BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:25   #1
tess
Red Card
This is a Veteran user. Respect.

Northern Saints/VFL Pies
AFL PA Homophobic!

It's no bloody wonder that no man playing AFL footy has ever come out of the closet.

The AFL PA has "requested" that a popular AFL site aimed at the GLBT market removes all pictures of AFL players in various stages of undress. From being dacked on the field to the now famous North Melbourne Premiership Shower scene. Even Pictures of players frolicking around at beach side baths is included in this homophobic request.

There are many many INTERNATIONAL sites (just google naked sportsmen) that show the AFL players naked at times and certainly leaving very little to the imagination at other times.

But the AFL PA has decided that because this site is named as a GLBT site and is based in Melbourne Australia it will have a go at them.

No frigging wonder Mr Gale non of the boys will ever run to you for support as they prepare to come out. BTW how many have come out....... says something doesn't it Mr Gale. Wake up to yourself.
tess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:28   #2
Hawkk
BigFooty Jedi

Re: AFL PA Homophobic!

Who cares

Shows like Will and Grace are a disgrace!
Hawkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jun 2006, 11:23   #3
LVAK
BigFooty Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkk
Who cares

Shows like Will and Grace are a disgrace!
Why would you bother to reply like this? Methinks you doth protest too much!
LVAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jun 2006, 11:41   #4
Hawkk
BigFooty Jedi

Quote:
Originally Posted by LVAK
Why would you bother to reply like this? Methinks you doth protest too much!
I have an opinion on anything and everything.

Nothing special in that reply.
Old 28 Jun 2006, 14:04   #5
LVAK
BigFooty Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkk
I have an opinion on anything and everything.

Nothing special in that reply.
Saying 'who cares' and 'this is crap' is hardly an opinion.
Mind you , you could get an opinion column at News Ltd with that approach
LVAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jun 2006, 14:20   #6
Joffaboy
BigFooty Legend

NO Saints

As far as I can read here the OP feels that it is homophobic for individuals who have had their unauthorised image plastered all over a website for the obvious titilation of the useres of said site.

Of course it is homophobic for footballlers or their representatives to ask that their basic rights be protected

Unbelievable that some people have the temerity to attempt to denegrate individuals by way of lewd vouyerism and then complain when they or their representitives object.

I find this whole trampling of individual rights by vocal fringe and pressure groups totally unseemly.

Last edited by Joffaboy; 28 Jun 2006 at 14:41.
Joffaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:29   #7
ClintonGrybus
BigFooty Member

Port Adelaide
Live & Active "PRESS RED"

HA HA HA funny stuff

What a gay thread
ClintonGrybus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:35   #8
tess
Red Card

Northern Saints/VFL Pies

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClintonGrybus
HA HA HA funny stuff

What a gay thread
It is isn't it......

But we know Mr Gale reads BF so I think he needs a reality check.

Is this what would happen if a player came to him....

Player p: Hi Brenden I'm Gay.

Mr Gale: Oh, um, yeah.no oh dear..... nurse!

Player p: Is there a problem mate.

Mr Gale: Problem mate.... Nah yeah nah um.... don't get up stay sitting on THAT side of the desk.... um please.

Player p: so how do we handle this, I wanna come out.

Mr Gale.... ARE YOU CRAZY! You play AFL footy you cannot be gay FFS, it's not an option.

Player p: yeah righteo..... thanks for your help.

Mr Gale: if you need a date for a function you let me know I have plenty of willing and able (wink wink) young ladies that can escort(wink wink) you.
We have an image to uphold...... gay poofters homos in the AFL .... never heard of anything so ridiculous.
tess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jun 2006, 11:27   #9
Falchoon
BigFooty Legend
BigFooty Tipping 2009This is a Veteran user. Respect.

Wigan bred- Bolton fed- Liverpool

Quote:
Originally Posted by tess
It is isn't it......

But we know Mr Gale reads BF so I think he needs a reality check.

Is this what would happen if a player came to him....

[i][color="Magenta"]Player p: Hi Brenden I'm Gay.

Mr Gale: Oh, um, yeah.no oh dear..... nurse!
more like ho hum, why should I care.

I'll still never get it Tess.....

I still haven't worked out why gays need their own supporters group? Is their a hidden code that when gay, you must make it known to as many peole as possible?
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:34   #10
manmountain
BigFooty Member

Aussie XI

If the players don't feel comfortable with their image being used on a GLBT site then that's their decision. They have rights over the use of their own image, and if they want to enforce those rights, then so be it. I doubt very much that the AFLPA has an opinion one way or another, and that their actions would be a result of a request by a player. Their job is to protect the players interests and if a player feels uneasy about their image being used on a GLBT site, then the AFLPA quite rightly should take the side of the player.

Like you say, pictures of this type are available all over the web via a Google image search, so what's the big deal anyway? Look them up elsewhere or buy a men for all seasons calendar or something.
manmountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:35   #11
Hawkk
BigFooty Jedi

Pink board?
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:35   #12
Jarka
BigFooty Member

MVFC, Hereford

What a sad and pathetic thread.
Jarka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:37   #13
Hawkk
BigFooty Jedi

Jarka do what I do..

Just laugh at it...
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:38   #14
LongBomb
BigFooty Elite Member

Tess, doesn't this 'Only gay in the village' routine get tiring after a while?
LongBomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2006, 16:40   #15
skipper kelly
BigFooty Jedi

NSW Blues

go away you clown. you do more harm than good.
skipper kelly is offline   Reply With Quote

-->