|
30 Nov 2006, 18:31
|
|
|
BigFooty Newbie
|
Benalla & District
Hey, anybody got any news on this struggling league, would be a shame to see it fold however not to sure how the drought and lack of teams is going to affect it this year.
|
|
|
4 Dec 2006, 21:47
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Re: Benalla & District
far as i know mate, it will be up and running again in 07 - all sides to go around!
Do you have an interest in the comp? Which club?
Cheers,
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 09:59
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
CROWS
|
Would be a shame if this comp was to fold, but the future isnt looking to bright for over the next 5 or so years.
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 10:21
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Broadford FNC & CC & Yea FNC
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOOTYBOSS
Would be a shame if this comp was to fold, but the future isnt looking to bright for over the next 5 or so years.
|
Wont survive - blame the VCFL who shoulda done something with the now defunct CGFL and the BDFL - Thornton and Alex didnt wanna go south initially and Yea and Violet Town went to the KDFL. Thought Shepp East & Rumba shoulda went KDFL and Dookie PDFL.
Mighta taken some time to get the BDFL clubs up to speed with say under 17's but they have netball comps and a passion for the game and had those 4 clubs mentioned above joined ya never know, maybe a rejuvenated 9-10 team comp just coulda saved the BDFL.
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 11:59
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
puddin' club
|
Very strong talk around that Devenish wiil fold/go into recess very ,very soon.
No coach,no players and no water. Longwood and Bonnie Doon also struggling I'm told. This could possibly be the last season for the good old Biff and Dong FL. The VCFL wont prop it up.
Last edited by slim18; 5 Dec 2006 at 12:00.
Reason: spelling
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 12:01
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Tatooine Tigers
|
I don't think Longwood have too many problems at the moment.
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 12:10
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by slim18
No coach,no players and no water. Longwood and Bonnie Doon also struggling I'm told. This could possibly be the last season for the good old Biff and Dong FL. The VCFL wont prop it up.
|
Basically the impression we got during the CGFL talks slim18. Pity . . . every little club & comp across the state should have the luxury of the VCFL helping promote the game in everyone's best interest but it seems eveident whats gunna happen in this case.
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 12:17
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
puddin' club
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doona2
Basically the impression we got during the CGFL talks slim18. Pity . . . every little club & comp across the state should have the luxury of the VCFL helping promote the game in everyone's best interest but it seems eveident whats gunna happen in this case.
|
Also the no go with u/17s for '07 wont assist any of the clubs
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 12:53
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
|
If they were to have U/17s it would only take away from the Benalla Junior comp which I believe is one of the strongest in country Vic
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 14:30
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Tatooine Tigers
|
Quote:
|
I don't believe that BDFL clubs need U17's. It's a different set up to other leagues and the towns that play in the BDFL would really struggle to field U17s. Swanpool & Goorambat might be able to get enough from Benalla, but I don't believe the others could without a lot of trouble.
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 21:10
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
Wont survive - blame the VCFL who shoulda done something with the now defunct CGFL and the BDFL - Thornton and Alex didnt wanna go south initially and Yea and Violet Town went to the KDFL. Thought Shepp East & Rumba shoulda went KDFL and Dookie PDFL.
Mighta taken some time to get the BDFL clubs up to speed with say under 17's but they have netball comps and a passion for the game and had those 4 clubs mentioned above joined ya never know, maybe a rejuvenated 9-10 team comp just coulda saved the BDFL.
|
Makes a lotta sense Doon, could this happen in the future? Say if the Boners and Alex get sick of the travel? I know that the YV clubs aren't all happy campers about having to go out there!
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 21:12
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
|
Think the water is settled, not sure about the others - what;s your source?
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 21:14
|
|
|
BigFooty Apprentice
Swan District
|
how is Tatong going? or is it in a different league.
|
|
|
5 Dec 2006, 21:27
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansie
Makes a lotta sense Doon, could this happen in the future? Say if the Boners and Alex get sick of the travel? I know that the YV clubs aren't all happy campers about having to go out there!
|
Horse has bolted on this one Im afraid, reckon it's like Ivan Drago in Rocky IV . . . . . "if it dies it dies"
|
|
|
6 Dec 2006, 09:01
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
Horse has bolted on this one Im afraid, reckon it's like Ivan Drago in Rocky IV . . . . . "if it dies it dies"
|
Why is it stuggling Doon? If the Junoir comp around the area is still strong and there is footballers who don't want to commit the rigors of the upper league training req's there must be th plyaers. Or is that the prob , there just isn't as many footballers around. How many other district leagues in Vic are struggling. The district leagues up here in NSW are getting stronger. Has the admin of country footy got it horribly wrong? I would be saddened to see the demise of the B&D league as that is where i started. But if there's not the players any more then thats the way it is.
|
|
|
-->
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|