phantom draft trial run - the summary

May 10, 2004
The Mothership
Pistons/Hammers/Sri Lanka/The Exers
as its coming towards the real deal, i thought id post a summary of what everyone picked in the trial run and why, so people can get a feel for the players (and the people picking them ;)) without going thru 69 pages. so here we have the poster, the pick and the reasoning behind it, with a little description of most of the players alongside it, done by the poster who made the selection. (tardiness/loss of interest in the case of some selectors caused their picks to be taken from the highest player left in grub29's rankings, which are here)

anyone who chose a player and didnt leave comments and would like to do so PM them to me and ill add them (macca, gilly, LH15, grub...and any of you guys who picked and would like to elaborate on freo and st kildas selections as it appears wizard and king james have lost interest)

i have also elaborated on a couple of the players i selected myself.

1st ROUND

1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs

Genuine mid with superb skills. Not lightning quick, but his football ability certainly makes up for this. Already playing SANFL footy for Glenelg, and will surely debut in round one next year.

Carltons midfield is in need of urgent repair, and a midfield with Gibbs, Murphy, Simpson, Stevens, Blackwell and Scotland certainly appeals.

2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton

Good sized KPP has already played against men and held his own.He has great courage as shown by the Under 18's carnival and would have to be the best Contestested mark in the Draft. He also is very versatile can play CHB, CHF and even the ruck.

Also adding i chose Gumbleton over Hansen because i believe he has more upside and the ability to dominate games at CHB or CHF where as Hansen's offensive games isnt as good as Gumby.

3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen

A KPP who has the abilty to play back or forward, good athletically and has some pace, exactly what the kangaroos need, the kangaroos beleive he can hold down a KP for 12-13 years

4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp

My philosophy; the first two picks in the draft should always be 'best player available" irrespective of position, size, shape, club's requirement and need etc...

IMO as it stands at the moment it's a line ball between Thorpe and Matthew Leuenberger. Thorp got the nod. Just.

5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar

Disapointing nationals where reports were he had the flu. Anyone who was present at the U16's nationals in 2005 would have witnessed what he is capable of.

Strong hands, big kick, fantastic leap, very much a josh fraser type ruckmen who would be more suited to a CHF/CHB position in AFL ranks. Runs like a ruck rover with plenty of speed and agility, as well as a good running capacity aerobically. Looks awkward with his kicking but effective. Could possibly turn into a Riewoldt type with the guidance of some foward coaching.
AIS-AFL Academy 2005-2006, Kevin Sheehan Medallist 2005. Local boy (no go home factor)

6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta

Jetta has so many ticks in so many areas its scarey.

*genuine midfielder, had queries after watching the champs last year wether he could be a genuine midfielder as most of his work was done off the HFF in 2005. QUERIES GONE. already gathered over 30 possesions in the WAFL - proven against men & played majority of champs in the middle. his future lies in the middle at AFL level.

*his recovery and ability to get back to his feet in any situation was first class. many times both he and his opponent went to ground and he was up and off with the footy while his opponent was still getting up.

*clearnece work was also top class. not only does he have blistering pace and can run the lines (break games open) but his inside work in traffic was very good. will carve out a career in the middle imo. strong body so rarely goes to ground

*outstanding vertical leap. so in essence plays a little taller than his 175cm frame.

*loves to take them on and has that little bit of arrogance that very good footballer have. im sure he would have been tested many times at senior level this year by men wanting to bring the young fella back down to earth. will have to chase up some stats from the WAFL this year.

*GAME BREAKER !!! will win games off his own boot. had chances to tear the first game to bits at the champs, but his kicking was a little off when shooting at goal on the run. (last year he rarely missed) By memory, would have kicked close to 5 points in game one and could have easily kicked 6-7 if things had gone his way.

QUERIES - kicking needs a little work. but nothing to be worried about. when travelling flat out, sometimes clanger kicks.
- height will worry some recruiters but guys like wallace will be fantasizing about him already.

7. Geelong (Diablo14) ----------------------- Matthew Leuenberger

the most promising ruckman ive seen come thru in quite some time. has excellent hands, is a good kick, can play out a full 120 minutes of footy, gets to every contest, great judgement in the air and on the deck, and brings other players into the game with footy nous.

my only concern will be a possible loss of mobility once the inevitable beefing up process starts.

ive gone with him based on the best available policy, plus im pretty confident that the player i want next will still be available with our next pick.

8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt

The kid is a gun and admittedly would fit into Richmonds team structure very, very well. Richo wont last forever and Shulz/Pettifer aside, there really is a dearth of KPP over at Tigerland.

From all reports, Jack has the ability to play both up forward and down back. Seeing as how he possesses a fantastic kick on either boot, this would fit in well into Wallaves drafting mantra over the past few years (kids who all are a good kick of the ball).

His pace might be the only question mark (off the mark I believe), but it's something that can be worked on.

9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud

With Joel Selwood being injured Albert is the safer option and will be ready for league footy straight away, which suits them as its time to win a flag.

Could be very dangerous with the star midfielders Luke Ball and Lenny Hayes being tagged. Saints dont really need another Ball in Selwood anyway.

