Contract , delisting & draft news & discussion.

ImperialPurple

Matthew Pavlich Medallist
May 26, 2003
South Freo
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
List as at 26/11/2006:

1. Webster - 2007
2. JCarr - 2007
3. Schammer - 2007
4. Hase - 2007
5. Dunn - 2008
7. Peake - 2007
8. Macca (v) - 2007
9. MCarr - 2007
10. Cookie - 2007
11. Des - 2007
14. Grover - 2009
15. Crowley - 2007
16. Mundy - 2008
18. McPharlin - 2007
19. Walker - 2007
20. JLo - 2009
21. Blackie - 2007
22. Thornton - 2008
23. Parker (v) - 2007
24. Campbell - 2007
25. Dodd - 2007
27. Gilmore - 2007
28. Murphy - 2008
29. Pav - 2007
30. Drum - 2007
31. Sandi - 2007
32. Bellie - 2008
33. Jeffrey - 2007
34. Warnock - 2007
35. Ibbotson - 2007
36. Browne - 2007
37. Johnno - 2009
41. Duffield - 2008
42. Haddrill - 2007
43. Hayden - 2007

Tarrant - 2010 (or 2009??)
Solomon - 2008
Collard - 2008
O'Brien - 2008
Mourish - 2008

Re: Who's contracted till when?

Thanks chook, will edit. :)

That's a helluva lot of players coming out of contract next year - half the squad. :eek:

lets just hope we are working on who is essential and working our arse off to sign them till 2009

*bump*

Have revised my original post - is it relevant to discuss now?? I guess a good place to look at all contract talk now that trade week is done.

List as at 17/10/2006:

1. Webster - 2007
2. JCarr - 2007
3. Schammer - 2007
4. Hase - 2007
5. Dunn - 2008
7. Peake - 2007
8. Macca (v) - out of contract
9. MCarr - 2006
10. Cookie - out of contract
11. Des - 2007
14. Grover - 2009
15. Crowley - 2007
16. Mundy - 2008
18. McPharlin - 2007
19. Walker - 2007
20. JLo - 2009
21. Blackie - 2007
22. Thornton - 2008
23. Parker (v) - out of contract
24. Campbell - 2007
25. Dodd - 2007
26. Copping - out of contract
27. Gilmore - 2007
28. Murphy - 2008
29. Pav - 2007
30. Drum - 2007
31. Sandi - 2007
32. Bellie - 2008
33. Jeffrey - 2007
34. Warnock - 2007
35. Ibbotson - 2007
36. Browne - 2007
37. Johnno - 2009
41. Duffield - 2008
42. Haddrill - 2007
43. Hayden - 2007
44. Warren - out of contract

Tarrant - 2010?
Solomon - 2008?

IP - I think I can also add Sandilands and Headland for 2007 and M Carr 2006 - I also agree with all of your 'out of contracts'. Will be interesting to see if they are all offered new deals.

1. Webster - out of contract
10. Cookie - out of contract
26. Copping - out of contract
36. Browne - out of contract
44.Warren - out of contract

So we have to delist at least two of the above.

Webster has done enough to stay on IMO.

I reckon:
Webster - 2 years
Cookie - 1 year
Browne - 1 year

Warren - gorn
Copping - gorn

Parks and Macca on the vets list - 1 year each.

That gives us 3 spots on the main list and 4 new rookies. Any chance they'll re-rookie Juniper or Krieger?

JCarr - 2007
Schammer - 2007
Hase - 2007
Peake - 2007
Des - 2007
Crowley - 2007
McPharlin - 2007
Walker - 2007
Blackie - 2007
Campbell - 2007
Dodd - 2007
Gilmore - 2007
Pav - 2007
Drum - 2007
Sandi - 2007
Jeffrey - 2007
Warnock - 2007
Ibbotson - 2007
Haddrill - 2007
Hayden - 2007

I know I keep coming back to contracts...but is anyone else thinking this is a shyteload of players coming out of contract - many of whom may look at the "go home factor" (highlighted above). It's half the list!

Some may be candidates for delisting, some for trade - but there is some serious talent there that will need to be re-signed. It will be very interesting how the club manages the list over the next few years while the "window" is open.

it's not necessarily a bad thing, means you can reapportion salaries and give us the maximum flexibility to resign the pav. That's probably the reasoning behind it. Sandi will probably get a significant pay rise too.

Farmer and Des probably get a bit less next time round which will free up some space. Couple of those probably get delisted (plus the 3 retirements that are likely next season, hopefully we have some rookies make an impact)

Doesn't the cap go up next season and beyond with the new tv rights deal? Maybe that was part of the thinking in having a large group all out at the same time - we didn't know what would be available until recently, so pretty hard to sign players up. I'm sure I heard they were in negotiations with Sandilands before the end of the season - wouldn't be surprised to see quite a few re-signed before round 1 kicks off next year.

chook2734 said:
Doesn't the cap go up next season and beyond with the new tv rights deal? Maybe that was part of the thinking in having a large group all out at the same time - we didn't know what would be available until recently, so pretty hard to sign players up. I'm sure I heard they were in negotiations with Sandilands before the end of the season - wouldn't be surprised to see quite a few re-signed before round 1 kicks off next year.
I think Sandi is pretty close atm, if not it will definitely be before round one for him and most of the guys mentioned.

