|
14 Feb 2008, 19:34
|
|
|
BigFooty Legend
|
Richard Douglas v Darren Pfeiffer
I've been wanting to do this for some time, and now seems as good a time as any.
Richard Douglas:
16th overall selection in the 2005 AFL Draft.
VS.
Darren Pfeiffer:
17th overall selection in the 2005 AFL Draft.

|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 19:37
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Rugby
|
Re: Richard Douglas v Darren Pfeiffer
Tough call Drumm, both have talent to burn.
If Pfeiffer gets it right, he could be quality.
Right now, the points go to Douglas as he has the runs on the board.
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 19:41
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
If your asking who I would rather have in my team at the moment that easy its Douglas. Maybe ask again after Pfeiffer has played a few games and i may give a different answer. 2 different players that play in different positions so it will be hard to compare. FWIW I agree with AFC decision in getting rid of him. If he becomes a star then good luck to him, but it's not the first time a player has changed clubs and had more success for whatever reason.
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 19:45
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
36ers, Adel Utd, Redbacks
|
what is the point of this
why douglas v pfeiffer
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 19:58
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Orlando Magic
|
Sorry Drummy.
Even though I think Pfeiffer has cleaned up his act with a move away from Adelaide (I've heard from a mutual mate he used to get into a lot of fights which wern't documented), Douglas has more potential.
Whether it's because his body's holding him back at AFL level atm or not I don't know, but I think Douglas has more potential, and certainly showed more at SANFL level.
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 20:29
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
1 vote for Pfeiffer. I wonder who that was
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 21:07
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Sam Hill, Nathan Rennie
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogga79
1 vote for Pfeiffer. I wonder who that was 
|
Actually it was a Carlton fan.
Douglas here although I reckon Pfeiffer will be pretty damn good himself. I've just rated Douglas really highly since I first saw him.
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 21:21
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggzoi
Actually it was a Carlton fan.
|
Sorry Drum!
Last edited by Dogga79; 14 Feb 2008 at 21:59.
|
|
|
14 Feb 2008, 22:26
|
|
|
BigFooty Legend
|
Are people voting Douglas because he’s the one on the Crows list or do you genuinely feel he’s the better prospect?
Pfeiffer ticks a lot of boxes and although he was delisted it doesn’t mean he’s not a great talent. Had he not been in trouble while at the AFC there's little doubt he would have made his debut at some stage. He’s been selected to play for the Blues against the Power on Saturday and I suggest people keep an eye out for how he does. Sometimes I go out on a limb and say comments which I don’t actually believe to be true, but as far as Pfeiffer goes, I’m certain he’ll have a successful AFL career. Obviously he’s had a few troubles off the field but assuming he’ll stay out of trouble at Carlton, he’ll be a good long term player for the Blues.
|
|
|
15 Feb 2008, 05:20
|
|
|
BigFooty Member
Sam Hill, Nathan Rennie
|
I seriously think he is a much better prospect, some of the small things I've seen from Douglas have been very special and make me believe he has a great footy brain and he just needs to get used to AFL level a bit more.
|
|
|
15 Feb 2008, 07:19
|
|
|
BigFooty Elite Member
/The Bays/Man U
|
As Eggzoi said, Douglas does just enough to promise that there is more to come, but i wouldn't mind if he gets out of second gear this year.
Never seen enough of Pfeiffer to make a decision one way or the other.
|
15 Feb 2008, 10:53
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Centrals
|
Since all we have to go on is the runs on the board, Douglas wins in a canter IMO.
How long into a players career before his potential becomes his ability? IMO, Peiffer's achievements so far have been underwhelming to say the least. Looks a good, slightly above average SANFL player to me. Douglas on the other hand has shown improvement every season, and this season he should have a regular spot in his AFL team.
|
|
|
15 Feb 2008, 11:19
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
|
clearly douglas. would have stated the same when pfeiffer was still on our list
|
|
|
15 Feb 2008, 11:21
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Orlando Magic
|
I think this thread comes more, although not completely, relevant tomorrow afternoon when Pfeiffer plays his first game for Carlton.
|
|
|
15 Feb 2008, 12:41
|
|
|
BigFooty Senior Member
Liverpool Lockleys FC
|
I have noticed that when Douglas plays for Glenelg he seems more relaxed and for want of a better word happier.When he plays for the Crows he seems more intense and seems to think about things more.
What does 5 Mill buy these days BWST on our mate rooch . .But when he has the chance to dig the steel cap into the Crows, he does it with gusto. And absolute brilliance. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michelangelo_Rucci
|
|
|
-->
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|