10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood

Selwood is a hard, inside mid who has excellent footballing instincts and excels in the tight, contested situation. Not explosive off the mark, but reasonable leg speed. Seems to be the one to move first to get the ball at stoppages, and never shies from physical contact. Solid kicking skills, but best attribute is vision and clean hands. Leadership qualities.

Would be handy in a developing midfield winning in tight and feeding the ball out to outside youngsters in Pendlebury, Thomas, Shaw, Cook, and Didak.(comments courtesy of King Woodie)

11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie

he's an AIS kid that has good size,195cm,who is super athletic.I don't think he's played much other than colts at Claremont but he showed a bit at the Under 18 Championships in defensive roles.At this stage he could be harder and more aggressive but he is disciplined and has the pace to always get their and make a spoil.Hard to make a comparison with another player at the moment though.

Tossed up between MacKenzie and Reid but went with MacKenazie because of the stronger body.

The reasoning behind this selection is that the Bullies are in need of big strong key defenders,which this bloke is, but he also fits the athletic running game that Eade has implemented as well.

12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin

his versatility would suit the dees, they could use him off the HBF or playing on the third opposition tall forward, then using his pace and flair to run off his opponent with the ball.....he could also be swung up forward and provide another marking forward option if robbo is injured....or he could take Green's role on the wing and free him to go up forward.

13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop

14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard

A versatile and attacking aboriginal player from South Freo. Sublime skills on both sides, whose only question mark is whether or not he can make a move into the midfield at the next level. Decently sized, however could do with some extra muscle(what 18yr old couldn't!). Terrific goal sense, where his flair, pace and skills make him a tough match-up. Likely HFF/Wingman at AFL level. (comments by sinepari)

15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien

Physical rebounding small defender. Has excellent hands and is very good in the air and rarely gets beaten 1 on 1. Is pretty quick also, and reads the play very well. Also rarely makes a wrong decision, which is crucial when playing as a defender. Given his attributes a club could easily decide to play him as a midfielder, as he definitely has the capacity to do so (although not sure about his aerobic fitness).

16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors

Adelaide pride themselves on hard players who are strong at the footy and use the ball with skill and Connors is no exception. To continue the replenishment of a midfield that will rapidly lose some grunt in coming years (Ricciuto, Goodwin, McLeod, Edwards) are all getting on and even tho we have Knights, Van Berlo, Reilly, Porplyzia, Douglas, Vince, Pfieffer, they are not enough.

Good in traffic, excellent foot skills, and strong overhead 184cm 77kg so not a undersized type, may grow a tad more and end up a strong bodied player that we need.

2nd ROUND

17. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Ricky Petterd

Have been keen on him since seeing him at the championships and was hoping he'd slip through to this pick. Very skillful midfielder who uses the ball very well.

Can get the hardball, whilst can provide good run as well. Good linkman. I likened him to the way Brock McLean moves.

18. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Ben Reid

19. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Schmidt

Very smart footballer who uses the ball very well. Could play on a HBF and eventually move up onto a wing. IMO, the second best player in the U18 champs behind Bryce Gibbs.

Oops, meant second best for SA.

20. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Gary Moss

Smallish midfielder who is polished and knows how to find the footy. If the draft happened like this one we took 2 KPP with our first 2 picks we'd draft a midfielder with our 3rd and Moss seems the best from whats left.

21. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Bachar Houli

Houli is a strong bodied midfielder that likes to get forward and kick a goal. He is tough, and can play both as an inside type midfielder or a receiver. Because of this he can be quite damaging, has very sublime foot skills, he has very quick creative hands, and is one of the smarter footballers in the draft. He is fairly quick, and exactly what the Kangaroo's need, someone able to deliver the ball to a leading target, and Houli can do this very well. As well as being a good kick, he has a very good set of hands for his size, and often takes contested marks over guys alot bigger than him. (comments courtesy of SeymourLion)

22. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- James Hawksley

Hawksley by the time the real draft comes along will not be available to the Lions at 22. He has not had the profile as some of the more talked about names this year. But IMO he will slide into the first round comfortably after the trails. He is exactly what the Lions need. Speed and height wrapped in pure potential. Brisbane during Beatson's time drafted at least two AIS kids in each draft. Wood, Garner, Sherman etc...
Hawksley fits this development route as well.

So now that I have alerted everyone to this fellow I know come our official draft I will not have the opportunity to get him. I just hope that the Lions get him. They've kept tabs on him.

23. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) ------------------- Tom Hurley

South Aus Captain, All Australian at this years U18 championships. played last year as well. Very consistent ball winner who has great pace and evasive skills. His championships have definetly set him up in terms of top 15 draft prospect, expect a sub 3 second 20 metre testing at DC.
Kicking can be touch and go but i believe can be fixed as the technical aspect of his kicking can be worked with.
Very good ball winning midfielder, would only be 180 cm but definetly worth a top 15 in the real thing. Good replacement for Francou and Kingsley

24. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Gavin Urquart

NOTES

- ….I have urquart as a smart, no frills footballer who makes TEAMMATES BETTER. Everytime he touches the footy, 95% of the time its clean and effective. Makes the hard seem easy and the easy just plain simple.

- Good overhead – seems to be able to play taller than his 186 cm frame.

- by memory his 20m time was something around the 3.05 which isn’t quick by any means. But he doesn’t give me the impression he is slow at all. First 2 steps he seems to put distance between his opponent and himself and thus his smarts and peripheral (I cant spell for sh*t) vision can shine.

