31 Mar 2006, 22:36
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
B Stack
|
Ch.9 - Wallace: "This is my worst loss in footy."
Always glad to create new experiences and memories for you plough!
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 22:38
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
St.Albans FC/Spurs
|
Re: Ch.9 - Wallace: "This is my worst loss in footy."
Gold
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 22:40
|
|
|
The Beast
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by bulldogtragic
|
Im glad he thought tonight was worse than the 97 Prelim
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 22:41
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by bulldogtragic
|
In spite of everything I still have a soft spot for Plough but I am starting to think that he has been kidding himself about how relatively easy it will be to transform his current club into a successfull unit. I know it's only one game but he's been in the job the same time as Rocket and the two clubs seem headed in opposite directions.
I feel sorry for some of my mates who are dedicated long term Tige supporters, and one in particular who just got his 50 season membership award.
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 22:47
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by tassiedog
|
I guess Terry didn't suffer as much of the rest of us that day in Sept. '97. Tonight's match was just an ordinary, first game of the season. The '97 PF was like dying to most of us supporters.
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 22:55
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Harry's Heroes
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by tassiedog
|
Was about to say the same thing, 100 point losses are pretty bad obviously but I would have thought this would be the game that he would regret the most.
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 23:03
|
|
|
BigFooty Moderator
|
There is a difference between toughest loss and worst loss IMO. Tonights game would have been his worst loss.
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 23:07
|
|
|
BF's Night Porter
BHAS, PSLA, Van Berlo
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by alwaysadog
I feel sorry for some of my mates who are dedicated long term Tige supporters, and one in particular who just got his 50 season membership award.
|
In New South Wales, you lodge a complaint with the Dept of Fair Trading about faulty or shoddy goods.
Which Victorian dept should your Tiger mate approach?
|
|
|
31 Mar 2006, 23:33
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
St.Albans FC/Spurs
|
I like Plough even though he sold us out. I think at the end of the day, him leaving was a positive for the club, because after nearly 20 years at the bulldogs (including playing and reserves coach) his message would have been getting tired. The fact the board chose Rhode wasn't Plough's fault.....
That said though I think he made the wrong decision (for the second time) in choosing the Tiges as the team to coach. He would have been better off taking the Hawk's job where he would have returned as the prodigal son.
The Tiger's coaching job is the poison chalice. The club has the opinion that it is a BIG club and has expectation's to match this opinion, when the reality is they have been underperformers for a quarter of a century. Tiger's coaches are not given the opportunity to rebuild, as instant result's are expected. His playing stock, Lid's aside is relatively mediocre, with their older players being average at best and their youngster's being too inexperienced.
The doggies by comparison have high quality older players like Darcy, Grant, West, Smith and Johnno, so the gap between the experience and inexperience is mitigated b/c of the fab 5! basically a really bad decision by Plough.
|
|
|
1 Apr 2006, 00:42
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
bulldogs NY METS
|
i'm surprised he didn't claim sydneys flag last year!! NO terry losing the unloseable prelim final 97 was your worst loss. btw how gaunt and frail did wallet look post game.
|
|
|
1 Apr 2006, 03:10
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
western bulldogs
|
Its not Plough's fault really that so many of his squad went out with a White Flag at the ready. A wretched capitulation basicaly.
|
|
|
1 Apr 2006, 04:31
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Leicester City, St Mirren
|
Have to agree with the others on the 97 prelim.
I also reckon the 99 final against W/C was also pretty ordinary as I reckon up to that point we were building momentum nicely.....
|
|
|
1 Apr 2006, 07:51
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Chicago1
I guess Terry didn't suffer as much of the rest of us that day in Sept. '97. Tonight's match was just an ordinary, first game of the season. The '97 PF was like dying to most of us supporters.
|
I've always secretly wondered exactly how hard he took those Prelim losses. I've always said 97 felt like someone had died and took me eons to get over. He's a professional and in end, although he played and coached us, probably only bleeds green rather than red white and blue.
To be honest, i don't think i want a coach that felt it like us. I want it to hurt, but at 5:00pm on that day i wanted to give up football for ever, and i don't think that's what i want our coach to feel.
I still wonder though. I think it would have hurt Grant, West, Johnson, Smith et al a lot more.
|
|
|
1 Apr 2006, 07:58
|
|
|
BigFooty Legend
Footscray
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Sporty Spice
I've always secretly wondered exactly how hard he took those Prelim losses. I've always said 97 felt like someone had died and took me eons to get over. He's a professional and in end, although he played and coached us, probably only bleeds green rather than red white and blue.
To be honest, i don't think i want a coach that felt it like us. I want it to hurt, but at 5:00pm on that day i wanted to give up football for ever, and i don't think that's what i want our coach to feel.
I still wonder though. I think it would have hurt Grant, West, Johnson, Smith et al a lot more.
|
Its a good point. A coach cant afford the same emotional respones that we indulge oursleves in. He's got to be pragmatic.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Sporty Spice
|
I still hate seeing that picture of Bubba on his hands and knees punching the MCG turf. For some bizzare reason the picture hung in the front bar of the Belgravia for years, I dont know how long it lasted after Steve Kretiuk took over.
|
|
1 Apr 2006, 07:59
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Oakland Raiders
|
I don't understand why you Bulldog supporters still hate TW & Brown so much. That was years ago. I too for a while hated Ottens for leaving, but now am over it. Life goes on.
Just be happy you now have Eade, a good list, playing great footy, and finals bound.
|
|
|
-->
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|