1 Aug 2006, 09:40
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
The F.Torres Worshippers
|
Kingsley In This morning's addy
Did anyone see this morning's addy? Looks like Kingsley is going to be given the flick at season's end. Yet what's most surprising is that some Melbourne club has offered him a three year deal... that's crazy talk...
Hopefully he does get delisted which allow N.Ablett, Ottens and the Tomahawk to play up forward with Mooney rotating up there too provided he isn't suspended.
Quote:
SPENT KINGSLEY
Kent Kingsley
Tuesday, August 1
Jay Clark
KENT Kingsley is out of contract and contemplating his footballing future.
The four-time leading goalkicker has fallen out of favour at the Cattery after a lean year and, with only five rounds remaining in the AFL season, is yet to even start negotiating a new deal with Geelong.
Unless the Cats bring something to the table soon, he may have to accept a rival club's offer, with at least one Melbourne-based team understood to have floated a three-year deal.
Although Kingsley's manager, Paul Connors, could not confirm the offer yesterday, there is an increasing amount of interest in the 27-year-old.
The 193cm forward, who has this year kicked 10 goals in eight senior games and is on track to kick his lowest tally since arriving at Geelong from North Melbourne in 2001, was back in form at the weekend with six majors, albeit in the VFL.
Named second best for the Cats, Kingsley's marking and quick leads were a feature of the seconds' 27-point win at Skilled Stadium.
Meanwhile, the seniors almost certainly bombed out of the finals race with a 30-point shock loss to the Kangaroos.
With the club's 2006 premiership charge now in tatters, the club's focus turns to deciding which players can help it win a flag in the coming years.
But there is no guarantee Kingsley will stay at Geelong, or even play AFL next season, despite the belief he has at least three good years of footy left in him.
Geelong football manager Garry Davidson yesterday said it was not unusual that Kingsley's contract had not yet been renegotiated at this stage of the year.
``We've got a number of players out of contract and we'll get to those as the season unfolds,'' Davidson said.
Kingsley had led Geelong for goals in each of the past four seasons with hauls of 57, 48, 33, and 57 in 2002 as the main leading target.
Kingsley recently moved closer to his Melbourne business interests in St Kilda, and was understandably disappointed when dropped to the VFL in round 10, and again in round 14.
Since then he has played five games in the twos for 12 goals.
In the meantime, key forward Matthew McCarthy, who is also out of contract at season's end, has filled the void with mixed results.
Geelong's average performance up forward this season, along with a general need for more pace, is considered its most pressing issue as the club begins to dissect a season gone horribly wrong.
Geelong must win at least four of its last five games to have any chance of playing finals, and will this week consider promoting Kingsley back to the seniors for a cut-throat clash with Brisbane at the Gabba.
Like some of his teammates, how Kingsley performs in the run home may determine his footballing future, or more specifically, whether it will continue at Geelong.
|
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 09:51
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Re: Kingsley In This morning's addy
I like my bosses to think I've got other job offers when it comes salary negotiation time too.
Wouldn't read too much into a manager floating the rumour that his player is wanted elsewhere.
Whether we keep KK should depend on whether we need KK, not whether anyone else wants him. What we pay him should depend on his value to the club, not his value to someone else.
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 09:55
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
GEELONG
|
He is a toss@. Feck him off to the 'other club' that his manager has made up..
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 09:52
|
|
|
BigFooty Elite Member
|
If it's true that a Melbourne club is offering him a 3 year deal then I say trade him immediately.
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 10:28
|
|
|
BigFooty Admin
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by CatmanForever
If it's true that a Melbourne club is offering him a 3 year deal then I say trade him immediately.
|
But are we allowed to trade with Port Melbourne?
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 10:48
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Storm (Robbed 06)
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Jim Boy
But are we allowed to trade with Port Melbourne?
|
HAHA good call.
Okay this is my theory. Basically we are rooted right now and need a miracle to make the finals. So I say we bring Kingsley back into the senior squad. Either he plays like a champion, makes a miracle and proves that he does want to play footy and be a Cat, or he bombs like the rest of the team and we **** him off at the end of the year. No doubts, no regrets.
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 10:51
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
f**k the addy!
part of the clubs problem.
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 11:26
|
|
|
BigFooty Ghod
Fords and Marcos Ambrose
|
I wonder which Vic club has supposedly offered this 3 year deal.
Essendon ? - he often does well against them
Melbourne ? - see above
North ? - he could join Liz,Jade & Fatboy Jono at Tassie
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 09:56
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
GEELONG
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Devilcat
Although he is a useless bum, if we get nothing for him, I will be pretty cut.
|
I'd take pick 74 and a 6 pack of Real McCoy.
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 10:21
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Huey & Riley Freeman
|
A speculative story in the Addy? Say it ain't so!
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 11:55
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Real McCoy???? jeez, don't set yer standards too high Hoff!
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 12:40
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
The F.Torres Worshippers
|
Mate, I'd be surprised if we could get a used bus ticket in exchange for Kingsley...
But if kingsley does get the arse, what's going to happen to the KKK? Will it stick with the hoops, will it follow their beloved kent wherever he ends up or will it be dishonorably disbanded???
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 12:53
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Arsenal FC
|
If he isn't offered a new contract by Geelong can he be traded by them or does he effectively become a 'free agent' able to just nominate for the pre-season draft meaning Geelong gets nothing for him?
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 14:41
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Storm (Robbed 06)
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Waverley73
If he isn't offered a new contract by Geelong can he be traded by them or does he effectively become a 'free agent' able to just nominate for the pre-season draft meaning Geelong gets nothing for him?
|
If they don't have a contract then how can they possibly have any say. Have you heard of the emancipation proclamation?
|
|
|
1 Aug 2006, 15:00
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Waverley73
|
we can still trade him but we will get a crappier pick for him think of campo and essendon last year...the blues wanted a top 20 pic and essendon bulked...so if he has a prefered destination and the club is willing to sacrafice a top 40 pic for him then well take it
|
|
|
-->
|
|
| Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|