One positive about our list management is the number of guys that we have got from the rookie list.

Although these guys like Sandi, Hayden, Webster, Crowley could probably get better deals if they shopped around, I'm sure they will repay some of the faith the club showed in them by opting to stay for a little less.

ImperialPurple said:
JCarr - 2007
Schammer - 2007
Hase - 2007
Peake - 2007
Des - 2007
Crowley - 2007
McPharlin - 2007
Walker - 2007
Blackie - 2007
Campbell - 2007
Dodd - 2007
Gilmore - 2007
Pav - 2007
Drum - 2007
Sandi - 2007
Jeffrey - 2007
Warnock - 2007
Ibbotson - 2007
Haddrill - 2007
Hayden - 2007

I know I keep coming back to contracts...but is anyone else thinking this is a shyteload of players coming out of contract - many of whom may look at the "go home factor" (highlighted above). It's half the list!

Some may be candidates for delisting, some for trade - but there is some serious talent there that will need to be re-signed. It will be very interesting how the club manages the list over the next few years while the "window" is open.

Crowley, Dodd, Drum, Sandilands, Peake, Pavlich and Schammer could all be targetted by rival clubs so best to sign them asap. If I was a coach of a team desperate for a ruckman I'd offer Sandilands $500,000pa, looks ready to dominate.

Browne has been told he'll get a 1 year deal.

Headland's next contract should be half what he is on now, freeing up money for the guys who have been performing.

Webster and Duffield re-sign

Luke Webster has signed on for next season, whilst Paul Duffield has been given a two-year contract.

Glad to have both players signed up as I believe Duffield will provide another running option off half-back and is adept with clean skills and composure.

Webster was a great addition to the line-up this season and he has the ability to play all over the ground. The flueny in his kicking is fantastic and always hits the target. His skills are crisp and damaging.

Good Luck to both boys in season '07.

Who will be delisted?

Looks like we can add Webster (2007 - another one!) and Duffield (2008).

Maybe we should make this a sticky (Ripper, Sabre??) so we can keep track of the new contracts, especially with so many out next year?

Re: Webster and Duffield re-sign

Freo Big Fella said:
I still reckon Webster should start ahead of Headland. Plays the same role with 10 times the dedication.

Nothing against Webster, he is a handy player. But there is no way that he is more effective than Headland. I think a lot of supporters get frustrated with Headland because he was a no. 1 draft pick, was an expensive trade and is obviously skilled. So naturally there is the feeling that he is not living up to (huge) expectations. But he actually had a pretty good year, and a disappointing finals series. But he would be in my team ahead of Webster easily.

chook2734 said:
Looks like we can add Webster (2007 - another one!) and Duffield (2008).

Maybe we should make this a sticky (Ripper, Sabre??) so we can keep track of the new contracts, especially with so many out next year?

I've updated my original post with all the latest, and will continue to do so as new contracts are announced. :)

Webster gets 1 year, Duffield gets 2.

Webster, Duffield re-sign
7:02:29 PM Tue 17 October, 2006
Sportal for afl.com.au
Fremantle defender Luke Webster has re-signed for the 2007 season, while Paul Duffield has secured a two-year deal.

A national under-18 representative for Western Australia, 24-year-old Webster has had to overcome three knee reconstructions throughout his short career - the last of which came after he was injured playing for East Perth's in the WAFL preliminary final in 2003.

Webster had already undergone two knee reconstructions before making his AFL debut in 2003, and went on to play in the Dockers' first final later that year, a week before suffering his third serious injury.

Having played nine games this season, Webster recently won the best clubman award at Fremantle's best and fairest presentation.

Duffield meanwhile made his debut for the Dockers in the round five clash against St Kilda in Launceston, which was awarded to Fremantle several days later after the umpires had failed to hear the final siren when it first sounded.

A medium-sized midfielder, Duffield went on to play seven matches for the season after being elevated from the rookie list as a long-term replacement for Daniel Haines.

Duffield won the best WAFL player award at this month's Doig Medal presentation dinner.

Freo Big Fella said:
I still reckon Webster should start ahead of Headland. Plays the same role with 10 times the dedication.

I agree. Solomon may also play across half forward so that should be two infront of Headland. Unfortunately Des is one of Connolly's favourites so we will almost definately see him in the side round one. :mad:

dominguez said:
Unfortunately Des is one of Connolly's favourites so we will almost definately see him in the side round one. :mad:
You have to look at what he's there to do. Des's hardness at the contest and his application were first class this year. But he is not a natural at winning clearances. In the same way the Josh Carr is not able to kick 50m on either feet with any degree of accuracy.

Some of Des's passess to Pavlich in the later half of the season were sublime, and more often than not he makes the right decision. He certainly has a place.

You might also want to consider that forward pocket and half forward flank are graveyards for looking good. You rely on the quality of disposal coming in, and then have some monster half back flanker chasing your b*tt, and then have to deliver lace out to your forwards. Not for me thanks.