BigFooty  

Upgrade your account!          

Connect with Facebook
Left Nav Register Forums Blogs Groups Tipping Betting Odds FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Old 19 Jan 2007, 15:01   #1
Lady Lawrence
BigFooty Senior Member
This is a Veteran user. Respect.Platinum BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Brisbane
Jason Roe (2006 - 2009)

over to you - AB09, roostersgal4eva
Lady Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove the two ads above - Register for free or log in.
Old 20 Jan 2007, 22:43   #2
roostersgal4eva
BigFooty Legend
This is a Veteran user. Respect.

Brisbane
North Adelaide Rooster
Re: Jason Roe

Guernsey Number: 29
Date of Birth: 13 March 1984
Height 192cm
Weight: 84kg

Recruited From: North Adelaide (SA)
Previous Clubs: Nightcliff, Cairns City, Collingwood, North Adelaide.
Draft Details: 2005 Rookie Draft - No. 6
AFL Debut: Rd 6, 2006 v Sydney, the Gabba
AFL Finals: 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile
For years, the surname Jarman was the source of frustration for followers of Brisbane football.

Both Andrew and Darren Jarman were drafted by the then-Bears in the 1989 National Draft but opted not to make the trek north. Andrew eventually became an Adelaide Crow, playing 110 games between 1991 and 1995, while Darren started out with Hawthorn, winning a premiership in 1991, before moving to the Crows at the end of 1995 and playing in Adelaide's 1997 and 1998 flags.

Now, in the shape of exciting elevated rookie Jason Roe, Lions fans finally have reason to be thankful to a Jarman - in this case Andrew. For it was to North Adelaide, where Andrew coaches in the SANFL, that Roe moved for the 2004 season, in what he describes as one of the best moves of his footballing career.

The Northern Territory product was just coming off a year on Collingwood's rookie list and readily admits he was at football's crossroads.

"When I was in Melbourne, I was a bit young and immature and didn't know much about preparation and sacrifices," Roe explained.

"But I was fortunate enough to get a call from Andrew Jarman who said 'we want you in Adelaide.' I went there and it was the best choice that I've made in the last few years. He (Jarman) has probably been the biggest influence on me in the last two or three years of my footy career. "He really turned things around for me, because I was in no man's land when I first went down there."

If Roe's career took a slightly meandering route before he arrived in Brisbane - featuring stop-offs in his native Darwin, Cairns, Melbourne and Adelaide - then it has moved ahead at breakneck speed since he became a Lion via last December's rookie draft.

Collarbone surgery delayed his start to season 2006 but it took only three impressive reserves outings with the Suncoast Lions for the coaching staff to elevate him to the senior list in place of the injured Chris Scott. Three days later, Roe found himself standing Sydney's monster full-forward and co-skipper Barry Hall in a Round 6 debut at the Gabba.

"I was heaps nervous on Friday at training but I wasn't that nervous on the weekend. I got out, had a warm-up and soaked up the atmosphere - so I wasn’t too bad," Roe said of the lead-up to his first AFL game. "We spoke about (Hall) during the week, the coaches and I. At some stage I knew I'd end up on him but I just had to stick to my guns and try not to get body on body with him. Obviously he's a big man.

Despite conceding an imposing 18kg to his foe, Roe performed superbly. Only one of Hall's three goals came against his far less experienced marker and, had the Lions being able to celebrate Chris Johnson's 250th game with a win, Roe says it would have been the dream debut.

"I've spoken to a lot of people over the last two years and picked up small things off them - now I'm trying to put it all together. That may take a few years but I enjoy speaking to people and learning things.

"I sat down at the start of the year and wrote a few goals down. To stay injury free - that was probably the biggest one - and play good footy in the reserves and hopefully get elevated. Those goals are reached now so I guess I'll re-assess it after I play a few more games.

"I don't want to be one game and out the door - I want to stick around and try and be consistent."
Interesting Fact = Jason is Anthony Corrie's cousin
Old 25 Mar 2007, 19:48   #3
Snuka
BigFooty Senior Member

Brisbane

Just saw this link on the main board which mentions Roe has a knee injury.

...is this accurate? is this new to others aswell? or am I just way out of the loop?
Snuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2007, 19:55   #4
irel
BigFooty Senior Member

Brisbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snuka View Post

...is this accurate? is this new to others aswell? or am I just way out of the loop?
I can't ever remember that site being accurate. It talks about Tim Notting - Wizard Cup finals Rnd 1
irel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2007, 20:09   #5
Grimreepah
THE LOBSTER
This is a Veteran user. Respect.BigFooty Board Moderator

Brisbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snuka View Post

I think they are referring to his knee injury from last year and it just hasn't been updated yet.

