Anthony Koutoufides with the best and fairest medal that bears Nicholls' name.

What followed was a stirring speech by the premiership captain directed at a group of footballers whom he asked to think not what the club could do for them but the reverse.

Loudly, and within earshot of most of his table — not to mention individuals nearby — Fevola made it clear what he thought of Nicholls and his fighting words.

The young forward, whose name is below that of Alex Jesaulenko on locker No. 25, used filthy language in demonstrating his lack of respect for Carlton's 328-game three-time flag winner, an official AFL legend and a ruckman in the team of the century.

When Nicholls, the one-time king of physical presence on the playing arena, referred to poor body language, Fevola, in what at least three people at the table deemed a sarcastic gesture, put his hand up and called "that's me".

Initial reports from a club desperately searching for a hero indicated Fevola had performed well on the night. It was said he went out of his way to make himself known to club sponsors and greet board members.

That this would be considered noteworthy for a player who will earn $400,000 next year for playing alone and take home a chunk of Carlton's marketing money is an indication of the Blues' low expectations of Fevola.

So much has been written of his on-field dummy spits and refusal to work for his teammates even when carrying an injury and, yes, this was not a football match. However, it was an official club function and while the odd tired and emotional display at the end of a season is no big deal, Fevola's verbal performance directed at Nicholls was inexcusable.

Blues chief executive Michael Malouf said last night he had been made aware of allegations regarding Fevola's words at the function. "There was some speculation about some comments made late the following night, which came to my attention," Malouf said. "But the report was second-hand and could not be substantiated. On the basis it was hearsay, we didn't follow it up at the time. If it is established that anything was said, yes, we would look at it. John Nicholls is a legend of the Carlton Football Club and well within his rights to speak the way he did.

"At this stage, Brendan's a contracted player. To trade him would require the agreement of Brendan and the approval of the board."

Coach Denis Pagan is in place for three years and Carlton continues to search for the right man — or men — to breathe new life and a strong influence into its football operation.

Pagan said of Fevola after a shocker late in the season: "We have had talks, Brendan and I, and we don't agree on the principles of football."

At the same time, Carlton is searching for a suitable trade for Fevola but history shows that, during trade week, a will does not always mean a way.

But while that search continues, decision-makers at Carlton should bear in mind that for all this club has lost in recent years, it should fight to preserve its self-respect — a self-respect that was not evident for several damaging minutes last Thursday at the third table from the stage in Telstra Dome's Victory Room.

This story was found at: http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/09/12/1126377257486.html

Barry Hall anyone?

ben.carbonaro said:
With my Sydney supporters cap on and not my Werribee employee cap on, just wanted to say no you won't be getting BBB under any circumstances.

Is that clear, Bogan ?
Ben mate, read what is said about Fev, then re wind and think of BBBH when he was at the saints, and put 2 and 2 together.

bogan4life said:
do you go down and watch werribee?

Ever heard of Danney Del Ray?

Danny was a better player than Pods. I have seen him in a cople of games only. He is not what we should be looking for. The jump between the VFL anf the AFL is massive. He has had his opportunities. If he had anything that was attractive to an AFL club why didn't he get more chances prior to now. If he played at Sandy or Port we would not even be discussing him!!

That's like running a maiden from Warracknabeal against a cox Plate runner

I think that is a bit extreme. If you want to view it in this manner, I'd prefer to see Pods as the decent handicapper who gives his all and gets results at his level, while Fevola may be a Cox Plate runner, but he is one who runs greenly, plays up before races, is unreliable and simply a punters nightmare. That's what we would be doing if we took a punt on that big beast we call Fev - taking a punt. Can we afford to punt on him when we want him to be in our Group 1 brigade and a champion at the club? Or should we punt on the honest and handy type who tries all day and desperately wants to succeed? I know, I'd go for the latter, if he has any chance of being a serviceable member of the team.

Pods is a VFL hack

Geez, the VFL is in trouble if this bloke is a hack. And, if you mean it as, 'he is a hack because he plays in the VFL,' well you have your opinion.
By the way, is Dale Morris still that VFL hack you talk about?

If we could get Fev without giving away a ridiculous amount I'd take him, but not if it was instead of getting a CHB or CHF like Lance.

I'd be surprised if Pods was the answer to our prayers. If he's as good as people seem to think he is we may as well get him and give him a base contract, but only if he wasn't taking the spot of someone on the list with legitimate potential

Pods V Fev