- watched him last year at the champs, as a bottom ager unable to be drafted. He collects the footy in contested traffic at CHB then fires out a 30m handball to a teammate in the clear. Thought to myself who the hell is this queensland kid and how the hell did he know he teammate was there. Was no fluke, repeated it several times in the same game.

- Rolled up to the champs expected to see market improvement and a diffinite top 10 draft pick in 2006. it was there but not at the rate I expected

QUERIES

- my hands are tied a little in the fact that I have no history of his season so far. So when I saw him at the champs, he looked a little like he could use some time in the gym. But for all I know he might have been injured pre-season or during the year.

- Speed will worry some clubs off him (although I don’t rate him as slow), and some clubs plentiful with his type. But im guessing someone sees a potential 200+ game mid or at worst a HBF (3rd tall) utility who under pressure shines brightly..blokes that are good under pressure are so vital in defence. my money is still on him making a midfielder

This is a profile i wrote up a couple of months ago, since found out he has been carrying the dreaded OP for the last 6 months, so has no pre-season under his belt. Really rate this kid highly even with all his injury troubles this year.

25. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Jarrad Harbrow

has three things geelong need in spades, good pace, precise kicking, and goal sense. can play as an inside or outside midfielder with equal effectiveness. i really like the way he goes about his footy. hes tough but skilled, similar to paul chapman, but more a natural midfielder than forward.

26. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Caleb Mourish

One part of me wanted to take the safe bet and draft someone who I had actually seen (Jackson Sherringham was one who sprung to mind), but i've just opted to go for a smokey with this pick in Caleb Mourish.

I know this pick is purely speculative and I doubt anything like this would ever transpire, but I really, really like the sound of him. I've read reports on him from PRE, BB and HHQ so i've got a decent opinion of him. He's 194cm, runs like the wind, has a decent leap and isn't a bad kick for goal. He very much fits into the Goodes/Franklin mould of athletic, tall KPP/Midfielders.

27. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- David Armitage

David Armitage best available IMO, should be ready for league footy as well

28. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Nathan Brown

This was a really tough call bc there is a player I had my heart set on but I just did not think this bloke would fall this far. I was certain the Doggies would have taken him and fear he wont fall any further.

What I like about this bloke is he is hard at it and holds his feet really well in a marking contest. Mostly plays back but can also go fwd as he did this weekend to kick a few and could genuinely develop into a player anywhere up the spine. Real nice left kick. Shows good vision and just has that Morwood look of 'coolness' and will not shirk a contest.

Was selected in the All Australian Side at FB and was voted state MVP. Saw him in the final and he was one of their best on a very wet day that did not suit the big lads.

Welcome to the Pies!

29. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Brent Renouf

I believe the Bullies will be looking to stockpile a few talls and Renouf is the best still available IMO.Also capable of playing in a key position as well.

30. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Grant Weeks

Biggest ?? is he is that not really true KPP size at 189cm, so what position does he play? HFF seems the most likely position at AFL.

Mobile and versatile forward, very strong overhead and quick on the lead, field kicking is good, but set shots can be erratic, strong body already and should be AFL ready first year, but maybe not as much improvement left in him.....was a toss up between he and Tippett as i'm not sold on Melbourne's ruck stocks, but Weeks is the best available at #30 IMO......a few question marks and maybe doesn't perfectly fit the Demons needs as they have Robbo as another inbetween sized forward who is more athletic and explosive than Weeks, but the thing that got Weeks over the line is he has the engine and ability to push into the midfield.

31. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Rhyce Prismall

Medium sized, half forward/midfielder. Is very good around goals and its pretty tough for someone that isn't overly big.

32. West Coast (Sinepari) ------------------------ Kirk Tippett

I rate this kid pretty highly, and am stoked he lasted to pick 32 (hopefully that's not the pick we end up with ). Is an excellent mark, great leap, great agility and a beautiful kick for someone who has only been playing the game for a year or so. Could play AFL next year and has scope for a fair bit of improvement. Could be a bolter come draft day, wouldn't surprise me if he went top 20 or so. (comments by macca69)

33. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Djerrkura

May slide due to his height, but he is a quality player. He's a midfielder with excellent pace, great skills (on his prefered side, can't recall him using his left, as he usually has enough pace to get onto his right foot). He is one of those players who can play as an outside midfielder or go in and get his own footy. He is also very strong through the hips, making him hard to tackle. He is a very hard worker and often runs player down from behind.

34. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Justin Westhoff

He may be turnining 20 in October, but he has come along in leaps and bounds this year. Kicked 30 goals in 14 games and averaged around 11 touches a game. Very strong overhead mark, terrific judge of the ball in flight, put his hands up and takes clean grabs. Very accurate kick, and a long kick, will kick them from 50 no problem. Skinny frame, needs a lot of bulking up but has outmarked many good fullbacks and stronger bodied opponents from just judging ball in flight a lot better. Not slow either, got a bit of pace and almost has a skinny wingman look when he runs quickly, and can turn on a 1 cent piece, very agile, not lead footed like a lot of KP can be.