Last edited by Grimreepah; 8 Nov 2007 at 17:43.
Grimreepah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Mar 2007, 01:44   #6
Snuka
BigFooty Senior Member

Brisbane

Cheers for that...all good then!
Snuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Apr 2007, 08:59   #7
roostersgal4eva
BigFooty Legend

Brisbane
North Adelaide Rooster

Quote:
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,...-23211,00.html
Lions in a spin over Roe fitness

DOUBTS over the fitness of defender Jason Roe have thrown the Brisbane Lions' match committee into chaos on the eve of tomorrow's Easter blockbuster at the Gabba.

Roe must pass a fitness test on an injured hamstring at training today to be considered for the clash against St Kilda.

Nigel Lappin and Robert Copeland, who suffered corked thighs in the round one victory over the Hawks, will also be tested but the chances of both playing have improved with each day.

Some weeks in football, the sides and the match-ups pick themselves, but this clash is definitely not one of them. The Lions need to know if star Saints forward Nick Riewoldt and ever-reliable defender Max Hudghton will make their first appearances for the year.

If Roe misses and Riewoldt plays, the Lions will struggle to contain a Saints forward line that also includes Fraser Gehrig and Justin Koschitzke.

Daniel Merrett is the strongest of the Lions defenders and is already locked in for the job on man-mountain Gehrig.

At the other end of the ground the Saints are in as much trouble, with key defender Matt Maguire out for up to six weeks.

Maguire was the logical match-up for Lions gun Jonathan Brown, but has developed stress fractures in the leg he broke last season.

Brown was double-teamed against the Hawks, but St Kilda will struggle to copy that tactic with Maguire out and their other main tall defender Hudghton in doubt.

Brisbane will prepare on the assumption Riewoldt and Hudghton will both play, but the absence of either would be a huge boost.

If Roe misses out, Matthew Tyler would come under consideration for his debut as the third defensive tall.

Tyler could even get a gig as an extra marking forward after the Lions struggled to take marks inside the forward 50 against Hawthorn.

Tyler played forward throughout the NAB Cup but was used in defence for the Suncoast Lions on Saturday.

Lions coach Leigh Matthews insists the forward line plan used against the Hawks would still work, provided there wasn't an over-reliance on Brown.
fingers crossed hes ok
Old 4 Apr 2007, 09:04   #8
TheBrownDog
BigFooty Moderator
fevola 10Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.BigFooty Board Moderator

Brisbane
NFL-Cowboys, MLB-Mariners

Tips W: (64), O: (171)

What did you think of his hair the other night (or lack there of) RoostersGal?

I reckon it makes him look like an 'ard bastard.

Hope he sticks with it.
TheBrownDog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Apr 2007, 09:42   #9
Grimreepah
THE LOBSTER

Brisbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrownDog View Post
What did you think of his hair the other night (or lack there of)
I thought his previous haircut was a bit poxy, so it was an improvement.

Anyway, I have been very impressed with Roe during the preseason and round 1. No 2nd year blues for him. They said he had put on 5 kilos during the summer and he looks in terrific shape. Even if Riewoldt doesn't play I think he would still be a big loss because he's been in such good form.
Old 27 Jul 2007, 02:21   #10
Grimreepah
THE LOBSTER

Brisbane

Link

Quote:
Roe eyes happy 'homecoming'

Article from:
Marco Monteverde
July 27, 2007 12:00am

THERE are few bigger occasions in Australian rules for an emerging talent than playing Collingwood at the MCG.
And when the Magpies are your former club, the experience goes from being grand to colossal. Brisbane Lions defender Jason Roe has had July 28 marked in his 2007 diary since the release of the season's fixture list.
Not that he holds a grudge against his former team, with the 23-year-old Darwin product admitting he failed to do himself justice during his one season at Collingwood in 2003.
"I was less committed, I was injured and basically things didn't work out for me there," Roe said.
"It was all me, not the Collingwood footy club. But having been on their rookie list you always want to prove a point when given the opportunity to play against your old side.
"And for a young guy like myself, there is no better opportunity to play than in front of a packed house against Collingwood at the MCG. It's going to be awesome."
It's a chance that might not have come after Roe was dropped – not for the first time this season – by Lions coach Leigh Matthews after Brisbane's 50-point loss to Geelong at Skilled Stadium on June 17.
At another crossroad in his young career, Roe was asked to again prove himself in the AFLQ for the Suncoast Lions.
" I was just making the wrong decisions out on the field," he admitted.
"All the coaching staff wanted me to work on that, knuckle down on my decision making, when to go and when not to go.
"That's improved now. I'm back in the team and I'm making all the right decisions at the moment."
Roe's latest return to the seniors has co-incided with Brisbane's run of three straight wins that has given the club an outside chance of making the top eight for the first time since 2004.
To make it four on the trot tomorrow night, the Lions will have to reverse the result of last season's corresponding fixture at the MCG, where the Magpies prevailed by 26 points.
Despite the defeat, Roe felt "lucky" to have played in that round 10 game, having feared he blew his opportunity to play in the AFL after his bad year at the Magpies.
However, two seasons in the SANFL for North Adelaide under former Lions nemesis Andrew Jarman put Roe back on the right path.
"Andrew really turned things around for me, because I was in no man's land when I first went down there," he said.
The Lions eventually recognised Roe's undoubted talent and placed him on their 2006 rookie list.
He was soon elevated to Brisbane's senior list in place of the injured Chris Scott and made his AFL debut on none other than Swans star Barry Hall in the Lions' round 6 clash against Sydney last season.
"I was lucky enough to play most of the games last year," said the modest Roe, who wore the Lions jumper 15 times in 2006.
Establishing himself as an AFL player has convinced Roe he made the right decision when he chose Australian football over rugby league as a 17-year-old in the Northern Territory.
A talented fullback in the 13-a-side code, he was urged by his parents to pick one sport over the other to maximise his chances of playing either game at the highest level.
"I played both games basically all my life, then I had to decide whether I wanted to play Aussie rules or rugby league," Roe said.
"I guess in the end I thought there were better opportunities in Aussie rules and I always wanted to play AFL footy as a young fellow growing up."

Last edited by Grimreepah; 14 Nov 2007 at 13:24.
Old 30 Jul 2007, 12:32   #11
lionbear
I love weevil he is the best!
Merrett 08black 10Gold BigFooty Supporters Club Member

Brisbane
S/saye Cleve-Indians M-Vict Chelsea

Tips W: (216), O: (633)

Was it just me or has Jason Row filled out a little the last month or two. Watching him live on Saturday night it was the first time I looked at him and thought he has the body size to go man on man with some key position forwards. Was the best game I watched him play as well and the goal he kicked was a excellent running goal.

lionbear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 14:29   #12
notting18
BigFooty Senior Member
Merrett 08black 10Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.

Brisbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by lionbear View Post
Was it just me or has Jason Row filled out a little the last month or two. Watching him live on Saturday night it was the first time I looked at him and thought he has the body size to go man on man with some key position forwards. Was the best game I watched him play as well and the goal he kicked was a excellent running goal.
His decision making was what hurt him early this year and he seems to have turned a corner in that respect. When Drummond (one of our best players this year) went down i was quite worried, but Roe deifnitely stood up, especially after Drummond proved he was just too injured to play on (Maxwell's two goals at the start of the 4th).
notting18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2007, 15:33   #13
Grimreepah
THE LOBSTER

Brisbane

Link

Quote:
BRISBANE Lion Jason Roe has received an unexpected plaudit for his goal-saving spoil against the Magpies on Saturday.
Along with Carlton’s Brendan Fevola and Jason Saddington, the Lions’ defender has been nominated as one of three round-17 contenders for the 2007 AFL Army Award.
No disrespect to Roe, but I thought Charman's multiple tackles on Didak was a stand out for an Army nomination. Well done to Roe though.

Last edited by Grimreepah; 8 Nov 2007 at 17:44.
Old 31 Jul 2007, 15:37   #14
notting18
BigFooty Senior Member
Merrett 08black 10Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.

Brisbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimreepah View Post
Link

No disrespect to Roe, but I thought Charman's multiple tackles on Didak was a stand out for an Army nomination. Well done to Roe though.
It was a brillant spoil.....he just came from nowhere (and i actually thought that he would get a nomination for it when i saw it live - thanks to hoops i know it exists lol). Charman's chase down was exceptional though - so quick for a big man and such determination
notting18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2007, 15:40   #15
TheBrownDog
BigFooty Moderator
fevola 10Gold BigFooty Supporters Club MemberThis is a Veteran user. Respect.BigFooty Board Moderator

Brisbane
NFL-Cowboys, MLB-Mariners

Tips W: (64), O: (171)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimreepah View Post
Link

No disrespect to Roe, but I thought Charman's multiple tackles on Didak was a stand out for an Army nomination.
Fancy a superstar small forward getting tackled twice on the run in the space of 10 seconds by a ruckman.

Back on topic though, fancy letting such a talented player as Roe go from your rookie list.

TheBrownDog is online now   Reply With Quote

-->