With a bit of weight work he could add another dimension to the Adel forward line that needs a tall marking player who can kick goals. Justin is local, he wont go home and would be a good replacement for Fergus Watts, but is a better player IMO

3rd ROUND

35. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Andrejs Everitt

Athletic KPB. Bottom aged with lots of scope for improvement. Obviously needs to add a lot of bulk in order to play against the monster CHF's so would need a few years development, but a nice mover across the ground, good overhead and for his size also below his knees, disposal and deicison making are solid....still not sure if Setanta will make a permanent CHB, and Andrejs might be ready as another option for CHB by the time Lance's knees give out on him. (comments by gilly1972)

36. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Jarryd Morton

Tallish player who comes from a good football family. Could develope to a KP backmen or could play the Andrew Embley role of a tall wingman. Bit of a risky pick perhaps.

37. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Jarryd Allen

was looking for a good midfielder but Allen left at this pick just had to snap him up

did alright a while ago on hansen (hansen was chb) allen kicked i think three in the first half, then hansen tightened up on him, really looking at him as a 3rd defender type, hes athletic, good skills and is a modern day running defender, who has height...

38. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Sam Fielding

Usual strategy of using the first two picks for best available.
On this occasion the best available also fulfilled a need for speed, skill and athletic abilities.

For round three no one on my watch list has fallen through for me not to begin recruiting some midfielders that also meet the speed, skill and athleticism criteria.

Tasmanian Captain at the nationals.
Has skill and pace ideally suited for a running game, however has also been given tagging roles on big blokes for Tassie Mariners in the VFL He currently provides the drive from the midfield to his CHF Jack Riewoldt at Clarence.
He’s an athlete that combines speed and endurance. Has a good kick and accurate disposal with improving defensive skills as well.

Plenty of upside development. Should feel at home with Tassie mates Thorp and Sherman at the Lions.

39. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Travis Boak

Strong overhead midfielder, 184 cm in the mould of a cameron bruce styled centreman. Goes foward and kicks goals, has a nice leap, good hands, reasonably skilled by foot, as well a developed frame which wouldn't need much work.
Plays HFF/ CHanging on the ball (preferably centre) and will add extra class to a young and developing midfield

40. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Josh Kennedy F/S

41. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Tom Hawkins F/S

dominated the champs this year with powerful marking and physical presence on the forward line. kicking is long but not always consistent. also has deceptive pace and a excellent leap for his size. a pack buster in the truest sense. he can also hold down the ruck if needs be. up there with the other half dozen top notch KP prospects in this draft, he definately has the physical tools to make an immediate impact. the cats are getting a steal with this pick.

42. Richmond (philhawk) --------------------- Jackson Sheringham

A brilliantly pacey player who has all the natural attributes to become a very good AFL footballer. I daresay his skills might need a little work, but as I mentioned, attributes like pace just can't be taught. Having already picked two KPP's in Mourish and Reiwoldt, Sherringham would be a good one to round off the draft for the Tige's.

43. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Shaun Grigg

ball magnet an best available again i reckon

could be a top 10 AFL midfielder if he improves his decision maiking, reminds me so much like andrew embley. (additional comment by pykie)

44. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Mitchell Brown

Again very hard choice because there is another player I would have liked to take but I genuinely think this bloke was going top 30 and is now the best player still in the pool.

For those that do not know him he is from Nth Ballarat Rebels and I think is slightly bigger than his brother. Like Nathan can play a number of positions up and down the spine. Very physical and strong with hands and feet, great mark and a good kick. I think he has good awareness and could be a a real good CHF or CHB. At conclusion of champs I thought he was better than his brother but for the final game - in fact Kev Sheehan indicated he was unlucky not to be selected in the AA. Nice size and will develop well but not yet sure of best spot.

With Trav, Anthony and the two Brown boys I feel confident we have a very talented list of big blokes to take us fwd.

45. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Tim Houlihan

I've taken 2 talls early and have decided to take another development midfield option.Houlihan has a huge upside athletically and on what I have seen his football is improving all the time.Probably look for a mature age key defender with the next one.

46. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Daniel O'Keefe

Small forward/midfielder, still a bit skinny and raw but a good build for AFL, sure ball handler, good in traffic. Will take a little bit of time but has a lot of potential. Can play HBF, midfield or as a small leading forward, wasn't a prolific ball-winner in the champs but form has been very good and a proven goal kicker at TAC level. Feared he had done his ACL a couple of weeks ago, but was revealed to only be bruising so no worries there and he will attend draft camp......if he makes it, expect him to assume a small forward role, potentially freeing Davey up to spend more time in the midfield.

47. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Dean Kelly

48. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Alwyn Davey

West Coast need a crumbing forward, as the only natural crumber on our list is Sampi. Given we are close to a premiership, we should be looking at players who could make an impact in their first year.

Has amazing pace, excellent skills, exceptional work ethic, great tackler, and has a great goal sense. He’s forwardline pressure is excellent, although he is also capable of playing midfield. Is very agile and deceptively strong which makes him hard to tackle. He’s the sort of player that for every goal he kicks, he’ll create another one for a team-mate. He probably won’t go this high come draft day, but he will be a steal for whichever club picks him up, and I would be ecstatic if West Coast ended up with him, he’s exactly what we are looking for.

49. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Collier

This kid has a lot of potential, could become a Joel Bowden type CHB, but ATM he looks more like a flanker who's tall enough to play KP. Is pretty quick and agile for someone of his size and his skills are very good. He's not all that accountable for a defender, but that can be taught. Also has a very good leap. Definately a bit of a project player and would be a year or two off AFL, but if he develops he will be a steal for a pick in the 40's.

50. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Todd Pfieffer

Todd is a class player who is poised and uses his skills well. Despite an ordinary championship he has dominated every level he has played and made his league SANFL debut this year and held his own admirably. To continue the replenishment of Adelaide's ageing midfield, Todd's footy smarts will be certainly something Neil Craig is after, wins plenty of the ball, uses it well and can kick some goals from the middle.

4th ROUND

51. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- David McKay

After a few changes of mind, I've decided to take a bit of a punt at #51. A midfielder with pace and skills. Much like Simmo when he was drafted to the Blues. Will need to bulk up as he is only 71kg - well according to afl.com

(following comments by macca69) gee I've hardly heard his name mentioned on here. Is very small and will need to spend all of next season in the gym. Like you said he has good pace and skills, but what I really like about him is his fantastic work-rate and the fact that he just seems to be a very mentally mature player. His reading of the play is just about as good as Gibbs and isn't afraid to go in heard despite his small frame. I probably would have picked him up next round, and I thought he'd be a certainty to be available, oh well

52. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Robert Eddy

Not only is he a ball magnet but he also has great skills, scouts may be concernerd about his pace but there are plenty like him in the AFL and he was rewarded for his great effort in the champs with AA honours.

53. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Daniel Caire

The forgotten man of the carnival, I rated him SAs third best in the carnival behing gibbs and hurley, ended up with the third most possies after starting the carnival on the pine, hes come along in leaps and bounds since playing firsts at SHC and spent allot of this year in the 1sts at west adelaide, where he has played some quailty footy kicking 3 goals and racking up 20 odd possies on his 3rd game. he has good pace and uses the ball supremely, something the kangaroos lack, his heigh is his only worry, standing at about 176cm

54. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Jarryn Geary

A long limbed mobile midfielder who knows how to use the ball and find the goals.
Naturally talented, very versatile, tackling machine.
Very reminiscent of Rischitely and will need some considerable physical development. The material is there I am sure Brisbane will put the building blocks together.

Jarryn easily meets Leigh's criteria of running/mobile players who posses skill and athleticism.

The dilemma with this selection is that I had four players on my list that I want to draft. However three are Victorians and one a QLDer.
Leigh has stated that the preference would be to recruit QLDers, however the upside on Jarryn is too good to pass, especially with such a late pick.

55. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Frawley

Vic Country U18 rep. I honestly dont know how this guy slipped through this far. KPP player who is very versatile. Very athletic, with a fair amount of pace and a good leap. His U18 carnival was very solid, pretty much doing a mr fix it type role- taking the oppositions best foward deep in the back line and blanketing him.

As a bottom ager, he played as a tallish wingman- indicating the natural athlete in him and his versatility. Very rebounding- loves to go down the ground and carry the footy- a run the the lines type. Port have guys like willits, who just this big lug with not much but i guess a footy brain- looks like a gorilla. Frawely is all class on the other hand. Runs, jumps, kicks, and can play all over the ground.

I can GARAUNTEE you, and mark these words- he will go top 25 when we get to November.If a AFL club recruiter saw this, he would be laughing and wishing to god that it actually happened. James Frawely at 55 is a kodak magic moment- im a genius. Played my cards right waiting for him to slip through- boak was too good to give up. Not many people rate him it seems?

56. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Nathan Krakouer

Quick Summary, has the Krakeour genes. lets put it that way. He wont go anywhere near this pick in the real draft.

57. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Matthew Vasilevski

impressed with this fellows ability to read the play and find space. has a bit of toe, just needs a little work on his disposal. can be a playmaker.

i nearly took this guy with my second rounder. that he was still there in the fourth round, im laffing.

i spent 15 minutes in one of the champs games this year just watching this guy, with and without the ball. he just keeps getting into the right spaces and getting the ball, and hes not afraid to go for a run too. hes exactly the type of player you need in todays style of footy, and ive no doubts he wont be there by this pick when the real thing happens.

58. Richmond (grub29's phantom draft list pick) ---------- Daniel Dzufer

59. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Leigh Adams

just a very impressive Kid who has leadership qualities.

60. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joseph Anderson

Strong and creative with his hands, Anderson win this year's Darwin FC's senior Best and Fairest in a premiership year was quite an achievement.

Stands 188cm and is a good size. Played HB flank in the champs and was terrific in co-ordinating the back half. Has got great potential and will develop into a mid with terrific skills and vision. lovely kick.

Just oozes class and is a great addition to the list.

61. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Jesse White

Another big bodied key position player who can play at either end.

62. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Luke McLean

Small defender/midfielder, thought he was quite handy and probably flew a bit under the radar for SA because of the attention given to Gibbs and Sellar and to a lesser extent Schmidt......was busy and tidy running off half back.....kept Houli relatively quiet in the first match and has good closing speed...disposal is tidy, relatively penetrating right foot, and he usually selects the best option and hits his target.....could be a good replacement in Whelan's role in a couple of years.

63. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Jethro Calma-Holt

Young aboriginal from the NT, is a clone of Chance Bateman. Has played HFF/win every single time i have seen him play. He runs like hell and uses the ball very well.

64. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Chris Varsamakis

65. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Holmes

Moves with such ease and oozes class but has struggled with injury this year. Isn’t a huge ball magnet, but most of his possessions hurt the opposition. Been playing Glenelg reserves playing consistently, but yet to dominate games. Is very bottom-age so he would have a fair bit of improvement in him I imagine. Wouldn’t hurt if he grew a few cms either (only 178cm IIRC).

66. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Alex Hutchins

In short, good young defender who attacks off half back, playing some good footy in league SANFL at end of year and would add to re-strengthen a crows defence that in next 2-3 years will receive a fairly significant reshaping.

5th ROUND

67. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Patrick Fittock

Perhaps a surprise to many, but impressed at the champs. A good size at 184cm, but will need to bulk up as he is only listed at 71kg. May have put on some weight since.

A project player that may take some time to develop, but could see him developing into a good Half Back Flanker

68. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Sam Jacobs

With the possability of Cartledge and Laycock being elsewhere next year, Jacobs would add to Essendon's young ruck stocks. His agility aand ability to move a round the ground is impressive and is sure to attract intrest from talent scouts. Reminds me to a degree of Dean Cox.

69. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Caolan Buckley

bit of a rundown on Buckley pls Scottroo. saw him atchamps and whilst he did not do heaps i really liked the look of him and was thinking o f taking with my last pick. (comments courtesy of Snoop Dog)

aka josh carr, that just lacks a bit of skill and a bit of pace. wil struggle imo (comments courtesy of LukeHodge15)

70. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Tim Brown

I know there is no sentiment in football these days but in this insatnce my heart rather than my head won over.

Nothing extraordinary about Tim other than a compact hard nut in and under player who will always give you 100%. Lot’s of development ahead of him and a project in the making. One never knows maybe under big brother Johnathan he may blossom into a better version of Fixter.

For the genetics alone he's worth a punt.

71. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Andrew Ainger

Why not worth a punt? If he wasn't going to be selected in the draft i'd take him as a rookie, and hes worth a gamble this late in the draft. This guy has all the tools in the shed to be the complete KPP either foward or back.

He has same as, if not better hands that lachie hansen, his foot skills are solid, and he's very very athletic for his size.
Draft camp invitee 2005. Back at oakleigh for a 19th year. Will line up in the Tac Cup Grand Final next week. Keep an eye on him- very good player.

72. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Brad Dicke

Another skinny aboriginal midfielder from the west. The way im going, we will have to name us the Hawks ALLSTARS Jetta-Krakeour-D(ck.

73. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Kyle Reimers

looks suited to a flank at this stage. good hands, reasonable pace, not afraid to get his own footy and likes to kick goals. does occasionally have a tendency to try to do too much when in possession, but this is something that can be eradicated with time. he has two important things going for him, he has skills, and is a genuine finisher.

74. Richmond (grub29 phantom draft list selection)-- Shawn Colbung

Small fwd who has great pace and reads the play well. Query over whether he has a big enough motor and sometimes his kicking probably can let him down. One of those player though an AFL preseason or two could turn into anything (eg Aaron Davey) (comments courtesy of Snoop Dog)

75. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Craig Bird

Give me Bird, i know i have picked all Mids but i think some players were just to good not to pick

Bird being an in and under clearance king, averaged 23 touches for the carnival, ranked second in hard ball gets with 18, had 17 tackles - 3rd overall, and was daylight ahead of anyone in the champs averaging 7.0 clearances per game,(nearest player averaged 3). to put that in perspective if he averaged 7.0 in the AFL this year, he would of beaten Chris Judd (6.3) by around a massive 20 clearances to win the most in the AFL. Was All-Australian, NSW/ACT B & F, NSW has a good history of churning out excellent hard working midfielders. I believe he is one of those players who are a must in modern day teams. (additional comments in italics courtesy of pykie)

76. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Shaun Hampson

Absolutely thrilled he has fallen this far. 201cm athlectic ruck who has great hands and a heap of development left in him.

Only seen him play a couple of times so will be interested to hear from a few locals but the little I saw I really liked

77. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Daniel Currie

78. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Matt Austin

Quick athletic and classy midfielder who is also a hard working, goal kicking midfielder at TAC level.

79. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Angus Lally

80. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Carl Peterson

81. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Batsanis

Best skills by foot of anyone in the draft. Can hit leading targets 50m+ of both feet. Can also get his own ball, but isn't quick (not slow though) and height is an issue. Also may struggle to play anywhere other that as a midfielder. However I think he has a lot to offer a club at AFL level.

82. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)---------------------- Zac Millar

Happy to see this dude slip a bit, has been playing pretty good footy for SANFL ressies, among the best many times. He is pretty quick without being explosive, good foot skills and can be dangerous aroung goals. Not as small as some traditional aboriginal goalsneaks. Question remains on committement but on his talent alone he is a worthy pick up.

6th ROUND

83. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Todd Goldstein

To be honest, have not seen him play, but have read a bit on him in a thread on BF and other forums as well, plus talking to other posters as well.

Tremendous upside, basketball background, good skills for a guy over 200cm.

84. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Andrew Horne

Can win alot of the ball, plays rover

85. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Ben Haynes

24yo Haynes had a great year in the SANFL and I beleive still has something to offer in the AFL

86. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Hayden Kiel

Versatile small HBF/mid/HFF/ Likes to run and carry and applies good pressure when he doesn't have the ball. Could become a good tagger.

87. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Jaymie Youle

This guy is a legitimate half back flank who would make a lindsay gilbee cross with a ryan lonie. very pacey and has good footskills. Very hard at the footy and loves to run the lines. Kicks running goals from half back and is capable of playing as a rover/ ruck rover.

Purely a footballer but these last 2 picks i've had, it's good to take a risk. Hopefully there's a rookie draft, as i believe there is many untapped localised talent that haven't even had a look in.

88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Dean Dicke

Continue with my pillaging of West Australian aboriginal talent. A couple of days short of being bottom aged . Still a huge chance to grow a couple of cm to reach a good KP size. Really liked his champs, be it very limited game time.

89. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Aaron Edwards

kicked the ton in VFL this year, also won the competition B&F. has shown he can take a mark at AFL level, but the injuries and kicking issues from his time at the eagles seem to be rectified. adds a versitile forward who can play out of the goalsquare or around half forward.

90. Richmond (limbach_19) ------------------------ Colin Garland

Hasnt been playing the game for long but he has all the basic skills needed. He is quick for his size and is a reasonable mark and has already been playing VFL.

91. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Ryan Anderson

92. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Chris Dawes

I know some of you will bag me for this but its not sentimental at all.

I really rate this kid and if he had been fit and in the draft I would have looked at him at #28 and probably done the deal on him #44 if he was available.

For those that have not heard he has hurt his knee and looks to be out for some time. This would most likely be my second round rookie spot so not unhappy at all getting him here.

Booming 194cm and amazingly 100kgs. have seen him play anywhere from wing to CHF and CHB. I think he will start as a wing where he has good agility and pace and very penetrating kick. Very good with hands and holds his spot well in packs so should develop into a CHF/CHB.

Fits nicely in at the Pies - I think our major issue is our quality of talls and the fact most of them are getting on so with the two Brown lads, Hampson and Dawes I feel we have 4 very good talls coming through.

93. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Lachie George

I've taken a number of talls in this draft so was looking for a good solid midfielder who could win his own footy.Lachie George was ideal for that pick.

94. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Peter Faulks

Tall, skinny as a rake, needs to bulk up massively, good defensive skills.

95. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Clint Jones

Mature age recruit. Plays in a very similar mould to Shaun McManus, skills are so so but goes and finds his own footy.

96. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Lachlan Carey

Is a good height is quick has good skills and has an exceptional vertical leap. Just has a knack for finding the footy also, although decision making can let him down at times. Will probably play wing at AFL level like a shorter Brett Burton, although I'm not sure about Lachie's aerobic capacity but has played a few very good last quaters so it must be at least ok. Stocks will rise after the TAC cup GF. (comments by macca69)

97. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Ben Ross

He's one I'm surprised that slipped. Is a natural small forward as he reads the ball off the pack very well and has very good skills on both sides of the body. Just knows where the goals are, but also seems to get a few scoring assists also. When playing up forward he can go missing for chunks of the game, but that's almost typical of small forwards. Can also play midfield when required but will play as a small forward at AFL level. Has been injured for a fair bit of the season, so that may see him slide a little, will be an excellent pickup if he finds some consistancy.

98. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)---------------------- Nathan Twomey

Tall forward who is fairly well built and a very impressive contested mark. Has kicked a fair few goals for South Adelaide and had some solid games kicking small bags. Would certainly be a handy tall marking option for Adelaide to compliment Westhoff.

7th ROUND

99. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Smith

100. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- PASS

101. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Button

Lachie is a 198 cm Ruckman from Sacred Heart College, everytime ive seen him play 3 or 4, he has easily been BEST on ground in a team with ALL AUS UNDER 16s Hamish Hartlett and Tom Macnamara, is HIGHLY bottom age and not eligible for the rookie draft, has been invited to draft camp...although the kangas ruck stocks are very high, I can see Lachie Button being a top 10 pick in 2007

102. Brisbane (Sherminator) ----------------------- Brody Johnson

Powerful midfielder with a terrific work rate and good at ground level. Has played defense for the Suncoast Lions but knows his way around goals. Still lightly framed and needs to work on this. His height may be a worry but he is worthy of selection.

Will probaly be a rookie selection, come real draft.

103. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) --------------------Bradley Kelleher

Pretty sure he's not rookied at HAwthorn, or if he is has bene delisted apparantly. 189-190 cm CHB who was ALl Australian in 2005 NAB U18 championships. Draft Camp 05 too which is pretty impressive. This guy was pretty unlucky last year and can do it both ends (foward or back). He just doesn't seem to have that pizz-azz, that one trump card that makes recruits shine. Still, his year last year wa shard to ignore and why not have a punt on a 19 year old who can play the game.

104. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) -------------------- Brent McCaffer

184 cm 80 cm goalkicker from gippsland power

105. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Leigh Ryswyk

former brisbane lion who never really got a good look up there. has blistering pace, carries the ball and doesnt mind finishing off a long dash with a goal. kicking accuracy, both towards the big sticks and in general play has improved markedly during a pretty consistent year for the roosters

106. Richmond (limbach_19) --------------------------Ben Warren

107. St Kilda (Kingjames) --------------------------Stefan Martin

A young project player who could come on in leaps and bounds

108. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ----------------------Lindsay Thomas

Not sure if many of you saw him at Champs but kid has a little something special, kicked 3 in one of the finals. Also comes from Port which is the best 'training ground' for youngsters in SA.

Has played with Port reserves and got 42 touches in a game which is pretty remarkable. understand he has played a couple of senior games as well and would be considered one of the exciting prospects in the draft.

Probably best suited to FP and maybe later up the ground but I would be keen to hear from SA boys on his late season progress.

109. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- James Podsiadly

Bulldogs do need some ready to go bigger bodies and this guy should have been on an AFL list for the past 3 years.Capable of playing forward or back and would step straight in.

110. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Jacob Crate

Quite athletic and speedy, right foot kick is acceptable without being elite, nothing outstanding at the champs, but showed some flair and speed that might catch recruiters eyes, if he keeps improving he might remind me of a shorter and slightly less exciting version of Jared Brennan

111. Fremantle (grub29 phantom draft list pick) --------- Robert Gray

112. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Mark Austin

113. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Fortunato Caruso

114. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)---------------------- Shane Edwards

Skinny and looks smaller than his height/weight but has very good pace and footy smarts. Loves to take on opponents and beat them one on one. Gets plenty of the footy and dangerous around goals. Would add to the crows small goalkicking options. Bit Scotty Bamford like, if anyone remembers him from Bris and cats but more natural ability. Dead ringer for Jordan Russell of Carlton.

diablo14 said:
4th ROUND

51. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- David McKay

After a few changes of mind, I've decided to take a bit of a punt at #51. A midfielder with pace and skills. Much like Simmo when he was drafted to the Blues. Will need to bulk up as he is only 71kg - well according to afl.com

(following comments by macca69) gee I've hardly heard his name mentioned on here. Is very small and will need to spend all of next season in the gym. Like you said he has good pace and skills, but what I really like about him is his fantastic work-rate and the fact that he just seems to be a very mentally mature player. His reading of the play is just about as good as Gibbs and isn't afraid to go in heard despite his small frame. I probably would have picked him up next round, and I thought he'd be a certainty to be available, oh well

The more I watch this kid play, the more I like him. :thumbsu:
Reminds me of Kade Simpson when we drafted him, very skinny, but knows where the ball is and displays some pretty good skills. I know Gilly is pretty keen on him as well.

Not sure Carlton would select him in the real ND, but he's certainly still on my radar around #51 or #67.

HugeBluesFan said:
Reminds me of Kade Simpson when we drafted him, very skinny, but knows where the ball is and displays some pretty good skills. I know Gilly is pretty keen on him as well.

Not sure Carlton would select him in the real ND, but he's certainly still on my radar around #51 or #67.

if you fellows were to draft him, youd have to think about giving him no 43 once kouta retires wouldnt you?

Tom Holmes
Moves with such ease and oozes class but has struggled with injury this year. Isn’t a huge ball magnet, but most of his possessions hurt the opposition. Been playing Glenelg reserves playing consistently, but yet to dominate games. Is very bottom-age so he would have a fair bit of improvement in him I imagine. Wouldn’t hurt if he grew a few cms either (only 178cm IIRC).

Broc O’Brien
Physical rebounding small defender. Has excellent hands and is very good in the air and rarely gets beaten 1 on 1. Is pretty quick also, and reads the play very well. Also rarely makes a wrong decision, which is crucial when playing as a defender. Given his attributes a club could easily decide to play him as a midfielder, as he definitely has the capacity to do so (although not sure about his aerobic fitness).

macca69 said:
Broc O’Brien

Do you think he could become a pure mid Macca, or will he be mostly played as a running HBF?

Like you said, he certainly has the tools to become a midfielder, just wondering if you think he can be one at AFL level. FWIW, i think he can.

HugeBluesFan said:

#19 :D

HugeBluesFan said:
Do you think he could become a pure mid Macca, or will he be mostly played as a running HBF?

Like you said, he certainly has the tools to become a midfielder, just wondering if you think he can be one at AFL level. FWIW, i think he can.

I'm not sure what his fitness is like, but if that's adequate, then I'd be pretty confident he could play midfield. Is a very smart player, and could even make a pretty good HFF, if that's where the club chose to develop him.

The entire mock draft may need to be re-done from pick 14 onwards.

Adelaide pick at 14 not 16. Seems like Adelaide and West Coast's picks have been swapped. We will take 16 if you give us the premiership ok? :p

A lot of work and the most thorough draft I have read, only problem is that at trade week some draft picks were traded which have not been updated here, pretty much throws out everything from 3rd round onwards. But saying that good to read something even about picks which are over 80. :thumbsu:

Bombs Away said:
A lot of work and the most thorough draft I have read, only problem is that at trade week some draft picks were traded which have not been updated here, pretty much throws out everything from 3rd round onwards. But saying that good to read something even about picks which are over 80. :thumbsu:

This phantom draft was a trial run started before the AFL season had finished. So the picks aren't 100% correct. Another more accurate version will be done, that starts on the 1st of November.

Bombs Away said:

Fear not BA, the real Phantom draft will be kicking off on Nov 1.

bargain picks from this mock draft -
leaunburger - 7
selwood - 10
westhoff - 34
edwards- 89
gray - 112 :eek: